Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Doctor’s advise

Doctor’s advise PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 19:26

I am tired of writing about social, political, economic and religious issues. I mean: the problem is never going to go away whatever I may say. So today I am just going to address health issues and publish what the doctor said would be considered a healthy lifestyle. But I did not write this piece though. Someone sent it to me and I don’t know who wrote it.

Q: Doctor, I've heard that cardiovascular exercise can prolong life. Is this true?

A: Your heart is only good for so many beats, and that's it. Don't waste it on exercise.

Everything wears out eventually. Speeding up your heart will not make you live longer. That's like saying you can extend the life of your car by driving it faster.

Want to live longer? Take a nap.

Q: Should I cut down on meat and eat more fruits and vegetables?

A: You must grasp logistical efficiencies. What does a cow eat? Hay and corn!

And what are these? Vegetables. So a steak is nothing more than an efficient mechanism of delivering vegetables to your system. Need grain? Eat chicken. 

Beef is also a good source of field grass (green leafy vegetable). 

And a pork chop can give you 100% of your recommended daily allowance of vegetable products.

Q: Should I reduce my alcohol intake?

A:  No, not at all. Wine is made from fruit. Brandy is distilled wine. That means they take the water out of the fruity bit so you get even more of the goodness that way. Beer is also made out of grain. Bottoms up!

Anyway, 1% of traffic accidents are caused by drunk drivers. So people who don’t drink are very dangerous because they cause 99% of traffic accidents.

Q: How can I calculate my body/fat ratio?

A: Well, if you have a body and you have fat, your ratio is one to one.

If you have two bodies, your ratio is two to one, etc.

Q: What are some of the advantages of participating in a regular exercise program?

A: Can't think of a single one, sorry. My philosophy is: No Pain ... Good!

Q:  Aren't fried foods bad for you?

A:  YOU'RE NOT LISTENING!!! .... Foods are fried these days in vegetable oil.

In fact, they're permeated in it. How could getting more vegetables be bad for you?

Q:  Will sit-ups help prevent me from getting a little soft around the middle?

A: Definitely not! When you exercise a muscle, it gets bigger.

You should only be doing sit-ups if you want a bigger stomach.

Q:  Is chocolate bad for me?

A:  Are you crazy? HELLO … Cocoa beans! Another vegetable!!!

It's the best feel-good food around!

Q:  Is swimming good for your figure?

A:  If swimming is good for your figure, explain whales to me.

Q:  Is getting in-shape important for my lifestyle?

A:  Hey! 'Round' is a shape!

Well, I hope this has cleared up any misconceptions you may have had about food and diets.

And remember: 'Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways - Chardonnay in one hand, chocolate in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, 'WOO  HOO, what a  Ride!'

AND.....

For those of you who watch what you eat, here's the final word on nutrition and health. It's a relief to know the truth after all those conflicting nutritional studies.

1. The Japanese eat very little fat and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

2. The Mexicans eat a lot of fat and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

3. The Chinese drink very little red wine and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

4. The Italians drink a lot of red wine and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

5. The Germans drink a lot of beer and eat lots of sausages and fats and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

CONCLUSION

1. Eat and drink what you like.

2. Speaking American English is apparently what kills you.

3. 'Today’ is a gift. That is why it is called ‘The Present’.

Comments (49)Add Comment
written by JinJangJoe, July 01, 2009 19:35:42
Dearest YM, you too, need to take your mind off, sometimes. We miss you, dearly.
agree 123
written by Mama Juwie, July 01, 2009 19:38:34
Pity the Americans.
written by Horizonline, July 01, 2009 19:41:41
i better start to exercise now... your sarcasm made me feel really bad right now...

thanks pete
written by ylcc, July 01, 2009 19:49:46
Thanks, RPK. I have to go for my medical check-up Friday. I would certainly print out a copy for the doctor in case the reading shows up that my cholesterol/sugar-level/body fat-ratio is above the norm.
written by Loh, July 01, 2009 19:50:25
///2. Speaking American English is apparently what kills you.///

It is a conspiracy to teach mathematics and science in primary school jn English.

written by malsia1206, July 01, 2009 20:20:11
All the medical prescription would not help Malaysians to live any longer. Simply because we are all too pre-occupied with religion, bumiputeras, quotas, special rights and privileges 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year. For the past 30 years since Tun Mahathir.
written by Kuku Burung, July 01, 2009 20:22:40
That is why we need to teach Maths and Science in English and not American English. If we teach them in Malaysian Manglish, our children will turn mangoes.
written by adan, July 01, 2009 20:42:01
' 1 % uf traffic accidents are caused by drunk drivers...and 99% are caused by drivers who do not drink ..'
'1 out of 7 cancer patients die due to smoking. The other 6 die because they do not smoke.

