Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow The Pakatan alliance is just not working out

The Pakatan alliance is just not working out PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 10:22

By Zubaidah Abu Bakar, NST

Has the opposition coalition lost its lustre? Or has political fatigue set in because there's just too much politicking and squabbling among Pakatan components? It might seem so.

IT was way off target. Barely 4,000 people were at the Kelana Jaya MPPJ stadium for the Pakatan Rakyat "unity rally" on Tuesday night, when it was supposed to have been a "gathering of 100,000" to project a united alliance.
The poor turnout was a stark contrast to the opposition coalition's last mass gathering at the same venue, on the eve of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's much publicised (and botched) Sept 16 "takeover" of the Federal Government last year.

Has the opposition coalition lost its lustre? Or has political fatigue set in because there's just too much politicking and squabbling among Pakatan components? It might seem so.

Certainly, many who voted for opposition candidates in the last general election are now wondering if they made the right decision, what with the inter-party and intra-party bickering over national and state issues and the administration of states under Pakatan rule.

To their dismay, the voters have found that they had chosen candidates of questionable backgrounds and track records, out of anger at the perceived arrogance and abuses of Barisan Nasional.

The March 2008 general election may have changed Malaysia's political landscape with massive defeats of BN candidates, but many Malay-sians have begun to realise that their lives have not improved much under Pakatan rule.

Given the economic slowdown, compounded by their lack of experience, the Pakatan state governments are struggling to meet voters' expectations while maintaining unity within their alliance, a problem that is growing in Penang, Kedah and Selangor.

A communication breakdown between DAP and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) was displayed over the construction of the second Penang bridge: Anwar objected to the bridge being proposed for the south of Penang, claiming that there were less expensive options, but Penang Chief Minister and DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said he was fine with the proposal and was unaware of the objection.

Kedah DAP's announcement that it was withdrawing its support for the Pas-led state government is another indication of the deteriorating Pakatan alliance.

Kedah DAP chief Thomas Su said the move was due to the state government's failure to give "equal treatment to all Kedahans" -- the two major sticking points being the demolition of an illegal pig abattoir at Kampung Berjaya and the imposition of a 50 per cent Bumiputera housing quota in the state.

Although Lim said the decision was not final until and unless it is endorsed by the DAP central executive committee, the fact remains that there is little trust between DAP and Pas in Kedah.

There are also issues Pakatan partners are unhappy about in Selangor, such as the sale of liquor.

As Pakatan is still licking its wounds from the damage caused by the now aborted plan by Pas to hold unity talks with arch-rival Umno, the feeble attendance at the rally spoke volumes. The organisers blame the low turnout on short notice, but some opposition leaders did not stop short of calling the event a failure.

Could this be a reminder that Malaysian voters, now more informed on the goings-on in Pakatan Rakyat, are not as politically gullible as they were a year or more ago? The rally was seen as an attempt to shore up support for the opposition ahead of the Manik Urai by-election scheduled for July 14 and Anwar's sodomy trial, which could see him jailed for 20 years.

Some say it was to keep the momentum going on the constitutional impasse in Perak.

"There is no question of the Pakatan Rakyat surviving," Anwar, confident as always, told wire service AFP after the rally. "It will continue to defend the rights of the people and challenge the government, gaining strength from any conviction made against me.

"In fact, I think a conviction against me will enrage a lot of people."

Leaders who took the rostrum strenuously denied there were major cracks in Pakatan following Pas' flirting with Umno. But instead of pacifying and convincing supporters, they went on to bash BN, Umno, and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak's 1Malaysia.

The crowd was expecting more, such as leaders offering alternative solutions to political challenges and social and economic woes, as expected of a government-in-waiting.

It could have been a ploy to divert attention from Pakatan's shortcomings and buy time to build better understanding and stronger bonds among the component parties.

This could backfire, however, as it would be tantamount to challenging the political maturity of Malaysians.

