Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP pulls out of Kedah government

DAP pulls out of Kedah government PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 19:37
By Shannon Teoh, The Malaysia Insider

ALOR SETAR, July 1 – Kedah DAP has pulled out its lone representative from the PAS-led state government, seemingly sparked by the demolition of a pig abattoir in Kampung Berjaya, said to be the oldest and the only such facility in the state capital.

Its chairman Thomas Su called the move carried out here “insensitive to the needs of the minorities in the state.”

“They do not implement policies according to Pakatan Rakyat principles,” he told The Malaysian Insider.

It is not the first time that the Kedah government under Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak had irked its partners since forming the government after last year’s general elections.

Azizan had also proposed a 50 per cent Bumiputera quota for housing schemes in the state last year.

Comments (66)Add Comment
written by apasalahku, July 01, 2009 20:12:00
Nice one. I would've pulled out much earlier though.
disagree 25
written by alpha100, July 01, 2009 20:21:13
Agree! pull out! Let them have their unity talk with BN!
disagree 19
agree 130
written by singam, July 01, 2009 20:25:23
DS Azizan must ask himself... is he Muslim first or Malay first.

Islam forbids racism in no uncertain terms. There can be no compromise on this.

Islam does not allow non-Muslim rights to be summarily removed.
written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 20:31:15
Honestly, I'm getting sick of PAS' antics. Their true colors are coming out day by day. I voted for them because I had wanted to give them a chance to prove me wrong. Their 50% housing quota and most recently, the unity talk as well as rejecting Najib's move to liberaize the 30% bumi equity requirement, all says that they are still very much as racist as UMNO is and worse because they are also fanatical about religion.

Therefore, I think this is the right move. DAP should pull out! Good move.
disagree 21
agree 173
written by Bosan, July 01, 2009 20:36:16
Pas: Ini tak boleh, itu tak boleh, sekarang potong babi pun tak boleh. My next vote to Pas will be in the longkang!!!
disagree 19
agree 143
written by asiana888, July 01, 2009 20:38:00
Greatone, Thomas. Show those PAS fellas DAP is not there to ask for position. I am already fed up with the PAS Kedah MB. He is definitely a racial bigot and not in a position to be a leader of a multi-national state or country. He is best as Ketua Kampong!
agree 128
written by talk2stop, July 01, 2009 20:45:24
It is so difficult to resolve problems is Malaysia. The non muslims non Malays have to give in. When will the Malays going to meet others 1/2 way? You just can't have it your way all the time.
written by JohnQ, July 01, 2009 20:49:43
They are nice and liberal when they want votes, they turned hypocratic when in power.Next time, better make love the whole day than go to cast vote
written by tuk kentut, July 01, 2009 20:52:50
I support the DAP,
Now the questions is, the pig abattoir is the only one in KEDAH. Now without it, kedah chinese will have to import pork from nearby state. SO chinese have to eat expensive and not fresh pork.
If we don't let people slaughter the cows or buffaloes in Kedah, what will you say?
So, DAP is correct, let PAS have the feeling .
disagree 16
agree 125
written by Dreamlander, July 01, 2009 20:57:21
Quoting The Star Online: (If this piece of news is correct)
"Mayor Datuk Khazali Din was quoted as saying recently that the slaughterhouse was built illegally on the site 30 years ago, and the council had ordered the association to vacate the premises several times since 1995, with the latest such directive issued in May.
However, the association had asked for a postponement until the end of June this year, to give it time to find a new place, Su said, claiming that Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak had supported its application.
Su said that the one-month grace period was not enough for the association to find a new location for the slaughterhouse."
The slaughterhouse owner and the association cannot find a new site after several postponements since 1995?
written by onnetline, July 01, 2009 21:04:28
Azizan had also proposed a 50 per cent Bumiputera quota for housing schemes in the state last year.
it's shown clearly that this PAS head is a damn RACIST too !Will have to tell my friends and save my family votes for a better cause in the next election.
disagree 17
written by Mama Juwie, July 01, 2009 21:07:06
Pakatan Rakyat should be smarter than this. This is a State matter, don't blow it our of proportion. Let Kedah DAP handles it their own way. Remember, one small crack can break the whole thing.

