Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pulling out? Hold on!

Pulling out? Hold on! PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 21:19

The science of political management is not unlike corporate management. We need to have truly forward-looking and open-minded managers, sound internal communication and coordination, as well as mutual understanding among all the constituents.

By TAY TIAN YAN/Translated by DOMINIC LOH/Sin Chew Daily

Wanna kill Pakatan just because of an abattoir?

If DAP could pull out from the Pakatan state government in Kedah this easily, very soon we will see PKR pulling out from the Penang state government as well.

Next, perhaps PAS will withdraw from Selangor state government, and then Perak... Oh, no more Perak now!

I am just trying to say, if all these are changed to BN state governments, then there would be nothing else to argue about!

This is not meant to poke fun at anyone. As a matter of fact, DAP and PKR are fighting tooth and nail within the Penang state government. In Selangor, PAS and PKR are trying to pull each other's leg...

Where this is concerned, Pakatan is a long way behind BN.

This is a question of political maturity.

The science of political management is not unlike corporate management. We need to have truly forward-looking and open-minded managers, sound internal communication and coordination, as well as mutual understanding among all the constituents.

If the purchasing and production departments within a company do not like each other, could the purchasing department say it wants to pull out from the company and become an independent entity?

A matured way of dealing with such matters is consultation. What does the production department really want? And what must the purchasing department supply to it?

Back to the question of abattoir. I have studied very carefully what both sides have said and conclude that both have their points as welll as unfounded arguments.

The PAS state government says the abattoir has no operation permit and is therefore illegally run. As if that is not enough, residue from the abattoir (you know what I mean) has not been disposed of properly over the years and some has even been dumped into the river, much to the disgust of the Muslim residents.

The municipal council has ordered the abattoir's closure, while the state government has given a grace period. The abattoir will only be closed after it stops its operation upon expiry of the grace period.

The state government has identified a suitable site at Kampung Cina, Pendang, for a new abattoir.

Now the other side of the story.

DAP has not refuted PAS' accusations on the hygiene of the abattoir as well as religious complications. Nevertheless, it says the state government should not tear down the abattoir before a new one has been built.

To be fair, if the abattoir creates environmental pollution and has a direct impact on the life and feelings of Muslim residents, then it should be relocated.

DAP and the Chinese community must not defend or oppose blindly whenever an issue involving "pigs" is encountered. They must calmly assess the situation and see whether their move is reasonable.

It should be everyone's understanding that an illegal abattoir creating environmental pollution and religious sensitivity should not remain. That said, to provide a suitable site as soon as possible that meets the hygiene requirements is the obligation of the state government.

If both sides have the same common understanding and are keen to hammer out the right solution through negotiation, then this whole incident will not have taken place at all.

Even as the abattoir has been demolished, the Pakatan state government must still go on!

written by ABU SAYAB, July 03, 2009 21:37:07
Good comments.
written by macakmy, July 03, 2009 21:46:14
Finally, a voice of reason. Funny, how come LGE couldn't see it that way. Am I mistaken about him? I sincerely hope not.
written by Adrian, July 03, 2009 23:12:58
LGE was not involved.

about 30 years ago, my relative had a shop selling pork along a main road in Penang where all the Orang Besar passed by and of course Malays as well since that was a main road.

The govmen then ask them to relocate the shop. My relative in turn as for a coffee shop operating license and at the same time relocate it to a shop near-by.

I thought that was a good arrangement - win-win-win. Those were the days pork was not politicised.

to be fair, I did find it awkward to have a pork-shop in the middle of the city.

BAck to this case in Kedah, when I first saw the make-shift abattoir, I have already known that that was not a "approved" one. But then the govmen must find a solution for them - build a new one which meet all the "green" requirements before they are given ultimatum to shift. Again - lack of understanding and engagement. Please learn and no more next time. OK.

written by joeawk, July 03, 2009 23:35:59
Rubbish in, rubbish out. Many should not be allowed to stand in the next G.E. and they will kick up a fuss. Like it or not, many are just not up to it.Usually, those who make loud noise don't number many. Focus on the silent majority and just do the right thing.

The hgovt must also be firm with crooks in the civil services. They are normally a disruotive force. Jail them, sack them.
written by Khan, July 03, 2009 23:39:26
A sensible comment by Sin Chew. DAP what happened to your brains? or did the old fox LKY whispered something in your ears during his long visit to Malaysia??
written by Perak Boy, July 04, 2009 00:05:16
Yes, TAY TIAN YAN of Sin Chew Daily has nailed right on the spot.
I agree to what he said on the abattoir issue.