Pakatan may be a marriage of convenience, but so are all coalitions to greater or lesser degrees. Its birth was encouraged after its three component parties -- Pas, DAP and PKR -- collectively won 82 of the 222 parliamentary seats contested in last year's general election and jointly took control of the state assemblies of Kedah, Penang, Perak, Selangor and Kelantan.

For the first time in 40 years, the opposition had denied BN a two-thirds parliamentary majority.

Some political analysts view the forging of a loose electoral pact among the three parties as a personal triumph for Anwar, whose negotiation skills helped bring the rival groups together on the basis of principles held in common by the three parties, such as freedom, justice and democracy.

But the indications now are that all is not well within Pakatan Rakyat.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by Tan Tan, July 03, 2009 10:33:40
It seem like Najib had appointed some smart ppls working for him.

1) Placing trojan horses at Pakatan Rakyat
2) Starting unity talk with PAS to create disunity among them
3) Slowly portraiting PAS's "creepy islamic intention" by using races and religion cards
4) Getting Anwar to make sure the leader is being silent for an easy attempt to break Pakatan.

MY advises to PR.

1) Smart up and start cleaning trojan horses.
2) The leaders of each party need sit down to have more mutual understanding because as long as the leaders are strong, it is hard to break the team. We need not to like our team mates but we need to do the right thing for the share common goals.
3) Therefore, sometimes need to learn to let go a bit. EQ plays important role here.
4) Stop falling into UMNO's traps of race and religion card. Start to set up a PR's team of advisers making up of smart ppls (if you need to hire someone not from Malaysia, do so).
written by AO Musa, July 03, 2009 10:34:10
I dont know what to comment here.Looks like everyone is power craze. I lost my hope in United Malaysia. We cant get rid of our obsession towards race. Perhaps and i hope our children will continue this struggle.
written by sydput, July 03, 2009 10:36:01
There are some people in pakatan who are racially/religiously inclined. They should perform their work based on justice and righteousness. Racial and religious issues cannot overide justice and righteousness. Once this is set, there should not be any more problems.
written by fireduck, July 03, 2009 10:36:33
While I am getting fed-up with politicians in general, and may not participate even in the Pakatan activities from now on, my personal goal remains the same. That is, we honestly, seriously, compellingly need a change in the structure of our political system. Recent frustrating events do not change that need a bit. I remain committed to telling my friends, and to convince them to tell their friends, why it is necessary to give ourselves a strong choice, a two or three party system, a viable option to just UMNO(BN), and to re-exert our rights in determining the direction of our kids' future. Come the next general election, I will still do my part to ensure that we make the change permanent, and also to ensurethat we do not regress to another 50 years of the same old same old non-accountability, and irresponsible governance.
written by krising1, July 03, 2009 10:37:16
Every BN spin doctor has predicted the end of the Pakatan. Every BN politician has done the same. Everyone has a 6 sense but the those in the BN camp have seven - the last being Non-sense. One of the earliest prediction was by the pencuri tukang gigi who said there will be zero opposition in Selangor. Then there was another big wig who said that BN will bury Anwar in Permatang Pauh. Now he lies almost buried as the youth leader without a cabinet post. If every BN leader and spin doctor was to leave public life for making a false prediction, you can be rest assured that they will be none left in public life.

Anyway these PR sandiwaras are making the BN people happy. Let them be. Just to test if PR is falling apart, they should dissolve the Perak assembly.
written by 1st2stay, July 03, 2009 10:39:09
"Certainly, many who voted for opposition candidates in the last general election are now wondering if they made the right decision"

No? What else should they have done? Keeping BN at 90% flat?
(How much does it pay to lick the boots, Zubaidah?)
written by Wisdom above, July 03, 2009 10:52:05
BeEnd Government is slowly fading away ? It may sound funny ?Barisan Rakyat ( Pakatan Rakyat ) will be the New FEDERAL Government in due time.

written by Ken Liew, July 03, 2009 10:56:05
The Pakatan alliance is just not working out..... know whats worst??