If DAP, PAS or KeAdilan is stupid enough to blow things up and let BN's media echoes it even further, in the next General Election I might as well vote for Calon Bebas cap Ayam!
written by parsona, July 01, 2009 21:11:59
Supporting DAP's decision to pull out does not help Pakatan's cause at all. Was PAS really wrong in demolishing an ILLEGAL abbatoir? Just because its a pig abbatoir you Chinese are so worked up and are willing to abandon the already fragile coalition. If the DAP wants to help the minority there, try to discuss internally among PR to help set up a legal abbatoir. Give and take lar ppl! Don't forget the main goal of removing the despotic BN! We can only do it when we are united!
written by lamakawan, July 01, 2009 21:19:26
PAS must be consistent before and after the elections. PR is just starting to take off in the 5 states it governed. Do not make a mess of it . PR must be able to hold on together until the next elections, otherwise it will become the laughing stock for the BN goons.
written by Hakim Joe, July 01, 2009 21:34:39
One question: Did PAS get approval from PAS HQ b4 this decision was made?
I don't think Tok Guru would have minded but neither would he had agreed.

written by parsona, July 01, 2009 21:36:48
Who let the dog out?
written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 21:42:43
Persona..I agree with you that it should be give and take, but from I have seen, the only people giving is DAP and PAS is taking. Example..PAS-UMNO unity talk, 50% housing quota, this pig thing etc etc

Mama Juwie...what's so racist about 50% bumi quota in a Malay majotity state? Well, the moment you think along this racial line (ie "Malay majority"), it's racist. Ok..for the sake of argument that it's not racist....then why must PAS up the quota from 30% to 50% when there was no problem to begin with in Kedah? Did you hear malays complaining about not having enough houses to buy? If not then what's the reason to raise the quota? To prevent more Chinese/Indians from moving to Kedah? It just goes to show that PAS is even more racist that UMNO.

disagree 16
written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 21:45:23
and I voted for PAS in the last election! Regrets?? No, the sweetness of teaching BN a lesson is just too sweet. But, now that BN has been taught a lesson, perhaps it's time to teach PAS a lesson.
written by Sudahlah tu, July 01, 2009 21:49:25
baguslah tu ......
apa yang rakyat mahukan ..sentiasa diutamakan .
kalau bangsa Malaysia masih diwarnakan dan diasingkan demi kemaharajalelaan politik , maka bagus juga kita bersaing akan kebebasan tersendiri ...
kekayaan bumi Malaysia kini kontang dan tidak bermaruah lagi ......
bumi yang tanahnya kepunyaan orang asli ..kini dipulangkan kepada tuan asalnya ..
mari kita bergaduh sesama sendiri dan menghapuskan kewujudan kita yang sebenarnya pendatang kesemuanya ....
tanahair ini kini ingin kembalikan maruah jatinya kepada tuan asalnya ...
ayuhh...... bertentang sesama sendiri habis-habisan ...
bebas bumi ini selama - lamanya .
written by GoMalaysian.********.Com, July 01, 2009 22:01:04
Negara ini terdiri daripada pelbagai bangsa maka segala polisi yang dilakukan perlulah bersesuaian dengan situasi negara.

Kami memilih Pakatan Rakyat kerana dasarnya yang berbeza dengan BN yang hanya mempermainkan perkauman.

Harap Pakatan Rakyat faham apa sebab mereka diundi oleh Rakyat
written by lynn, July 01, 2009 22:16:37
MB Azizan wants 50% housing quota for Malays. Why 50%? What if Kedah have 78% Malays while 22% are minorities? Let the private sector be free from govt's interference.

All these quotas are bullshit. It's one way a corrupt govt "shows the Malays the bn govt cares for them". They give you crumbs while they helped themselves to all the meat. Stop the bloody corruption by govt ministers first. Use our country's wealth to build houses for the poor of all races like what they do in Brunei.

Instead they want to spend RM500mil on "so-called national service" - it's total bullshit. It's a way to enrich a few people. Imagine pocketing a few hundred millions every year. No wonder the govt wants all 500,000 17-year olds to attend so-called NS. More money to make!
written by mikewang, July 01, 2009 22:18:53
From Malaysiakini...

"The abattoir was to be demolished last month but it was halted following the intervention of DAP state representative, Lee Guan Aik.

Before today's demolition, Menteri Besar Azizan Abdul Razak said that he had no power to stop the action by the municipal council."

The MB may not have the power to stop the action by the municipal council.
However, if the council acts contrary to state government policy, those appointed councilors may be removed by executive order.

Let's see if the MB is willing to exercise this power to persuade to correct the situation.
written by nana tanjung, July 01, 2009 22:23:05
"The Star - Penang will not reinstate Johari despite pleas
BUKIT MERTAJAM: The state government has no intention of reinstating Johari Kassim as Seberang Prai municipal councillor although the PKR has asked that he be given a second chance."

