Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow It will be a party or NGO, says Uthayakumar

It will be a party or NGO, says Uthayakumar PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 12:56

(The Star) - Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) legal adviser P. Uthayakumar will form a political party or a non-governmental organisation soon.

“It all depends on the feedback we get from our supporters and well-wishers,” he said.

The organisation, be it a political party or NGO, would be one of its kind in the country, he added.

“We will stand on our own and will represent, in particular, the most vulnerable communities in the country,” said Uthayakumar, 48.

He said a decision would be announced at the Klang Hokkien Hall on July 19. “We are expecting our supporters from all over to gather there on that day.”

He will be meeting Hindraf supporters over the weekend to gauge their sentiments.

Uthayakumar said he conceptualised the framework for the organisation during his 514-day detention under the Internal Security Act. He was freed in May.

The proposed organisation, he said, would be a third force in the country besides Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat.

A source close to Uthayakumar said the organisation would probably be a political party based on the principles of human rights.

“Human rights is an issue very close to his heart. Recent events such as the Kampung Buah Pala saga has made him realise that there is a need for an independent political voice to represent the suppressed,” he said.

He said the possibility that the organisation would be political in nature was also based on the Indian community’s disappointment in Pakatan.

In Putrajaya, Registrar of Societies Datuk Alias Kalil said there had been no application from Uthayakumar to form a political party.

“We have not received anything from him. No applications (have been submitted) as of today (yesterday),” he said.

Currently, there are 32 political parties and 44,777 associations registered with the ROS nationwide.

written by Wisdom above, July 03, 2009 14:03:22
So are U forming a Multi-racial Party for all Malaysians to join ?

Will your party be color-blind to be relevant ?
written by malaysian7, July 03, 2009 14:13:16
So Uthayakumar,

Tell us what do you think you can do? Are you going to fight for the poor Indians only or for all the poor Malaysians? If only the poor Indians then I can put it in a way that you are not helping all the poor Malays, Chinese, Kadazans and others. How about those who are as poor as the Indians? Are you going to just neglect them but Indian only? If for Indian, why not you just join MIC or your fellow buddies Thanenthiran? If for all Malaysians, why not be a part of PKR and help them thru within?

Is there a need for another political party? Malaysians don't need that, I believe Indians definitely don't need that. You are just creating another party to further divide the Indians vote (MIC, Makkal Sakhti) and further to your own party. In the end, nobody shall win.

Hello my friend, everybody has already witnessed when PR was not form, votes are all separated and BN gained from all these. So now you are just indirectly doing BN another favour by dividing the votes.
written by khalnayak, July 03, 2009 14:44:53
Wah liao,how many parties this Hindraf want to make?Just unite and be 1 strong voice lah.
written by Fairminded, July 03, 2009 15:20:32
Another MIC in the making. C'est le vie in Bolehland. Looks like history is being repeated.
written by Man In Black, July 03, 2009 16:35:56
Bunch of losers.we are talking about helping every Malaysian in need and not only the Indians.I have close friends whom are my good Malay and Chinese buddies who are poor and struggling and here you are
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 18:11:26
Do I have to be a Hindu to join your party ?
Do you have supporters club like PAS ?

With your public lashing of DAP recently, we are very sure that the registration of this party is already pre-approved.
written by Liberian, July 03, 2009 18:17:33
Uthaykumar before you apply for Hindraf to be a political party, please tell us what is your strenght in membership, finance and support by the Indian Community? Becos MIC is claiming 500,000 members, IPF 300,000, PPP 400,000 and PKR, DAP we don't know. How many are Indian Voters?
I know what you plan is to support BN and get a 'dog biscuts' and screw up the poor Indians.
This is a chllenge to you and your supporters to built a Tamil School on their own contribution, no money from BN or any political parties. See how much you can collect? If you could do that then all Indians will support you. So, don't talk rubbish!