Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Kedah DAP’s withdrawal from Pakatan not final: Guan Eng

Kedah DAP’s withdrawal from Pakatan not final: Guan Eng PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 14:25

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said Kedah DAP’s decision to withdraw from the Pakatan Rakat state government was not final and needed to be endorsed by the party’s national central executive committee first.

“Only after receiving the official letter confirming the Kedah state committee decision, would I call a CEC to make a final decision on the matter,” Guan Eng said in a statement on Thursday.

“I would normally oppose such moves personally especially when based on a single issue and if there is still room to redress and correct the situation.

“However, the desperate nature of the situation and the breakdown of trust between Kedah DAP and the Kedah PAS Menteri Besar warrants a CEC meeting to endorse or oppose this withdrawal.”

Guan Eng, who is also Penang chief minister, said Kedah DAP chairman Thomas Su had briefed on the situation before announcing the pullout. No date has been fixed yet for the DAP CEC meeting, he added.

The Pakatan, due to meet on Thursday over the formation of shadow cabinet committees, has postponed the meeting to help resolve the spat.

Denting the Pakatan’s image

On Wednesday, Kedah DAP shocked the nation with its decision to follow through on a threat to withdraw from the PAS-led state government.

This came about after Menteri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak refused to intervene in the demolition of an abattoir despite pleas from Thomas. There have also been other issues the two men have not been able to see eye to eye on.

Guan Eng defended Kedah DAP, which has been slammed for being emotional and uncaring of the overall Pakatan agenda.

“Pulling out of Pakatan Rakyat is a serious matter with large adverse national ramifications. For Kedah DAP to do so from the Kedah state government signals the complete lack of communication and respect from the Kedah PAS-led government,” he said.

“Kedah DAP had never sought any titles or Datukships but had been unhappy with the lack of respect accorded by PAS to DAP in Kedah unlike the respect accorded to PAS in Penang.”

Said Kedah PKR Youth deputy chief Gooi Hsiao Leung: “It is well within any party’s right to protest, or oppose or even condemn the Alor Setar’s Municipal Council’s decision to tear down the abattoir, however the DAP Kedah must not be carried away emotionally by making calls to quit Pakatan over this issue.

“It had taken a lot, and in some ways, a miracle for the PAS, PKR and DAP to come together and forge a united front to face Barisan Nasional. The alliance is bound to face tribulations and disagreements, however it is our duty to minimize such problems and to ensure that the coalition remains united.”

Complacency and corruption

No one would rush to say either is right, but can anyone say neither is wrong. It does takes two to tango.

Therefore the finger must also be pointed at PAS. As the party controlling the largest number of seats in the Kedah state assembly, it must rightfully also be the one that displays the greater generosity of spirit and statesmanship.

In any case, there has been huge negative publicity created with far-reaching implications for the Pakatan partnership of PKR, DAP and PAS.

“Azizan has told me that he has given space and options on where the slaughter house can be built. I believe that we can discuss and solve this problem,” said Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim, the Pakatan’s de-facto head.

“I was in Barisan for a long time and there were many disagreement but it did not make headlines.”

As pressure piles on Pakatan to tighten its management, the coalition must also take care not to lose sight of its original aim – which is to create a better Malaysia.

This Malaysia must be a Malaysia that Malaysians want, not what the Umno-BN press wants or even what the Pakatan itself wants.

If the Pakatan continues to understand what the people want, then it doesn’t matter if they quarrel everyday.

After all, despite the non-stop politicking and sabotage from the Umno-BN, both Penang and Selangor have hauled in record investments in the past year.

As long as the work gets done – and again this is for the people to decide, not the Umno-BN press – what is wrong with being noisy?

It may be annoying but it is also one sure way to keep corruption and complacency at bay. With whistle-blowers and trigger-happy mouths all around, who would dare.

written by nana tanjung, July 02, 2009 14:42:37
The issue is this abbatoir is illegal. It has been given numerous and repeated warning to evacuate a state land.

This is not an issue of racism in nature. If anyone try to relate this to racism, I can only say that that person is the one who practice racism, because his mind is always clouded with racism. He/She only thinks from race perspective, no matter what the issue is.

A wrong is wrong. I thought LGE was pretty consistent on this credo until I read his comment above. Has he succumbed to pressure?