Then DAP has no moral ground to ask kedah not to demolish the pig abbatoir. If they can remove Johari without giving him any chance to clarify; what ground do they have to condemn the Kedah government who on the other hand has been compassionate enough to take action only after allowing the pigs to operate their abbatoir illegally on a state land for so long and after repeated notice to move.

Why is DAP supporting people who flouted the rule this time? Is race the driver? Then should we say that DAP is a racist party?

disagree 26
written by raven1958, July 01, 2009 22:29:11
Why is it always so difficult to share....it's just a single abbatoir.

PAS has shown that UMNO may indeed be a better partner to work with. The DAP and PKR...both multiracial parties must now sit up and listen to Karpal.

PAS is using the PKR and DAP to the hilt to achieve power. It's better PKR and the DAP go it alone. Looking at Iran, these fellas will be trouble all the time. The moderates in PAS lost heavily the last elections.

All the signs are there. DO NOT TRUST PAS !!!!
written by ez24get, July 01, 2009 22:40:11
50% bumiputra quota for housing! This racial discrimination is even worst than under BN rule previously. The minority should return to BN folds now that PAS has shown its true colour.

The state of Kedah has shown no improvements since PAS take-over. There are port-holes all over the roads in Kedah, the grasses are uncut, the rubbish bins overflowing with rubbish, flies every where and business opportunities very slow in this northern state. It is as if there is no body in control of Kedah. It has shown PAS is only good in Islam but a total failure in running the state. Now it is proven in Kedah that even PAS is even more racist and conniving than BN.

I think it's time for the non-malays to switch back their allegiance to BN since they are moving away from racism! PAS is moving towards racism at break-neck speed!
written by cta, July 01, 2009 22:40:58
Butek u oknow babi?thats all? u must b umno guy.all the way babi. i will not vote for religion.very racial.Butek u go raba raba.
written by A MI, July 01, 2009 22:57:31
we the voters should kcik ourselves for voting in these imbeciles. Cant they resolve this in a civilised and mature manner without making it into a circus?

Or has AMNO paid some of these morons to pull this stunt just like did to the hee-haw dongkey?
written by PRman, July 01, 2009 23:05:18
What is the justification? Is it plainly on religion ground or etc? If its purely region, your act is seriously criticized, and please wait for the next GE. Guess who will I vote? (NOT YOU)
written by SiHangChai, July 01, 2009 23:12:18
Congratulations, DAP. This is a good move and a lesson to PAS who is still dreaming and very selfish and veru insincered. PAS is never a party for Malaysians. It is all babi, khinzir, babi, khinzir but are these really haram in the 1st place that prevent minorities from running a business to survive?
written by psbc48, July 01, 2009 23:13:28
Lets be calm and think rationally. From the many comments we can see many trojan horses in our midst from UMNO and MCA and also some from PAS. I think they are having a grand time.
written by Oscar Winner, July 01, 2009 23:13:41
Kudos to Vice Yatim!! After changing H1N1 to selsema babi, these religious bigots now have more reasons to demolish or cull. So, Dr. Yatim, can sleep better and have sweeter dreams now, right?
written by Jan, July 01, 2009 23:15:18
That DAP ADUN is a very unhappy man and if BN just waved some RM in front of him he might just jump over and that will leave the state govt in a very precarious position. Sometimes you can feel the PAS state govt don't really have the minority population at heart. It's time they take stock otherwise BN will reclaim this state.
written by Kampong, July 01, 2009 23:16:18
So how to govern PAS style? Ban concerts, ban alcohol, ban this ban that. Oh, what about being just to all? Isn't that Islamic? Not in bolehland. Somehow underneath the long robe, I suspect hide a vengeful and hateful soul.

