Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M: English the language of science

Dr M: English the language of science PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 17:40

(The Edge) - English should be the medium of instruction for science and mathematics as it is the international language of knowledge, said former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

"If we want knowledge, we must know the language of the modern times, and that language is English.

"Most new scientific discourses are written in English and we can't translate all of it because there are just too many discoveries. We'd need experts not just in both languages but in the science fields as well," he said at the Brand Laureate Lecture Series launch today.

He said, back in the Dark Ages when Arabic was the language of knowledge, even those in Europe learned the language. Malaysia's position as an education hub among foreigners was largely attributed to English being widely spoken as a medium of communication, he added.

Asked why the national language could not be as successful as French and Japanese, he said Malay was not a viable medium of instruction as it did not have a history of scientific research.

In his keynote address on Vision 2020 — Is it a mission possible?, he said Malaysia needed to move from a low-cost, export-driven economy to a high-cost, domestic purchasing power-driven one to achieve the Vision 2020 of a developed nation.

written by Trueandfair, July 01, 2009 17:56:50
What Tun M argue is true - English is the key language! Question is: Malaysians failure in the R&D is due to lack of strong foundation and commitment in science and maths! Furthermore, only an estimated 2-3% of the student population requires the mastery and proficiency - the rest don't need that high level - what the majority and shall I say 100% of Malaysian students need is not the comic communication rubbish they peddled in schools today.I am a product of Malay stream school, a research engineer and have the good fortune to have brilliant ENglish teachers and syllabus (before all the hanky panky by Education Ministers started by DSAI - sorry, you cannot escape your past misdeeds on this one) and my experience is that with solid foundation of science and mathemetics (studied in BM for 12 years), please don't use English as an excuse Just teach English (as a language), Science and Maths (in whatever language)!
written by Bigjoe99, July 01, 2009 18:11:31
The biggest argument against the use of English for math and science is that math and science is better taught in native language. There is only one problem with that in Malaysian context. It has not been for at least a century. It may not be a primary native language for a significant part of the population but it also IS the primary language for the upper class no matter what race.Sure, I agree that for many Math and Science should not be taught in English, but I disagree that it should be eliminated. The only change should be parents and teachers should decide in each school which way they want to choose.
written by educationist, July 01, 2009 18:25:40
Why insist on English for science and mathematics education?
If our education system can produce truly bilingual students , then there should be no problem for them to pursue studies in science and mathematics later.
Yes, I know, that problem that won't go away - what about pupils in the Chinese and Tamil primary schools?
Frankly, I've no idea , so perhaps the experts can sort this out.
written by ultraman, July 01, 2009 18:43:33
Aiya, TDM actually caused the mess. Please do not disturb the system again.
written by talk2stop, July 01, 2009 19:09:10
Just make up the mind and stick to it. It does not matter it is Chinese, Malay, Tamil, Hokkien or Hebrew just see that it does not revert back and fore.
written by miwaki, July 01, 2009 19:24:12
If English is so important to the world,why on earth mahathir abolished English and used BM as medium of instruction for all secondary schools in the 70s ? Was he insane that time or was he "gatal" and nothing to do ?

He started it and now he clamors for Math and Science to be taught in English,he was stupid previously and now he becomes smarter.Too late Mahathir,your own people now reject your suggestion because they are happy with staus quo.You will die with your mistake !
written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 20:56:49
I agree with DrM here. He might have made a mistake last time, but it takes a lot to admit his mistake and then correct it. That's nothing wrong with that...infact, it's admirable.

Those who oppose teaching these 2 important subjects in English are those who confuse education from their own racialist mentality. Pls stop yapping about Japan, Germany, France and why they can teach in their own language bla bla bla. Give me a break...DrM is right here..they already have a long history of research, wealth and quality education. Malaysia is nowhere near and that's why we have to import knowledge which is all written and spoken in English...not in BM or Chinese!!

My children speaks mostly English at home...why? Because I decided a long time ago that English is essential in their future. So, I guess, you can say that their mother tongue is English in this case. So, going by the concept of you should teach these subjects in you mother tongue, then what school do they attend if the government decides to change the policy to teaching maths and science in BM or Chinese?

Does this make me a traitor to my race? Hell no! My children speaks in Chinese with thier grandparents and sometimes to my wife and I. They learn about their tradition and culture as they go through life.

To those who support teaching mathematics and science in BM or Chinese, what a load of crap! You guys are selfish and don't know the difference between education from your own racist mentality. Think about your future generation first!

written by supplier, July 01, 2009 20:57:44
I am not against the teaching of Science and Maths in english but the teachers and pupils must first master the proper english and not malayish.