I love this illogical logic.This is soooooooo Malaysian.!!
written by batsman, July 01, 2009 20:44:10
Here's another health tip - going to the toilet in a police station is hazardous to your health.
written by SamYap, July 01, 2009 20:47:00
Its NOT Doctor's Advise. Advise is a verb. It should be Advice which is a noun. Thus, it should be Doctor's Advice.

I don't think RPK wrote the heading, probably it was simply copy and paste, because he would have spotted the error or did he write it?

written by Windchime, July 01, 2009 20:48:45
Cool YM RPK! A good read without having to think for a change! Thanks.
written by nero287, July 01, 2009 21:33:27
Cruzeiro,

You need a head doctor. The article is meant to lighten up readers. You are obviously a bigot. Go find yourself a Nazi website and post your comments there. And please don't bother replying to this post as I refuse to be drawns into a racial debate...
written by Super Admin, July 01, 2009 21:46:17
And Cruzeiro and those of his ilk wonder why they are banned!
written by Kingsley, July 01, 2009 22:04:07
Not you usual writing Pete. How ar u?
What you take on PAS's erratic behaviour?
Who's in charge now?
Unity Talks, now Intellectual Discussion?
WTF?
written by Oscar Winner, July 01, 2009 22:09:07

Can't help not thinking it's written by you. Anyway, whoever the writer is, he/she deserves a script-wrtiting award for sitcoms.

You are what you eat. Physically we can try improve on our health by watching what we eat and drink, and of course we need to sweat to help detox. But mentally, I think the govt may drive us insane.

Last but not least, it's not what your doc knows and can't do much to help cure you. It's what your doctor doesn't know that will kill you.
written by Hakim Joe, July 01, 2009 22:27:30
More health tips:

Vegetarians are encouraged to drink alcohol – They are basically liquefied vegetables.
Exercise your eyes – Watch more TV.
Vitamins are bad for you – they tend to burn a hole in your wallet.
Going to the doctors when one is sick is good – They can provide you with MC.
Drinking water is good – Especially if you add some distilled grapes into it.
Exercise the brains – Play more mahjong.

written by Hakim Joe, July 01, 2009 22:31:08
SamYap, Kingsley, Oscar Winner...RPK already said that he did NOT write this piece. It was sent to him by an anonymous author.

written by bakas, July 01, 2009 22:39:02
Q: Will sit-ups help prevent me from getting a little soft around the middle?

A: Definitely not! When you exercise a muscle, it gets bigger.
written by democraticpatriot, July 01, 2009 22:46:19
Thanks RPK! Very appropriate timing of this article! I was getting weary too of all the in-politiking within our Pakatan Rakyat with the help of the corrupt gomen! Needed a break desperately too as I am feeling the 'suffocation' by the non-stop barrage of some (praying that the numbers remains minority!) moronic antics from Pakatan supporters who call themselves leaders!
written by Milo, July 01, 2009 22:53:30
My health tips:

Refrain from going to toilet - it is full of germs
Visit the doctor often - we need to keep them in business
Don't waste time exercising - it wastes water and burns valuable nutrition
Sleep as little as possible - plenty of time to do that after you stop breathing
Switch off the air con permanently - sweating is detoxifying
Eat more fatty food - That will keep the price of vegetables down
Drink more tap water - it is guaranteed halal
Take a panadol after each meal - its keeps headache at bay
Talk more to your wife - so you won't talk in your sleep
Read more MT - It is healthier than drinking beer

written by gas, July 01, 2009 23:01:02
I confirm that this is not written by RPK. I have read this same piece several rounds already sent by different people at different time in the emails. Cheers!
written by tumbledore, July 01, 2009 23:32:50
who said anything about sarcasm!

