Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Hishammuddin Assures Gobalakrishnan Of His Safety

Hishammuddin Assures Gobalakrishnan Of His Safety PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 08:38

(Bernama) -- Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein gave an assurance on the safety of Padang Serai Member of Parliament, N. Gobalakrishnan, from Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR), who claimed to have received a death threat via the short messaging service (SMS) on his handphone earlier Wednesday.

"I will look into the matter and take the necessary action to ensure his (Gobalakrishnan's) safety. We have the expertise," he said at a press conference at the Parliament lobby, here.

Earlier, Gobalakrishnan filed a report to police officers from the Sentul Police Station at the Parliament House at about 11.55 am, in which he claimed to have received two death threats on his handphone via the SMS.

According to Gobalakrishnan, the first threat was received at 12.47 am this morning when he was still sleeping in Kulim, followed by the second SMS at 6.48 am.

"I hope this incident won't escalate into another by-election in Padang Serai," he joked to reporters, adding: "If the Home Minister doesn't want another by-election in Padang Serai, he better takes care of me."

Asked for the motive of the threat, he said he was not sure, adding that the sender knew his car registration number.

Meanwhile, Sentul Deputy OCPD Supt Zainuddin Ahmad, when contacted confirmed receiving the report.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by bexe, July 02, 2009 09:03:57
Do you trust him?
written by Badaksumbu, July 02, 2009 09:33:03
say 50 million ringgit? boleh?
written by MMhunter, July 02, 2009 10:01:54
hmmmm...thats the way to go,home minister.Can you by any chance clean up the police force.Thats what pulling BN down.cheers
written by arazak, July 02, 2009 10:14:01
How can he assure ordinary peoples' safety? Even those people which are in the police custody are not safe!!!
written by Jan, July 02, 2009 10:18:05
Would you trust a minister who waves a keris menacingly, threatens minority citizens and then tells lies about the real fighters of our Independence? Not only that he was once the president of a youth group whose members confronted a helpless and disabled man in parliament and he has yet to apologise to the poor man.
No, I don't and not in a thousand years.
written by biggun129, July 02, 2009 10:36:22
The safer place to protect Gobalakrishnan's safety is to send him to Kamunting Camp,even so, that is not 100%, he may die because of High Blood Pressure!
written by Trueandfair, July 02, 2009 10:42:31
Gobi, don't worry, you will join an illustrious group of ISA ALUMNI incarcerate all the innocents and let the thugs run amok and rampage through the country! Safer that way for all including the police, everyone stays indoors, willing or unwilling!
written by DezMalaysia, July 02, 2009 10:45:57
The news title should be changed to,

"Pirates, Crooks, Thieves, Murderers, Hijackers & Robbers Assures Gobalakrishnan Of His Safety"