Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Are Vernacular Schools the Obstacle to a United Bangsa Malaysia?

Are Vernacular Schools the Obstacle to a United Bangsa Malaysia? PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 18:25

What are the obstacles to a united Bangsa Malaysia? Clearly, not vernacular schools per se. To answer that question truthfully will take lots of soul-searching, reflection & honest conversation among Malaysians.

By Malaysian Heart

In May 2009, blogger Kijangmas and his friends submitted a memorandum to the Malaysian Minister for Education, asking that the "menace of vernacular schools be totally eliminated" from Malaysia. What were their reasons for this request? They claim to believe that "...a strongly united Bangsa Malaysia will never be achieved as long as the menace of Vernacular Schools (National Type Schools or SJK) exists on Malaysian soil," (my translation from the original in BM). They also claim that vernacular schools (in their words a "divisive social cancer") are the reason why some Malaysians are "unpatriotic", harbour "anti-Malaysian" attitudes, "subversive" and "traitorous".

What would one have to do to qualify as "unpatriotic", "anti-Malaysian", etc. in their book? Not very much. Amongst other things, you could qualify by:

1. by promoting Mandarin and Tamil (which they refer to as "foreign languages") in Malaysia. They believe doing this is against our Federal Constitution
  2. "over-exaggerating" the contributions of immigrants in the formation & development of Malaysia
In the memorandum, Kijangmas and friends also state their belief that the languages & cultures of Malaysian minorities must be removed from all national and public roles and confined to private community matters only, because, as they claim, that is what our Federal Constitution requires.

Read more at: http://malaysianheart.blogspot.com/2009/07/are-vernacular-schools-obstacle-to.html

written by shissun, July 02, 2009 18:35:39
bi-systems education policy is ONE of the Obstacles to a United Bangsa Malaysia. Yes. ONE of many Obstacles. Others : Religion . Food Halal/Haram Issue. Economy. House and Property. Scholarship. Employment & Career Opportunity. Higher Education Opportunity. A
Unite all in one education system will not solve the whole issue.
ll created by BN as their divide and rule policy.
UMNO take care of Malays, MCA Chinese, MIC Indian, and many other parties in Sabah & Sarawak. Sama-sama jaga. Sama-sama cari makan.
written by fearless, July 02, 2009 19:05:38
Merdeka survey said students in vernacular schools are more proud to be called themselves Malaysian than students in the Malay schools.

Chinese school: 52%
Malay school: 29%
Tamil school: 41%

I doubt Chinese or Malay students are more patriotic when it comes to 1Malaysian identity.
written by fearless, July 02, 2009 19:08:17
Correction, the figure I quoted from Sin Chew seems wrong.

Chinese school: 52%
Malay school: 39%
Tamil school: 37%
written by densemy, July 02, 2009 19:21:07
Anything that is separatist in nature will undermine attempts at unity. Whether is be venacular schools, language, affirmative action, racial preferences etc etc etc. And basically separatism is what makes up Malaysia today... and it all originates from government
written by ultraman_dyna, July 02, 2009 19:25:12
If it's true that vernacular schools are not an obstacle in racial ingetegration, tell me why you seldom see a group of kids from different ethnics hangout together at kedai makan or malls?
Tell me why?
Is there a policy on inter ethnic socializing in Malaysia?
Is it haram?
I don't think so..
I think because the kids don't know each other bcz they go to different schools since pre school..

I don't need a stupid bias bancian and blogger to tell me that vernacular schools produced more patriotic Malaysians.
38% said they are follower of religion and 15 said they belong to a particular ethnis group.
My conclusion is simple that most of these 53% (38% 15) are Malay UMNO and Malay PAS.
They form the majority not the 43%.
Malay UMNO think this land belongs to them only.
Most Muslims do not believe in nationhood.
There is no borders among Muslim countries per se.
All Muslims are brothers.
Do you tell your brothers to piss off if they enter your compound?
No unless your brother is an Shole..

SRJKT produce more failures than any other type of schools in Malaysia.
Many PR YBs agreed on the finding by a NGO where drop out rate is heighest in SRJKT.
Meanwhile SRJKC and semi private Chinese high schools are producing a lot of talented kids due to the sound education system.
Non chinese students are in the rise from year to year.
Why close these schools with dedicated teachers and good facilities?
Is the national school up to standards?
I don't think so.

