Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Hindraf chief calls Guan Eng a ‘heartless man’

Hindraf chief calls Guan Eng a ‘heartless man’ PDF Print
Thursday, 02 July 2009 08:35
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysian Insider

The relationship between DAP and the Hindu Rights Action Force (Hindraf) deteriorated further when its chairman called Lim Guan Eng a “blatant liar”.

P. Waythamoorthy claims the Penang chief minister had attempted to hoodwink the public in a recent statement by implying that Hindraf claimed it could acquire the land where the village sits on from the developers below market value.

Instead, Lim had said that it would take more than tens of millions to save the village, said to be the last Indian heritage site on the island, by those fighting against its demolition.

But Waythamoorthy pointed out that it was Lim's own political secretary who had come up with the sum of RM30 million and that the DAP secretary-general was attempting to divert from the real issue by talking up the sum of money involved.

This comes after villagers, backed by Hindraf supporters, called for Lim to resign as chief minister. Hindraf had also planned to burn an effigy of Lim in front of his office for failing to solve the issue by exercising his powers as chief minister "with the stroke of a pen".

The village was due to be demolished this week but the developers Nusmetro Venture have been forced to give the villagers a month's respite.

In a press statement, Waythamoorthy also slammed Lim for claiming that the villagers had been offered compensation of RM200,000 and that many had accepted the offer and moved.

Waythamoorthy said that the sum was only RM90,000 and only seven families out of over 40 had accepted.

"As far as I am concerned he is a heartless man for lying and colluding with the developers in uprooting these people with a peanut offer of RM90,000," Waythamoorthy said.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by apasalahku, July 02, 2009 08:41:28
Now we know the deal between Hindraf and UMNO in getting their chief out and about..as long as they run down the Opposition.
written by longskyee, July 02, 2009 08:51:48
Heartless man ? Then i suppose these people should go and complain to BN gvt and ask for their help. Let us wait n see what they will get. For past 50 years, they are not able to get anything so i am very doubtful if these people go n beg BN. Sometime we really not understand these people because they expect PR gvt can change all policy just within 1 year. Imagine all the shit was there accumulated for past 50 years and we ask them to clear all these just within a year, do you think is possible ? If yes, then we will vote these people in next GE and we should see what they can do. Really disappointed as these people only know how to Criticize others but never think further.
written by Rolling Stone, July 02, 2009 08:57:26
For god sake, Hindraf...this is the last thing we need now, stop all this premature political gimmicks, it is "either you are with us or againts us". Since you are a poltical party now, I challenge you to show what you have in terms of votes and seats rather then wasting Pakatan time. The fact that you call yourself HINDRAF shows that you only have race based agenda...something that Pakatan is trying to break away from. Stop getting too much influence from tollywood.!!!
written by asguard, July 02, 2009 09:05:13
Hindraf ....you are nothing more than another devil organization! You should be blaming on Gerakan and UMNO.... for the mess that they created previously!
written by Ulan Benson, July 02, 2009 09:06:28
I used to support HINDRAF but lately, for some funny reason, this 'Wayang'moorthy is talking very loud and acting like a spoilt child.

Don't destroy the Indian for your personal gain. You have proven to be worst than Semi-Value as you don't study the 'Kepala sakit, (not high Chappral) land issue in depth.

