Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow M'sia's FDI plummets

M'sia's FDI plummets PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 17:57

(The Straits Times) - FOREIGN investment in Malaysia has plummeted this year, Trade Minister Mustapa Mohamed said on Thursday after the government announced liberalisation measures aimed at luring investors.

'Foreign direct investment for 2008 was RM46 billion (S$18.8 billion) and for January to May this year we have only seen RM4.2 billion,' Mr Mustapa told reporters.

Mr Wahad Hamid, deputy head of the Malaysian Industrial Development Authority, said the investment climate was extremely tough despite a strong performance by Malaysia in the three previous years.

'Last year, total investment was about RM62 billion but this year we are only targetting half of that, about RM30 billion,' he told reporters.

Mr Mustapa said he was confident that liberalisation measures announced by Prime Minister Najib Razak this week would help bring in more funds, amid forecasts of a 5.0 per cent economic contraction this year.

'We are confident that investor sentiment will improve, we are encouraged by all the measures taken by the government,' he said.

The liberalisation moves targeted a decades-old policy of positive discrimination for Muslim Malays, which critics say is making Malaysia uncompetitive.

Mr Najib scrapped a rule requiring initial public offerings to reserve 30 per cent of stock for Malays - who dominate the population of the multicultural nation - and dumped regulatory approval for foreign property purchases.

However, Mr Mohammed Ariff, head of the influential Malaysian Institute of Economic Research, said the measures were poorly timed and would not bear fruit until the global economy recovers.

'The liberalisation announcements should have been made in the good times instead of now, as there would have been a lot of responses from foreign investors,' he told AFP.

Mr Ariff said that despite hopes for a recovery next year, Malaysia's economy is unlikely to really get back up on its feet until 2012.

'To me real recovery is not just positive growth but going back to the growth we are used to, of around six per cent, and that is way off - until 2012,' he said.

written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 18:05:53
I would rather look at the current crisis as an opportunity for the Malaysian Government to diversify the economy, enhance domestic market, focus on building our own core strength albeit more organically through locallly generated funds instead of FDI-induced steroid growth - but then again, it will mean LESS OPPORTUNITY for corruption, siphoning etc etc .... Hobson's choice for BN Govt - build a real and better future but painful for now OR rape and pillage the country's wealth today ???? smilies/grin.gif WHat do you think BN/UMNO (Najib) will do ? hehehe ..... smilies/grin.gif
written by malsia1206, July 02, 2009 18:07:52
Malaysain Barisan style of doing things. When you are afficted with terminal cancer, you start to look for the cure. Did this Government ever see the signs coming like a tsunami when it starts to hit worldwide as far back as late 2008?
written by Tan Tan, July 02, 2009 18:36:59
1) During economy boom, most citizen are blessed with good fortune and they will be more given or don't care about the weakness in the government.

2) When times are bad, government will be hold responsibilities to help the economy to make sure the standard of living of most citizen is maintain.

3) Governments who had been contended and not improving during economy boom and lousy governments, starting to face unrest of its citizen. During recession, all citizen "wake up" and suddenly realizing all the weakness of these governments. If these contended and lousy government cannot do the right thing or revamp in such difficult times, they will be dropped.

4) Example can be seen in USA (Barrack Obama), Australia (Kevin Rudd), Taiwan (Mr. Chen) and soon UK (Gordon Brown).

5) Government who been working hard and making sure soft impact of recession still command strong supports such as Singapore, China, Germany.

6) In Malaysia, our culture is more forgiving and contended. We always forgive mistake and contended that current situation is already most ideal.

7) However, even BN government can't be in denial anymore in this round recession and this is the TIME whereby Malaysians slowly waking up and embracing changes.

Malaysian today wants:

a) every month can afford to buy a LV, Gucci, Prada and Chanel bags.
b) all children can eat good quality food and good quality education to enable them to become world citizen and no long developing nation ppls.
c) no need to pay tolls because we already pay taxes.
d) talk all we want on our mobile without worries and turn into being an expert in SMS.
e) our ringgit can stretch further than SINGAPORE DOLLAR and Malaysian can always afford summer holidays at European countries and not only Thailand or SIngapore.
f) no one is threating anyone over his religion and race
g) lower crime rate than SINGAPORE
h) better than SINGAPORE, TAIWAN, HONG KONG, S.KOREA combine!
written by Braino, July 02, 2009 18:49:37
Don't think it's a win all situation with the 30% thingy. When the market fell those "privileged" race also held on to at leat 30% or more of the loses incurred!
Of course, we have the ever ready gomen to bail them out with our hard earn taxpayer's monies! So no worries! ....win I take, lose you pay!...how wonderful!
written by arazak, July 02, 2009 19:21:08
Not only foreign investors are taking out their money elsewhere. . ., the UMNO goons are also taking the tax-payers' money out of the country!!!
written by lynn, July 02, 2009 20:26:25
2 things I heard today: one is, the rich had and still are, moving their cash abroad. This piece of info came from a banker (very senior person). Two, the govt is running out of money, so govt projects' progress slows down. But wait, the govt is going to come up with another round of wawasan bonds around mid-July. The govt needs your savings. Go ahead, bn voters, show your endless support for the govt you voted.
written by InEffective, July 02, 2009 23:16:36

investors will not come when they discover our 'bengkok' arbitration and our 'buy-one-get-one-free' judges.

Where is my share of my Oil Money ???
written by Sutha, July 02, 2009 23:56:26
Are the Investments going to Mongolia?
written by 1351, July 03, 2009 03:58:49
Dream on Mustapa Mohammed, the flow of FDI coming in won't reverse course just because you or Najib want it to.

Looking back 5 years, many could forecast our present situation but did you UMNO bodohs' react to do the right thing ? Instead, the 'projek curi duit rakyat' went on in earnest - effin' bastards the lot of you UMNO fat cats. And mind you, you don't need UNESCO/World Bank to tell you what is wrong with education/economy in M'sia - just surf MT and comment column in any indi blogs to find the answers.

If not for commodity prices holding firm, this lack of FDI would translate into a total meltdown of the M'sian economy but that too offers only a glimmer of hope while Indonesia is projected to surpass M'sia as the biggest producer of CPO and all derivatives within 5 years, possibly sooner as more plantations reach maturity.

How then when it is not difficult to envision M'sia will run a deficit on the capital account for the near future - where is the money going to come from when highways, roofs and buildings collapse - while UMNO thieves make off with their illicit loot.

It is bad form but I'll say it anyway - Melayu memang bodoh when they reason the 'dan lain-lain' category can't look after the interest or well being of Malays but all the while hundreds of millions have vanished/found its way to the slimy hands of UMNO thieves, agents, associates, their wives, mistresses, girlfriend or favourite whore. Time for soul searching reality check my Malay brethren.

written by temenggong, July 03, 2009 07:07:54
There is no chance at all for recovery ever unless we restructure our economy by repatriating all foreign labour and winding down all plantations, and most factories that employ more than 200 workers. We cannot be a labour intensive economy anymore.