the journey between birth and death is life
make the journey as pleasant as possible
do everything you want to do
because sooner or later you'd be lying
in your deathbed regreting

life is your's, decide what to do yourself
don't wait for some wise guy to tell you
what to do!

written by Kathy, July 02, 2009 00:05:47
Best medical advice I've read from a non-medical website! Tell me who the author is as I wish to change my doctor, who is filling me with doom and gloom, as though I haven't got enough of it. smilies/grin.gif
written by Ali Cordoba, July 02, 2009 01:47:16
I have never gone thru a medical check up in my entire life - perhaps when I was 17 I went to see the doc for a sort of check up and that was it - and now at this age, I think it is better to pass on like MJ...all of a sudden. smilies/cheesy.gif

However, a piece of advise. Kiss, Hug, and caress your loved ones every day. That is the best medical practice that you can apply in your life. If you do have time to kiss, caress and hug your wife or children every single day of your life with them, they will know that you loved them for ever even if you were to pass on just like that!
written by magickriver, July 02, 2009 03:23:35
Right on, Pete! And smoking is anywhere near as hazardous to your health than looking at those UGLY IMAGES the so-called Health Ministry has forced tobacco companies to print on cigarette packs... http://magickriver.********.co...right.html

You are greatly missed, dear RPK. Malaysia has gone to the dogs... and the pigs... and the sultans since you departed smilies/cry.gif
written by TWOG, July 02, 2009 08:51:18
The past is history
The future is a mystery
The present is a gift
written by Conan Chung, July 02, 2009 09:17:39
Lolx Pete,

Its good to see you still can enjoy a good sense of humour. I mean problems don't just disappear into thin-air, especially those which took years to form so mind as well take it easy. Its good for your health.

Well, hope you take the good doctor's advise: eat more beef and chicken, drink more Australian wine and beer (when no one's looking smilies/tongue.gif), go watch more television or go to the beach (to 'cuci mata' on some hot naked babes).

Pete, you only have one life and although i appreciate what you do don't push yourself too much. Your not young so go easy when visiting the cabaret clubs - once every week is just nice. Hope to see you bash someone soon!
written by Ben Nordin, July 02, 2009 10:25:44
Lolz. Thanks, Pete. Needed that! smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by cruzeiro, July 02, 2009 14:01:50
written by nero287, July 01, 2009 21:33:27
Cruzeiro,

You need a head doctor. The article is meant to lighten up readers. You are obviously a bigot. Go find yourself a Nazi website and post your comments there. And please don't bother replying to this post as I refuse to be drawns into a racial debate...

written by Super admin, July 01, 2009 21:46:17
And Cruzeiro and those of his ilk wonder why they are banned!

========================================

Jeez man, Yeah - some people just have fantastic thinking skills......
written by cruzeiro, July 02, 2009 14:08:08
Shame on you super admin for deleting half the comment and changing the context of the message!!
written by Raja Petra, July 02, 2009 14:22:57
Was your comment edited? Let me check if anyone did that.
written by cruzeiro, July 02, 2009 14:28:26
Definitely, Pete.
It was meant to use the same "logic" as in the above article you posted, in arriving at the conclusion that Malays/Muslims are weak and disunited, and hence need to have "talks" of unity.

It originally went something as follows:
Umno is Malay, Umno is Muslim, Umno is weak, Umno is disunited. Therefore Malays/Muslims are weak and disunited - and PAS should have talks with them!!!
written by eeyaw, July 02, 2009 14:37:52
What is this issues about hogs, swine or pigs by the politicians? Getting uptight about a non event when its a known fact that these animals grow up on vegetables particularly corn. Haram or not haram if reared hygiently I still love my bacon. Politicians should go get a life, its too short to bicker about nothing.
written by Mapel101, July 02, 2009 16:36:37
Nice advice. Moral of the story? Take care of your health and be cautious all the time..Thanks. This really make my day a bit less stressful..smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 02, 2009 20:25:54
I AM TIRED OF COMMENTING ANYMORE RPK

SINCE YOU GAVE UP YOUR mt...

it is finished...................