THE BN alliance were NEVER working~!
written by asguard, July 03, 2009 11:02:57
Well, the spin doctor at Barang Naik own press... is seems to be enjoying new found of freedom... question the basic foundation of PR! Well, i say Barang Naik is even worse at keeping any promises and almost all of the promises were meant to be broken before they can be deliver ...a demon, a devil!
written by gx27, July 03, 2009 11:10:00
grow up la Pakatan leaders. Dont you should be ashamed of yourselves for constantly falling to UMno's trap? we are really sick of this internal squabblings.how are you all going to manage a country with these stupid squabblings?
written by lobster, July 03, 2009 11:20:11
Good work PR, I hope you guys are happy now. I am sure BN folks are happy seeing you killing yourselves.
written by Arubin, July 03, 2009 11:33:35
I would rather they squabble and have their disagreements. At least there's something honest and open about it. Better than BN pretending to cooperate, but in actual fact is just MCA and MIC kissing UMNO's arse.
written by *********, July 03, 2009 11:40:53
The BN spin doctors freom the MSM like Zubaidah of NST, Baradan, Joceline Tan and Wong Chun Wai of The Star are all going into hyperdrive with their spins. Its a matter of time that nald headed Umno ass wiper Siva Murugan Pandian pukes his spin...More http://*********.********.com/...html#links
written by mikewang, July 03, 2009 11:41:00
The 4,000 turn out is actually a lot of supporters considering that
i. There is no media coverage of the event.
ii. It was a last minute effort.
iii. It was held without massive busing and attendance payout so typical of BN.
iv. The unity rally came with no free dinner nor any sleazy dancing girls.
written by densemy, July 03, 2009 12:06:47
"Certainly, many who voted for opposition candidates in the last general election are now wondering if they made the right decision,"

What an incredible statement to make. Maybe you have forgotten that many of the votes were AGAINST BN and not necessarily FOR PKR

You wouldnt be Malaysian unless you believed you had the right to decide how other people should think
written by SimpleSoul, July 03, 2009 12:20:58
To sum up Zubaidah from your deskstop analysis, gatherings had huge turn out previously before the 12th GE. As more than 15 months had passed by. Of course there would be a reduction of people participating in these rallies as these voters are fully convinced of every agendas and deciet by BN and no longer require to look and listen to what the Opposition has to say. They have made their mind and nothing could shake their decission come 13th GE.

Rather the you waste you bloody time harping on every small issue of Pakatan for only god knows, I suggest you try find something which will be useful for nationbuilding. Another suggestion is that not many attends these rallies as these event are fully covered by the electronic media such as you tube and other sites. We would have at least 3 million new voters who have some basic skills of the alternative media and they will be well informed of your unindependant journalism.
written by truthbespoken, July 03, 2009 13:31:15
Zubaidah must have swallowed the wrong thing and her head must be spinning when she wrote this article! Of course Malaysians are not as politically gullible as they were, not one year ago but 30-40 years ago! That's why Malaysians are now persistently fighting head and toe with the corrupted and arrogant UMNO government over the trickery and gullible mistakes made years ago!
written by DreamLady, July 03, 2009 15:09:35
Zubaidah, I see that you are back again with your spinning, this time around, with more venom up your sleeves. You need not highlight the in-fighting within PR or its short-coming, I rather treat it as a norm, it is not your business to speculate or to spin in your master's favour!!!

If you write a balanced sheet between the ruling party and PR, the flaws and the glaring corruption that eats into UMNO regime's very core, as well as denoting the flaws and short-coming in PR, then I truly salute you. But as it is, you are 100% biased in your info. and assumption, you are practically bending well-over to your paymaster who expects you to do a make-over for PR so that it looks aweful!!
You have smeared the good names of other upright journalists with your wayward and tainted opinions!! Get out of my face for good!!
written by Mirage, July 04, 2009 22:46:43
I dont think its the fighting that is taking away the unity support from the rakyat but the lack of leadership from Anwar. How can a coalition of component manage themselves without a leader? Have you heard from Anwar lately on any important issues. Naturally each component without the leader would have their own agenda.

Anwar,

Pls WAKE UP and do something!! This is worst than being 100% opposition when its without leadership.