Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Najib’s bold political gamble

Najib’s bold political gamble PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 19:40

The aim is to distribute wealth more widely. For a long time, it was the politically connected Malay businessmen who became rich on the quotas, causing resentment among the Malay masses and the minorities.

By Carolyn Hong, The Straits Times

Malaysia’s pro-Malay economic policies were never meant to be only about Malay corporate ownership, but the focus inevitably narrowed to just this one aspect.

It was seen as a litmus test for any leader who wanted to signal reforms in a highly politicised economy.

Thus, when Prime Minister Najib Razak removed the longstanding quota on Malay ownership of public-listed companies yesterday, along with a wide swathe of liberalisation measures, it was an extremely bold move - and a huge political risk.

Companies will no longer have to sell at least 30 per cent of their shares to Malays. Instead, they will have to maintain at least 25 per cent of their shares for sale to the general public, of which half must be sold to Malays.

The aim is to distribute wealth more widely. For a long time, it was the politically connected Malay businessmen who became rich on the quotas, causing resentment among the Malay masses and the minorities.

Datuk Seri Najib’s move has been described as a seismic shift in Malaysia’s economic policy. ‘Indeed, the measures represent the beginning of a mindset change that is bound to excite investors, stimulate the economy and inspire the people to be even more competitive,’ Malaysian Chinese Association president Ong Tee Keat wrote in his blog.

The economists have largely hailed it, although most say the effects would not be immediate.

Mr Lee Heng Guie, the chief of economic research at CIMB, said the dismantling of policies that had hampered investments will put Malaysia on a better footing for sustained growth in the medium and long term.

Mr Najib had earlier also announced the liberalisation of 27 sub-sectors of the services sector, and financial sector.

There is bound to be some disquiet on the Malay ground, although most Umno politicians are sticking to the party line for now.

Umno Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin told The Straits Times that there has been a bit of rumbling among the Malays because the grassroots members do not understand the big picture yet.

‘It can be easily manipulated to say that the Malays are losing out. We will give an explanation to our members,’ he said.

To him, the change may be seismic in terms of the psychology of it, but the Prime Minister was merely getting rid of old tools that did not work.

The Malays, Mr Khairy said, should understand that the overarching Malay agenda was still in place, but a new method was being fashioned to achieve it. He pointed out that participation through quotas did not develop capacity or skills.

Leakages were serious, making millionaires of the few who were allotted shares. Mr Najib said that of the RM54 billion (S$22 billion) in shares allocated between 1984 and 2005, only RM2 billion worth of shares were left in the hands of bumiputeras.

Umno MPs like Datuk Mukhriz Mahathir, Datuk Tajuddin Abdul Rahman and Datuk Jamaluddin Jarjis were quoted by the online media as saying that the new model could break the stagnation of Malay economic participation.

Another Umno MP, Datuk Nur Jazlan Mohamed, too said the initial reaction on the ground was not good, but he said people needed to understand the pressures of global competition.

written by malsia1206, July 01, 2009 20:14:50
I see no reason why the headline of this report should be "bold political gamble". It should have been done earlier. When the former Tun Mahathir gave his own fellow men some 30 years to catch up, and if they are still lagging behind, they should ask themselves why. Do not look at other Malaysians. With all those perks, privileges and rights, they sre still clamouring for more? When will they ever learn to stand on their own two feet? Its shameful to say the least. Face the realities. Do they still expect to milk their mothers after 30 years?
written by uxzee, July 01, 2009 21:01:49
UMNO cronies will not lose out as they will be rewarded with something else.

Real Malays will not lose as they were not getting this benefit which was meant only for cronuies.
written by Hakim Joe, July 01, 2009 21:23:38
Like what I have said before...
Can Najib identify who are going to buy the 50% spread reserved for Bumis?
Perhaps cronies and proxies?

written by hiro, July 01, 2009 21:23:55
It's amazing Najib had the balls to quote that RM54 billion worth of shares given to bumiputra have dwindled down to RM2billion. I think he's trying to paint the picture that the shares have been brought back by non-Bumis hence not benefitting the Bumis. But what he does not realise he has let spilled, is RM52billion of real money originally belonging to foreign investors and non-Bumi investors in this country are LOST!

I recall Lim Kit Siang saying that losing RM12 billion of public funds in the PKFZ fiasco is no chicken feed – it could build three Penang Bridges at RM4 billion each, 120 hospitals at RM100 million each, 1,200 schools at RM10 million each or 300,000 low-cost houses at RM40,000 each.

