Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Guan Eng: Kedah situation “desperate”

Guan Eng: Kedah situation “desperate” PDF Print
Friday, 03 July 2009 02:38

By Deborah Loh, The Nut Graph

While other Pakatan Rakyat (PR) leaders today glossed over Kedah DAP's pullout of the state government, DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng had a different view.

Lim, who is also Penang Chief Minister, said the situation in Kedah was "desperate" enough that the party's top leadership would be meeting to decide whether to endorse or oppose the move.

He added that said the implications of DAP withdrawing from the Kedah PR government would have "large adverse national ramifications", and needed to be studied.

He squarely blamed Kedah Menteri Besar (MB) Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak for the breakdown in trust between PAS and DAP there.

"Kedah DAP has been unhappy with the lack of respect accorded by PAS to DAP in Kedah unlike the respect accorded to PAS in Penang," Lim said in a statement today.

He singled the "failure of the PAS-led government not to give equal treatment to all Kedahans" as the reason for the pullout.

Lim said Kedah DAP chairperson Thomas Su had informed him that the demolition of an illegal pig abattoir and the imposition of the 50% bumiputera housing quota in the state were the main causes for DAP's unhappiness.

"For Kedah DAP to pull out from the Kedah government, [this] signals the complete lack of communication and respect from the Kedah PAS-led government."

Lim said he would "normally oppose such moves" if there was still room to correct the situation, but he believed things had become desperate.

written by Hakim Joe, July 03, 2009 08:07:27
Navigator,

Frankly speaking, I do not know about the blackmailing part as there are not concrete evidence to support such a claim. You might be correct for all I know but Perak's constitution does not include HRH obligatorily having to select a Chinese MB. This was known and acknowledged at the very beginning. As for the fiasco, do remember that it was PKR and DAP frogs that jumped. You might not know this but there are quite a few DAP reps (both State and Parliament) that act and think that they are Gawd-personified. Of course this is true of both PKR and PAS and here is when egos clash.

LGE might also be correct in his assumption that PAS holds no respect for DAP up north but this is a case where the PR leaders must settle themselves. It would be a waste if Pakatan disintegrates because of such a minor incident.

written by maisur, July 03, 2009 08:20:02
hmmm... i wonder what pemuda PAS pulau pinang would say about lim guan eng.
written by technoboy, July 03, 2009 08:30:23
LGE, we see courage in your leadership like removing Johari and sticking to the rule of law on Kg Buah Pala, hope you will do the right thing this round again. Hindraf is slowly showing its' real racist color, with guys like Waythamoorthy and Uthayakumar at the helm, they will not go very far, what happened to Pandithan of IPF, he was very stubborn like the current Hindraf leaders, but racist party has become irrelevant in today's politics, only UMNO/BN morons still believes in it.
written by penangboi, July 03, 2009 08:48:28
I do not have all the facts for the pig abattoir issue, but if the building was illegal then we have to follow the law, it has to be demolished. Finding an alternative site will need to be complying to the health regulations.

But as for the 50% bumi allocation for housing, I am dead against it. Don't get me wrong. Housing for the needy is a necessity. But to discriminate along racial lines is exactly what we are all trying to fight against with the UMNO/BN racists.

Why only for Bumis? For the matter, why for Chinese, Indians, Bengali, Kadazan, Ibans, etc etc.

We have enough racism in our country. We can do without any of it from Pakatan. I am not going along party lines. I am opposed to any racist policies be it coming from Pakatan or BN/UMNO.

To me the difference between Pakatan and BN is the latter is pure racist. Now if Pakatan elects to follow racist BN, then they lose my support. Period.
written by maisur, July 03, 2009 08:59:02
dear penangboi
the 50% quota is only applicable to tanah rizab melayu, not to all land. i think mr azizan was kind enough to reduce the quota from 100% malay to only 50% malay. mind you again that the quota only affects TANAH RIZAB MELAYU.
written by nana tanjung, July 03, 2009 09:09:30
"Lim said Kedah DAP chairperson Thomas Su had informed him that the demolition of an illegal pig abattoir and the imposition of the 50% bumiputera housing quota in the state were the main causes for DAP's unhappiness."

Sigh...By now I should have gotten used to the inability of LGE to grasp and digest facts, no matter how simple they are. I did comment and pointed out total flaw of his facts and reasoning on the Shanghai LNG sale by Petronas vs shoratge of gas locally couple of days ago and here we go again, a total flaw in his facts about another widely published issue - the so called 50% bumi housing quota in Kedah.

For once, everybody please get this fact clear. It is not applicable for other type of land.

What's is wrong with this fella and DAP in general? What are you guys trying to do? The Malays are allocated a quota of only 50% on their own reserve land and you guys is still not satisfied with that? It is Malay reserve land; they have been generous enough to let the non-Malays to partake the other 50% and you are still not satisfied? I have never come across greedy stock like this. I am totally disgusted with the bastardious attitude of these DAP pigs.

I'm not really sure what was LGE's intention. Getting cheap political mileage? Then it is really cheap and he is making his party a cheap party as well. The value is plumetting rapidly in the eyes of malays including PAS and PKR supporters. Blunder by lack of facts? Then he is exposing that he is not a good leader. Go and get better and sincere advisors or researchers.