Everybody knows Gerakan sold the land before LGE and why don't you dare to fxxk KohTK? Why should LGE pay $$$ for this land scam trap set by Gerakan? If you are that great, go and fight BNs! Otherwise, shut up and lick your liilipop! smilies/angry.gif
written by mikewang, July 02, 2009 09:16:27
1. No race based policy please.
2. No wasting lots of tax payer money to maintain a squatter colony.
The solution to this problem should be rightful compensation by the developer or something else.
Since the affected had already been sold out by the last government, it's time to pick up the pieces and move on, like the 10 families who accepted the compensation offered.
3. I don't buy story of last Indian heritage site.
You people think "little India" right at the centre of Georgetown is a mirage ka ?
written by ylcc, July 02, 2009 09:19:38
A letter to Waythamoorthy. Please come back from your comfort, and help your poor and helpless Indians. No point making so much noise from a faraway and safe place. It takes a lot of money to survive in a place like London, and you obviously have the funds. Since you are so capable, why not raise funds to help these people? If you have your reasons and difficulties not to come back to Malaysia to help out your fellow Indians, don't expect LGE to be a super-hero to overcome all odds to help them too. Be pro-active, do something and show LGE that you care instead of talking.
written by adan, July 02, 2009 09:34:26
Why are you blaming LGE. It was Gearakan that sold the land. What is your motive? Who is behind all this drama? And was there some kind of a' private deal'? We find it difficult to understand your outburst and condemnation against someone who is NOT the cause or the reason for the current state of affairs in Penang.

Do not aim at the wrong target and miss all your support!
written by psbc48, July 02, 2009 09:44:10
Do you know who are the happiest people at this moment? The wives or mistresses
of the top guns in UMNO. Why? Because the problems of DAP with PAS in Kedah and DAP with Hindraf in Penang. UMNO bosses are really in good mood. So good mood translate into sexual lust etc. Guess you know who benefits, LOL
written by born2reign, July 02, 2009 09:49:57
temenggong,
If your father sold your family land to Ah Chong, signed the papers and transferred the title, and now 5 days later, you want the land back. What do you do to claim back the land?
1) Hold demonstrations and talk to TV3 about how Ah Chong cheated you
2) Tear up the S&P and bribe the land office to mysteriously lose the documents of transfer
3) Buy back Ah Chong's land at current market value (hence LGE can increase Penang's quit rent and parking rates by 300% just to raise the funds)

Temenggong, do you think your son has the right to blaim you and curse you and call you heartless because your father sold the family land? Then might as well we burn down the land office, it is redundant! You will ask your son to settle this with his grandfather (the seller) and go to Ah Chong (buyer) to give back to you the land for free or for lease.

I am beginning to doubt Hindraf with all their lawyers as members, they are pretty stupid! Just beat their chest and wail loudly and like to appear on TV3!
written by Jan, July 02, 2009 10:01:47
Under no circumstances should the state govt spend taxpayers' money to acquire the land to perpetuate this squatter colony. These families should just accept the compensation offered and move on.
written by Wisdom above, July 02, 2009 10:10:01
WHAT ! Hindraf want the Penang Government to use Land Acquisition Act and then give the Land 'FREE with Freehold titles' to the squatter colony? It will be seen as done in "bad faith" & will be "null and Void" under the same LA Act as it does not fulfill its "public policy of usefulness" definition.

Moreover, it will open a floodgate of demands from all squatter colonies throughout Malaysia. Many more squatter colonies elsewhere will use this precedent to get PR Government to use LA Act to get their FREE choice Penang lands ? It will be endless.

What mikewang said is accurate business sense...No wasting lots of tax payer money to maintain a squatter colony. It is very funny why HINDRAF never slam the former GERAKAN State Government ? HINDRAF should 'Slam' former Gerakan State Govt and their cronies ?Why the squatters never ask for new state land at Seberang Prai to build their new homes ? Rm200,000= offered as compensation but Rm 90,000 was paid to 7 families , with balance sum doing disappearing ACT via middlemen ?

So now we have 33 families making ridiculous demands ? UK Land Trusts do not apply over here for squatters ?So the the "fact at issue" here is RM90,000= was paid out instead of Rm200,000- as vehemently demanded by the squATTERS ?The last demolition somewhere in KLang valley, no compensation was given ? Anyway I see this hitcups as Democracy in Action.I hope HINDraf will change its name to Malaysian Action Force ( MAF ), to be more multiracial ?

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.
written by DezMalaysia, July 02, 2009 10:24:23
Waythamoorthy & gangs have their brains completely screwed up !

