Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow RPK, where art thou?

RPK, where art thou? PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 13:39

How he did his Houdini-like escape from Malaysia, however, has baffled the police. How did an elderly and not exactly limber man skip town with no one noticing?

Faizal Tajuddin, Malaysian Mirror

Raja Petra Kamarudin, who is high on the police list of ‘Most Wanted Blogger’, continues to elude capture and remains elusive from public view.

Popularly known as RPK, he is linked to the Selangor royalty and has been twice detained under the Internal Security Act for allegedly writing a seditious article in his Malaysia Today website, entitled ‘Let’s send Altantunya murderers to hell’.

He has fled the country and wrote in his blog that his self- imposed exile is “a punishment befitting a member of the Selangor royal family who has courted the displeasure of the palace".

He added that "after two ISA detentions, I do not plan to allow them to get me so easily the third time around.”

Self-imposed exile

RPK had twice failed to appear at the Petaling Jaya Sessions Court and was issued an arrest warrant for missing the first hearing on April 23.

His excuse was that his self-imposed exile “outside Selangor” prohibits him from going to the PJ court.

He is now believed to be in Australia and his legion of fans think he had made a wise move to flee from his purported prosecutors.

How he did his Houdini-like escape from Malaysia, however, has baffled the police. How did an elderly and not exactly limber man skip town with no one noticing?

Did he wear a rubber mask, akin to Che Guevara, to dupe immigration officers at the KL International Airport? Did he use a fake passport? That would give him an “international man of mystery” mystique atop his “most famous Malaysian blogger” tag and, of course, a slightly rebellious slant that would appeal to the young crowd.

Did he pull a Hishamudin Rais and boarded a boat from a northern state bordering Thailand in the wee hours of the morning? Would it be a stretch of the imagination that he had sought refuge in a Buddhist monastery? If that is the case than he most certainly needs to lay low, as any rumours of him being sheltered in such a place could rattle his core Malay and Muslim fan base.

Political asylum?

The Star, quoting police sources, reported on May 24 that RPK had settled in Brisbane.

The paper added that the former ISA detainee had contacts there who had arranged accommodation for him and his wife, Marina Lee Abdullah.

If indeed he is now in Australia, it is still vague whether he is residing there under political asylum or merely staying under the care of some relatives and friends.

Australia is known to be a destination of choice for refugees and people escaping political persecution from their home countries.

He has probably chosen to be “Down Under” as he knew Malaysia does have an extradition agreement with Australia to allow our police to get him out of that country to face the music in his home court.

Former Bandar Kuching MP and Malaysian Mirror columnist Sim Kwang Yang wrote in his blog, Hornbill Unleashed that some fellow bloggers are implying that RPK is a coward to run to a foreign country, instead of appearing in court to bear responsibility of his words and actions.

He said, however, that many revolutionary leaders had exiled themselves in the past, when staying put under persecution would have meant an end to their cause.

He gave the example of Dr Sun Yat Sun, who lived in exile in London and various parts of Europe and Southeast Asia. “If he had stayed back in China to be trialed by the Manchurian Mandarins, his head would certainly have been chopped off. That would be the end of his revolution. Eventually, his revolution succeeded and changed the history of modern China.”

Sim also cited Ayatollah Khomeini, who spent 14 years in exile in Iraq, Turkey and France when the Shah of Iran was after his head. The Ayatollah directed his revolution from overseas and returned to his homeland in triumph after the Shah fled from Teheran on Jan 16, 1979.

Conceding that RPK is just “an ordinary Malaysian citizen” and hardly a revolutionary leader in the mould of Dr Sun or Khomeini, Sim added, however, that RPK’s “ceaseless opposition in fighting injustice has been seen as a threat to people sitting at the apex of the political food-chain of Malaysia.”

Sim, quoting examples from ancient Greece, said to be banished from one’s own state is worse than death as one would lose all sense of self-identity.

He added: “In modern times, the pain of exile has been softened. Even so, for people who love their country, being exiled is like being castrated. Once a political or social activist is banished from his homeland, he feels as if his soul has been murdered."