Imagine what RM52 billion could have been used effectively for, and what multiplier effect it would have had on our overall economy, and how that would have:
1) saved hundreds of thousands if not millions of Malaysians from being denied quality education or
2) having to make that heartbreaking decision to migrate away from their loved ones and never come back to stay in Malaysia or
3) already propelled Malaysia to be a developed nation TODAY.

Big gamble? Overdue, and in fact a little too late coz the horses have bolted - it'll take another generation or two for us to dig out of the cesspool we're in.
written by Ocassey, July 01, 2009 21:33:04
I am a very obedient citizen. I worked hard and my husband never failed to harden himself everytime we tried to achieve the quota desired by TDM to have 70 million Malaysians.I followed the advice from the bidans at the post natal clinics .They said breast milk would be good for my children. My husband couldn't do his bid here, so it all depended on me breast feed all my children. (I dared not even dare think of using another set of breasts to feed my suckling children. That would make him go(for)broke... to have three more wives). We planned to support our children and nurture them from cradle to kubur. My children were all great suckers .They drained me off all the minerals I needed . First, my teeth began to drop. The crown on my head became so thin , I had to put on a wig to hide the loss. The nails on my fingers and toes never seemed to grow well. My whole frame seemed to have shrunk for I actually seemed to lose body mass in a bad way.I realised I have brittle bones. My waist wasn't in line with my hip... My backbone seemed to have meandered like Sungai Kelang .I could endure all that, but as the children grew, they began to react whenever the flow of milk dwindled into tricles. They showed their displeasures by biting my overworked and sensitive nipples. The older ones even chewed on them .Now my breasts have run dry, yet all of them being so used to my sacrifices to nuture them, they will even try to draw blood from my nipples to bleed me dry to send me to the grave before I can send them to theirs.
written by HamChak, July 01, 2009 22:49:56
Everyone should thank that Mamak for the Cronism
whereby ALL the CRONIES got Very, Very Rich. But the
POOR Malays without Umno Connection remain POOR till
today. That what NEP is ALL about. It is about CRONISM.
written by cheekhiaw, July 01, 2009 23:38:13
Old thieves, new tricks?
written by Ho Lee Man, July 01, 2009 23:43:49
The removal of 30% bumi shareholdings for newly listed companies is only a minor correction on the wasteful ,regressive and discriminatory instruments of NEP.
Correction is needed for government contracts to only 100% bumi companies.
APs for car imports goes to only 100% bumi companies.
Civil service employment is over 90% bumiputra.
The list goes on and on.
Do not divide the rakyat into just bumis or non bumis.
Implement policies to enhance Malaysia's competitive and comparable advantage on a global context.
Dismantle NEP and replace it with non racial and meritocracy instruments with a Malaysian interest and agenda.
This 30% bumi fiasco is too little too late.
We need Godspeed for more policies correction in Malaysia.
written by jayenjr, July 02, 2009 01:37:33
Come on Najib, you gotta do better.

Why don't you also work on the delivery system? The problem here, is not so much about the 30% quota or the 7% discount or the scholarship preference to Bumis. The issue has always been rooted in the corruption that has been prevalent in the system. If, that 30%, or 7%, or scholarships have actually reached the real needy who were entitled to it, what is wrong with the quota? If the distribution was actually fairly, transparently and equitably done, who'd have a legitimate complain? As it is, it is UMNO and its cronies that sucked that 30% to the maximum. Just ask Mahathir, Rafidah, Rozali Ismail, Daim, Halim Saad....

The failure of the NEP also lies very much in the delivery system. Ask Ah Chong or Muthu who want to start businesses, how often they've been asked this question: "mana bumi partner?" even tho there is no stipulation for sole proprietors/sdn bhd onwers to do so, except for when dealing with gov'n business? If Ah Chong/Muthu reply "tak ada", you just watch how "long" it takes to process the license/approval.

Don't believe me this happens? Ask Maybank. Remember how they imposed upon panel legal firms to have Bumi partners?

What are you doing about the Napoleans that still occupy our already bloated civil service?

What's the point of all this gala announcement when you don't do anything to plug the leakages/wastage caused by corruption? How can the Malaysian public trust you, when you want to push your weight around by having Omar Abdullah appointed agst the good advise of its Board?