And to DAP,PKR and PAS leaders, especially those who are seasoned politicians.
If there are any problems or disagreement over certain issues, please resort to the meeting table and discussed intelligently with respect and understanding.

Going to the press and making public announcement unnecessarily not only hurts the feelings/sensitivity of your comrades within Pakatan, but also give room for your opponent (UMNO/BN) to play to their advantage. To have political mileage this way is bad politiking. It takes you no where in the end.

written by Perak Boy, July 04, 2009 00:29:01
Dear rhdliu,

Sounds like a joke, but I don't deny the possibility.
written by Sunnysoul5, July 04, 2009 00:47:57
Many potential leaders fail because of the weakness in EQ and the Art of War. The paramount leader must have clear vision, direction and power to move PR forward, otherwise it will end up in self destruction.

Ego and the lack of collaboration and negotiation skills have seen many politicians fall.
written by Krazee, July 04, 2009 01:22:48
I thought I read somewhere that places for the new abattior were rejected and hence the frustration.....
I see more to it than meets the eye esp on the sensitivities where religious considerations are concerned.....
written by loosecannon, July 04, 2009 07:40:22
Personally I'm getting pissed with the PR coalition. There are too many prima donnas who seem to act on their own and behaving like little Napoleons. It seems like they can pull out of PR anytime they don't get their ways. And they fall right into the BN traps. Can't they just sit together with each other and discuss whenever there's a problem instead of thumping their chest and exposed themselves like a flasher? If these nincompoops don't get their act together, they are slowly but surely loosing the rakyat's support. And DAP is it's own worse enemy. I'm not sure if success had gone to their heads. Whatever it is, they better cease and desist or they're going to end up being the opposition perpetually. Morons!
written by shamadz72, July 04, 2009 11:41:48
Adrian,

What do you meant by lack of understanding by the PR government in Kedah?

That illegal abattoir operator did request for a 1 month period to shift their location and their request was agreed by MPAS. So why the fuss, when the MPAS decided to take action AFTER the 1 month period requested by the operator themselves?

I didn't know where the location of that disputed place but my common sense tell me that something must be seriously wrong with their location, when they can't even get MPAS under previous corrupt UMNO led government to legalize it (of cause with some duit kopi involved somewhere) for the past 30 years. Don't you guys think so? It is not like the MB didn't allow an existing of pig abattoir in Kedah at all. It is just that they need to move to other suitable location? Isn't that a hard request to abide by?

So why are DAP head leaders can't see this? Is it rule of law only apply to others (like the Kampung Pala resident & PKR councilor in MPSP) but when it comes to some same colour as you, everything is OK. So what different are DAP with BN?
written by Wisdom above, July 04, 2009 13:25:27
...both have their points as well as unfounded arguments.

The abattoir will "only be closed" (AFTER it STOPS) its operation upon "EXPIRY " of the grace period.

The state government has identified a SUITABLE SITE at Kampung Cina, Pendang, for a new abattoir.

How come and Why , the so called 'SUITABLE SITE at kampung Cina ' was not ready for occupation yet ?
No funds to build or too far away ?
Did ADUN & business groups disagreed with the new SUITABLE SITE ?

MPAS "should continuously" grant many, many more times if ever the SUITABLE SITE was not granted a 'Certificate for Occupation'.
MPAS being a 'people friendly council' should have learn TAI CHI in discharging their duties.

Now the displaced business groups became disgruntled groups with no place to carry on their business . With a ADUN behave like a baby ?

An empty demolished land can also create HAVOC ?
Why was it standing there without CF for years by BeEnd as a strategic political move ?

Both are right and at the same time both are also wrong as well !

Now I say both sides are extremely " Poor Arbitrators ".

Nevertheless, I still believe Barisan Rakyat and Pakatan Rakyat will emerged stronger in the end.
I know it may sound funny to say so !

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by yellowwoman, July 06, 2009 14:22:13
How can we let an illegal abattoir operate?
How can we allow anything illegal to stand?

Find a proper place, and make sure the operations are legal and environmentally friendly. I wouldn't want waste from any commercial enterprise to be in my neighbourhood. Even though i eat pork, I do not want my water source or compound or kampung area to be polluted by the wastes from a pig farm, abattoir or butcher's shop. What more if I am a muslim for whom pork is haram? Let's be sensitive to our fellow brothers' religious beliefs. Please, let's do things legally and enviromentally sound - to protect our fellow Malaysians, and to preserve our planet.