Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow WHO da fuck gives YOU da right?

WHO da fuck gives YOU da right? PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 12:11

I've been smoking since I was 15. Women, they come and go. Tobacco stays. I'm not into beer or whisky, not even the occasional Shandy. Alcohol I can live quite happily without.

But I'd fight to the death for my right to light up and enjoy a quiet, untroubled smoke. Without being forced to look at gruesome, ugly images conjured by the world's greatest hypocrites - the World Health Organization.

That's right. The same scam that brought us Herpes, AIDS, SARS, cock & bull flu. They have the power to quarantine you if you so much as sneeze as you go through the airport scanners. They can order schools closed, borders sealed, entire cities evacuated. WHO says it cares about World Health. Yup. Health is BIG business. One of the biggest. After warfare.

written by Jan, July 02, 2009 12:14:56
Who gives you the right???
Listen bud it's the same right you thought you had to smoke in my face.
disagree 20
written by batsman, July 02, 2009 12:26:19
Health like liberalism, democracy, secularism, environmentalism and anti-smoking lobby have become religions. Didn't you know smoking is blasphemous these days?
written by densemy, July 02, 2009 12:26:47
Let me guess? You're a muslim and you know everything... despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary You dont drink cos you were told not to. You tried to give up smoking but failed partly because part of your islamification meant that you lost your ability to self discipline

So to cover for your inadequecies you blame everybody from the tobacco industry to the poor tobacco farmer and the chemical companies which supply him and even the Malaysian Police Force for not controlling the road death toll... just so you dont have to face up to the reality of your own shortcomings
disagree 24
written by Oscar Winner, July 02, 2009 12:30:19
"SMOKERS DON'T GROW OLD. THEY DIE YOUNG"

Yes, why put gruesome images. Use the above line will do lah
written by krising1, July 02, 2009 12:39:28
Brother, just continue smoking. It is your right to live and die. Who cares if you don't?
written by hellosunshine, July 02, 2009 12:43:56
I empathize with you since you had practically been deprived of all vices except for smoking. smilies/grin.gif
written by Fido, July 02, 2009 12:44:21
This is one of the most tasteless article i must have read in MT.

This irresponsible person if he's killing himself, I wouldnt give a rats ass. But his 2nd hand smokes makes others a victim of his own shortcoming. Imagine your children having to bare with this selfish people in public places such as restaurants and bus stops. Who gave you the right to blow smoke to our face?

So ok, health care is a big scam, so lets do away with it? ..yea thats a real arguement you have there Majick River. I understand smoking is addictive but to blame the world except yourself? grow up.
written by razzwill, July 02, 2009 12:59:16
"Health is BIG business. One of the biggest."

Yes, and by smoking, you will contribute to the business, and make it even more lucrative.

All that nicotine has truly addled your brain I think. You probably have enough gray cells by now to count on the fingers of one hand and still have enough fingers to smoke a cigarette.
written by advocatusdiaboli, July 02, 2009 13:25:40
Yeah Bro Antares, who gives you right? Agreed! Also who gives you right to smoke at my face in public places? Who gives you da right to smoke in a restaurant when I am eating and enjoying my food with my family? Further, who gives you right to pollute parks and places of rest where people go for fresh air and healthy living? Fellow smokers, if you have to smoke then do it away from other people. Keep your smoke and the smell of tobacco to yourselves. Then, no one complains.
written by magickriver, July 02, 2009 14:00:00
Folks, I'm aware that smoking and non-smoking are emotional issues, not too different from respect or disrespect for organized religions. The views I offer are entirely subjective. Militant non-smokers are bound to get uptight when they read this post. Just as hardcore Umno members get all rigid whenever they see the phrase Ketuanan Rakyat.

My own honest opinion about smokers and non-smokers is that I've always felt a lot more comfortable and relaxed around people who smoke - whether cigarettes, pipes, bongs or reefers. My non-smoking friends, as a broad category, tend to be more disciplined, ascetic, fastidious, judgmental and strong-willed (read "somewhat anal" :-). They're the ones who get up with the sun and go jogging and enjoy munching on raw celery. Not that they're actually healthier than my smoking, non-jogging friends... just more uptight and self-righteous about maintaining their precious daily routines.

I used to really enjoy travel, in happier days when you'd be asked at check-in counters, "Smoking or non-smoking? Window or aisle?" Aircraft seemed to have more legroom those days (nope, I haven't grown taller; but as planes get bigger, legroom appears to shrink, mainly because profit-greedy accountants & marketing slicks now run the show). After being served a meal, the smokers at the back of the plane would unfasten their seat belts and light up. Often, conversations with strangers sitting across the aisle would begin at that point. True, non-smokers often complained that their clothes reeked of stale cigarette smoke after the flight - but at least the atmosphere in the planes was a great deal more cheerful and pleasant, especially before the word "terrorism" was invented by the CIA's spindoctors. And your clothes will reek of stale smoke coming out of a pub anyway... unless smoking is banned throughout the world... and drinking too (or else a couple billion nerve-wracked tobacco addicts suffering cold turkey will be tearing up the pavements on berserk drunken binges).

Next will be oral, anal and non-procreative sex. Mark my words, all ye would-be-banners of simple pleasures. One of these days you'll find yourself accosted & detained for grinning too broadly whilst some wanton wench is blowing you off under the table... and you'll end up having to blow a prison blockful of hardcore criminals for the next 20 years.

