Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Azim dropped as BSN chairman after Bank Negara objection

Azim dropped as BSN chairman after Bank Negara objection PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 12:50

Azim was awarded RM1 million in libel damages by the Kuala Lumpur High Court after Raja Petra failed to appear in the civil proceedings to file a statement of defence. He has also been named in the ongoing Port Klang Free Zone (PKFZ) scandal as the chairman of Kuala Dimensi Sdn Bhd, the main developer of the transshipment project.

By Lee Wei Lian, The Malaysian Insider

Bank Simpanan Nasional (BSN) chairman Datuk Seri Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi's contract was terminated prematurely due to conflicts with his political career in Umno.

The Malaysian Insider understands that Bank Negara does not favour politicians serving on the board of directors of banks and that the prime minister, who is also finance minister, agrees with this view.

BSN is wholly owned by the Ministry of Finance and is regulated by Bank Negara.

According to Azim, he was supposed to serve until the end of this year but Bank Negara only allowed him to stay until the end of June, which is just after his term as vice-president of the World Savings Bank Institute ended in May.

Azim was Umno treasurer until April this year when he was replaced with Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah. He is also Bukit Bintang Umno division chief.

When contacted, Bank Negara said it does not comment on individual banks but that board appointments are governed by the Development Financial Institutions Act 2002.

Comments (3)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, July 03, 2009 13:57:05
To date, only 2 major institutions seem to stand firmly on their feet at face value -
1. Petronas
2. Bank Negara
How shall we rank the Judiciary, AG, Police, MACC and EC on their ranking?
I dare not even think about it.
written by Thambidoorai, July 03, 2009 14:39:54

I was told the following joke;

"How do you make a Melayu a successful businessman?"

"You give him a successful big business to start with."

Seeing the miserable non-achievements of all the other GLCs, doesn't anyone suspect that Petronas could have done better? After all, if I were lucky enough to be sitting atop a million tonnes of gold, I would have to try damn hard in order to be poor."
written by The Truth Seeker, July 03, 2009 19:07:55
the most corrupted man, a liar and womaniser, got a 97 million ringit interested free loan from umno for his wife to rear kambing, and never return, umno money to buy sungei wang and the IPP in kedah, but shares are missing,