Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAS-Umno youth ‘intellectual discussion’ irks DAP

PAS-Umno youth ‘intellectual discussion’ irks DAP PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 19:35
By Syed Jaymal Zahiid, The Malaysian Insider

Cracks have re-emerged in Pakatan Rakyat (PR) following today’s announcement of “intellectual discussions” between PAS and Umno, with the DAP’s youth wing attacking its Islamist counterparts for its latest flirtation with the Barisan Nasional (BN) lynchpin.

DAP Youth chief Anthony Loke said that he was extremely disappointed with the PAS youth wing as PR’s national leadership had taken pains to contain a possible split in the alliance and had made it clear that it rejected any unity talks with Umno.

“We know nothing about it ... This intellectual discussion between the two is not a PR initiative and it was never raised in the PR council of leaders meeting,” said Loke, adding that PAS should have at least informed the PR leadership about their intentions.

Last week the PR leadership council led by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim had declared their commitment to the alliance, and apparently put an end to the unity government proposal by PAS that had damaged the political ties between PAS, DAP and PKR.

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 20:33:13
PAS just cannot be trusted!
written by asiana888, July 01, 2009 20:42:29
I would not say PAS cannot be trusted. Only some elements in PAS .... especially Hadi and Nashruddin. I think DAP Youth should not be lured into this 'show' by PAS Youth. It is obvious there are some cracks within PAS - those who are eager to join UMNO and those in Tok Nik's camp.

Let's wait for GE13 ... all those aligned with Hadi & Nash will not get a single vote from non-bumi voters! This I promise!

So again I say it, DSAI - you need to get some East Malaysian parties into PR or I don;t see any chance for PR to win next GE.
written by DezMalaysia, July 01, 2009 20:48:38
I am a DAP member who used to support PAS very much. But, now they are like infested with hypocrite trojan horses who's willing to shake hands with thieves & day light robbers.

Further continuing to support PAS or not, let's wait and see what their eldest Nik Aziz & Erdogan camp leaders have to say before jumping to a conclusion.
written by arazak, July 01, 2009 20:58:33
"Intelectual discussions"? Do they have any gray matter at all?

The UMNO Youth Chief do not know how to change the lught-bulb. He calls upon the PAS Youth Chief to help him out. PAS youth Chief on the other hand thought the light-bulb was a new version of an UMNO keris!!!
written by hiro, July 01, 2009 21:30:17
Hadi is power hungry and will sacrifice justice in the name of position. The BN mole is now sowing seeds of destruction of the coalition not only on the front of UNITY talk, but also by lambasting Najib for removing the 30% bumi equity from plcs. Does he not understand Pakatan's stand on this matter? Does he not understand that helping Bumis are not about giving them shares so that they can sell off and buy their Brabus? Pakatan's stand is you give to the needy. Giving out shares do not provide any capacity for those in need to lead a productive life.

I say we start a campaign to remove Hadi from PAS. He's clearly a liability to Pakatan now.
written by fairnessforall, July 01, 2009 21:40:35
How can idiots have a intellectual discussion. PAS and UMNO both are idiots. PAS has been cheating the rakyat, but now we see that they are no different from UMNO and BN just another power hungry party who will sell their own mother to gain power.
written by KotaDamansara73, July 01, 2009 21:51:44
A Lets just say Pakatan win the next GE, there is no way that PAS will cooperate. THe coalition will be the weakest. And it will fall within weeks or maybe even days.
written by Kingsley, July 01, 2009 21:55:06
Sorry Tok Guru, I respect you but your party has been infiltrated by UMNO agents. They are creating havoc with your party's credibility.
In Kedah, Pas shows that it cannot accommodate others' views.
In national politics, your President and now your Youth President keep breaking promises.
"Intellectual Discussion", my foot!
If it is only that, why only between Pas and Umno?
I think it is better off for DAP and PKR to remain in PR.
When Pas is clear about who is its friend and who is its enemy, they can apply to come back to PR.
written by aiyomanaboleh, July 01, 2009 22:40:29
I think DAP should just keep quiet and let PAS work its way out of the mess.