The abattoir is illegal, and the quota is only restricted to Malay reserve land. Both are non-issues. LGE should look up at PAS and PKR leaders who have been trying to soothe things out.
written by fendyoasis, July 03, 2009 09:15:14
hah diam korang semua.
To all these PAS bashers, check ur facts first before talking. Having said these, I still have faith in LGE to do the right thing. I hope.
written by bumiputeri, July 03, 2009 09:16:29
DAP,

Ya, pig farm is so important to DAP than the peoples' homes in Kg Buah Pala. If DAP can choose to pull out of Pakatan just because of a PIG FARM, then what should the Malaysian Indians do when temples are being demolished, people are being masacred (kg Medan, police custody, shoot out order, etc....) no equal job opportunities, ...their lands are being taken away....etc?

Why call them illegal squatters, when that is not the issue here. How many Indians throughout Malaysia are occupying illegal lands compared to Chinese and Malays? If you think they have been having a free ride for 200 years and don't need to render them the previlege anymore, then ask all Malaysians occupying illegal lands to evacuate their lands, than it is fair lah! They are everywhere, by the railway tracks, by the rivers, in towns, in kampungs.... everywhere! Pi cari lah dia orang.

Some commentators here so inhumanly said, then the Indians say, dont come begging for our votes come 13 General Election! You think you are so great that you have got Penang, DAP? Wait for the next GE, we will see, who is great!

LGE, those fat Chinese businessmen that you are feeding and so worried about, will give you hundreds of votes, but it is the whole of Penang that will give you thousands of votes. Choose businessmen, the Chinese or all Penangites! Up to you! We will decide whom to vote come next general election!
written by garfunky, July 03, 2009 09:37:33
Bah,

Right off the bat, I am going to say "WTF DAP???"
in light of all these internal conflicts you go ahead and pull out of Kedah?
You do know that no matter what the reason, pulling out is the dumbest political move ever??

You can call for a PKR member(Johari) to be fired for his boycott. Fair enough, but now you guys are doing what Jonari did! where is the CONSISTENCY??

sure there might be long and even valid arguments for your decisions but it does not in any way change the fact that BN, the sympathisers, and the neutral voters are going to see this in a very negative light.

BAD MOVE, fix it now.
written by chiongguo, July 03, 2009 09:42:14
I knew of the 50% quota but the malay reserved land bit was not widely published. I even defended the move if it was meant not to create dangerous malay enclave which could easily turned into a hotbed of discontent. I thought that the 50% quota was a good short-term strategy. But I do not know it was on malay reserved land.

If it was true that it is on malay reserved land than the opening up to other races is a good move indeed. If the title of the land is converted to freehold this means that the government has to allocate new land for malay reservation. The malays are actually not losing anything. This is like having your cake and eating it as well.
written by quietguy, July 03, 2009 10:14:13
Lim Guan Eng, who are you to talk about lack of respect? When the Kedah state government was formed, the kedah MB was courteous enough to offer the lone DAP ADUN an exco position, but the offer was turned down. However, when the Penang government was formed, why didn't you offer the same courtesy to the lone PAS ADUN? Who doesn't respect whom, here?
written by maisur, July 03, 2009 10:26:57
densemy,
don't ask too much. be grateful that the PAS-led government has done a pretty un-popular move amongst the malays to open up a malay reserve land. and how on earth did DAP-kedah not know about this? i guess they are simply JAHAT, trying to smear PAS' good name which seems to be accepted more and more by the non-muslims.

agree with quietguy,
on the election night, after he got so many votes from the PAS supporters, this hopeless CM from melaka arrogantly said that the new penang govt is only between DAP and PKR when asked by the reporters whether PAS will be included in the new line-up. he must have forgotten what he said. we have melayu mudah lupa, now we also have "cina mudah lupa". but i sincerely believe lim guan eng is not "cina mudah lupa" but he is simply evil and JAHAT. never trust this kind of animal. so many JAHAT people in this party
written by jdoe, July 03, 2009 10:33:53
Personally I dont eat pork, for health reasons not religion.
But I think those people should show some maturity in their actions, rather than bulldozing through the matter, with their iron fist. People, sit down and discuss, and find an amicable solution.
written by nana tanjung, July 03, 2009 10:36:09
densemy,

the malay reserve land has its own enactment. recognize it whether you like it or not since your forefathers agreed to the social contract.

Don't try to start open another can of worm. Otherwise it could lead to other unhealthy jibes - we can question the whole social contract, which include giving citizenships to your forefathers. I don't want to delve into that mess.

DAP and pigs like you sudah melampau. Please have some respect to Pakatan Rakyat.
written by nana tanjung, July 03, 2009 10:43:31
In fact the Malay Reserve Land enactment for the state of kedah has been imposed since 1930. Before your forfathers even landed on this soil. It was then reaffirm before the independent. Now, you want to repeal it?

