Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hindraf leader defends Guan Eng, asks who made Waytha boss

Hindraf leader defends Guan Eng, asks who made Waytha boss PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 17:51

By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

Now it is Hindraf's turn to deal with disagreements from within its ranks. Senior leader V.S. Ganapathi Rao came out unexpectedly to defend Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng over the Kampung Buah Pala demolition issue.

One of the symbolic "Hindraf Five" detained under the Internal Security Act after a mass rally in 2007, he questioned Hindraf's aggressive stance against the DAP secretary-general over what some claim to be the last Indian heritage village on the island.

Speaking to The Malaysian Insider, he said: "It appears that some people are using the Hindraf name to manipulate the issue to criticise DAP." He was referring to calls for Lim to resign as chief minister for his failure to solve the displacement of over 30 households in the village.

"We had agreed to end public demonstrations and when a Hindu temple was demolished in Kuala Lumpur, nobody said anything. So why are they doing this to Lim? To make Barisan Nasional happy?" he added.

Despite other Hindraf leaders such as national co-ordinator S. Jayathas and chairman P. Waythamoorthy having strongly criticised Lim, to the point of calling him a "heartless man," Ganapathi called for those involved not to politicise the issue but to let the chief minister do his best.

He also questioned the authority of Waythamoorthy and Jayathas to represent Hindraf's stand on the issue.

written by Hakim Joe, July 02, 2009 18:02:52
Payment received - time to do the job...what else?

written by Hipobi, July 02, 2009 18:03:28
I've said earlier. Some of the leaders hv agreement with BN/UMNO

Jangan Main-Main dengan saya
written by DreamLady, July 02, 2009 18:03:56
Ganapathi,thanks you for speaking up on behalf of Lim Guan Eng. It looks like there are too many running dogs in disguise from UMNO. You can count the number of good and upright politicians in the nation who are selfless, who place people's interest above their own, and Guan Eng is one of them who served jail sentence for defending a Malay girl who was sexually abused by one of the so-called Muslim politicians.

If anyone could smear Guan Eng's good name without any feeling of guilt, he is a devil himself and needed to be dealt with accordingly by the righteous!!!
written by panca, July 02, 2009 18:06:55
This what we need, balanced, matured adult and not played into the hands of those would just keep throwing eggs without seeing.

Be reasonable and problem can be seen with clarity and resolved. Stop throwing and work for the benefit of all.
written by maisur, July 02, 2009 18:09:38
dear DreamLady
agree with your statement. there are too many running dogs in disguise from UMNO. one of the them is Thomas Su from DAP Kedah/Perlis
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 18:48:12
Ganapathi added that since the Kampung Buah Pala issue was caused by the previous administration under Barisan Nasional, Lim should now try to give the residents some alternatives and options even if the land cannot be acquired back ...

Now, that we have no problem. That's quite reasonable a request. But for Waytha to scream and yell from a distance, accusing the Chief Minister of all kind of things, that's unreasonable. I think Waythamoorthy has gotten his head blown up way too big, until he thinks he's one of those heroes of the Bollywood silver screen.

For sure Hindraf has lost a lot of support from the average John & Jane Doe because of the narrow-mindedness of its cause, one which they refuse to adjust and adapt to embrace the plight of not just the Indian community but the rakyat as a whole. With the combative stance towards the Pakatan leaders, you can be sure that more support has evaporated.

If not for the Pakatan, then what is the alternative? That, Waytha has no answer nor has he offered any ideas. I supppose he and his supporters always feel that they have Uncle Sem and MIC to fall back on. YB Manoharan sounds reasonable, and now Ganapathi sounds reasonable too. But Waytha ..... sigh*
written by Ulan Benson, July 02, 2009 19:19:29
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 18:48:12

"...YB Manoharan sounds reasonable, and now Ganapathi sounds reasonable too. But Waytha ..... sigh* "

"Wayang-moody" sounds more ideal for this swollen headed guy. Barking and screaming without thinking how the problem started. GERAKAN sold the land, LGE to buy back the land???? Why didn't he fight for the case before KohTK sold the land? Why now?

Stupid "Wayang-moody" smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by storm62, July 02, 2009 20:11:21
i hope the 230 odd Penangites won't be blinded by greed.

even KTK dare not commend when ask by reporters. where is MIC???

LGE will still fight for the rest of the 27million Malaysians.

keep up the good work CM Lim Guan Eng!!!
written by lynn, July 02, 2009 21:27:10
The problem was created by Koh Tsu Koon - why don't Hindraf Waytha go after that guy? This is a BN-created problem out of greed and corruption. Prime land sold for RM3.2 million? Malaysia Boleh. Yah, keep voting BN!

