Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Director of the CCD who investigated these cases was severely dealt with

Director of the CCD who investigated these cases was severely dealt with PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 15:49

Ramli refused to sweep the entire episode under the carpet. And because of that they came for him. And when he engaged a lawyer to defend him, and the lawyer successfully proved that the allegations against Ramli were unfounded, they came for the lawyer as well.

Last month, Malaysia Today republished a series of eight Statutory Declarations that were originally published two years ago. Six were Statutory Declarations signed by police officers and two by Chinese underworld figures. Copies of these Statutory Declarations were extended to ex-Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as well.

When I signed a Statutory Declaration last year, they arrested me and charged me for criminal defamation. The government, however, has been very silent about these eight Statutory Declarations although the allegations are most serious indeed.

I mean: eight people, six of them police officers, have said that the police, all the way up to the IGP himself, are in partnership with the Chinese crime syndicate that controls most of the prostitution, gambling, drugs and loan shark business in Malaysia.

Either these allegations are true or they are false.

If they are true then why is the IGP being given another extension of service after the two-year extension beyond retirement given him in 2007? And since when does a retired IGP get more than a two-year extension after retirement? Traditionally, it has always been either a one- or two-year extension. And that is about it. And if the allegations are false then why have the eight not also been arrested and charged for criminal defamation -- just like me?

What many are not aware is, against the backdrop of all this, three court cases are going on simultaneously. One involves the ex-Director of the CCD, Datuk Ramli Yusuff, who was charged and is now on trial for the alleged crime of not declaring his assets. The other trial involves a lawyer, Rosli Dahlan, who represented the hapless one-time CCD Director. And the third court case, which has not been publicised that much, involves Malaysian Airlines in a civil suit it is facing.

Coincidently, Rosli, Ramli’s lawyer, is also representing MAS in that civil suit. And the irony to this whole thing is Rosli, who uncovered many transgressions and shady dealings in MAS, was also arrested and charged for not declaring his assets. Is Rosli being punished because he is representing a senior police officer that had exposed the links between the police and the Chinese underworld or is it to keep him quiet about what those who walk in the corridors of power are doing in MAS? And we are talking about billions of Ringgit here.

My suspicion is that it is both. They want to punish Rosli for getting Ramli off the hook and for proving that the government has no case against him, as well as to make sure that he does not talk about what he discovered in MAS. Well, Rosli may not want to talk since, as the lawyer for MAS, he has to be professional about attorney-client privileges. But Malaysia Today has ways of finding out what people would rather remain hidden.

Now, let’s get one thing very clear. The CCD Director is not being charged for corruption. He is being charged for not declaring his assets, which, according to what was leaked to the media, totals RM27 million in all. How they arrived at the figure of RM27 million and how come this was leaked to the media when the investigation was still ongoing and nothing had been established yet is a mystery that can only be speculated upon.

Does not information about a corruption investigation come under the ambit of the Official Secrets Act -- especially when the investigation is not completed yet and is still ongoing? Ezam Mohd Nor was arrested, charged and convicted for revealing the corruption investigation against the then Trade Minister, Rafidah Aziz. And he was sentenced to two years jail for this crime. So it certainly is a crime, according to the government. Yet, the investigation on Ramli’s alleged non-declaration of RM27 million in assets was leaked to the media even before anything had been established. Then it was found that there was no such thing as RM27 million assets -- declared or otherwise. 

Anyway, Ramli engaged Rosli as his counsel and he managed to produce a set of accounts proving that the amount involved is not RM27 million and that whatever Ramli had earned over the more than 37 years of working life had in fact all been properly declared and none of the money was earned through illegal means.

You see, like many Malaysians, Ramli ‘plays’ the stock market and is quite good at buying low and selling high, which is how the stock market should be ‘played’. The nagging question is, though, not whether he procured the money the ‘proper’ way or otherwise -- which the accounts he submitted proved there was nothing illegal in his dealings -- but whether he had declared whatever he had earned.

The accounts that Rosli, Ramli’s lawyer, submitted showed that nothing untoward happened and that the CCD Director had not only earned his money the legitimate way but that he had also declared all his assets as well.

And that was when the government decided to arrest Rosli and also charge him for not declaring his assets. He was arrested on the eve of Hari Raya and thrown into the lockup for the night. During his arrest, which occurred in his office, they roughed him up as well.

Rosli lodged a complaint about this rough treatment in his office in front of his staff and they responded by lodging a counter-complaint that the lawyer had been verbally abusive to the officers who had come to arrest him in his office on the eve of Hari Raya. 

