Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow What do you get when you have two Indian lawyers?

What do you get when you have two Indian lawyers? PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 14:13

James Chin, The Malaysian Insider

I’m sure you all have heard of this racist joke: what do you get when you have two Indian lawyers? The answer is: three law firms — one each and the third is the partnership. The joke is to convey the public perception that Indians are fine lawyers and just love to argue.

I’m not sure what the origin of the joke is but it may have to do with the fact that some of the most famous lawyers in this country are people like Karpal Singh and his son, Mr Looks-And-Sounds-Like-Me V.K. Lingam and judge Gopal Sri Ram. There are many others, some sadly no longer with us. These are formidable legal minds and known to suffer no fools.

I’m bringing up the issue of lawyers simply because one other interesting bit about Indian lawyers is that they tend to get involved in politics (not all but many of them). Most of the Hindraf leaders are lawyers and if you believe the news, one of them has just registered a new political party called Parti Hak Asasi Manusia or Paham.

This comes after the formation of the Malaysian Makkal Sakthi Party (MMSP), led by former Hindraf national coordinator R.S. Thanenthiran.

There is also a rumour floating around that another Indian leader is planning for another party.

At least half a dozen parties are chasing the support of the 7.8 per cent of Malaysia’s population of Indians who made up slightly more than 10 per cent at the time of independence. The really bad news is that in about a decade’s time, the Indian population will fall to below 5 per cent.

So you can clearly see that with more Indian-based parties and an Indian population (in percentage terms) going down, the political voice of the Indians is going to be a whisper.

written by sydput, July 02, 2009 14:32:23
Why am i not surprise the population of indians will fall below 5% when they cannot tell the difference between insecticide and water.
written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 15:01:25
Indians and CHinese have got survival instincts hard-wired into their genetic codes as a result of their ancestral roots of having to toil for survival in countries with billions of mouths to feed!! Consequently, everyone wants be THE BOSS smilies/smiley.gif - only Indians and Chinese have movies with titles like The Boss (Shah Rukh Khan), The Big Boss (Bruce Lee) etc ... it is in the blood !!
written by SCM, July 02, 2009 15:03:14
James,

You are dead wrong. "if you want to attend a gangster meeting, go to a MIC meeting". That is NOT a joke. It is a fact. My friends have personal experiences. Anyone who questions Samy Vellu's actions will be "visited" by thugs either on the floor during the meetings, during the break or after the meetings, and will be threatened with bodily harm. Many of these threats were later carried out as a show to others. Word gets around.

Look who are the current "stars" in MIC. Saravanan is known among the Indian community as a thug and former drug dealer in Sentul, and Vell Paari, also a known thug and now a murderer.
written by nanakassim, July 02, 2009 15:31:25
A HR practioner whom I know limits her intake of Indian employees to two. Her contention? Bring in the third one and she'll end up with a worker's union. smilies/smiley.gif
written by aeromaverick, July 02, 2009 15:43:00
I find the article a bit short sighted. Please remember the beginning of the Hindraf. The thousands who gathered on a Sunday morning. How did it reach that level? Splitting up and segmenting of the Indian voters was practiced even before Hindraf started. Hence, doing the same thing again, without addressing the core issue on this segment of the population will only give birth another movement down the line. Then what are these so called authorities going to do? This is more akin to a cat drinking milk with its eyes closed! smilies/grin.gif
written by Old Man, July 02, 2009 15:51:03
Perhaps we should all call ourselves Malaysians and/or better still Human Beings on Planet Earth who're are capable of reasoning.
Once a Human Being is being marginalized he / she will display the instinct to defend if not attack.
Therefore we ought to show compassion towards the less fortunate ones regardless of race and religion. We are simply human beings! smilies/wink.gif
written by teohchye, July 02, 2009 15:58:53
Maybe the best thing to do is form a party to unite all Malaysian Indians and name it Parti Untuk Kaum India Malaysia (PUKIMA). Perhaps one former PM can head the new party. I wonder which of the 2 Tuns? MM or AAB?
written by panca, July 02, 2009 17:42:04
written by sydput, July 02, 2009 14:32:23
Why am i not surprise the population of indians will fall below 5% when they cannot tell the difference between insecticide and water.

Yes, if it is looked from one perspective into an aspect of how they have become as a result of less privilege and opportunity in our society for them(the same may be with other races as well)however at their varying disproportion in the racial combination, it is almost too obvious they are among the hard core poor, broken homes and those we would not want to mention. The effect of what sydput made has some bearing on why they have resorted to such.