They have to be the most stupiest of all. That, no need 30% or 50% quota. They deserve and get 100% in this category.
written by Milo, July 01, 2009 23:18:39
Why was the pig farm demolished? Of course, it has something to do with Islam. Now, you folks know why I oppose the Islamic State concept so vehemently. No matter what some PAS leaders promise and assure that all will be fair to non-muslims, it will be broken sooner or later for religious reason. The Kedah case is just one proof of what to expect - especially in ther long term. Religion and state must not mixed - it is not even good for the muslims in the long run.
written by mowadoha, July 01, 2009 23:34:58
written by ultraman_dyna, July 01, 2009 23:54:27
Why jump to conclusion even before finding out the truth? Typical Malaysians. Always have knee-jerk reaction to everything. When PAS was banging UMNO from every possible angle PAS is the man. But when something unverified pops up in the media every single body including babies(refering to level of IQ) commented negatively. Did'nt Nik Aziz said Islam forbids comsummation of pork for muslims but on-muslims can rare, trade and make use of the pig in any way they wish? Nah. Memory elapsed. Can't remember. I don't like memorizing things that don't benefit my pocket. It was 365 days 8760 hour 525,600 minutes 31,536,000 seconds ago. Remember the modern pig farm in Selangor? What was PAS reaction when UMNO was accusing them to fall into Kafirs trap? Did not PAS stood up against UMNO? Please ****** if u have a weak memory. They modern pig farm went ahead and in progress to this date.
This is why UMNO is not that afraid of PR. They know this coalition will crumble.
Just bring out some issues, then, accusations and slanting will be hurled like typhoon. DAP say PAS extremist, fanatic, incompetence, racist, shallow etc. PAS say DAP chauvinist, greedy, evil, nuisance, pig headed etc. I'm lucky that most of these commentators are not in a position of power. I can't imagine how all PR states will fair. It must be like a jungle. Flip flop policy, rioting, demo, blame game, who's the boss, public speeches 24/7 etc.
I bet most of you will have a permanent media stalls set up in front of your house so its easier to give media response for every single shit that you read on the net.Come on.Grow up.I know some have not even voted before but talk as if you are seasoned politician.If u know ur IQ is low than dont waste time posting silly comments.
written by budaktapah, July 02, 2009 00:01:03
woiii you reader & commentators.i think from ur comments it can be determined that most of the comments are really BODOH. for just a short article, you all started to babi-ing everybody, accusing each other, insulting each other. how so easy.

that article does not tells us the whole story.come on.there're still a few things the article did not explain like why the ladang babi was demolished? why the propose new site was shot down? who ordered the demolition? did PAS/MB knew about it? who is this DAP chap? what is his real reason/his purpose to withdraw from Kedah PR? does this chap really a genuine PR people? is he sincere enough? why the ladang babi is without license? where does the demolished ladang babi situated? is it within a Malay or other area? etc.

come people.please get the real story, please get ur facts right before you all starts to attack each other.but most important if you all have brain then please use it.
written by Raja Petra, July 02, 2009 00:36:37
Do you people know that Singapore bans pig farms as well. Is it because Lee Kuan Yew is a Muslim?
written by Khan, July 02, 2009 00:50:34
Hi YM Raja Petra..U still read the comments of many of the racists here! Just because of one demolition of illegal pig slaughterhouse, these ppl make so much noise!...And the notice is not just given overnight but some 15 years ago...If you guys have this sort of attitude, Go n Sleep with BN...
written by parsona, July 02, 2009 01:11:22
I bet RPK will write about this in his next article. This news article seems to have brought out the racists by the droves.
written by tenang, July 02, 2009 01:19:35

I wish behind the outspoken ones who use extreme emotion to make their point there are many others who are using more even approach.

To quit a coalition over a pig farm issue seems not reflecting the need of people. The DAP sole representative has to explain how can he justify his move. I don't think people, especially Chinese, are impressed by that gesture because I don't we are ready to dissolve the PR at state level over such issue.
written by Wisdom above, July 02, 2009 01:23:47
Is this another MSM Media Spin ?

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by schizonoid, July 02, 2009 01:55:29
The council(still sokong UMNO)sapu babi slaughterhouse, semua jadi gila babi. BODOH!!!
Another otak babi news from The Star.
written by Mama Juwie, July 02, 2009 02:14:34
general honest said:

"Mama Juwie what's so racist about 50% bumi quota in a Malay majotity state?"

The Kedah Government does not want Kedah to end up like Singapura, Pulau Pinang and Perak.
written by Perak Boy, July 02, 2009 03:32:02
Oh boy, looks like a lot of people here are infected with SELSEMA BABI.

Better get myself out of here ...!
written by maisur, July 02, 2009 04:55:33
the pigs are hoinking again:
1. more than 15 years of relocation notice and they still could not find a place? for goodness sake, what an inefficient bunch of useless chinese pig farmers.
2. illegal site? hmmm...maybe LGE can help azizan as how he treated the indians at kg buah pala
3. one month extension, and the stupid Su from DAP said in the star that azizan agreed with the proposal (for extension). so what else do you guys want? illegal site. refused to relocate. now even the MB supported the extension, you still angry with him. what a fcuking arrogant race!
4. 50% bumi quota? stupid arse-hole... it is only applicable for tanah rizab melayu. not for all lands la bodoh. if i am the MB...i will give 100% bumi quota for tanah rizab melayu.
5. good riddance to this DAP dick-head. i would rather have a PAS-UMNO government, than a racist partner like hollow-brain DAP.
6. talking about point 5 above... the sentiment is getting stronger day by day. come to one point, even nik aziz could not stop the PAS-UMNO unity. when that happens, you don't have anyone but yourselves to be blamed.
7. please la... you guys are not the king-maker. PAS is merely doing you a favour by co-operating with DAP. remember, PAS won 27 seats in 1999 without your support. with your support in 2008, PAS won less... suwey lah!
written by Urangsabah, July 02, 2009 05:13:57
If non an MSM spin, UMNO & All UMNOed Allies are laugh at you all la PR............