“After the great Russian novelist Alexander Solzhenitsyn was exiled to the USA, he felt so castrated in his soul that he could not write any more!”

It has been several months since he had been missing, leaving the public to speculate on his whereabouts, mocking the competency of Malaysian law enforcement agencies in the process.

But the police are bent on bringing him back to face the law in Malaysia and have sought the help of Interpol to trace him.

How could he evade capture!

RPK is no Jason Bourne. Should there be a concerted effort by international law enforcement agencies to hunt him down, there is no way he could evade capture.

Bourne fans who had seen his films, might remember one scene at an English train station where the man swiftly overpowered international agents as he plotted his escape from the grasping hand of the law. It would be a real stretch of the imagination for RPK to pull a similar stunt.

But such scenario, of course, is built on the premise that RPK is actually trying to avoid capture outside Malaysia.

What if he’s sitting back sipping tea somewhere in Kuala Lumpur and still writing his blog from within our borders?

Malaysia Today, incidentally, is still being updated regularly. The question is, is our man of mystery doing it from within or outside our shores?

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, July 03, 2009 13:52:50
"... baffled the police." Did we really have the Police in Malaysia? Well, if we do, they do not happen to act and be seen as one. Let's start with the IGP himself. Need we dwell on him any more after all that had been written? All the write-ups could put my 5-year old kid to sleep many times over if I were to read them out to him on his bedtime.
written by DezMalaysia, July 03, 2009 13:55:14
Nice Commy Hat... I've got one too...

Lucky to bring it into Malaysia before the "allowing Commy Chin Peng return issue" turned hot !

Long live RPK !
written by Oscar Winner, July 03, 2009 13:56:34
Haha...RPK certainly knows how to run, and can even hide. I'm sure he'll be back after the 13GE. Meanwhile, let's pray for his safety and health
written by DreamLady, July 03, 2009 13:58:13
Don't you guys know the reaction of a cat when it is cornered??? of course it would claw back with fiery vengence!!!And that is what Raja Petra is preparing to do: WITH A BIG BANG!!!

We love you, Raja Petra, for loving us!!!
written by Kuku Burung, July 03, 2009 13:59:04
No-lah! RPK is now in Mongolia, enjoying the 5-star treatment from President of Mongolia.
written by krising1, July 03, 2009 14:12:01
The writer must know that Malaysian borders are very porous. And if you have money or connections, it is even easier. RPK certainly has connections. For all you know, he might even be hiding in one of Selangor palaces after his sandiwara that he has been disowned by the palace. You can walk into Thailand from Kelantan. You can walk into Brunei or Kalimantan from Sabah or Sarawak. Wherever he is, he thumbing his nose at PDRM!
written by Frankfurtguy, July 03, 2009 14:15:32
To RPK, long live RPK, you are our hero
To RPK supporters, pray for his and his family's good health and happiness

To Polis Raja Di Malaysia, "go to fly kite, you useless scumbags"
To BN and leaders, "neh..neh...neh...."
written by Nunudada, July 03, 2009 14:39:45
Interpol should not co-operate with the so called Malaysian police because they have in all reality ceased to be a police force and are playing the role of uniformed gangsters of certain politicians.They have lost all credibility,they have tarnished the good name of our country and have taken the law into their hands.It is wrong to blame the entire force,but the powers that be are working as a crime syndicate with members at every level.
written by slash n burn, July 03, 2009 14:44:57
Only retard willing to be tried in the Malaysian Kangaroo court.
written by Tlau, July 03, 2009 14:45:20
Hey RPK,
I like this exciting scenario you created for the PDRM . Just like watching Bourne Identity mann. Stylo Milo lah.
written by evaangel, July 03, 2009 14:45:49
Elderly your head lah. RPK is 58 years old! How is that elderly????
written by Wudan, July 03, 2009 14:52:05
I like this Faizal from Malaysian Mirror. A Jason Bourne fan inspired journalist with an imagination running wild.But I marah when Faizal wrote that RPK is an elderly and not exactly limber man who skip town with no one noticing? Woit Faizal, RPK only too old to Rock n Roll la!