It is like asking a Indian who is not well verse in chinese to do Science and Maths in Mandrain or the other way round
written by Loh, July 01, 2009 20:59:31
TDM cares only for his interest and position through politics.

When he wanted to show that he was a Malay champion, he took Malay language into an issue of loyalty with Malays, and ketuanan Melayu. He was Education Minister in 1973/4. He could have reversed Rahman Yakub's policy introduced in 1970 to abolish English as the medium of instruction in government English schools and the mission schools. He did not. He might claim now that he did not know then that Malay had not the history of scientific research. If that statement had been made by anybody else, he would say that people belittle the Malay language.

TDM did not care whether he talks sense or not. He used his political influence, or blackmail to carry his wishes and justifications are given for the purposes of filling gaps in news media.

written by generalhonest, July 01, 2009 21:16:18
And I am pissed and Anwar for saying that teaching Science and Maths in English is a betrayal to the "supreme" language of BM. Oh..man. What's so supreme about BM? It's only a language spoken in Malaysia...and ok...perhaps maybe if you want to include Indonesia too. That's about 260 Million people out of the world population of 6.7 Billion (or 6,700 million...to those who don't know what Billion is) people.

Granted...it's a language we want to maintain, but don't do it at the expense of our children's future.

Those big shot political figures......they will say teach Science and Maths in Chinese or BM, but then they will send their kids overseas to US, Australia and England where education is in English. What hypocrites!

By the way, I voted for PR in the last election. I voted for a change towards a just and more progressive society.
written by wood, July 01, 2009 22:41:41
Dr. M , I beg to differ. If the basic foundation of English is not there, will teaching Maths and Science in English be that effective.? Can we build the KLCC with a weak foundation?
Stop the rot and debate and start to train more English teachers and once that is done then have more English lessons per week in the primary schools. We have to do it right the first time. Not try to fix it after we have messed it up!
written by HamChak, July 01, 2009 22:56:33
I recall yor policies of BUY English Last
Speak English Last, Write English Last and
Learn English Last. Why the sudden change of heart, aah?
You Ok or not?
written by SiHangChai, July 01, 2009 23:19:23
Bahasa Mahathir is the new language in Malaysia where every words and sentences are structured crookedly
written by Milo, July 02, 2009 00:06:25
TDM got a point. English is the language of science and maths internationally. The question that should be debated is HOW we can strengthen English, especially in these two areas, in terms of implementation. The chinese schools do have reason to fear as they are strong in maths and perhaps even science. Their concern should be recognised. If you start sending in lousy teachers to teach the subjects (which they fear if the teaching of these two subjects in english is implemented), the standard will drop. Their fear may or may not be valid, but it merits considerations if standard is a concern. We have to bear in mind that it was both short sightedness and bad implementation in the past that have destroyed our children's capacity to excel in english. We cannot afford another "solution" that can cause future problems of another variety.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 02, 2009 01:12:57
Even the timbuktuians know this.it is not a great discovered truth which is being revealed by the great discoverer Mahaathir but behind close doors your VC's and deans of all the public U's screwed it up and you kept your TRAP shut at that time.
22 years later suddenly you discovered English was important?before that you played the game of Melayu boleh for political and racist reasons.after you step down you want to look good.
written by rockli, July 02, 2009 08:38:07
So now Mahathir finally realised that English is the right medium.
He was in power for 22 years - rule with an iron fist yet allowed the English language to be eroded that at least one generation of Malaysians lost the ability to even speak good English.
So now that generation is now coming out to teach other young Malaysians English. How can they teach GOOD ENGLISH when they do not know GOOD ENGLISH.
M should not have allow the Education ministry 20 or so years ago to give BM total significance.
He probably thought that BM is on par with the German language or other European langs. where schools n universities teach in own their langs.
This current problem of students not catching up in English is solely caused by him.
- the Father of POOR ENGLISH Malaysians.

written by bikerzon, July 02, 2009 09:52:08
For once, I agree with TDM. We should use English as medium for instruction for Math and Science.

Don't use this as a political tool!!!!

Too tired of politic....
written by Rhan, July 02, 2009 10:07:28
Why he remained in power for 22 years and no one could put up a challenge? Because he has a complete understand of our mind. We would continue to say, “for once, we agree....." every few years.

This is the distinction between a great and naïve mind.
written by elmo world, July 02, 2009 14:55:58
I 100% agree with "generalhonest"

To those who support teaching mathematics and science in BM or Chinese, what a load of crap! You guys are selfish and don't know the difference between education from your own racist mentality. Think about your future generation first!