Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Oh Ei Sun, PM's New Political Secretary

Oh Ei Sun, PM's New Political Secretary PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 10:55

(Bernama) -- Academician Oh Ei Sun, who is also a highly sought international speaker-trainer-motivator, consultant and entrepreneur, has been appointed political secretary to Prime Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Najib Tun Abdul Razak.

An official from the Prime Minister's Office said the appointment was effective June 16.

The 35-year-old Sabahan, trained in law, management, engineering and the languages, has extensive experience serving various international and world bodies under the United Nations.

Oh holds a degree each in aeronautical and mechanical engineering, and another in German language, apart from a double masters -- in science and international management -- as well as Juris Doctor in Law (JD), obtained from his eight years of study at the University of Califonia.

His working experience includes serving with international organisation such as International Telecommunication Union and the Working Group on Emergency Telecommunications, both located in Geneva, Switzerland.

Fluent in five languages -- Bahasa Malaysia, English, Chinese, German and French, Oh has conducted various consulting works for multinational and international corporations, as well as advising diverse small-and-medium enterprises on legal and business start-up issues.

Not limited to the corporate sector, he has also rendered his expertise in strategic, technical and legal advice to various international organisations, governments and agencies, political parties, non-governmental organisations, as well as professional, civic and cultural bodies.

Oh once served as a United Nations (UN) Expert Consultant, advising various governments on emergency communications. He has also worked closely with various UN partner agencies, including the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), World Food Programme (WFP), International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO), the World Bank, International Monetary Fund (IMF) and UN Development Programme.

He has also served as chief executive officer for a telecomunications company based in Hong Kong, and been involved in mobile multi-channel share-trading services in China.

Oh had his share of expertise in training managerial-level professionals, delivered more than 500 modules to more than 20,000 corporate directors where he has recently expanded his expertise in the field of financial management and education.

"I am honoured to be able to serve the country and the people at this critical juncture, both politically and economically," he told Bernama here today.

The appointment comes at an unexpected time when he had to shift from his normal role as analyst, motivator and moderator to something more challenging -- taking care of the political mission of the country's top leader.

Asked what his first mission would be after being appointed, Oh said he would like to promote the concept of 1Malaysia and engaging in dialogue with more people from the various backgrounds and communities.

This is particulary important to understand the pulse of the people, as well as to obtain feedback from the people, he said.

"There is one element in 1Malaysia that I feel most deeply about. It is about integrity, both in the public sector and the private endeavour. I would like to see more emphasis on this as we continue to promote 1Malaysia," he said.

This former student of the Kian Kok Middle School in Kota Kinabalu is also an adjunct professor with the Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS).

written by HamChak, July 02, 2009 11:22:36
I don't think so, that this Oh Ei Sun or Oh Ei Moon makes any difference to the current political situation of Najis. A bit TOO late for changes.
Just KICK out the BN gomen
written by krising1, July 02, 2009 11:33:30
Yes. Yes. Let us have a brainy explanation to the meaning of 1Malaysia. I am confused as to its meaning as are almost 27 other Malaysians.
written by fireduck, July 02, 2009 11:36:45
Mr Oh, congratulations on adding another accolade to your impressive CV.

In all sincerity, I wish to ask you some questions. As someone with a JD from the US, and having had experience at so many international bodies, what do you think of our current Judiciary?

What do you think of the Perak situation?

What do you think of the laws that stifle the rakyat's aspiration, as well as the recent police actions against the rakyat?

Since you feel so deeply about 1Malaysia, and we commoners here do not share that same sentiment, perhaps you may wish to engage us and tell us how the actions (and at other times, inactions) of the police, judiciary, MACC, etc. will help us all in assuring us that very integrity you feel deeply about. How?
written by mikewang, July 02, 2009 11:48:16
"Oh holds a degree each in aeronautical and mechanical engineering, and another in German language, apart from a double masters -- in science and international management -- as well as Juris Doctor in Law (JD), obtained from his eight years of study at the University of Califonia."
=================

This guy was probably a professional student.
Must be the son of some very rich parents.
written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 12:03:34
sounds too good to be true at so young an age (only 35 and with experience of a 60 years old!) and furthermore, if he is so smart, then he just made one dumb decision to be Najib's political secretary
written by apasalahku, July 02, 2009 12:16:12
Ei Sun..political secretary to Najib Eichmann..propaganda advisor to Hitler
written by shissun, July 02, 2009 12:19:44
Too bad he serves Najib the murderer, the corruptor. He will be corrupted and evolves to become same species as Mathias Chang, Vincent Tan. Too many Chinese have sell their soul and bodies to such racists.
written by batsman, July 02, 2009 12:22:52
4th flr boy or girl?
written by gas, July 02, 2009 12:23:16
I am quite doubtful especially at very young age. I have to watch first.
written by Kuku Burung, July 02, 2009 13:20:38
written by gas,
I am quite doubtful especially at very young age. I have to watch first.