By the way, is this true? Did he pull a Hishamudin Rais and boarded a boat from a northern state bordering Thailand in the wee hours of the morning
written by SamSan, July 03, 2009 14:52:40
RPK is hiding in the same place where Private Investigator Bala and family are hiding. In fact, if I am not mistaken, RPK and Bala are doing their Phd in Trinity College, Oxford, England under the guidance of Dr. Abdul Razak Baginda.
written by Fairminded, July 03, 2009 14:55:13
RPK is no coward. As the old saying goes ; He who fights and run away lives to fight another day. It is a smart move and he and Marina had the full moral support of the silent rebels in the bloodless revolution to change Malaysia. Hopefully by next GE we can throw out BN and welcome him home. We put our hopes on PAS,DAP and PKR. Hopefully by now they will not lose the focus on petty issues.
written by asguard, July 03, 2009 15:09:18
RPK... better be in safe place, barang naik tentacles is stretching where and anywhere just get you!
written by carribeanking7, July 03, 2009 15:10:34
Quote :
He has probably chosen to be “Down Under” as he knew Malaysia does have an extradition agreement with Australia to allow our police to get him out of that country to face the music in his home court.

Haiya Faizal Tajuddin , why you so silly one the extradition treaty that malaysia signed with Australia in 2006 is the very reason Interpol can never extradite him from there.The extradition treaty under article 3 of that agreement, exceptions to extradition under subsection 1(b) is as follows:

"If there are substantial grounds for believing that a request for extradition for an ordinary criminal offence has been made for the purpose of prosecuting or punishing a person on account of that person’s race, colour, sex, language, religion, nationality, ethnic origin, political opinion or other status, or that that person’s position may be prejudiced for any of those reasons."
The rest of the story is here http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23136/84/

It is also possible that Pete just borded the plane in a normal manner and a sympathetic immigration officer deleted the records, hey immigration records have gone missing before, but I cannot say la ...because our gomen said cannot utter her name.

One more thing ah, before we talk of fools , Kings , cowardice and courage, especially before we talk about courage, call for fresh elections in Perak, can or not ?
written by cantona7, July 03, 2009 15:25:34
"Malaysia Today, incidentally, is still being updated regularly. The question is, is our man of mystery doing it from within or outside our shores?"

Didn't u know dumb dumb no gump gump that he has handed over the managing of this websites to other people??? Did'nt you know he's going to start a new news portal (think Malaysiakini and Malaysian Insider)?

Seems like you don't know him at all (like those amnu n polisi punks) to comment about his age and his physical prowess and his sacrifice. I'd bet he'd beat you to and one-to-one fight. You're the old man here when u're u stand in comparison to him by his side.

I suggest you read all his articles in the archives before you open your mouth, especially the ones where he said he's actually making u believe what you want to believe and come up to u from behind and do a Saifull on you and then leaving you lost in your world of confusion.

If your article proves anything at all, it is your stupidity and the people in authority, and also not forgetting the custom high-ups who cant explain why there were no records of the Mongolian beauty ever entering Malaysia. Go figure, you moron?

written by Surrhead, July 03, 2009 15:30:59
wei......PD RM?....saw someone, who looks like him, sounds like him.....BUT it's not him la......sorry, ya....
BTW ,all the best on the run, Pete....
written by Anti Relon, July 03, 2009 15:38:51
At least he is safe.
written by ScooL, July 03, 2009 15:51:24
Hello, did u watch stenven chow movie ? any tom, dick and harry can get out from Malaysia by presenting a note called RM, everyone is BOURNE/Bond in malaysia, u can use that note to buy "license to Kill", "play with C4" or get out Jail card ......

RPK u r the man ....
written by SBennit, July 03, 2009 16:13:07
OK I'll confess. I'm providing RPK with accomodation close to where I live; in Yeppoon.

He is living freely here as he is not wanted in Queensland.

