Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Headed for a split

Headed for a split PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 13:01

Riding to power on the momentum created by the Hindu Rights Action Force, the DAP has suddenly found itself on the receiving end of the group’s wrath.

COMMENT BY BARADAN KUPPUSAMY, THE STAR

A POINT often comes in any political marriage between disparate groups when the initial euphoria of association changes to despair, squabbles and a final parting of ways.

In the case of the Hindu Rights Action Force’s (Hindraf) association with Pakatan Rakyat in general and the DAP in particular, that point of disengagement has arrived.

The spark for a parting of ways is the fight between the DAP and Hindraf, a movement banned by the authorities last year as an extremist organisation, over saving the century-old Indian settlement of Kampung Buah Pala in Penang.

The village is up for demolition and redevelopment into condominiums.

The DAP says the settlers, mostly cowherds, should take the compensation, move out and start a new life.

Hindraf leaders like founder P. Uthayakumar, however, argue that the DAP should use state land laws and forcibly acquire the land, pay compensation and preserve the area as a heritage site of early Indian migration and settlement.

The DAP would have been the first to agree to such an expansive proposal. In fact, the DAP had demanded the heavens in its heyday as a opposition party and the Barisan Nasional had to squirm to explain and deflect the unfeasible demands.

Now the roles are reversed with Hindraf demanding and the DAP, running Penang, squirming to deflect, with the Barisan watching from the sidelines.

“Indians and others voted to put the DAP in power. Why can’t they use the powers of the Chief Minister’s office to correct the wrong?” Uthayakumar said.

“It is just a signature … just a stroke of the pen. Acquire the land, end this tragedy!”

Penang Chief Minister and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng, who takes pride in running a tight ship, is aghast at the demand and the Hindraf demonstrations outside the party’s offices.

“Acquiring the land will bankrupt the state. It is costly,” he said numerous times when explaining the issues at stake.

With emotions running high, such explanations are falling on deaf ears.

After the Nov 25, 2007 protest which resulted in the Hindraf leaders being placed under Internal Security Act detention, it was the DAP’s Indian leaders who corralled the Makkal Sakthi movement sparked by Uthayakumar and rode it to victory.

Even PAS leaders were shouting the Makkal Sakthi mantra at political rallies in the run-up to the March 8 general election. The phrase became Pakatan’s battle cry.

Pakatan candidates raised public expectations sky high, promised the heavens and vowed to protect their constituents, many of them trapped on the wrong side of development, till the very end.

The line “over my dead body” was liberally used. One cannot blame the rural folk for believing that their new wakil rakyat would defend them to the end.

Although Pakatan Rakyat won five states and now rules four, there is very little fundamental change in the people’s lives.

Being among the poorest in the country, the Indian expectations for immediate change in their lives were very high post-March 8.

When that change did not happen, there is now rising frustration with Pakatan.

Income levels are the same and now with inflation and the rising cost of living taking away the value of their earnings, many pockets are empty.

It is in this context of frustration that one must see Hindraf’s anger against Pakatan.

It is anger arising from Pakatan not bringing material changes in their lives although that was something it promised but is beyond it to deliver.

Uthayakumar is leading the charge against Pakatan/DAP and he has reasons for doing so. On July 19, he is announcing a new political party and hopes to create, in his words, a “third force” which is independent of Pakatan and Barisan Nasional.

Heading his own political party, it is in his interest to attack Pakatan, rightly or wrongly, for doing “nothing” for Indians after promising the heavens to get their vote.

He hopes to take away Indian support from Pakatan and to this end, he will be stringently questioning Pakatan’s alleged failure to raise the social and economic levels of the Indians.

Like the DAP and other opposition political parties before, he, too, will be promising the heavens to wean away Indians from the Pakatan fold.

The Kampung Buah Pala incident is an example of what’s ahead.

There is no hidden hand behind the incident and the demonstrations against the DAP, as alleged by DAP leaders.