The best school in Malaysia for SPM since 90s was always from among the elite MRSM consisting of Jasin, Taiping, Pengkalan Chepa and recently Langkawi.
The cream of the crop from National Schools are absorbed into these science colleges with pre-university environment.
They attend lectures and tutorial classes during study week and tested on monthly basis.
They must maintain their CGPA to enable them to graduate just like a university.
The teachers in these elite MRSM have Masters and PHD as most of them are former MARA scholars graduated from foreign universities.
Basically the teachers are qualified to be lecturers in colleges and universities.
No wonder MRSM are not included in the list of top 10 best schools in Malaysia since they are not under the Ministry of Education but MECD/MARA.

Why won't the Gomen apply MRSM method in National Schools?
It will definitely attract more parents to send their kids to National School.
CGPA is a good way to ensure that you are not producing students with good retention of memory only as the marks are given not solely on test and exams but projects, thesis and arrays of assignments.
Which vernacular school makes students prepare thesis on a variety of subjects?
I bet it will be only a few if exist.

Improve the quality of National School and the market of demand will ensure that vernacular schools become less and less favourable.
Don't use race as an excuse.
Emphasis on the quality of education Minister of Education!
written by miwaki, July 02, 2009 19:29:54
Without vernacular schools in malaysia,I would rather go back to where my ancester belong.Unity of the people of a country is not due to speaking and understanding the same language,it is due to fairness of the government towards her subjets.

You can have only one race in a country,however if you divide them according to status and treat them differently,how can you expect unity among the people ? We need intelligent government to bring about unity of the people,we cannot ecpect mediocre and corrupted government to bring about anything positive to the country.

written by Beni, July 02, 2009 21:09:44
All students who have attended the vernacular schools will tell you that they are taught to be loyal to the King and to the country. There is no solid proof to show that vernacular schools is an obstacle to a united Malaysian. Vernacular schools follow the curriculum design by the Ministry of Education. The teachers are trained together with the training of teachers for other type of schools. It is absurd to say that the teachers in the vernacular schools are no patriotic. It is interesting to note that vernacular schools do not restrict the enrolment of students from other races. In Sabah and Sarawak, there are lots of bumiputra students that attend the Chinese vernacular schools. All the students in those schools are able to mix very well and many of the bumiputra students are able to achieve successful careers latter in their lifes. It must also be remembered that majority of the students from the vernacular schools will continue to study in the national secondary schools. So they have plenty of opportunities to interact with students from other races. The obstacle to a united Malaysia is certainly not due to the vernacular schools. The main cause of disunity is due to the implementation of NEP. The original aim of NEP is good but during its implementation, the rakyat has been clearly grouped as either bumiputra or non-bumiputra. Ever since a child is borned in Malaysia, he will grow up to be very consious of him either as a bumiputra or a non-bumiputra. The vernacular schools certainly did not instill that feeling into their students. With the implementation of NEP, a large group of bumiputra students are sent to either residential colleges or mara colleges. These students will not joint students from other races to study for the STPM, instead they will continue their study in the matriculation colleges. The existence of STPM and matriculation systems has definitely segregrated the students.After pre-U, many bumiputra students will further their study in UITM, an institution where enrolment is only restricted to the bumiputra. Apart from this, many bumiputra students are also sent overseas. As we can see from here, it is alarming that there are lots of bumiputra students that have never interacted with students from other races for the whole of the education. How can we then blame the vernacular schools. The policy of the government is to be blame for what it is today. Another policy of the government that has contributed to racial polarisation is non other than the recruitment of civil servants. The imbalance of the composition of the different races in the civil service has done immeasurely damage to the unity of its rakyat. All in all, one may spend about 30-40 years in our career, if more non-bumiputra were to be taken as civil servant, these people will be able to interact with other races for the rest of their life. How sad it is for the government not to make use of this to foster a closer retionship among the different races. The causes of disunity is complicated. Vernacular schools certainly are not to be blamed. Anyone that continue to use the vernacular school as a scapegoat to the disunity of the rakyat, will only bring more harm than good.
written by Concerned Malaysian, July 02, 2009 22:27:25
I am not sure where they got is this fact that SJK is an obstacles to national unity.Every one of the commentors were barking the tune of the kijangmas and friends. I am one for one type of school if all the so called pendatangs are treated as equal in this country. When you have quota on everything even to make the Malays pass in universities and back door entrance to university through matriculation rather than form six and many more bias policies and you folks dare talk about national type schools.Remove all the walls on discrimination and national unity and satu bangsa will become a reality. Most of u are barking at the wrong tree!
written by ssathia, July 02, 2009 23:04:31
See what happens when English is not properly studied? Vernacular language means standard native language of a country or locality.