I WILL NOT COMMENT ANYMORE............................
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 02, 2009 20:29:10
RPK AND MINE TOO ON pETRONAS.....

I WILL STOP COMMENTING FROM NOW ONWARDS.....

I HAVE BEEN SOLD OUT......
written by carribeanking7, July 02, 2009 21:21:42
Pete , I received that popular joke in an email forward some years back,
come to think of it , its very much like MSM spin, only cleverer ha ha ha

written by teo siew chin, July 02, 2009 22:49:59
HAHHAHAHA....great to be back on MT with this! YM RPK picks only the finest.
i totally luvvvvvv this doctor!
it has been said health-nuts are gonna feel stupid one day lying on a hospital bed dying of nothing.

written by teo siew chin, July 02, 2009 22:52:55
"...And Cruzeiro and those of his ilk wonder why they are banned!..."
--------------

errrr Superadmin.....it has been said memory is the first to go.
i kinda recall u denying any ban. smilies/wink.gif
written by journeyman, July 03, 2009 00:31:42
"Jeez man, Yeah - some people just have fantastic thinking skills..."

yup. do your bit to control over- population in this tired old world. wank
written by lampard, July 03, 2009 01:57:45
Sir, lately you are sort of out or topics! Can we come back to mainstream politics ka? Either you are frustrated with Pakatan and decided to take a break out of politics or you are really out of fire!

Sir, I am here for politics and no others!
written by cruzeiro, July 03, 2009 09:26:18
written by teo siew chin, July 02, 2009 22:52:55
"...And Cruzeiro and those of his ilk wonder why they are banned!..."

--------------

errrr Superadmin.....it has been said memory is the first to go.
i kinda recall u denying any ban. smilies/wink.gif
=====================================
written by sueteh, July 03, 2009 09:46:16
Milo..got halal beer u know..imported from Iran. U forgot..regular sex good for you so that you won't be so selalu naik angin and "mang chang". ****** lah.
u remember that young strong stallion chinese guy who died in the freak cave diving years ago? yar lor..with due respect..also super healthy mah..

ya..don't eat after 7pm..latest by 630pm for dinner..no meat, no supper at mamak stall, do not drink milk at 10pm (contrary to popular belief drink warm milk before tido)

eat meehoon..not yellow mee..don't drink the soup..no bak kut teh..no duckie (loong foong duckie/sunrise duckie..yummy), take small portion rice, "sai fan", if vege oily don't take..take japanese tofu..better than other tofu (expensive lah..must to isetan/jusco to buy),

no coffee..help releases more cortisol in body can cause brain to be toxified(?), laughing exercise..hah..hah..hic exercise, buang angin (all kinds of angin yea)..for the ladies..don't want wrinkles right? LESS SUGAR..tau. chemicals in sugar binds the collagen that why u see kedut and lines..collagen slides on top each other (other than just sex!) that's why so smooth lor.

exercise..and SMILE lah..jangan lah do the face like torture face when do it. and always stretching your limbs don't overstretching nanti cannot spring back! drink goat milk..better than cow milk..unless u allergic lah. scrub your body (aiyo..please all the daki ceh!) and go for facial (men too! look more leng chai and handsome lah), the rest..you ****** lah..adios.

written by sueteh, July 03, 2009 10:03:28
i forgot..the men aiseyman...they must have a good robust 'swimming team'...mah. lagi practice..lagi good quality mah..also got 'faulty team members' one..so must get rid of it la. ops..sorry i forgot women its not all about sex one..pillow talk, sini raba sana ramas ok lah.tu kan?? men must get the emotional level one..not just do it only ..mah..got tongkat ali supplies whatever stimulation..jeez..we are adults lah..why so shy? i dind't ask you to do it in the public..unless you want to lah.
written by roadbarra, July 03, 2009 12:53:33
Yes of now I am getting myself more sleep instead of wearing out my heart. Good idea.
written by Steven Ong, July 03, 2009 13:25:32
I guess this doctor is a witch doctor? How else he knows everything if he is not a witch doctor? Be careful less you provoke him to anger , that he send you to Kamunting under his special concoctions, like ISA, OSA , SA , OSHA, USA and what not!
Remember ,he is a witch doctor - don't play play.