Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Pakatan ‘facing acid test’

Pakatan ‘facing acid test’ PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 12:55

The DAP-led government in Penang is mired in the controversial Kampung Buah Pala issue where residents are facing eviction after the Federal Court ruled in favour of the landowner and developer on June 24.

The Star

The cracks appearing in the Pakatan Rakyat coalition are an acid test and it cannot continue to hide the truth from the people, said MCA president Datuk Seri Ong Tee Keat.

“Everything is out in the open now. This is the real acid test for them, one from which they cannot run away from,” he told a press conference after opening SJK (C) Union’s multimedia laboratory and its website.

He was commenting on the current political situation in the Pakatan-ruled states of Penang and Kedah.

The DAP-led government in Penang is mired in the controversial Kampung Buah Pala issue where residents are facing eviction after the Federal Court ruled in favour of the landowner and developer on June 24.

In Kedah, the Pakatan government is on the verge of collapsing following the state DAP’s decision to pull out of the pact.

Ong, who is also Transport Minister, said although the coalition was called Pakatan Rakyat, it was obvious that they only co-operated during the general election.

“If they were really concerned about the people from the start, they would not have been disorganised.”

Asked how long he expected the coalition to last, Ong said he was not a pak nujum (fortune-teller) but what was clear was that their coalition was based on vested-interest and was not expected to last long.

“It has always been the Opposition’s way to say something before the elections and after winning, their attitude changed. They should not forget that they have already been in power for the past 15 months and don’t tell me that if the previous government had made mistakes, the new one cannot rectify them. They should stop pointing fingers,” he added.

On the proposal by Penang Port Commission chairman Tan Cheng Liang that it take over ferry services, Ong said a decision on the matter would be made soon.

At a press conference in a hotel later, Ong said he had had a fruitful discussion with the state grassroots leadership on current local issues.

“They remain very focused and close to the people. I commend their commitment, which is crucial to the transformation of the party.”

State MCA deputy chairman Eng Hiap Boon said the party was “very dissatisfied” with DAP adviser Lim Kit Siang and Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng over the Port Klang Free Zone issue.

“We fully support Ong for his bravery in revealing the truth unlike the Opposition, which has yet to disclose the outcome of the investigation into events leading to the resignation of former Penanti assemblyman Mohamad Fairus Khairu­din.”

Comments (3)Add Comment
written by DreamLady, July 03, 2009 13:47:54
Ong tea cake, you are yourself a body of acid, spewing the poisonous liquid unto scandalous evidence so that the news disappear from public scrutiny.

To prove your innocence, go and catch those who are involved in Port Klang scandal and bring forward justice for all Malaysians to see!!!
written by Wisdom above, July 03, 2009 13:58:26
You did not fight your Deputy vehemently ?
That was your ‘facing acid test’ ?
MCA like BeEnd is slowly fading away !
written by lamakawan, July 03, 2009 16:05:11
The Pakatan state gomen in penang will have to do its best to resolve the issues of the Kg. Buah residents woes. The state gomen cannot dish out millions of ringgit just to please and satisfy the wants of the residents by buying over the land from the developer. The money that the state has belongs to all the rakyat of Penang and not just the squatters of one part of Penang. The chief minister has to be firm and consider what is in the best interests for ALL the people of Penang.
If the state starts to buy land from the developers, the state cannot survive and will collapse. Who is going to pay for the states administration and all the maintenance of infra structure, like roads, water, hospitals clinics social welfare etc etc.?
Please think carefully all those people supporting HINDRAF. You must consider the big picture and not just the problem of today.
Everyone must co-operate and be considerate, no matter who governs the state. Do not be self centered and irrational because you cannot get what you want.
Remember, the state belongs to all Penangites, irrespective of which group or race or religions you are. Please cool down and think for the betterment of the state and the future of the state under the Pakatan leadership.