So far it has been held that only Malay is the native language of West Malaysia by politicians. Are the petitioners who handed the memorandum then saying indirectly that Malay schools are causing national disunity? If so, shouldn't they be charged for sedition?

On the other hand if Tamil and Chinese are claimed to be vernacular languages, then it would mean than they are the native languages of Malaysia! Unless the petitioners can prove that Chinese and Tamil originated from Malaysia, that argument from them also will not succeed.

Incidentally, Tamils and Chinese have played considerable role in the development and civilisation of Malays influencing their culture and language. Ganga Nagara still tells the tale. Pahang was Indrapura. Salutation of the Sultan is still in the Indian style. Even today, Malays love Indians and Chinese so much for their help in uplifting the Malays that such help is enshrined through the constitutional and regulatory framework at Malays' own demand. So there is no need for the petitioners to show so much animosity towards these languages and bite the hands that feed them. Our Bahasa Melayu teacher, a Malay, used to say that Indian languages comprise more than 50% of Bahasa Melayu! Perhaps the petitioners' Bahasa Malaysia teacher failed to teach them that. You see even the words guru, manusia, bahasa, padi and agama are of Indian origins too.
written by Sutha, July 02, 2009 23:39:31
Vernacular schools never was and will be obstacle to a united Malaysia. On the contrary, Malaysians were more united pre 1970 (before New Economic Policy, New Education Policy, New Culture Policy and all that crap was introduced) with the same vernacular schools and two medium secondary schools.

Although inter racial communication has improved today due to education, it does not equal to a united Malaysia. Overall, as a general statement the hatred between malays and non-malays have only increased and every issue is given racist and fanatical religious twists. If we see cooperation in any areas, it is either due to arms-twisting or to avoid further hostility. One POT race (especially their politicians) constantly reminding the other KETTLES of May13 if they do not get things done their way, and persistantly referring the same others as "Pendatangs". Any voice of correction is construed as a challenge against the Rulers. What united Malaysia are we talking about?

How do we get this nation united when there is nothing but seggregation by ethnic lines? When there are severe discriminations in college and university intakes, scholarship awarding, employment offers and promotion opportunities? One year Matriculation for one race while two year pre-university course for the others.

Indonesians and other muslim foreigners become citizens within 24 months or so whilst permanent residents who toiled for this nation have not been given citizenship inspite of 40 to 50 years of applying and waiting. May be we should talk of One Nusantara than One Malaysia.

Polarisation along ethnic lines happens in schools, societies, parties, cinemas etc. It is the government's work to keep people divided for easier ruling. If a single language will unite the people, may be the Government should introduce English as the main language for Malaysians and all have to learn and excel to prove one mettle...... not like now where others learn Bahasa Melayu while Malays take a free ride. That is being fair and equal to all. And the people will be equal and respectfully united for being treated equal.

Then, there would not be a need for indoctrination through NS and BTN. No race is superior unless they have more than one brain and limbs more than other humans.
written by nocrid, July 02, 2009 23:52:44
The verna schools and their college and universities are open to everybody and on the other side you have bumi's schools and their college and their universities which are open only to bumis only.

And you have the gut to say verna do not promote unity....
written by fireduck, July 03, 2009 00:42:17
The schools that were truly integrated were those missionary schools operated by the La Salle Brothers..... until the Govt decided to regulate them. When we attended La Salle in our primary and secondary school days, there was never any thoughts of 'he's Malay, he's Chinese', etc. We were all schoolmates. And when we were all caught doing something against the rules, we all got whacked, regardless or who you were. We had a Cikgu whom we all just loved, a lady teach who can be very garang, and our Brother headmaster who was a mat salleh. The common thread among them all was their dedication and their pride in their profession. And because of that they are very good at what they do.

And, we had no problem then. Everything we needed to make our society flourish was taught back then in the schools itself. There was no need for a Biro Tata Negara. The problem of racial non-integration was created by the politicians and the Govt. Anytime you have official governmental affirmative actions along racial lines, you divide rather than integrate.

Malaysia is unable, nor has the resolve, to put an Act against hate crime, thus this problem will never be solved. In the US, the official policy is for racial integration, and anyone that contravenes the equal opportunity laws can and will be prosecuted. Here, our official policy is for racial bias, and anyone who contravenes that can and has been prosecuted. So, all these 1Malaysia talk sounds very hollow indeed, when the official govt stand is still towards racial bias.
written by truthbespoken, July 03, 2009 02:05:23
Are Vernacular Schools the Obstacle to a United Bangsa Malaysia?

NO! RULING UMNO IS! Education is but just part of the factor why Malaysians are disunited!