The Malaysian Polis cant get him while he is here. Interpol has not been contacted by the Malaysian Polis, because there is no case against RPK..... You cant use the services of Interpol to catch naughty bloggers in Australia.

There was no drama about him "escaping" from Malaysia. RPK simply used his British passport.

IGP Musa can contact me if he wishes to have an audience with RPK.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by Fuminari, July 03, 2009 16:13:08
RPK has chosen to do the right thing,there's no way he could get a fair trial in this bolehland malaysia.he is more effective out there rather than stay put in within this domain full of sh.it puppeted by the umno be end thieve n bandits.
written by joeawk, July 03, 2009 16:13:56
What is Faizal babbling about. Is he trying to cast aspersion on RPK when he said that RPK could be in some monastery in Thailand.
written by KotaDamansara73, July 03, 2009 16:16:22
From Deep Throat Police:

I heard that some of the hierarchies in police wants to bring down IGP. And therefore is hiding him in their safe house in Malaysia. From there, he continue to plot the downfall of IGP.

My second DEEP THROAT source told me, that only either the police or the military has the expertise in hiding him or smuggling him to overseas. As he is constantly being watched by special branch, it is almost impossible for him to escape.
written by adan, July 03, 2009 16:16:51
He who fights and runs away lives to fight another day.....after GE 13. Meanwhile RPK is sharpening his claws.
written by C360, July 03, 2009 16:25:46
This is me thinking.

First PDRM cant get RPK whatever the reason how to placate it's "backers" ?

Second RPK's pic in Brisbane i dont know if thats the one from the Star or MT put up sorry guys, that dont wash with me I'm a photographer and taking a portrait against the sky dont show no shadow rims very obvious cut and paste job

So the question that begs an answer is why say he is out of the country ? and put up pics that suggest RPK is out of the country
written by miwaki, July 03, 2009 17:07:40
Who knows RPK now is the head of Australia's interpol and our PDRM is still waiting for RPK of Australia to provide them the where about of Malaysia's RPK.Ini-lah betul betul Malaysia boleh !
written by Counterpointer, July 03, 2009 17:37:19
RPK is at where Najis would very reluctantly look last:

That's right, Mongolia.

And yes, he can start shaking, they got the real deal photo.

written by Horizonline, July 03, 2009 17:56:33
Cause he's a magician dude! If he can even change a Malaysia, i don't see the reason he's not able to teleport to another country... hishamuddin, you want to catch him? fcuk u
written by abbey, July 03, 2009 19:29:48
Actually ah, RPK now stay wif Ayah Pin one.
written by Malaysiaputra, July 03, 2009 22:05:40
Ha, ha, ha, what is the big deal ?. I have heard for ages how the Pendatang Tanpa Izin came and go as they like without our police knowing anything. The ones they caught is only the tip of the iceberg.

Infact, I believe if a particular country want to invade Malaysia, they will have no problem at all as their armed forces can come in via the way these "pati" come into our country and these "pati" can show them the way in.
written by arazak, July 03, 2009 22:56:26
Why "sibuk-sibuk" looking for RPK. . ., they should be looking for Bala first!
written by aplus, July 04, 2009 02:20:59
Read his articles within the last one month or so and you'll get some idea where he is.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 04, 2009 02:28:00
Beware Rosmah and Jibby, we are watching you and your guru Ji cannot help you. It is a matter of time.

written by mowadoha, July 04, 2009 02:30:07
written by NSTPravda, July 04, 2009 12:25:12
that some fellow bloggers are implying that RPK is a coward to run to a foreign country, instead of appearing in court to bear responsibility of his words and actions.

RPK might be maverick, reckless and suicidal...dll.
But he is not stupid...
Why should he play a game with rules stacked against him?
Why play in a kangaroo court when he can cavort with fair dinkum real kangaroos..
The latter are be more humane, less greedy and infinitely more fun!
Rasuah sayang eh!
written by NSTPravda, July 04, 2009 12:27:16
I saw him having a cuppa with crocodile dundee north of Brisbane..

Dollar akbar!