These events are rooted in genuine grievances and have been taken advantage of by opportunistic politics, and signal a parting of ways between Hindraf and Pakatan Rakyat.

written by Oscar Winner, July 03, 2009 13:19:03
Pls don't fall for it. This spindoctor writes for a living by spinning lies
written by Susanna, July 03, 2009 13:21:18
Good riddance to instigators. Problem with Indian parties, they see too much Indian movies and also try to act like heroes to their followers by gangserish methods. In the end fruits of your labour more important than outpouring emotional words. See how sammy was worshipped as God for so many years by the grass root Indians and then found he is not God but mere mortal man? Let's hope the grassroot Indians are smarter these days with their choices and not be sucked into worshipping any Indian leader who act like the Indian heros in the movies but in the end, it's all about himself as being the 'star' and not about the followers. sigh ...Wish there were a Matma Gandhi type amongst them. Win people and their hearts by gentle persuasion and humity and not heroic threats.
written by DreamLady, July 03, 2009 13:25:27
Hey, Puttusamy, you are good for nothing except churning shit day and nite!!! Because of you, the rest of the journalists are being condemned for spinning lies in the media. Do your homework seriously, and work with your conscience instead of your stinking feet. And stop taking bribes from your masters of the devils who expect you to spew venum in the mass media!!!
written by temenggong, July 03, 2009 13:53:28
Yes, I think they are headed for a split, unless DAP can see what's coming and find an avenue.
written by krising1, July 03, 2009 14:23:41
After Nov 2007, Samy Velu told BN leaders that the Indians are firmly behind him. Only a small fraction of the Indians are behind Hindraf. Samy Velu believed his own spin and also got Pak Lah to buy it. The result of believing Samy Velu's was disastrous. Now we have a whole host media spin doctors working for the BN. You consistently predict that PR is falling apart. IN time you will believe in your own spin that the rakyat is fed up with the PR. The idiots in BN will also buy the spin. The real story will be known on the night of GE13.
written by Bigjoe99, July 03, 2009 15:49:03
No hidden hand? Who believe that!! This BN guys don't get it you can't prove negative especially on the internet. People have more power in their hand and will believe SEOs more than they will trust any written piece on a any site or paper..
written by joeawk, July 03, 2009 16:33:38
No worries, the Pakatan parties do not decide. It is we, the NEW MALAYSIANS, who will decide if they stay together. Even the racist faction of PAS cannot decide.

PAS will also be split and the good guys will join Pakatan and the bad guys will join UMNO.

Still, it will be up to us, NEW MALAYSIANS , who will deciude who forms the govt after GE 13.
written by Ulan Benson, July 03, 2009 16:45:05
Kukusami, you mean your axshole heading for a split?

Next time, after shitting, just wash gently with soap and water. Take 3 antibotic and no chili. You should be fine within few days after the split healed by itself.
written by shamsulyunos, July 03, 2009 17:36:48
Once you are in power, the people's problems are your problems... you can go telling them to blame the previous Government all you want but it does not make it any less YOUR PROBLEM.

That is the concept of termed democracy...
Do you hear Obama saying that he cannot solve the problem of the American economy and tells the people to blame it on George W bush? You don't because he did not.

He tells people that it is tough but at the end of the day he accepts the responsibility of his position like an adult, like a mature politician and just work at it...
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 17:51:47
Even after Karpal asked Anwar Ibrahim to resign, PR was still intact.
Even after it was leaked that PAS had talks with UMNO with those involved given a severe tongue lashing from Tok Guru Nik Aziz, PR remained steady.
Even after the fall of Perak, PR continued to win by elections.

Every party leader in PR understands the bigger agenda and the trappings of disunity.
Fat hope Najib.
Your new 4th floor boys may set the traps and move the media to spin stories.
The people shall never buy that !

written by jason, July 03, 2009 18:19:33
1.Who sold the land to the developer?. BN/Gerakan.
2.Who profited from this deal? Again BN/Gerakan.
3.If PR acquired the land compulsory, who benefit? Of course the villagers and BN/Gerakan.
4.Next is of course the cost. How much? RM30-150mil as have been put forward by various figure. Can we justify paying such astronomical sum for the benefit of 2-300 people?. As was reported, the developer offer the villagers RM200k each but they rejected the offer. So why blame the current PR government. To me its simple, accept the offer and go after the BN/Gerakan people responsible for this fiasco. Hound them to their graves. This is what Hindraf should be doing. SEND your cows to BN/Gerakan HQ!!!. Not to DAP.
Makkal Sakti as I understand means People's Power not Indian power. Hindraf, please don't get big headed and trap yourself in chanting Makkal Sakti. Work for the people,work for People's Power!.
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 20:52:28
Dear shamsulyunos,

Obama is the president of a nation.