But the CCD Director’s case is a very complex affair. It not only involves the Chinese crime syndicate and the links it has to the Malaysian police right up to the head honcho himself, the IGP. It also involves corruption, abuse of power, conflict of interest and mismanagement in Malaysia’s national airlines, MAS, which Ramli, as head of the CCD, had uncovered.

Malaysia Today discovered that Rosli is, in fact, also acting for MAS. So both Rosli and Ramli are very intimate with the details of the corruption, abuse of power, conflict of interest and mismanagement -- which goes all the way up to those who walk in the corridors of power.

The ‘crime’ that Ramli committed is that he detained a few underworld bosses linked to the police plus he opened a file and launched an investigation into the corruption, abuse of power, conflict of interest and mismanagement in MAS when the higher-ups told him not to. Why do the higher-ups want him to close the file on the Chinese crime syndicate as well as close the investigation on MAS and stamp these cases with NFA (no further action)?

Well, Ramli refused to sweep the entire episode under the carpet. And because of that they came for him. And when he engaged a lawyer to defend him, and the lawyer successfully proved that the allegations against Ramli were unfounded, they came for the lawyer as well.

Hishammuddin wants to do a walkabout on the streets of Kuala Lumpur to get to the bottom of the loan shark (ah long) problem. Actually he need not do that. He just needs to call for the file that was opened by Ramli and the whole (real) story would emerge as clear as daylight. The reason the ah long scourge can’t be eradicated is because any police office that dares ‘touch’ this case would be severely dealt with. Similarly, those who dare investigate corruption, abuse of power, conflict of interest and mismanagement in a GLC such as MAS that involves those who walk in the corridors of power would also be severely dealt with.

And that is why crime and corruption in Malaysia can’t be eradicated. This is because the real crime bosses sit in Putrajaya.

We are trying to get our hands on even more damaging evidence involving MAS from our contacts in Europe and we shall reveal in due course the extent of the abuse of power, conflict of interest, mismanagement and corruption involving those who walk in the corridors of power in Putrajaya.

Stay tuned for the next episode where you shall see where your hard-earned tax money has gone to and why we no longer have money to develop this country the way it should be.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by jchew, July 02, 2009 16:12:53
UMNO will do whatever it takes to cling onto power.
agree 147
written by Wisdom above, July 02, 2009 16:18:38
I respect your unfailing fighting spirit.
You keep our hope for a better Malaysia alive .

My salute to ex-Director of the CCD, Datuk Ramli Yusuff,& lawyer, Rosli Dahlan .

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.

agree 213
written by aeromaverick, July 02, 2009 16:21:09
Well, I guess, the Italian Mafia will be proud of the Malaysian Govt
written by gycgocnt, July 02, 2009 16:25:03
If anyone thinks Police duty is to Protect Citizens he/she definitely a nuts...
If anyone thinks Police not taking bribes he/she definitely an idiot...
If anyone thinks Police can do their jobs without fear or favour he/she definitely a stupid...
If anyone thinks Police should gain respect from citizens, he/she definitely a childish...
If anyone thinks Police will go to heaven after dead, he/she definitely go into hell...
If anyone thinks what I said here is wrong, he/she definitely not a Malaysian!!!
agree 157
written by wongnoball, July 02, 2009 16:25:44
That is precisely what is wrong with Malaysia.Corrupted to the Core.Judges, Immigration, Police, NRD, bank Negara, Election Commission, Jais, Mais, Syriah etc

If the DELETION of Altantuya entry to Malaysia from files and Database backup system have not woken Malaysia up yet to Rid UMNO from Power, then neither will many more Anwar cases, Lim Guan Eng, injustice, Perak Fiasco.wake Malaysian UP.Sad but true! We must come as one this Merdeka 09 and Wear Black once and For all be United and consistent in our Opposition to Injustice. Its 200,000 thousand people in black against 20,0000 Police and Army.live telecast, utube.we are ready.are you?Make History!
written by ABU SAYAB, July 02, 2009 16:27:08
Thanks Pete.
Justice for the Rakyat, you are truly Malaysian.
written by malsia1206, July 02, 2009 16:39:25
And remember when the 5 lawyers from the Legal Aid centre went to meet their clients, they were arrested too in the premises of the Polis Station for being accused of illegal assembly. If this is what our PM propounds as the 1Malaysia concept, I'm sorry for him. UMNO, AG, Polis, MACC, EC, the whole lot. They all corrupt to the core. It's so much easier to search for a medical cure for terminal cancer than any cure for all these Malaysian institutions. Malaysia BOLEH.
written by arazak, July 02, 2009 16:51:34
Bracing myself and trying to figure out the amount (hundreds of millions or billions of RM?) MAS had screwed up with the tax-payers money. Was it another episode of “commission” aka “kickbacks” for purchase of Airbus airplanes a la the Scorpane deal? Or, was it another episode of mismanagement in MAS a la PKFZ?

