Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Hindraf, Yusmadi, High Chapparal & Greed

Hindraf, Yusmadi, High Chapparal & Greed PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 18:03

Khoo Kay Peng

Hindraf has demanded that the new Penang government step in to resolve the ongoing crisis in Kampung Buah Pala. Hindraf leader P Waythamoorthy sharpened his attacks by accusing Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng of being a party to the allegedly fraudulent transaction of Kampung Buah Pala village land in Bukit Gelugor.

Another PKR lawmaker lambasted the CM for not upholding human rights and social justice in handling the 'High Chaparral' Kampung Buah Pala crisis. Balik Pulau parliamentarian Yusmadi Yusoff said Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng should know that any development forsaking human development and values is in breach of universal laws and principles.

Lim has explained that the economic cost of buying over the land can be astronomically high. The cost does not only involve the land value but a potential compensation which has to be paid to the developer for a lost of revenue. In return, the developer will have to pay compensation to buyers for its failure to complete the project.

This controversy is an unfortunate and a costly 'inheritance' from the previous government. This is the burden of power. It appears easy for both Yusmadi and Waythamoorthy to launch a tirade of attacks and criticism against the present government.

However, a deeper look at the crisis appears to invite more questions and a simple solution suggested by Waythamoorthy. Some of the questions are quite obvious.

written by MMhunter, July 02, 2009 18:19:44
If the cost is too high to compensate the developers.Why not consider compensating the residence there.Wont it be much cheaper and healtier way to go about resolving this problem.
written by budaktapah, July 02, 2009 18:28:52
hallo MMhunter..

compensating the residence there??? hallo bro, you are talking about asking the Penang Government to use the PUBLIC, i repeat to you the PUBLIC funds to compensate..whereby the PUBLIC is not the real culprit. Please go after the real thieves lahhhh....
written by mikewang, July 02, 2009 18:53:30
Maybe Hindraf should go round and raise money from their own kind and see if they can raise the money to "compensate" all those villagers.

No sir, you don't give out public money ie. our tax money so that a village can be compensated. This is rightly the responsibility of the developer according to market commonsense.

The people kicked out the corrupt BN government for a new future.
If Hindraf wants to go after the parties in the last government which still forms the present federal government, they have my full support !
written by nana tanjung, July 02, 2009 20:22:02
Khoo Kay Peng, what is your take on the Kedah abattoir issue?
written by apasalahku, July 02, 2009 21:06:10
Najib: Ok thamby..now i released the Hindraf 5 and take this 10 million pounds to spend in England. You know what to do

Waythamoorthy: Yes boss. don't worry. You will see some results in a few weeks
written by bugisman, July 02, 2009 21:36:40
now adays i stop stuff cotton into my ears when PKR penang or hindraf ppl speaks...
written by InEffective, July 02, 2009 23:13:30

fix the core problem.

forget about the racial views, just deliver.
written by chiongguo, July 02, 2009 23:19:37
Balik Pulau parliamentarian Yusmadi Yusoff said Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng should know that any development forsaking human development and values is in breach of universal laws and principles.

This yusmadi is deliberately creating problems for LGE. Many members of PKR in penang seem to be on a vindictive streak. I believe yusmadi is aware of the constraints that the penang government is working under and yet saw it fit to add fuel to the fire.

What does this fcukwitz know about universal principles ? The most important principle is the principle of truthfulness and fairness and this is sadly lacking in such backstabbing.

written by ssathia, July 02, 2009 23:24:14
If the Matsu project can be cancelled by Sabah state, if the building of a Church can be stopped by Selangor government, all without reasons, surely they could serve as role model for Penang government to cancel the building project at the Kampung Buah Pala for the good reason of protecting the residents. That would be within the executive right, wouldn't it be?

Moreover, there is always a clause in any contract that in the event of change of government law or approval a contract is frustrated there can be no claims against each other among the parties to the contract. So the developer need not have to compensate the buyers.

If the subject land is not allowed to be developed, then there is little value in it for the developer. If there is little value in the land, then the developer will not be in a position to ask for high compensation if the land is to be acquired without the approval to develop.