Tell me, whenever there is a disaster that overwhelms the resources of a state, to whom does the state governor in US turn to for aid?

LGE is the CM of a small state in a lob-sided federation who cannot even raise revenue from her own people except where allowed by the federal constitution.

The state only collects RM250 million from its people with a huge chunk of that money going to salaries of state employees.
This is a fact.
It will be a financial disaster for the Penang state government if LGE spends that kind of state money to save 200 villagers.

So before you people continue to hurl unreasonable accusations on your CM, please understand the resources and the powers of a state government.

Dr Toh of Gerakan often reminded his audience that even if there weren't a state government in Penang, nobody would notice.

The federal government is where all the money is.
written by Perak Boy, July 03, 2009 21:15:13

BARADAN KUPPUSAMY, THE STAR
As I have said before, this idiot guy is dispensing his duties to the UMNO/BN master. So the intention is crystal clear ... to stirr emotions and break up the semangat in Pakatan Rakyat.

Nevertheless, I have this to say or question LGE (DAP).

In this case (Kampung Buah Pala in Penang) LGE looked not so friendly with the indians and take no hood for the unfortunates and saying he uphold the court's decision.

But for the Kedah case of "kandang penyembelihan babi" which clearly illegal, why is he (secretary general of DAP) so conveniently hit the Menteri Besar of Kedah (PAS) and instead defending his egoistic DAP state chairman?

Isn't this a racist move by LGE ...???

written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 22:22:03
Dear Perak Boy,

If you read the press statements, LGE's lament over the Kedah state government was not on the abattoir issue per se.

It was rather that the Kedah government did not accord the proper respect to its coalition partner (contrary to what LGE felt the respect he accorded to the sole PAS state assembly person in Penang) and that many issues concerning the people of Kedah were not taken seriously by the state government.

Anyway, the limits of the state government as what I've written.
If you don't believe me, please do your own research on this issue and enlighten us with facts rather than emotions.
written by Perak Boy, July 03, 2009 22:25:34

To shamsulyunos and mikewang.

When PAS took over the state government of Kelantan from BN long time ago, the previous government (BN) left Kelantan with huge debt. And Tok Guru managed to pay and reduced the debt and sustain the credibility of PAS government to today with limited resources and non co-operation from Federal Government.

Did we here then the ToK Guru giving those kind of excuses in tackling problems of the state ???

Hence, do the rational/reasons given by mikewang above carry weight ???

Let us give some thoughts on this fact below:

1) Both LGE and TGNA are chief minister of a state.
2) One from DAP and the other from PAS
3) One only talks (transparency/accountability whatnot), and the other not only talks (preached) but walked the talk.
4) one (LGE-DAP) is answerable to the chinese, but the latter (TGNA-PAS) is answerable to God and not race.

So to DAP leaders and supporters. Let's face the fact that no party is perfect.
But please be reasonable and not happily making stupid comments to the public
and have respect to other party leaders and supporters.

If you cannot have respect for others, don't the same coming from others.
written by Perak Boy, July 03, 2009 23:00:04
Dear mikewang,

Thank you for responding.
Yes, there two things here. One is fact and the other is emotion.

When the news/articles were about the PAS/UMNO unity talks were arised, a lot of MT commentators went wild in cursing PAS and even to the extent of criticising the religion of Islam as well. And Mr. Karpal Sing made a press statement giving stern warning to PAS instead of resorting to internal discussion in PR. Did you hear any PAS leaders (aside Azizan-the MB) making public announcement or giving such warning ???

Yes, you may safely says that I emotional here. Just like what RPK said some time ago. PAS is WYSIWYG. We don't lie or pretend (not like UMNO). But with those fiery and stupid comments coming from these people who are supposed to be PR supporters, I certainly expect some respect and understanding. Yes, give your comments/views by all means, but not to the extent that overkilled. Please check those comments on related matters in MT by these people (some are already in the archive).

If you happened to be none of those people, accept my sincere apology.