I am angry even before the figure came out! It is so sickening thinking how these UMNO goons are looting our money. . ., again and again and yet they always got away with their crimes!

They thought the tax-payers’ money is “kepala bapak” dia punya duit!
written by Running Sardines, July 02, 2009 16:52:44
Dear YM RPK

May peace be with you. After reading your article, I felt so sad cuz our system is so screwed up. Really like no hope in Malaysia to ever see justice being served.
written by NSTPravda, July 02, 2009 17:01:50
Stay tuned for the next episode where you shall see where your hard-earned tax money has gone to

As happy as we are to "stay tuned" we don't what you to be abducted by little men in blacks... take care saudara!
written by lunas oh lunaih, July 02, 2009 17:22:07
All this episode must be compiled and DISTRIBUTED to all 90,000 police officer in Malaysia.SURELY not all are bad,maybe a few other "RAMLI" will emerge
written by DreamLady, July 02, 2009 17:28:18
Hi, my dear Raja Petra, please do take good care of yourself as well as your health. Very few among us would dare to take the road less travelled like what you have been doing and still are doing. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the endless effort you contribute to keep us all well-informed..

Love you always, my constant prayers for you as usual..please, stay safe!
written by hellosunshine, July 02, 2009 17:43:50
RPK, why isn't PR doing anything with these damning SDs to get rid of all those corrupted policemen? It has been 2 years since you revealed these in MT and nothing's been done or PR had not carried the torch. Why??? smilies/tongue.gif
written by KotaDamansara73, July 02, 2009 17:45:57
"Foreign direct investment for 2008 was RM46 billion and for January to May this year we have only seen RM4.2 billion," Mustapa told reporters.

So now, lets look at this scenario. The MOFOs in UMNO has whack all the monies and now they don't know what to do. They liberalise the economy further hoping to gain more foreign investment.

I think they need to do more. They need to give all non-malays, bumiputra status, so that we can tender for goverment projects.
written by macho, July 02, 2009 18:05:23
This is good stuff. Shocking but hardly suprising. Afterall this is Malaysia where such things happen regularly. I am curious what will happen after this, whether the culprit will be punished and the truth finally revelead to all. But knowing Malaysia dont hold your breath just hope with the usual expectations.
written by Tan Tan, July 02, 2009 18:18:10
1) Singapore population is about 4.5 millions and Klang Valley estimated about 3 millions.

2) How the safety and loan shark problem in Singapore is so low and in Klang Valley, Michael Chong needs to have tons of appointments to help loan shark victims and Malaysian women need to buy sling bags and not tote bag due to snatch theif problem and our newspapers are full of incest and rape cases.

3) Of course we know that our police force is not doing anything and corrupted. Don't believe me, check the number of road blocks during Ramadan month comparing other months and you will know the answer.

4) Come to MAS, we used to be the top 3 airlines in the world with our service (on par with SQ and Cathay).

5) Today, Mas charging premium ticket prices keep making losses and Air Asia keeps buying more planes.

6) How could that be???? Of course, corruption. Imagine SQ is making losses. Singapore government will do anything to prevent that. But for MAS, ask money from government when making losses and still dun improve. Why can't Petronas give a special petrol deal to MAS to make it profitable rather than sell to others? Ever wonder what all the government is doing?? Corruption lo.

7) Have you heard of this joke? What is the difference between a Malays, an Indian and a Chinese running an airline?
Answer: When Chinese runs an airline, it become the most profitable airline in the world (SQ), when an Indian runs an airline (AirAsia), he gave our free tickets and when a Malay runs an airline (MAS), he making losses!!!

8 ) Yes yes, I am sure everyone is calling me racist now but don't u get the point of this joke? Why the Malays is anger when they heard this joke? Because it is truth and truth hurts. Honestly speaking, do you really think a Malays cannot run a good airline? Of course they can but why MAS is making losses. Corruption LO!

written by Fuminari, July 02, 2009 18:40:06
simple,if they want to retire musa,musa would then bring back the ghost of altantuya,the lingam gate,etc etc......how's about that???
written by miwaki, July 02, 2009 19:20:28
God is great,He created UMNO and at the same time,He created RPK.Life will be boring in Malaysia if only one of them is available.

