Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow 100 reasons why Malaysia needs a new Inspector-General of Police

100 reasons why Malaysia needs a new Inspector-General of Police PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 18:08

In fact, I had called Musa in Parliament as a ‘lobbyist” for mega-contracts, whether for a proposed RM20 billion police helicopter project or the RM4.2 billion “E-Police Force Solution”, and I have not received any satisfactory answer from Home Minister.

Lim Kit Siang

The passage of the Enforcement Agencies Integrity Commission (SIAP) Bill by Dewan Rakyat on Tuesday is the last nail in the coffin of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission (IPCMC) proposed by the Royal Police Commission more than four years ago in May 2005.

It also marks the failure of the Barisan Nasional government and the police leadership to fully honour and implement the 125 recommendations of the Royal Police Commission set up by former Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi during his “First 100 Days” to revamp and reform the police, which had raised such high hopes and expectations among Malaysians creating such a national euphoria that Abdullah won an unprecedented landslide victory in the March 2004 general elections winning over 91% of the parliamentary seats!

Who must take the greatest responsibility for such a great national letdown and disappointment, if not the Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan?

This is why I said more than once in Parliament in the debate on SIAP Bill that there are over 100 reasons why the country needs a new Inspector-General of Police to set the police force on a new course of direction, with new commitment and vision, which can win public confidence where Malaysians regard the police as their friend and protector – a sentiment Malaysians have lost for over a decade since their loss of two fundamental rights, the right to be free from crime and to be from the fear of crime!

What are the major failures of Musa as Inspector-General of Police?

written by MMhunter, July 02, 2009 18:15:15
Rakyat...speak up and be heard...this is our moment to voice our opinion irrespective of which party one is with.HOme minister hear us please and make us proud you are with the rakyat.
written by SCM, July 02, 2009 18:43:55
Mr Lim,

You don't need 100 reasons to have a new IGP. All we need is 1 reason, i.e. the present IGP is a thug and a murderer.

Numerous deaths in prison and out of prison done by his men in uniform, including Altantuya.
written by jayenjr, July 02, 2009 18:43:58
"100 reasons why Malaysia needs a new Inspector-General of Police"
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear YB Lim

Can I offer the 101st reason?

Toilet floor also cannot keep in safe condition......
written by DreamLady, July 02, 2009 19:07:31
Lim Kit Siang, supposing we are able get rid of the present IGP and replace him with another IGP, could you be absolutely sure he does not belong to the same breed of lowlife???

As long as UMNO/BN regime is still in power, you may continue to change the fabric of the forces as often as you like, but the bottom line is, they will be as stinking as their previous bosses!! Why waste your time to rectify the situation when the people themselves are incorrigible!!!
written by Badrol, July 02, 2009 19:18:29
First things first ... get the scumbag IGP out. His successor, if another scumbag comes second.
written by teohchye, July 02, 2009 19:20:12
Only 100 reasons? Ask Datuk Ramli Yusoff and he will give you 27 million reasons!
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 19:21:30
RM20bil police helicopter project? RM4.2bil E-Police Force Solution?

Heck, no way! Not if they do not accept the Royal Commission's recomendation. No big projects unless the IPCMC is implemented.

And yes, no extension of this IGP's contract. Enough damage to our nation's integrity and security already. Time we place our hope on someone else.
written by Taikohtai, July 02, 2009 19:40:32
And the new IGP must be selected from another Commonwealth country so that he/she can sweep clean all the years of accumulated rubbish, without bias and prejudice. After all, none of the existing personnel in PDRM can safely vouch that he/she is not 'tainted' from the years of abuse and corruption.
Hong Kong leads in police credibility among Asian countries, followed by Singapore.
written by storm62, July 02, 2009 20:01:23
why not try an IGP from the opposition party?
written by bexe, July 02, 2009 20:11:38
This man is a scumbag, a criminal, thief, murderer, sadist and should be tried and put away for life.
written by Catharsis, July 02, 2009 20:12:06
It will be a wishful thinking to ask ALI BABA to replace one of his 40 THIEVES...............
written by onnetline, July 02, 2009 20:33:52
Screw this pariah BN no.1 police dog or 'musa ' in blue !
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 20:38:22
I have to revisit this page. Still wondering how the helicopter project comes up to RM20bil. After some search, I have these few facts .... the Govt has approved the recommendation to purchase 21 helicopters for the Police. http://www.bernama.com/bernama...d=352352

Ok, when we purchase the helicopters we will need training, technology transfer, hangars, heliports, maintenance schedules, and whatever, some of which will probably be packaged into the pricing anyway. So, that works out to be almost a cool RM1bil per helicopter.

Hmmmm .... and you guys were complaining about that Abdullah (what, RM300mil?) airplane?

So, I ****** again, and come up with some facts and figures again .....

AgustaWestland, a Finmeccanica company, has signed a contract worth over 200 million dollars with the Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (MMEA) for the supply of three AW139 helicopters plus options for several additional aircraft.

That's at end Oct 2008. USD200mil for 3 copters = USD66mil per bird.

AgustaWestland, a Finmeccanica company, and Ornge, a Canadian charitable organization, have signed a contract for ten AW139 medium twin helicopters in aero-medical configuration, with an option for two additional aircraft. The overall value is about US 120 million dollars.

This announcement is at the beginning of Oct 2008. Hmmm..... ok lah, Ornge is a charitable organization. 10 for USD120mil = USD12mil per copter. Real charitable supplier.

Oklah, our police needs very high specs birdies, so still possible that AgustaWestland is barely breaking even at USD66mil a bird.

I suppose if our PDRM exercise the option and place a larger order, it would cost the supplier much more per piece to manufacture the helicopters. No such thing as bulk discount here unlike everything else. Otherwise, I just can't even come close to RM20bil for 21 copters. Assuming they buy another 21 (not balance of 18, ok?),
that's 21 x USD66mil = USD1.386bil x RM3.8 (being generous here) = RM5.267bil

So, we need about RM15bil to construct the rest of the support amenities. Am I right? I'm not suggesting anything but just curious how they come up with the RM20bil figure.

Anyone else can shed some light?
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 20:39:52
So, I ****** again, and come up with some facts and figures again .

Wow, g00gle is a censored word? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by DezMalaysia, July 02, 2009 22:52:43
One of the most crucial reason is that our present IGP are linked with underground Chinese triads, especially in Johor.
written by Sutha, July 02, 2009 22:58:41
MUSAng HASan covered Altantuya's Murderer and NAJIS gives chance for "commission cut (? %)" in hardware procurement.

Do I need to say any further who the real murderer (with motive) is?
written by InEffective, July 02, 2009 23:10:50

need to remove the scourge of evil from our nation.
Killer cops have no place in malaysia.
written by asiana888, July 02, 2009 23:49:43
Aiyoh! So obvious leh! IGP strapping all the BN politicians (including PM's) b*lls with C4 in one hand and secret-files in another hand. So ... you think so easy to get rid of him, meh? At this juncture, IGP can ask and receive whatevr allocations he want. Only GOD can do what we all mortals cannot! PRAY!!!!!
written by antares, July 03, 2009 12:00:58
Not only the IGP la, it goes to all other corrupt and blinkered officers. After all who pay their salary.