You call that PROGRESS? smilies/grin.gif
written by mob1900, July 02, 2009 14:02:36
Dear MT readers,

Read the WHOLE article before throwing your tantrums! Doh!
smilies/cool.gif
written by garfunky, July 02, 2009 14:37:14
Hahaha,

Very unique article. One of the first times I've read an article that actually attempts to justify smoking!

This article although humorous has nearly ZERO valid arguments for smoking. Indigenous people did indeed smoke a lot. But I doubt anyone in modern day actually smoke as "a universal form of prayer, honoring the mystical connection between Heaven, Earth and Humanity". Haha.

Your other arguments remind me of the movie "Thank you for smoking". You are not actually providing arguments for smoking, but providing arguments against war, car accidents, and celery munches.

And correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you are saying that smoking on planes makes the atmosphere more cheerful and pleasant! And something along the lines of "if smoking was still permitted on planes, the CIA would not have invented the word 'terrorism'" . hilarious!

that was a good read.
written by garfunky, July 02, 2009 14:41:28
By the way, I abhor people who use the "da" instead of "the".
matter of fact...everyone I know who uses that word are smokers!!

Must make a note to research this correlation further. smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, July 02, 2009 14:59:44
Smoke by all means but try not to exhale unless you carry a plastic bag to contain the smoke.Wishing all smokers a happy smoking day.
written by magickriver, July 02, 2009 15:20:08
Fido, July 02, 2009 12:44:21: This is one of the most tasteless article i must have read in MT. Fido, what's "tasteless" are the horror-inducing images on cigarette packs. For health authorities to enforce this ruling is the ultimate form of hypocrisy, that's essentially all I'm saying. Everything we enjoy has inherent hazards. Last night my friend slipped on wet steps outside my house and almost broke her spine. Do we now pass a law making it compulsory for warnings to be painted on every staircase? I admit that I enjoyed posting those hideous images for shock effect. Imagine the long-term psychological effect on those who have to fork out RM9 for a pack of Benson & Hedges that comes with ugly pictures you can't peel off. The only visible effect of this grotesque legislation has been the sudden popularity of fancy cigarette cases so smokers won't have to carry out psychically toxic images wherever they go.

temenggong, July 02, 2009 13:21:28: It is true that until today there are no definitive reports that smoking causes cancer. It may be contributory or aggravative though but not a cause by itself. In the west after decades of campaigns to stop smoking, and the number of smokers going down, incidents of cancer is going up. Incidence of Cancer is higher among non-smokers. The whole thing on smoking is a lie. A doctor friend of mine told me his father smoked all his life and died in his sleep at 90. He was inclined to believe that lung cancer is a genetically inherited tendency; some folks are more susceptible and others not, regardless of what they eat, drink, smoke - or don't. Some flks are chainsmokers. This reveals underlying stress. The problem is a nervous disorder manifesting as extreme addiction. Hell, you can be addicted to the internet, mahjong, 4-Digits, prostitutes, money, coffee, books, just about anything. As for "blowing smoke in people's faces"... I tend to avoid airconditioned restaurants because I'm generally a considerate smoker. Won't foul up the air in people's airconditioned cars or their houses - unless they themselves smoke. All it takes is a bit of sensitivity and sometimes, just by asking politely if others would mind if I smoke, there is absolutely no problem.

garfunky, July 02, 2009 14:41:28: By the way, I abhor people who use the "da" instead of "the".

matter of fact...everyone I know who uses that word are smokers!!
Me too, Garfunky, me too! I only used the word "da" to go with the "gangsta" mood I get into when dealing with the WHO disguised as Nurse Ratchett (remember the smug-faced, prudish law-and-order chief nurse in One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest?) Glad your sense of humor is intact, unlike some of the other commenters! smilies/wink.gif
written by storm62, July 02, 2009 15:39:07
"A doctor friend of mine told me his father smoked all his life and died in his sleep at 90."

i wouldn't mind if i can smoke and die until 90.

better than starved to death before 50. or chopped up by ah long or blown apart with C4 before 30. die before 40 due to snatch theives.
written by Midvalley, July 02, 2009 16:28:12
You are the stupiest person on earth smoking is tasteless, like smoking a pile of rubbish, black teeth, bad smelling mouth (no women want to kiss you)the other vices you do not pratises anyone will be more enjoyable Who care whether you smoke until the lambu comes home. sorry just joking enjoy your smoke it your right.
written by macho, July 02, 2009 18:31:05
Just smoke all you want for all I care. That is your right. But the problem is when cig co get teens addicted when they are young and then they become smokers in adult life ( like you?). By then they have no choice. Of course this people will defend to death their right to smoke. Which I think is unfair for these kids. But then again as an adult that is their choice. Actually I dont think anybody care if people smoke. The problem is the smoke makes everybody uncomfortable not to mention possible health problem. Otherwise you can smoke all you want.
written by diehard, July 02, 2009 20:48:03
the star say there is an average 18 people die on the road...
why dont you anti smoker stop driving??????
written by gorshan, July 02, 2009 23:58:08
Tobacco represents the plant kingdom, growing from the fertile soil of Mother Earth. When tobacco smoke passes into the lungs it is charged with love from the heart chakra. As the smoke is exhaled, it is blessed with a sense of gratitude for life's pleasures, small and great, and offered as a fragrant incense to Father Sky. This is the sacred meaning of smoking when performed as a conscious ritual. Done this way smoking cannot harm you. Indeed, it can be viewed as a universal form of prayer, honoring the mystical connection between Heaven, Earth and Humanity.

man,that was,like, tobacco you were smoking and not weed, right,man? smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by tokioRain, July 03, 2009 00:10:14
hey magickriver, i just ignore whatever pics on the box.