However,having UMNO in Malaysia is definitely a mistake !
written by malgal, July 02, 2009 19:35:07
Ramli and Rosli are among the few good men. Bless them and bless RPK.
written by Mirage, July 02, 2009 19:54:33
There was never a real wide exposure 10 years or more ago on corruption. What is being shared has been there since Mahathir's admin and is believe to create an eco system of balance in the Malaysia community. So they say!!
This shows the point that the BN/UMNO has poor management skills in runing the country and have to depend on corruption, oil money and our income tax just to get by. WTF and I am perplex that the PM wants to show the world how we did it before (financially) and how we create racial harmony???
written by SBennit, July 02, 2009 20:23:10

Why did you extend the SD's to Tun Mahathir, knowing very well that the only few people Tun Mahathir is scared of is the IGP?, who since a few years ago, has become the shadow ruler of Malaysia.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

written by Sabahfan, July 02, 2009 21:26:50
Mr jchew... the first commenter here..

Your one liner comment was exactly what I wanna say, you beat me to it... congrats..
written by Pakyeh, July 02, 2009 22:17:47
Bravo RPK. You are the epitome of nahi mungkar...atacking the corruption, which all Muslims should do, instead of praying 5 times a day and still co-operating with the corrupt.
What we need is a revolution.
Read more,and listen to revolution songs on my article "Revolution!" at...

http://warongpakyeh.********.com
written by Rozlan, July 02, 2009 22:20:13
If they are true then why is the IGP being given another extension of service after the two-year extension beyond retirement given him in 2007? And since when does a retired IGP get more than a two-year extension after retirement? Traditionally, it has always been either a one- or two-year extension. And that is about it. And if the allegations are false then why have the eight not also been arrested and charged for criminal defamation -- just like me?

There is another reason for Musa extension.You see Musa Hassan is a loyal UMNo's lapdog.He will do anything to help UMNo.Even to the extent of fabricating evidences.He was a man of no moral standing.So an IGP of that caliber is very usefull to do any UMNo dirty jobs
written by joeawk, July 02, 2009 23:39:50
Calling all NEW MALAysians, we have to get opurselves registered as voters so that together we can vote inna new govt and send these crooks to jail. With their ill gotten money, they can run away from Malaysia but we shall get them, even if they are to hide under in the skirt of the queen of England.

NEW MALAYSIANS, we must be brave and we must care for our nation,,we must get rid of UMNO, once and forever. Then we will go after the crooked judges, the AG, the IGP, and many others. Past PMs may not get away.
written by Vengai, July 03, 2009 01:20:27
As predicted Musang service extended.Why? Wait until DSAI goes to jail, YM RPK go to jail and to crack yhe opposition leaders spirit of fighting. All these people are dirty cocks.U scratch my back and i scratch urs.Im waiting for the day Pakatan rule the Federal and arrest all this corruptors, murderers,ichi cocks,and all Goverment service top lap dogs aincluding the CJ and trail them in special court and chuck them in Kamunting.Strip their citizenship cause they are not true Malaysian but traitor of their own race and country.Or jerejak to be open back and place all these people there as Malaysian can see them as "KUSTA" as how once Pukau Jerejak was during British Coloniel
written by educationist, July 03, 2009 04:40:16
My dear RPK I hope the information that you can obtain will be solid enough to force that top honcho and his retinue of corrupt officers to step down and subsequently be charged.
But is this possible in Malaysia today?
The 6 statutory declarations that involved corruption and abuse of power at the highest echelons of the police force can be ignored, so dare we hope for anything different since that top honcho remains?
I'm not optimistic at all.
written by Cobweb76, July 03, 2009 05:32:54
I sincerely hope this article will reach Malaysians people far and wide. Other than just us people who visit MT almost daily, I really wonder if MT opens new eyes.

For those who are still supporting BN, is it because to them BN is the lesser of two evils? I mean they must know about the rampant corruption in the government. Even politicians who are corrupted agreed there is corruption in the leadership. I mean, not themselves of course but others who may or may not be their fellow party members.

So coming back to the point of the BN supporters; Do they really think BN will get better if they keep supporting it? What are they getting out of it other than maybe they get to keep their job and possibly get that promotion they always wanted if they keep their mouth shut and nod their heads long enough?

What does BN supporters think about this article? Maybe they think 'Here comes more lies from the opposition.' Have they ever tried to find out if any of the 'lies' RPK has told had any shred of truth in it?

