Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Kit Siang slams Hindraf for blaming Penang govt

Kit Siang slams Hindraf for blaming Penang govt PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 12:53

(The Star) - The DAP has told off Hindraf for accusing the Penang government of not doing anything to help the Indians in Kampung Buah Pala.

Its national adviser Lim Kit Siang said the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) should place the blame for the controversy on those responsible and not make false accusations.

He said the group was doing a disservice to the Indians and the nation by accusing Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng of being a party to fraudulent land transactions involving the village.

“Hindraf is not helping the Indians’ cause by resorting to such accusations and threatening to break relations with the DAP,” he told reporters at Parliament yesterday.

Kit Siang again hit out at former chief minister Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon for being allowed to “get away scot-free” for approving the land deal under his administration.

A group claiming to be Hindraf members who demonstrated at Komtar on Tuesday was joined by its chairman in exile P. Waythamoorthy’s daughter Vwaishhnnavi who held his handwritten letter addressed to Lim.

Meanwhile, one of the five Hindraf leaders has broken ranks with the group to defend Lim and question Waythamoorthy’s right to represent Hindraf when he was not an elected leader.

V. Ganapathi Rao said there was no necessity to politicise the issue and that the Penang government should be allowed to do its best to resolve the matter.

Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibra-him said the issue had been widely reported because the Government owned most of the power media.

“These are issues which we need to sit down and discuss. They are big on our agenda as they concern the rule of law, the economy and justice,” he said at Parliament yesterday.

In George Town, the police will record statement from the Chief Minister’s political secretary today for his alleged interference in Tuesday’s demonstration.

Ng Wei Aik said he received a call from the police on Wednesday morning.

He said a police report was lodged against him for allowing the demonstrators to hand over a memorandum to his boss.

George Town OCPD Asst Comm Azam Abd Hamid confirmed that Ng has been summoned to give his statement for defying police orders.

Comments (25)Add Comment
written by Susanna, July 03, 2009 13:15:40
If that is the way Hindraf acts by being dramatic without checking the facts, soon enough they will be just alone shoutting in the air? DAP in Penang has done more for Indians than any other time in the past? Rome does not get built in a day. Neither can past wrongs be resolved instantly. Instead of channeling their anger at LGE who is also a victim in this issue, challenge the people who caused this problem in the first place! Check facts la.. Otherwise how for people to respect Hindraf except being so sensitive and childish making hue and cry over anything without knowing the facts!
written by Wisdom above, July 03, 2009 13:28:28
Very funny ways to enforce the POLICE ACT ?

Ng has been summoned to give his statement for defying police orders.
example ..." a police report was lodged against him for allowing the demonstrators to hand over a memorandum to his boss."

Were there outside interferences to provoke negatively?
written by asguard, July 03, 2009 13:29:39
Just be patient... let the state government settle the matter... and by the way which government would you prefer the Barang Naik or Pakatan?
written by Vivarium, July 03, 2009 13:43:07
bumiputeri,
If, to quote your comment, " before and after Bn, not much difference as far as Indians are concerned ", I guess you are quite happy with the 52-year BN rule. Why should you then suddenly burst at the 1-year PR rule which saw significant improvement for the people of Penang as a whole ?
The current state of affairs at High Chapral is the legacy of BN government and you blame Lim on this. Come on, be reasonable. It is like blaming the nurse for having delivered a deformed baby. You cannot the persons who nurse the baby who is born deformed. The nurse, I am sure, will try his/her best to rehabilitate the deformity.
By the way, did someone pay you for all these ?
written by quietguy, July 03, 2009 14:45:54
I am not a Penangite, so I have no standing in this matter. However, I wonder if the other 1.5 million Penangites would be happy if the state government spends millions of ringgits of their money just to please some 200 people.
written by DezMalaysia, July 03, 2009 14:49:04
CM Lim is no god. Even the DAP-led Penang Government do nothing now, they are being harassed for accepting a memorandum from those selfish squatters who know no bounds after being offered RM 90000 per family by UMNO linked Company.

bumiputeri, you talk about being Malaysian, but you think and talk the HinduStunt Way without considering all the consequences that might occur... you all just want the squatter colony there to maintain at the expense of the whole majority of Penang !

Those squatter colony even turned it into a racial issue, roping in Hindraf and people around the neighbourhood for their selfish agenda.

Steady lar brother... You see our most of our poor Malay brethens at Kampung Setinggan just take the payment be it RM 10 000 or 50 000 to live elsewhere & settle down legally.