Danger! Danger! I mean to this young thing. Working alongside or rather beside or...b-side Najis?
written by chrisyong, July 02, 2009 13:38:46
Hello!!!!!! BN. Why appoint a Pendatang as Secretary to PM??? Khir Toyo would not agree! Not trying to be sarcastic but just wish to point out that Malaysians are Malaysians and cannot be dvided into UMNO Musilim, PAS Muslims, Malays, Chinese or Indians. We must focus on Malaysia as a country, ppl as Malaysians. Now that Najib has made major economic changes, does that mean Mahathir has been wrong in the past? Perhaps, if Malaysia has accepted help from IMF, we could be like Indonesia, much better in governance? Malaysia would not have lost so much stocks and money given to the 30% of Umnoputras - the elite bumiputras. Warning, by making such changes, PM must ensure governance so that foreigners will not play out the locals and hijack funds leaving Malaysians cheated and poor!! Watch it Mr. PM...... This is only a smart move if there is enough check and balance, soverign supervision of the system!!
written by chrisyong, July 02, 2009 13:40:30
By the way, Malaysians are still waiting for Mr. PM's definition of 1 Malaysia. Please implement policies and changes within your control, else everything will be out of control soon, whether it is Oh It Sun or Oh It Moon! He is only 1 person, cannot change situation overnight!
written by Taikohtai, July 02, 2009 13:53:13
Academic excellence is one thing, wisdom is another.
If academic qualification is an indicator, then all the economics, finance and investment professors should be multi-millionaires. But how many actually forsaw the current global economic crisis?
I don't care if Najis surrounds himself with all the professors he can find but surely, one would have heard of the adage: Too many cooks.........
written by non conformist, July 02, 2009 14:01:23
All cheapskate political gimmick to con the silly Chinese folks - no more, no less.

And that Oh is the biggest fool of the greatest scam!
written by sydput, July 02, 2009 14:27:59
I don't understand!
Why be PM's aide when sabahan and sarawakians can be PM? make a deal with PR, that if they join the PR, the job of PM is theirs. If PR agrees, then history is made.
written by elmo world, July 02, 2009 14:37:06
Congrats! BUT i just worried that as a fine gentleman like Oh, mixing & get involved with Malaysia dirty politics asp so many secrets of the PM, hope that he wont be tarnished one day or have to escape liek Bala after discovers the open dirty secrets of the country
god blessed
written by Badaksumbu, July 02, 2009 15:26:08
Bravo!!.. you see, we in Sabah have plenty of guys like him-you want more rights or more lefts or even in the middle!
written by freerpk, July 02, 2009 15:32:25
I think he must be highly paid because as a political sec his job is to ensure that he can explain it away to the rakyat whatever the PM says and since he cannot always ensure the PM will stick to the script. He may have a hard time looking for an explanation for whatever was said impromptu.
written by Namolos, July 02, 2009 18:08:17
Are you Malaysian out there really that naive ?

Cant you see this 'Oh' chap is a FAKE?...i dont mean a FAKE as cheating the public of what he has or not acheive...but remember...the movie...''One flew Over the Coo Coo Nest ''.

Firstly we knew Sabahan 'Oh' well in KL and from realiable sources in Kota Kinabalu and Sandakan..this same 'Oh' has the ''Flew over the Coo Coo Nest'' sympthom and was treated before in the local Mental Hospital in Bukit Padang.

Its starts to make sense why he cant stay on or hang on to his so call high profile jobs in the past....in one simple description..''He cant take pressure or stress''....was told his first wife left him after their first week of marriage....and he recently[last year] remarried an architect.
written by Mama Juwie, July 02, 2009 18:41:45
Another Tingkat Empat Boy in the making!
written by Celestial, July 02, 2009 20:42:51
Yes and he slays Englishmen with fireballs from his eyes, and bolts of lightning from his arse......... and all at the tender age of 35 years.
written by Hakim Joe, July 02, 2009 21:43:37
I wonder why Najib has this fetish with Chinks having the surnames stating with “O”.
First it was that Ong chap and now this Oh fella.
Could it be that this fetish with the letter “O” has something to do with its shape?

written by hplooi, July 02, 2009 21:59:03
Wow Mr Oh is well really well tutored.
In my experience, people with more than double degrees in 'egg-head' subjects (like 'real' engineering, maths, science etc) are usually EQ challenged.
It seems Mr Oh also has a 'round' personality!