I'm just wondering...
written by Cobweb76, July 03, 2009 05:35:53
Dear Admin, '... nod their heads...' why would the word 'heads' censored?
written by Chokma, July 03, 2009 08:38:19
Truly Malaysian:
Police = crooks,
crooks = ministers,
ministers = otak udang,
congressmen = Missing in action,
murder suspect = PM,
Ah long = legitimate bankers
Communists = law enforcers
Illegal racers = Rakan Police
Justice = Cronies' benefits
1Malaysia = 1Melayu,
People = Slaves
What more do you expect from this country? Say "No" to BN so that we can start a new page without these black sheeps.
written by mick_err_stan, July 03, 2009 08:52:11
Very SHAMEFUL !!! Don't these people have pride. How can they face their family ? I believe that all the injustice they propagate in this life time will come back to them in the next perhaps triple in suffering....Karma.

Evil begets evil!!!!!
written by TwilightYears, July 03, 2009 08:55:34
Your persistence is a hall mark of those Malaysians who refused to take "NO" for an answer until the truth is revealed. These men, not necessarily be respected by all Malaysian are - Lim Kit Siang, Karpal Singh, Tun Hussein Onn, Dr Mahathir Mohd, Lim Guan Eng and perhaps, Anwar Ibrahim. The truth will prevail. My salute to Ramli and Rosli. We need more Malaysians like these two great gentlemen.

That the IGP tenure has been renewed time and again is not surprising. I believed that it was the practice of former civil service administration to renew a term for those who were promoted and who were on the verge of retirement with 6 months or a year to go. The extension of two years would then seen to be fair for them to carry out their plans, and for them to enjoy being the head of a service after having put 30 years of dedication.

But things have changed during the former PM and the present PM. As I have said before, IGP is not the only one to have the special, special privilege of this extension. The former Ketua Pengarah Kesihatan and the present Ketua Pengarah Kesihatan, namely Tan Sri Dr Abu Bakar Suleman and Tan Sri Dr Ismail Merican (the present one) have enjoyed this privilege. The former rubbed shoulders with the top guns in the golf courses and the later became a yes men to all his superiors (but a tyrant to all his subordinates).

If this is a trend, then the civil service is not what it was. The public service, like the Royal Malaysian Police Commission, must be seen to be above politics. There are countless number of would-be successors to these two men. What is so special about them? There are specialists, and medical administrators much better then the present liver physician to take over his place. What is it about him that is so special?

Can the Malaysian govt blame Malaysian for have a negative perception of selective preference based on criteria different from the key performance indicators of a DG?

Hopefully, this practice of favouring individual personality cease to give a better image of Malaysian Administration as a whole.
written by khongja, July 03, 2009 09:16:08
Well! the country is fcuked up and we have been fcuked all along!Thanks Pete! at least we know now why ? Well LKY is having the last laugh now!He was too polite to warn us!
written by mamak, July 03, 2009 09:32:28
Those who walk in the corridors of power, PLEASE STOP the abuse of power, conflict of interest, mismanagement and corruption. Please.....
written by Aizad 234, July 03, 2009 10:13:19
Hishhh... tak sabarnya GE 13!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by Conan Chung, July 03, 2009 10:53:53
Woot~

Pete, how did you get all these info? I really want to learn some investigation skills from you; nothing shady seems to escape your eyes! You must either have powerful intuitive and detective skills or you know tons of people willing to give all these "insider" information to you. Either way, i'm totally looking forward to your next installment.

PS: If you hadn't been too engaged in kicking corrupt asses, i really wished you write a book; any book. I'll buy it even if i had to order online from Australia. Seriously, think about it!
written by Steven Ong, July 03, 2009 13:13:48
'And that is why crime and corruption in Malaysia can’t be eradicated. This is because the real crime bosses sit in Putrajaya.': RPK.

If it can't be eradicated, what is the point of all the lamentations? Or should we add - ' till all the real crime bosses in Putrajaya are eradicated?
Yes, the sure way to kill a snake is to smash its head, as the saying goes. One way is to keep on educating the people and also the 'Snakes'. Hoping that the snake would one day turn into a what? a cow? - to plow the padi fields? Sorry I dont know the opposite of snake or serpent.

As most of the government today are corrupt,( even the next one ) another options is for all, no matter what is one's faith maybe, to pray and cried out to The Almighty God ( Who created the heaven and earth ) and ask for His intervention.
written by Howie ng, July 03, 2009 23:53:45
Most Malaysian are obviously very disturbed each time MT revealed such evil deeds by those in power. We may not know for sure what are being revealed are totally true but the fact that those names mentioned who I am sure are also reading MT did not respond could mean they are likely true. But I am equally disturbed by the silence of those who knew them to be true but kept silence.
written by cheekhiaw, July 04, 2009 12:53:42
What else do you expect when thieves run the police, judges, and prosecutors?