Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow MCA slams PAS chief

MCA slams PAS chief PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 12:59

(The Star) - PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang has come under fire for objecting to the Government’s latest move to ease investment requirements in Malaysia.

“Abdul Hadi has got it wrong by rejecting economic liberalisation,” said MCA secretary-general Datuk Wong Foon Meng.

“PAS has to come to terms that the measures to overhaul the economy run in tandem with the global trend of free trade, which in turn spearheads a level-playing field.”

“The MCA fails to comprehend why PAS is antagonistic towards creating equal opportunities for all,” he said in a statement yesterday.

On Wednesday, Abdul Hadi objected to the scrapping of the 30% bumiputra equity ownership requirement for listed companies, saying the move was detrimental to bumiputras.

Wong warned that PAS’ continued calls to maintain bumiputra affirmative action policies would drive away domestic and foreign investors.

It had become obvious that PAS’ slogan of a “PAS for All” was never meant to look after the needs and grievances of non-bumiputras, he said.

“How can PAS preach about fairness for all races, but at the same time say that the bumiputra position must be strengthened? It is contradictory.”

Gerakan Wanita secretary-general Jayanthi Devi Balaguru urged DAP and PKR leaders to make their views known about Abdul Hadi’s stand.

PAS, she said, had been ignoring the voice of the people

since the general election last year.

After 51 years of independence, she said the people should have a non-racial outlook.

written by malaysian7, July 03, 2009 13:22:59
Hadi,

I am feeling frustrated with you day by day. Tok Guru is building PAS to be accepted by everyone and you seems to be doing the opposite way.
written by asguard, July 03, 2009 13:31:25
Just pluck out the bad ones and to be replaced with good ones in coming election!
written by Oscar Winner, July 03, 2009 13:34:22
Ai ya... this PAS guy is a friend of UMNO. Najis paid him to object and sow hatred to ultimately break up PR and provoke MCA DAP and all chinese. PR and rakyat will be OK without him
written by krising1, July 03, 2009 14:26:49
Why is MCA so vocal now? For 40 years you accepted NEP without a whimper. Not once did any of the MCA leaders say that it was not fair. In fact your silence meant that you approved NEP. Hadi is brave man. He voices his disapproval which is a lot more than what the MCA leaders without testes have been doing!
written by Trueandfair, July 03, 2009 14:43:39
MCA - don't talk about economy - PKFZ RM 12.5billion case first - you have lost the right to talk until you come clean on PKFZ. Or are you afraid that what Hadi said may chase away foreign investors that you may wish to "defraud" - in the case, Hadi is doing the global investment world a favour to chase them away from crooks like you!!!
written by mawi, July 03, 2009 14:56:15
if MCA truly believes in equal opportunities for all, then they should be the ones that be defending the 30% bumiputra quota since the current situation shows a great imbalance in terms of equity ownership with the Chinese outweighing other races. So what has MCA been doing all these while to correct this imbalance. Hadi's demand may not be a smart move but at least he is trying his level best to do something about this grave inequality, . What has MCA done?
written by Ben Nordin, July 03, 2009 15:11:34
Like I said, Hadi and Nasaruddin should resign. First Unity talks and now objection to equity. Hello? Since when Islam put race before anything? Assistance must be accorded to all that need them, regardless of race or religion. You already have a good example in Kelantan. Why look at UMNO?
written by Kathy, July 03, 2009 16:21:29
Has MCA been appointed the chief whip by UMNO? First it slams Kit Siang and son, now it slams PAS.
written by Hakim Joe, July 03, 2009 16:30:57
Aiyah...can't possibly slam own self mah!
Also cannot slam Gerakan or UMNO.
So got to slam the opposition lor!