Through hindsight, PAS probably made a wrong first move in its overzealous attempt with being friendly with the snake. It was a wrong first move which hopefully, will die a natural death.
written by joeawk, July 01, 2009 22:44:24
DAP, leave them be. It is good if PAS is split so that we know who are the PAS people who are with you and who are not. It is not possible that all PAS people are with you. DAP and PAS have never been buddies and UMNO will continue to ensure that. PAS people may claim that they are heaven bound but the fact is that a ticket to heaven needs money to buy and the ticket does not come cheap. Since PAS is poor and UMNO is rich,it is only to be expected that PAS people will fall prey to UMNO's riches.

Ask you Perak adun, HEE. She knows best.
written by Rohani Hitam, July 01, 2009 23:13:11
Ask PAS to step out and resolve its internal division. Only accept them back when they voluntarily and unanimously declare their disassociation with BN. Allowing them to continue in PR will only damage PR further. If PAS need to die, let it die by natural cause - on its own destructive action which they deserve. DAP and PKR can take them (ie BN/PAS) because they will destroy each other. The sooner the better.
written by SiHangChai, July 01, 2009 23:17:52
PAS gila kuasa dan angan-x2 nak jadi PM. Lupakan PAS saja. PAS itu macam MIC.. suka gunakan parti untuk kegilaan kuasa.
written by Commonsenses, July 01, 2009 23:51:56
Hadi and the Terrengganu gang, r unstable politicians. Well who say ulama politicians r men of god should act like one. They r the same as u and me. Power and material gains r foremost in their minds. So dun be fooled. Everybody knows why they lost trengganu cos they were trying to impose their religious will on people of the state. Terrenganu will go back to PAS in the next election not becos people like PAS but because the state UMNO is disunited.
written by carlitos, July 02, 2009 01:06:39
PAS is stupid to do this as UMNO will lose in next GE.

I always thought PAS are headed by educated people who have brains.

The seed of mistrust will eventually breaks PR and UMNO will dump PAS like a used whore once that happens.

Idiots!!!
written by tenang, July 02, 2009 02:05:43
I think PAS has make a pretty good clarification on this.

At one side I whole heartedly oppose any discussion on unity government.

At another side I actually support open debate-cum-discussion among different political camps. Demonising rival political camp is detrimental to people; we want politicians to fight for issues that are matter to common people. Therefore, discussion, not limited to that of UMNO-PAS, is a must if we want politicians to address issues of common people.

However let us be clear that among all isses that are matter to common people, unity government IS NOT one of them.

How can we ensure the debate and discussion is good for common people? First and for most, the debate must be open for all to see. Second, the issues/topics must be made known to everyone ahead of time.

Are we ready for such maturity in the nation politic?

written by Rohani Hitam, July 02, 2009 02:16:32
Blessing in disguise. You are able to see how unscrupulous PAS is before PR takes over the government. PR has to do it without PAS, no matter how. We can see the danger lurking ahead. It is clear. Its the greed of power and wealth. PAS and BN will cancell each other out in a colluding equation. It has to be that way. No two way about it.
written by schizonoid, July 02, 2009 02:22:48
Another STD by UMNO, squirts by their prostitutes(MSM).
written by Daryl, July 02, 2009 05:16:59
LOL. Please show all your faces so in the next election we will leave you out or you can go join UMNO for an election seat. PAS please clean your house or just do us a favor and join UMNO so they can do the work that Pak Guru is not able to do which is get rid of the rotten limbs. Pak Guru can join PKR or DAP to fight a honset fight.
written by 1351, July 02, 2009 07:51:06
Have to agree with Rohani - and if PAS were thinking/looking one step into the future - this notion of a unity govt with UMNO should forever be banished. PAS has to realise UMNO is only exploring such an idea solely to protect itself when confronted with public wrath.

Not too long down the road, M'sians are all going to wake up to the realisation that our coffers are depleted. Those UMNO monkeys have stolen much more than what official figures would state. As of now all seems fine but we won't know the extend of the damage until a complete audit takes place - and I'm expecting the worst.

It doesn't help that those align with Hadi don't see eye to eye with Nik Aziz but Hadi should be admonish to the fullest extend. All said and done, it must be noted that Hadi has laid claim to the position of DPM(either with UMNO or Pakatan) come 13th.GE. Let give him credit for making no pretensions as he is one step ahead of the count, extorting the position for himself.

What does the future hold ?
written by asguard, July 02, 2009 08:58:43
Better PAS leader sort this white trojan horses before it becomes a nightmare on Barang Naik street!