I was washing car in the evening, I could hear a man shouting in english, apparently scolding and humiliating the wife, four letters words and the little boy was crying in fear and nobody would like to see such a man, a drunkard man who threw abusive words at his own family. It took hell of guts for the wife to shout back when he yelled at the little boy and told them both to get out of the house. She told him to get lost too and the noise just got louder. "Possibly, this is why insecticide could be mistaken in them"

Feel so sorry.
written by quietguy, July 02, 2009 18:36:23
Statistically speaking, poor folks tend to have larger families compared to rich folks. So why is the Indian population percentage going down?
written by meswara, July 02, 2009 19:05:10
[[ written by sydput, July 02, 2009 14:32:23
Why am i not surprise the population of indians will fall below 5% when they cannot tell the difference between insecticide and water.]]

sydput, shame on you for making such a statement.
written by meswara, July 02, 2009 19:10:06
written by teohchye, July 02, 2009 15:58:53
Maybe the best thing to do is form a party to unite all Malaysian Indians and name it Parti Untuk Kaum India Malaysia (PUKIMA).

TeohChye, r u related to SohChye ? Just wondering! i will not come with an acronym to humiliate the chinese becos i have learned to beyond the color of the skin and to look only at one's heart.
written by meswara, July 02, 2009 19:14:12
written by nanakassim, July 02, 2009 15:31:25
A HR practioner whom I know limits her intake of Indian employees to two. Her contention? Bring in the third one and she'll end up with a worker's union

Then yr friend must be an oppressive employer! An employer who does not care for the welfare of his employees. A control freak who wants to 'divide and conquer' and get rich 'by sucking the blood of his employees'.

We have many worker's unions all over the world and their duty is to take care of their interests. In our country too, we have many unions. Stop being a racist!
written by meswara, July 02, 2009 19:15:57
written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 15:01:25
Indians and CHinese have got survival instincts hard-wired into their genetic codes as a result of their ancestral roots of having to toil for survival in countries with billions of mouths to feed!! Consequently, everyone wants be THE BOSS smilies/smiley.gif - only Indians and Chinese have movies with titles like The Boss (Shah Rukh Khan), The Big Boss (Bruce Lee) etc ... it is in the blood !!

truefair, u obviously have not watched enough english movies!
written by Saint, July 02, 2009 19:50:02
Personally I think this split is good for the "survival of the fittest" will eventually emerge and the Indians will unite. If HINDRAF plays its card well and "wisely" they may emerge as leaders. However I do not think this is good for Malaysia and the Indian community as a whole. Better for PR to open an "Indian Committee" for the time being to look into their problems and eventually merge them with their party. Malaysian should be the final goal.
written by temenggong, July 02, 2009 21:05:17
Don't worry about the Indians (and Chinese). They know what to do. They are 20% each, of the world population.

Worry about the rest of the world.
written by Sutha, July 03, 2009 00:12:48
James Chin,

Have you heard of the other racist joke? When 2 Chinamen sit, each with a leg on their stools, sipping tea...... we get two liquor serving restaurants, three gambling dens, four opium and drug hideouts, five samsu shops strictly for indians, and six brothels. Where they get the part-time white flesh whores? We both know. Very enterprising, right?
written by Sutha, July 03, 2009 00:19:49
Sydput,
The Indian population may drop below 5%...... but surely they won't resort to incest to inrease their population. They have a sense of shame!

Nanakassim,
Please pull your HR practitioner out of the coconut shell and bring some education to him/her. May be you should also read about trade unions' roles to advise your friend.
written by Vengai, July 03, 2009 00:40:44
SCM
u are right. As an Indian i support what you said.Exact picture of MIC.
teohchye
I suggest u become the president of The PUKIMA party and
and the Mamak as the adviser cause indian are not to smart to run PUKI party.U are a racist are u? I wonder now Y Hee turn Katak and the Perak Goverment collapse.
written by DontPlayGod, July 03, 2009 17:35:34
Well, the Indian population will go down to 5% while the Chinese population will go down from a high of more than 40% to less than 15%. The rest will be made up of the indigenous people and bumiputeras from Sabah and Sarawak. The Malays will increase their population from 50% to more than 80%, all thanks to Tun M's call to them to quickly increase their numbers.

Of course, the non-Malays have been aware of this since the early 80's, but did not bother to join the population race, knowing full well that UMNO will be making it tough for the non-Malays with their racist and discriminatory policies. The non-Malays know that UMNO will not be extending any help to them, hence they cannot afford to have more 2 to three children.

The previous DCM of Penang, at the moment of resignation and at age 33 already has 6 children and by the time he is above 40 will have more than 10 children, which is what most average Malay family size is. It's o.k. for people like them because the Government is supporting his children through to Universities, but not the non-Malays, who have to toil and sweat to give their children a good start in their adult lives.
written by Milo, July 03, 2009 23:54:13
Hindraf is a gone case.