Because more serious problems will creep out as time goes by. I heard more than one roof had collapsed in Trengganu. But only one was reported. So be patient, more dirt will come out. Don't scream at PR, go after BN govt. After all, BN govt is STILL IN POWER as federal govt.
written by astroace, July 02, 2009 21:27:11
Hell Boy KL,

Your comments are racially inclined.
You should not be talking about you Indian, we Chinese, him Malay. Look at the bigger picture!
We should be thinking as Malaysians. 50 years down the line and we are still fighting with this kind of attitude.
All of us are born for a purpose. If you are a human being, you should believe in Karma. We should be living in harmony with one another and make this world a better place for ourselves and our fellow beings.
"May all beings be free from Harm & Danger. May they be free from Mental & Physical Sufferings. And may they take care of themselves Happily & Peacefully"
written by bugisman, July 02, 2009 21:35:19
now a days anything come out from hindraf's mouth is smelly... but today i smell of some fresh air...
written by verifunny, July 02, 2009 21:40:54
Those who blasted Lim Guan Eng are idiots. They don't trace back to the culprit of this situation and gave me an impression that they are racist. I felt that they are telling everyone that a Chinese CM will not help other races.

If the amount of money to protect the place is huge, why don't use it on the general public in Penang who are in hot waters. Sometimes what is lost may still be recovered. Or what may seem lost might still be there.

Anyone has checked thoroughly if there is any foul play when the land is sold. If there is foul play, the deal is off.

This is not the only case.

Help yourself by staying united to defeat the common enemy. Until the day a new government is elected, such nonsense will surface.
written by mikewang, July 02, 2009 21:58:14
Those who went to jail for a cause have more standing to speak on issues affecting those he fought for than those who were out.

Don't call someone who lost his freedom for you a traitor.
written by chiongguo, July 02, 2009 23:06:34
Ganapathi was right in that HINDRAF was never an official organisation. Hindraf was just an idea whose time had come. It came and now it is no more. The indians were energised and for once in their life had focus. The years of been alienated by the BN government finally found a vent hole.

With all the in-fighting and many of the leaders now thinking for themselves is it any wonder that hindraf is anything but a spent force. I would not be surprised that quite a few of them had been infected by a very deadly virus of corruption ; spread and sustained by umno.

Thinking out loud I am just wondering if hadi himself had been also infected with this virus. Or could it be that he took offence at how DSAI and Tok Guru were so close ? With a very large mandate in recent election he perhaps felt like showing his true colour now.

written by Ocassey, July 02, 2009 23:38:54
Nuraina A Samad's 3540 Jalan Sudin: Reviving The Crooked Bridge ...
14 Apr 2009 ... The crooked bridge was among the mega projects scrapped during the ... $700 million compensation to Gerbang Perdana for the Crooked Bridge ...
nursamad.********.com/.../reviving-crooked-bridge-project.html - Cached - Similar. Hey all you chaps who are out to crucifice LGE for the crimes that are committed by his predecessors, please, please , unless all of you are paid frogs, please refer to the above about the crooked bridge compensation (RM) paid out by PM5 to GERBANG PERDANA for the recalcitrant PM4's folly or rather foxy scheme to feather his own nest with our taxpayers' hard earned money. The old fox knows that there are many ways to skin the pussycat. Left, right or middle..... there is money to be made . Why did PM5 payout so quickly? GO....ASK HIM (as if he would tell you the tooth nutty but the tooth).Why didn't all you nutty chaps go after TDM for having that crappy stupid idea that became almost a full reality whereby which gave PM4 the chance to squeeze PM5's nuts(difficult to locate)for that quicky compensation ? Hey, all you hounds ..... dare not go after those big GRIZZLIES,do you? Look deep into your inner conscience, go after the real legalised crooks. Look deep into the eyes of your children and grand children and ponder on their future if you still want to skin LGE alive.
written by hellboykl, July 03, 2009 00:33:38
astroace,

You must be from DAP where you people will only argue about pig farms!!
written by Arowana, July 03, 2009 01:46:40
Waythamoorthy is very afraid to go to JAIL to for fight Indian justice.

Lim GE goes to JAIL to fight a cause for a Malay Girl's justice.

Of these Two, whom shall deserve creditability ???

MT readers, judge for yourselves...................

written by chronos, July 03, 2009 01:54:18
Waytha is in UK now isn't it. Any Indian living in England starts to believe they are Englishmen after one week. Cor' blimey !