In any event, what is the point of offering this under current market conditions? The equity market isn't going to return to its pseudo-glory days of the 90s - cos the Americans, the Japs & the Europeans are still bleeding. Is this step as relevant for today's market needs when not many exciting IPOs are going to be offered in the near future? It like this: If I were to go to those scholarship deserving students who were denied such because of the "lacf of funds", do you think they should get excited if I were to go back to them and tell them, "don't worry, we (the govn) are going to offer you free places in the uni to do social science?
written by Loh, July 02, 2009 03:40:45
///Leakages were serious, making millionaires of the few who were allotted shares. Mr Najib said that of the RM54 billion (S$22 billion) in shares allocated between 1984 and 2005, only RM2 billion worth of shares were left in the hands of bumiputeras.///

Since the government is concerned with Malays share of corporate equity capital, it should as EPU to provide the statistics based on par value. Compare that with RM54 billion and we should know whether Malays have already owned above 30%. Malays could have switched their corporate equity shares to bonds or properties, and all the RM 54 billion belong all to Malay, in one form of asset or another.
NEP wanted Malays to have attained the investment volume of 30% in corporate capitalisation, and they would be considered having come of age in commercial undertakings. NEP does not claim to envisage maintaining that level of investment, and that was born out by the fact that NEP was to be implemented in 20 years. The fact that succeeding UMNO leaders did not keep to the promise does not change the rationale of the policy.

The few Malay tycoons in Malaysia including the sons of Mahathir and AAB and Najib’s brother and Syed Kechik have more than RM 2 billion worth of shares in KLSE. Other Malay bankers have much more. Some of them have even move their money overseas like Daim Zainuddin who bought banks all over Africa.

It is quite meaningless to talk about Malays share ownership participation in Malaysia since wealthy Malays have gone international. The concept of ownership share confined to domestic market has lost meaning. The government should have just removed any classification of share ownership by race, and also should stop NEP forthwith. It is the surest way for UMNO in getting recognition for reform. It is more superior than playing the race card by talking to PAS, and removing any chance of opposition party which would check UMNO underlings form going into excess.

Najib cannot be still so weak as to play race card for re-election; is he?
written by educationist, July 02, 2009 04:13:32
"...Mr Najib said that of the RM54 billion (S$22 billion) in shares allocated between 1984 and 2005, only RM2 billion worth of shares were left in the hands of bumiputeras" - another manufactured statistic?
Give us a proper accounting of what happened to the rest of the RM52 bilion!
It's the same as the 30% Malay equity ownership , the government can insist it's only about 19% but an independent economist has shown how statistics has been used to lie and by his research it's about 45%.
written by Daryl, July 02, 2009 04:50:57
How many public company can there be? Also, what are the requirement of getting government contract without meeting the quota. I guess there are a lot of unanswer questions than the removal of the 30% quota. As usual you still have to deal with the shady PDRM, Judicial and corrupt officials. Can UMNO win votes with these actions? I don't think so because non-Malay are mostly from cities and have access to more information than a rural Malay. They will probably understand the politic that UMNO is playing and probably won't buy into it. However, the shit that PAS is doing is probably going to set us back a few years but at least we can bury these spineless racist in both UMNO and PAS all at once and for good.
written by asguard, July 02, 2009 09:01:30
Half baked reforms.... and i wonder what he will be doing next?
written by Taiping60, July 02, 2009 09:02:13
Wait a minute guys. Don't just criticise for the sake of criticising. If there are good things we praise and when they are bad we criticise.

Removal of equity quota by BN is good although it fell below many expectation but it is the first step. Now you take a look at what Pakatan group got to offer. Hadi the President of one of the colition member of Pakatan, objected to the removal of the 30% quota. Hmmm now I wonder what good is it to vote Pakatan to be future government if they still have this mentality. At least BN begin to accept this failed policy but PAS wants to continue. Secondly, PAS Kedah is talking about 50% housing quota. My God, this is going backward. PAS really show their double headed approach. Those places they need non Malay votes, they preached differently. Then PAS youth work with UMNO youth for what? Malay unity or Malaysian unity? Racist approach again.

I would urge BN to reform more as those announcement is not enough. BN should remove any form of racial practise and eventually merge all the parties within BN together to form one big multi-racial party. Introduce a policy to prosecute any one who are racist. Help the poor regardless of their race. I am sure since Malay has majority population, majority of the poor are also form that race. Help those poor even if they are 90% or more Malays. When I said help them does not mean literally giving the money without having to do anything. That is wrong as it will only spoilt them. Help them mean give them financial aid, special scheme to own land for argriculture, free education for their children, special low cost scheme that allow them longer duration of payback, etc.

Build a united Malaysian and not a united single race.