Acquiring the land back with a stroke of a pen with reasonable price. Perhaps, Waytha should try buying that land instead, and then CM LIM with a stroke of a pen forcefully acquiring it back at a "reasonable price" for some racist squatter colony. So tell me what's the logic of buying & sell ? IF the pen can be easily use accordingly to your fancy, then in what ground will foreign & local investors trust a local government and pour in millions if not billions for developements & employment opportunities ? You're talking about using Penang's coffer at the expense of the majority for a racist squatter colony that create troubles for those who do not spoon feed them !

Thank you for a coward hiding in London casting a negative mental jolt from afar. Now many other stupid Indians think it's a race extermination on Indians in Penang.
written by Jan, July 02, 2009 10:26:29
How come Hindraf slams LGE but not the former state govt who was the real culprit in the land deal? With this Hindraf/DAP spat being blown up in MSM the real beneficiary will be Gerakan/BN and I wouldn't be surprised if some kind of deal was made between certain parties to put down LGE and the Pakatan state govt.
written by arazak, July 02, 2009 10:28:17
Damn. . ., I really despise those people who thought only about their “very own race” and not thinking themselves as a Malaysian and helping for the well being of all Malaysians. I wish I could put them all in a “tongkang” and send them back from where they come from.

This thing of championing “one race” only and not for all “Malaysians” is getting me sick. . .! Grow up HINDRAF!
written by mick_err_stan, July 02, 2009 10:29:49
Too much Tamil movies will lead to much DRAMA.
written by Jan, July 02, 2009 10:45:16
P. Waytha wants the state govt to acquire land so that the squatters can go on squatting on it till eternity. Yes, he wants us taxpayers to fund this illegal squatter colony, only then he will call LGE a nice and good-hearted man.
written by biggun129, July 02, 2009 10:53:26
I grown up in a hut sitting on a plot of TOL land, my family cultivated it and survived for almost 30 years, recently, the authority send letters to us to vacate the plot of TOL land, no compensation, just like that, they said you have been living on the piece of land for almost 30 years Free of Charge!!!They dont even compensate me for RM0.09 cents even though a kilo of the vegetable we planted worth more than that!Shall I complain to Penang DAP for compensation?Will they compensate me?If they pay me RM90,000.00, I am prepare to vacate with immediate effect!
written by temenggong, July 02, 2009 11:05:50
It is the govt that herded people into new villages, and kept them on a leash by providing TOL, and not translating it into land titles. So it is the govt that must be responsible by providing all TOL squatters with titles.

In the case of Buah Pala, it is their land, which the govt committed a breach of trust by selling it to a third party.

It is the people of Penang that voted in the Gerakan govt who breached the trust over the land. It is the people of Penang that must bear the costs of this outrage, committed by their elected reps.
written by Urangsabah, July 02, 2009 11:09:47
If you look at P. Waythamoorthy, only 1 race is victimised and the victimization is done by PR. I guest if LGE is heartless, UMNO & UMNOed MIC must be ANGEL to Hindraf & Waytha.
Well its Waytha right to decide whether Hindraf wants a chnaged or Hindraf & Waytha haved been MICed. Hindraf & Waytha carry on you quest in ensuring PR destruction, UMNO will be thankful to you.

I hope you all the bestin your quest since You have decided that LGE is Heartless. if that what Hindraf wants.
written by Adrian, July 02, 2009 11:18:06
We can not afford to have fence sitters in Malaysia - depending on who can solve your problems than he becomes your friend on the day. Knowing that it was caused by the previous gomen, you should work closely with the present gomen to solve the issue amicably. Brainstorm for alternatives, at the same time take whoever is at fault (middleman kah and etc) to task also.

Put a gun at LGE head is not going to work and is unfair as well. If money itself can solve this, where the money come from. Is it fair for taxpayers??? There must be a workablesystem in this country - after 50 yrs wasted.