Not even 2 years old, you seem to be fighting like children.........

PR wake up la you are the Government............

In Penang, Hindraf is being use as a weapon to down PR and in Kedah......1 abbtoir...

PR aren't you just cutting off your nose to spite your face? What is the bigger picture..................I thought UMNO & UMNOed BN is your enemy.

Thomas Su & Waytha, if PR is to collaspe.......... well you guys will be the happiest...........

BTW will UMNO save the abbtoir and Kampung Buah Pala.
written by Daryl, July 02, 2009 05:14:12
DAP Kedah
Please don't go in and out of PR like rakyat is not judging you guys. When you are in the government act like you care not like a jilted lover or wife. Grow up please talk to your partner.
written by ultraman_dyna, July 02, 2009 07:22:15
DAP Kedah is a bunch of losers..
They think governing a state is like main polis sentri..
U dun like the current team u just pull out and maybe switch side..
U are elected representative..
U represent all of your voters..
Every single soul my dear YB in your DUN area..
Including those who voted BN..
U r not a small kid that protest when not given a candy my running out of the house..
What 50% quota issue..
U r a YB dumb iggit..
That 50% quota apply to houses built on tanah rizab melayu only..
What part of tanah rizab melayu that u x understand..
U got the info from TheStar ke regarding the 50% quota?
Why not talk to Azizan faker..
U are the worst PR YB after Hee the frog..
DAP YBs got infected by the gila kuasa syndrome la..
Sikit2 merajuk keluar maki hamun org semua dalam dunia salah ko je la yg betul..
Wakil rakyat ke wakil persatuan babi?
Persatuan babi yang lantik ke rakyat negeri Kedah yang lantik ko YB oi??!!!
written by maisur, July 02, 2009 07:49:39
i think DAP as a whole is a big mole itself. they brought down a government in perak before, now they are trying to bring down a government in kedah. how much did UMNO pay you to create this chaos? PAS/PKR better be careful with this bunch of idiots. DAP does not deserve to be in PR.
written by Fairminded, July 02, 2009 09:49:26
Thomas Su should not pull out immediately. Please find out whether a new more modern and hygienic abattoir is being built before jumping the gun. By doing so Su had already cut off all forms of compromises and cooperation. Confrontational politics will never get us anywhere especially within the opposition. And please folks, why must everything in Malaysian politics seemed to boomerang back to race and religion? Malaysia is a polyglot rojak society and we should learn to live with one anothers way of life. Hindus and some Chinese buddhist dont eat beef, Muslims dont eat pork, Buddhist dont eat meat at all. So if we keep this up we will all be vegetarians. Nope, sorry, Muslims as I understand from my Shiite friends, are not allowed to be vegetarians. I am lost but one thing for sure, all claimed to be following each God's instructions. All claim to be able to go to heaven if they follow all this dietary taboos, and VIOLA - we all will then bring these same problems to heaven. Perhaps I will follow RPKs advice - Sex, booze and rock & roll so that I can go to hell instead. There will be no such dietary war atleast.
written by quietguy, July 02, 2009 10:13:53
Why is this Proarte guy still here? Why isn't he banned already?
written by honeylemon, July 02, 2009 14:00:24
Itu Thomas Su is not a WAKIL RAKYAT. He still think that he is a WAKIL BABI.

The ABBATOIR is ILLEGAL !! Understand !!

I had been there since 30 years ago. Received RELOCATION NOTICE since 15 years ago because it is ILLEGAL.

Lee Kuan Yew banned not only pig farms, abbatoir pun dia banned. At least, the towkay rumah-sembelih-babi (babi got sembelih meh?) was given notice to RELOCATE.

DAP Kedah ni overdoze of babi.

Babi !!
written by KotaDamansara73, July 02, 2009 15:13:02
I love to eat babi. Babi is yummy. I don't know why some people are so against it.