Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Kedah DAP must look at the bigger picture

Kedah DAP must look at the bigger picture PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 13:04

By Gooi Hsiao Leung, Suara Keadilan

The announcement by Kedah DAP to leave the Pakatan Rakyat coalition in Kedah is most regrettable.

I do empathize with the plight of the 28 operators who are left without a place to carry on their trade, however the DAP call to leave Pakatan was made irrationally and impulsively without taking into account the larger national consideration of Pakatan’s political struggle.

It is well within any party’s right to protest, or oppose or even condemn the Alor Setar’s Municipal Council’s decision to tear down the abattoir, however the DAP Kedah must not be carried away emotionally by making calls to quit Pakatan over this issue.

The abattoir issue is purely a licensing issue and a local municipal problem, and the Kedah DAP should not turn this into a national issue, jeopardizing the national coalition between PAS, PKR and DAP. I am certain this municipal problem could have been resolved amicably through other channels.

Pakatan has a duty to minimise disagreements and to stay united

Kedah DAP must realize that the call to quit PR will upset the national mood for real change brought about by 308.

Kedah DAP must realize all major policy changes we have witnessed of late, from the introduction a new PSD scholarship to be based solely on merit, and the abolishment of the 30% quota for companies seeking public listing are all a direct result of the 2008 general elections.

Kedah DAP is hitting the wrong target by making the drastic call to quit Pakatan. It had taken a lot, and in some ways, a miracle for the PAS, PKR and DAP to come together and forge a united front to face Barisan Nasional.

The alliance is bound to face tribulations and disagreements, however it is our duty to minimize such problems and to ensure that the coalition remains united.

I am sure not one of the 308 supporters, who voted for national change will agree with Kedah DAP’s call to quit Pakatan over the municipal problem in Kedah.

We owe a duty to each and every voter who voted for the opposition, and who were fed up with MCA and Gerakan’s inability to effectively represent them, not to disrupt the current political direction our country is moving towards.

[Gooi Hsiao Leung is a lawyer by training. He is also the PKR Kedah deputy youth chief and a member of the state committee]

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 13:10:37
Kedah DAP is TOO EMOTIONAL on this issue, there are other abbatoirs in Kedah, furthermore with Rais Yatim insisting on calling AH1N1 - swine flu - maybe he got PAS Kedah spooked smilies/grin.gif
written by ms.blogger, July 02, 2009 13:18:03
I agree totally. What happens to "When the going gets tough, the tough gets going?". Do we divorce our spouses when we cannot agree on some issues? No, we work things out, remember COMMITMENT? How can we Malaysians who had welcomed Pakatan as an alternative government, continue to support you if everyone voted to office behaves emotionally, narrow mindedly and do not see the big picture? How can Pakatan function efficiently and effectively if the top leaders DSAI, LKS and Tok Guru keep having to spend time doing damage control. Come on, guys, grow up!
written by Wisdom above, July 02, 2009 13:19:50
A clear, explicit & well written exposition.

PR must learn to exercise maturity, prudence, patience and adopt good governance to prepare themselves to eventually take over the FEDERAL Government in due time .
In a little while, BeEnd will fade away very soon.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by apasalahku, July 02, 2009 13:50:44
what's bound to happen; I'd rather happen sooner. This so-called PR is the only coalition in the world which imagines democratic socialism can partner with religious fundamentalism.
written by shamadz72, July 02, 2009 14:03:13
It is high time for every coalition party within PR to discipline its party member. Just like we the Erdogan group in PAS has been consistent in bashing any PAS individual (be it deputy president or president himself) trying to break up PR coalition.

I hope DAP can take stern action against this renegade comrade as an example to ensure they tow the party line. Just like what Penang government did to the PRK dude who boycotted the Seberang Jaya MPSJ ceremony. We need to get the message straight to every PR members not to cross the line. It is OK for us to agree to disagree (in fact it is health to do so) but whenever you encounter a small problem in the coalition you started to blackmail other partner with 'muzakarah' lah, quit coalition lah etc. This is just not the right way to move forward.
written by Rozlan, July 02, 2009 22:22:57
Kedah DAP is a team player.