Those squatters claim it's their rightful land, then prove it with documents. They said their fore fathers were cheated to sign TOL conversion papers and so on, any evidences ? 150years or 200years, it's still a grandfather story. By the way, Waythamoorthy is a lawyer, he should know very well that with no legal documents over the land, it's not theirs ! Squatters will claim everything for sure even it's not theirs.

Say my generations been living on Koh's Company land for some 200years free. Last year, Koh Company sold the land to Nusmetro company before Indian Company (with 1.5 million people to take care of) took over. Only after 19days when Indian Company took over, the land sale took effect and fully transferred to Nusmetro. Nusmetro acquired a court order to shoo my families away who's been residing on that land for some 200years. Then we claim it's our heritage land because we're there for so long ! Indian Company refuse to help us to reclaim our heritage land because it will harm the fragile & young Indian Company which is one years old. We went rampage, roping in all our Chinese brothers for demonstrations, MCA, Gerakan, DAP and all hurl attacks on Indian Company. We don't care what shit your Indian company is going to lose, compensate or get a few 100 millions loss revenue lawsuits from Nusmetro. And, we don't care a shit of what 1.5 million is going to think, we just want our families to live free on that land for another few generations. Make it our heritage site !
We call your Indian leader a coward.
We call your leader a heartless man.
We Call your Indian leader a big liar.
Then we went further calling your Indian leader a racist.
We threaten Indian Company that we will not give you our Chinese support anymore.

Tell me how do you feel then...

written by Avanza1, July 03, 2009 15:19:53
bumiputeri,
If, to quote your comment, " before and after Bn, not much difference as far as Indians are concerned ",

If the last was won by BN, I wonder if houses in Kg. Buah Pala would still be standing today. I wonder if the villager would have been water canoned, batton charge, dragged/carried off in FRU/GOP trucks. Wonder if their homes would have been flattened by bulldozers, burned to ashes. Would their cattles have become curry daging in some kenduri while they are sitting in lockup and some continue to figth court cases and busy shoutin/protesting beside the road, opposite the construction site of the new OASIS condo.

When all this comes true you can say a good thank you to Hindraf, UMNO, Gerakan.
written by Fairminded, July 03, 2009 15:25:13
HINDRAF ia playing into the hands of BN. Even the police force is now doing its bit to fan the unrest. Keep cool heads and work out the issues instead of shouting at one another.
written by carribeanking7, July 03, 2009 15:42:13
Give bumiputeri a break, she is just emotional , I am sure deep down she does not mean it, this is a very emotional issue, I posted a note about it in facebook and it attracted over 200 comments from various parties http://www.facebook.com/note.p...4313280756

written by defendermalaysia, July 03, 2009 16:31:54
I was wondering why the people in Kg Buah Pala did not ask Koh to resign as chief minister at that material time when the previous BN state govt sell away the land to the developers? Now you Hindraf is pressuring Lim to resign ower what? All of you including Hindraf should now protest to Koh and Umno as they are the one to sell away the land to the developers. All of you are barking to the wrong tree. Who is going to be responsible to pay back over hundreds of millions back to the developer in case the developers counter sue the present PR govt? Is Hindraf going to pay back compensation to the developers?
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 17:55:46
Don't you see this, Hindraf supporters ?

That "office boy" you so called had to bear the wrath of the police for letting you people into the auditorium so that you were made safe from them.

Out of his kindness, he could be charged for defying police orders.
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 18:04:30
Dear temenggong,

Are you sure that land can be acquired for RM4 million only ?
After putting in the infrastructure like roads and drainage, land at that location is worth at least RM200/sq foot.
Go work out the maths for the total land in question.

Federal constitution says "no law shall provide for the compulsory acquisition or use of property without adequate compensation."
Even if the PR state government can have the votes to amend state laws, they cannot avoid paying adequate compensation.
written by Liberian, July 03, 2009 18:37:44
Before arguing whether the DAP government should do anything for the God Shaken village, please check the land laws of Malaysia. Even though there freehold or lease hold land titles, with a stroke of a pen, the land can be taken over by the Government, including Malay or Native reserve. This law was introduced by our famous TDM period. The land could be taken for development purpose. You can chellenge for conpensation in courts but no way you can get the land back! This is not India, where you can block the land from developement. There are some roads or highway projects which have to divert because there is a small shrine. This happens in India.
So, blaming DAP Government is wrong, I thought HINDRAF is led by lawyers!These how they screwed up innocent followers with a promise of RM1 million from the British Government. Without reading and finding out, how the British brought the Indian Mirgrant workers to Malaysia. By the way what hertitage you are talking about? A few cow sheds and just because the present suaqatters fore fathers sold milk during the colonial period and that is great!!!!!!!!!
written by temenggong, July 03, 2009 20:25:43
Are you sure that land can be acquired for RM4 million only?