All good, fair, upright and informed Malaysians are already aware of the other factors caused by UMNO’s long-time divide-and-rule policies! Just don't allow buggers like Kijangmas and friends to force this issue and lead us by the nose up the tree!

Kijangmas and his friends are anti-national elements. They are narrow-minded low-down opportunists striving to divide the people further and should be placed behind bars! These people can never know how to be good Malaysians!
written by fearless, July 03, 2009 03:20:09
Vernacular schools existed in Malaysia long before merdeka. All variables after 1957 are constant except NEP was introduced in 1971.

Logically and scientifically to conclude that the watershed of disunity is 1971 when English stream education in the secondary and universitues was dismantled by short-sighted UMNO and Malay politicians.

Sri Lankan was doing the same policy in 70s. Malaysia is considered a bit lucky for not dragging into a civil war.

How to instill unity IF her nationals are segregated into bumi and non-bumi grouping for the purpose of scholarship, pre-u examination, university seat, public service job and every aspect in our life.

You can forget about unity in your family if you treat your sons and daughters differently, worst thing to do is by using color skin as your standard.
written by educationist, July 03, 2009 05:18:31
I want to be honest, in so far as the vernacular schools and the SK schools set the children apart from a tender age, I think it is one obstacle to a United Bangsa Malaysia.
But, it is not THE obstacle.
Students are in racially mixed schools from Form 1 except for a few controlled SMJK's.
It is the social and political factors prevailing in our society that's the obstacle.
As they prepared to further their studies they see the discriminations against them because they are not bumiputers. There's no need to restate the known!!
These are the real obstacles to a united Bangsa Malaysia.
They are the 3rd or 4th generation of Malaysian Chinese or Indian[some may even be here longer than those bumiputeras in UMNO] but unscrupulous UMNO politicians still refer to them as 'pendatang'
Meanwhile an illegal worker from Indonesia of the Phillipines, if he's a Muslim and has the connections can soon be legalised and in no time assume bumiputera status.
So, no don't blame the vernacular schools!
written by temenggong, July 03, 2009 07:31:43
They should first open the two dozen residential schools to non malays, as well as UITMara.
written by Rhan, July 03, 2009 09:07:23
Patriotism and devotion needs cultural cultivation. We can’t simply assert that attending the same school and having a common language will generate the desire result.

Many Malay raised the subject that Chinese is not willing to integrate and accuse the vernacular school as being the cause, the fact is that we don’t see much integration even among the different races from National school. I think the reason is an obvious one, Malay culture and religion belief is very confined and protected unlike the Western cultures that are more open and receptive (this is merely difference in nature and has nothing to do with good or bad). Hence the integration doesn’t happen as we wish to unless there is significant change of circumstance that could lead us out of the ‘Ketuanan” mentality which I think is unlikely to happen in the near future base on the present political trend. (‘Ketuanan’ mentality here is construed as Malay and Muslim culture as the only main course while the rest is often treated as cosmetic dessert). Forced assimilation is another option to achieve the integration objective but our constitution that clearly stipulate the Bumiputra privilege hindered the might to push forward such course of action. I would conclude that any Malay that make the accusation do not have a thorough understanding on what kind of integration and unity they wish to have.

As for the older generation Chinese that love to portray their 60s and 70s memory as illustration of Malaysianness under the English education system often disregard the reality of transformation in economy and political policy in the last three to four decades. These people and their offspring in the present time with Westernize mindset look highly at English and at the same time demean any other language in the name of progress and better future. They ignore totally the cultural perspective and most of the time, would not hesitate to pack their bag and leave. This Chinese that are lean toward the Caucasian way of life fond of using Singapore as a yardstick and ignore the aspect of identity crisis. I don’t mean Singaporean lack patriotism but I find that their sentiment could easily sway because they don’t see any disparity between a Western country with their own. I would dare says our National school stream Chinese is more or less instill with similar attitude, generally speaking.

In my opinion, the Chinese education is actually one of ways to improve the Chinese affection toward Malaysia through attached toward our own culture regardless of any discriminate policy. Tradition and language wise, it seem we are very close to our mother land but the truth is, Malaysian Chinese is very unique after the many years living in a multi-racial, multi-cultural and multi-language society. We are willing to give and endure, and are more easily to mix around with anyone. Our religion belief is superstitious but fun and we are more compassion toward the weak. We are very Chinese, Malaysian style.

Unity in diversity is the way move forward. The Malay language and English is no doubt the bridge of communication and we must seek the best approach to attain the set objective. Meanwhile, we should respect each other values and rights.