The question now - why is DAP defending an illegal abbatoir located on the state land? why is DAP encouraging something that is wrong?
written by karpi77, July 02, 2009 16:15:00
Please YB Guan Eng, i hope what ever problem can be solve,we love pakatan rakyat!!!
for future do not do again!!! please only pakatan rakyat can take over new goverment after GE 13!! Please PAS,PKR and DAP we hope you only
written by maisur, July 02, 2009 16:24:01
nana tanjung,

simple...DAP is racist to the core.

DAP and LGE (umar abdul aziz konon...my foot!) will defend an illegal site simply because it involves the chinese. these racist sluts will ignore other non-chinese plight with 1001 excuses (as what happened with kampung buah pala)

DAP, the rakyat is watching you. we voted you in and we surely can vote you out.
disagree 17
written by fendyoasis, July 02, 2009 16:30:45
I would give LGE the chance to do the right thing, and in the end, it is illegal so it should be demolished.
written by tenukajaib, July 02, 2009 16:48:11
maisur,

totally agree with you.
like Father like son
written by kksam, July 02, 2009 18:14:13
Before DAP came into power, they defend numerous illegal structures, including Hindu temples built on state land. Now, after they came in it's only right for them to keep their principal and defend. What just becoz they are heading the state now, they can demolish any structure just like BN? Do you all still remember those days when BN tore down squatting village and opposition party defended the villagers? If that was right then why now it's wrong.

and please, keep in mind that the Kg buah Pala is a different issue becoz the previous state gov aka GERAKAN aka BN sold their land to private developer, so now it's not state land!!! On top of that KOH TSU KOON sold the land CHEAPLY!!! If the state gov is going to buy back the land, it will take a huge amount. This is the shits left by BN.
written by BUTEK, July 02, 2009 21:01:52
PAS doing the right thing by destroyin the abbotoir to make sure the area is in clean condition and make sure no FUTURE SWINE FLU INFECTION FROM PIG TO HUMAN OCCUR... BUT

THE DAP 'PIGS' FIGHTING FOR THE BENEFIT OF FEW GREEDY CHINESE BUSSINESMEN... WHAT A PIG.... smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by MSIABOLEH, July 02, 2009 21:33:59
“Kedah DAP had never sought any titles or Datukships but had been unhappy with the lack of respect accorded by PAS to DAP in Kedah unlike the respect accorded to PAS in Penang"

The whole thing is all about respect and nothing else. Unlike some people who is so obsessed with BABI. To the non-muslim whether to eat pork or not is not the issue. We will not die if we don't eat pork. We have the FREEDOM to choose. It's the muslim who is so obsessed and preoccupied with BABI. Because they feared it so much to the extent of paranoia.

I am grateful that GOD created me a non-muslim. Imagine the FREEDOM I have to choose what I want to do and which life path to take. Unlike some peoople, I can choose to become a Buddhist and subsequently become a Hindu or later become a Christian or a free-thinker or even a Muslim.

Whether it's pig, or cow, or chicken, all these farm animals are carrier of diseases. Previously it's the foot and mouth disease and subsequently the bird flu and lately the swine flu. So if I applied the same reasoning and in the even it's bird flu, then we have to close down all chicken farm and slaughtered all the chicken and stop eating chicken.

God has given us all a brain to think and to reason. Please use your brain, don't be like fanatical robotic idiot.

written by vox populi, July 03, 2009 00:53:00
[simple...DAP is racist to the core.

DAP and LGE (umar abdul aziz konon...my foot!) will defend an illegal site simply because it involves the chinese. these racist sluts will ignore other non-chinese plight with 1001 excuses (as what happened with kampung buah pala)
][maisur,

totally agree with you.
like Father like son /]

Maisur and Tenukajaib,

Your cheap shots contribute zilch. Your ignorance is only preceded by your racist stench which is worse than the pig sty's.

Both CM Azizan and Kedah DAP are culpable for the issue to have culminated in the way it had. If the abattoir had been allowed to exist for 30 years, what is another year or so for it to be moved. I understand that the CM has given some time and opportunity and the abattoir's demolition is inevitable but why the sudden desperation? Is there an imminent epidemic or great health risk that precludes any leeway? In the spirit of the PR's avowed declaration for good governance, shouldn't both the CM and Kedah DAP try harder to resolve the issue amicably?

I sense a certain animosity and cockiness on both sides interfering in the solution process. Look beyond your own turf to see the big picture and do what is best for the national good.

Both are equally culpable in their lamentable timing. With the repercussions of the (fortunately aborted) unity talks and the Kg Buah Pala controversy still swirling, it makes good sense for everyone in PR to cool it and think of the common objective of obliterating UMNO/BN at GE13, instead of PR being self-imploded now.