Dear Mikewang, yes, it has been checked with property valuers on a 'as is, where is' basis for agricultural/livestock land.

The villagers are not squatters, nor TOL occupants, but paying quit rent and assessment on a sq. ft. basis, like anybody else. It is their land, sans the title deeds. This is something everybody is missing.

Whatever it may be there should be no more demolition of homes, places of worship or abattoirs. Don't you agree?
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 21:35:12
Dear Temenggong,

The developer would not pay that kind of money (even at RM90,000 per family) to compensate what the court deemed squatters if they do not already have the land converted to land for housing development.

I do not believe the status of that land today is still agricultural/livestock.
Those people running the SENIOR GOVERNMENT cooperatives and helped by UMNO interests know land values and land laws a lot better than most of us.

Somewhere along the time line, it was a fact that the land became TOL land after the trustee transferred the land back to the state. It is unfortunate that voters did not kick out the BN government in 2004.
If this was so, such greed by senior government servants (cooperatives) working in collusion with UMNO interests would not have surfaced.

I've argued this before.
Land is the most valuable asset of any state in this country.
However, the previous CM surrendered the land portfolio to UMNO, ostensibly as a bargain to keep the CM post with Gerakan since MCA has always been interested to regain what they lost to Tun Lim in 1969.
I believe what has happened to Indian "High Chaparral" today is a direct result of this arrangement.

The revenue collected by the Penang state government is a paltry RM250 million with most of that money paying the salaries of state employees.
The CM cannot afford to acquire the land and subject the state to multi million ringgit suit that would bankrupt the state and allow BN to gain a back door entry.
written by Milo, July 03, 2009 21:57:59
Hindraf's leaders looks like they have been bought to cause trouble in Penang. Don't tell me the leaders, some of whom are lawyers. don't know the land law and the constraints of the Penang government. They are protesting to cause trouble ON PURPOSE!
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 05:43:48
LGE shall go fight with UMNO proxy in the court, bankrupt the state is also ok.

Penangites will vote back PR again and again for fearless LGE.
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 05:54:08
To bumiputeri..maybe only revolution can solve Indian problems in Malaysia.

I condemn LGE in anilnitto and MT blog for his inaction to stop this land deal.

written by fearless, July 04, 2009 05:56:55
written by Milo, July 03, 2009 21:57:59
Hindraf's leaders looks like they have been bought to cause trouble in Penang. Don't tell me the leaders, some of whom are lawyers. don't know the land law and the constraints of the Penang government. They are protesting to cause trouble ON PURPOSE!

===

If your ancestral land is transferred to someone else, then you come back to tell me that you fine to be forced out by bulldozer.
written by temenggong, July 04, 2009 09:50:24
mikewang,

The transfer of Straits Settlement Trust land was illegal.
The conversion from agricultural to mixed development is also illegal.

If it remains agricultural land then the value remains RM 4 million of so. If it is mixed development then of course the value would be RM 20 million. The difference is what the transferee (union pegawai kerajaan) takes as free money.

The transferee passes the land to the developer 'as it is', and it is incumbent on the developer to remove the 'squatters' by paying some measly compensation. Instead of fighting a losing battle in Bolehland some 7 villagers took the money and moved on.

The villagers have been paying quit rent and assessment indicating land ownership, although no title was issues (as it was supposed to be held in trust).

Our Bolehland courts are simply not functioning and ruling as it should! There is no justice in the courts.

So where can we go after exhausting all avenues, except to DAP? But those boys are cringing over some abattoir pigshit and singing the songs of the developer, and court ruling blah, blah maa! And the other boys in kopiah are doing the joget in nasyid with umno.

So go to Hindraf lah! Thats where everybody goes these days after exhausting all avenues. It is the Court of Last Resort in bolehland.
written by fearless, July 04, 2009 13:23:19
Temengggong....Appeal and Federal courts are filled with UMNO cronies.

Where you can get justice?
written by SiHangChai, July 05, 2009 00:07:42
Hindraf has become so samseng and limited in their thinking that they went for cheap thrills just like MIC without investigating further. Pity we also have residents of Kg Buah Pala are not squatters but seeking ransoms by force.