Btw, what da heck is the Malaysian Reserve Land concept? who coin that? Densemy, you? or DAP? Definitely it was never a Pakatan Rakyat policy. Neither a PAS nor PKR policy. Another attempt of DAP to shove and disguise its policy as PR policy?

Pakatan Rakyat has never accept Malaysian Malaysia, just like DAP has never accept syariah law, so we are not bound to it.
written by tenang, July 03, 2009 10:48:05
DAP

mend it and correct the situation. I cannot see a sensible reason to split pakatan over the pig farm issue. You might not be happy with some issue, but the unhappiness is way out of proportion to your reaction. If you don't fix it within PR, you will be punished in next election.
written by Liberian, July 03, 2009 11:01:48
Don't talk about Malay Reserve land because it is not only in Malaysia but in Australia, New Zealand Fiji, Indonesia(Aborigine Reserve Land Right) and in most countries in Africa only Blacks can own land.

Telling that PAS demanded MB post in Perak because the State Consitution clearly says that only person who profess the Muslim Faith should to be appointed. So if DAP wants than they should appoint a Malay or one of the Non Malay should convert to Islam. How is that? When Syed Omar MB of Kedah died,the most senior Exco was the late Datuk K.K. Nair at that time. So our 1st Prime Minister, Tungku Abdul Rahman call and told K.K. Nair the situation, that the consitution says only a person who profess Islam faith could be MB. So he gave a choice to K.K. Nair but the later was a faithfull Hindu.
written by lobster, July 03, 2009 11:28:07
DAP, we don't need you to be chinese hero in Pakatan when you are suppose to fight for all races. Resolve the matter in a civilzed manner now and grow the f#^% up.
written by Wisdom above, July 03, 2009 11:33:23
Another MSM MEDIA SPIN to confuse all?BeEnd is slowly fading away too?Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace, Tranquility to prevail.
written by nana tanjung, July 03, 2009 11:39:22
Thank you Liberian. I think you have indirectly given a good reply to Tenang w.r.t. his 'better solution'. All I can say is that there is plenty of land which is not under the Malay Reserve or under the NCR in Sabah/Sarawak. By all means, we can work out an acceptable and fair allocation policy for this type of land. Why fight for the smaller Malay Reserve Land, which has been enacted even before many of the immigrants step on this soil?

When I said that it is greediness, I'm not misplaced. Both material greediness and political greediness. You want something that belongs to others, even when you already be given 50% - isn't that greedy?

Politically, DAP is greedy (and selfish). In its greedy bid to please the Chinese, it has ignored the political ramification and potential backlash that its partners PAS and PKR could be facing if they fail to defend the Malay Reserve Land.

LGE and LKS, we don't need cheap political drama here. It doesn't help to strengthen Pakatan Rakyat.
written by fendyoasis, July 03, 2009 18:52:05
Dear Admin,
Why censor my comment? im only speaking the truth. These PAS bashers are talking shit and pigs like to eat shit. Its telling them that they are spreading lies, so I advise them to check their facts before becoming like pigs...and U also deleted off me saying these PAS bashers are IDIOTS!

Its a statement of fact, and I stand by them.
written by Perak Boy, July 04, 2009 03:33:22
Dear nana tanjung, maisur and fendyoasis,

These chinese commentators in MT are arrogant and stupid. I just can't believe they cannot understand the term MALAY RESERVE LAND and how they came about.

The PAS Menteri Besar (a malay guy) has opened the 50 percent of the Kedah MRL to other races which could raised a havoc by the malays and jeopardise the MB himself if they want to. But instead of saying thank you for BRAVELY and KINDLY doing so, these chinese questioned the PAS Menteri Besar as to why ONLY 50 percent allotted to the other races while the malays having 50 percent exclusively.

See what I mean? These chinese people FAILED to see that the malays have been kind and WILLING to part their rightful land to other races without any restrictions and whatnot. This is what the malays used to say: TAK TAHU MENGENANG BUDI and BAGI BETIS NAK PEHA.

Can you imagine .. had the situation be the other way round, will the chinese do likewise to the malays ??? By looking at their attitude as displayed by the DAP and the chinese commentators here, DON'T YOU EVER DREAM OF SUCH. You must be a fool to be believe so..! They are racist to the core and greedy. And they have no respect to others.

And talking about the "kandang penyembelihan babi".
These chinese idiots used to talk big and praised highly of Lee Kuan Yew and Singapore. Don't they know that Singapore banned PIG farming?

It is absurb to say that they do not know PIG farming is banned in Singapore. They can accept why Singapore does that because Singapore are mainly chinese and the health/enviroment reason is important. but the situation in Kedah is diferrent. The victims of such unhygienic enviroment are the MALAYS. So, to them WHO CARES???

So, they want to eat pork and expect we the malays to bear the dirty things ..!
BAST*** !

written by bumiputeri, July 04, 2009 09:52:01
Perak Boy!

Absolutely right man! Saya lebih rela diperintah Melayu daripada diperintah Cina DAP yang racist, selfish and greedy to the core! The drama that they are playing about Malaysian Malaysia is not for everybody to get equal rights, but for them to get more from others, especially Malays! Sigh! what a money minded society!