So, Lim Guan Eng has the scope to do far better than his claims.
written by SiHangChai, July 03, 2009 00:30:42
CM Penang should just ignore Kg Buah Pala. The residents there are sucks! Greedy and selfish and think they are KING! I hope the developer just come in and rolls them over for development. This is NOT their land, and if they want to blame, BLAME IT at Koh Tsu Koon and Gerakan-BN. They started it and sealed the deal before DAP govt. Now, these villagers of this Kg wanted CM Penang to go against the court ruling initiated by the developer. Compensation of RM200K per family is not enough??? You must be joking when the land never belongs to them. Why so samseng, Kg Buah Pala? Why don't you all go and protest in front of Koh Tsu Koon????
written by Victory or Death, July 03, 2009 01:28:54
Say....now,I voted for Pakatan.Pakatan then formed the state government.

I have been living on a piece of land without title or official authorisation for a long time..If i had authorisation ,it is only on a temporary basis.In reality, I am only a squatter or licencee if on TOL.

Now, a developer who owns the land wants to evict me to develop the land.
I have been living on the land practically free of charge for umpteen years.

I curse the Pakatan government and expect them to grant me continuos use of the land or better still grant me the land perpetually with official issuance of title because I voted for Pakatan at the last GE.

Guess how many people are or will be in the same situation as me???????????

So the Pakatan government is at fault for not letting me to continue staying on the land???????????????????

Guess how many more times the Pakatan government will have to intervene in future if they set a precedent????????

Seems to me like holding the Pakatan Govt to ransom!!!!!
written by Arowana, July 03, 2009 01:32:24
Ask Samy to settle this problem under BN banner and these folks will vote for BN next time around as they said in the video posted.

Go ahead and do it, we Malaysians are politically mature now to know what carrot and lollipops are dangling around.

According to the developer, some of you guys are demanding for RM 600,000.00 compensation. What a big appetite you guys have ? Why not RM 6 Million ?

Most of us have work sweat and hours just to have a decent life and you people are taking full advantage of the situation, aren't you ???

Shame on you all living in the shadows of fighting preservation of the land and so called justice. PHUUIII...........

written by singam, July 03, 2009 06:38:32
Most people seem to ignore the fact that, while the unscrupulous land deal was cooked up during Koh Tsu Koon's tenure, the actual transfer took place under Lim Guan Eng's nose.

LGE has to take ownership of his screw-up and stop blaming the BN. He could have stopped the problem before it got too big. Now, he has to fix it.

To those people who cannot understand the rights of people who settled there more than 200 years ago and were given written permission more than 150 years ago by the then owner to occupy the land, what can I say? Maybe you should spend a lifetime reborn under those circumstances to understand their plight,

To those who cursed Hindraf for blackmailing the PR government, understand this - more than 9 years of negotiating with the BN government and more than 1 year of negotiating with the PR government yielded zero results. If Hindraf had not stormed Komtar, Kg Buah Pala would have been reduced to rubble by now.

Anyone who claims to be a reasonable person should be glad that Hindraf has bought everyone 1 additional month to find a fair and equitable solution.

The problem is not for the residents of Kg Buah Pala to solve. The state government screwed them by selling their rightful land. The state government should settle the matter.

If the developer lost money because he announced the project and put in money and effort on the project before the land was acquired, he cannot expect any compensation.

If the buyers of the condo project lose money because they invested in a shady project, they have to swallow the loss as a bad investment.

If the DAP government is trying to rescue the project to win the votes of the condo buyers, they are no better than MCA or UMNO.
written by ylcc, July 03, 2009 08:51:21
There will be never-ending problems, big, small, stupid, whatever. This is the game of politics. Some can be solved, others not. We can protest, criticize, debate, demonstrate, resent, but most important it is not right to dip into taxpayers's money. Do fund-raising, and I am sure the people are more than willing to help out.
written by bumiputeri, July 03, 2009 08:53:23
Thank you Hindraf for standing up for the Indians.

DAP, LGE!

Listen, do not take the Indians for granted. Gone are the days where you can fool then for mere sweets.
Solve the issue or stand to loose our support in the next general election. Do you think you can take Penang back without Indian votes in Penang? Hah, try your luck.

Pig farm is so more important to you than people's homes. Poorah!