Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow LIM GUAN ENG LIES TO THE POOR AND HELPLESS

LIM GUAN ENG LIES TO THE POOR AND HELPLESS PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 16:05

By Wong Mung Chee

A REPLY AND CHALLENGE TO GUAN ENG

Dear Guan Eng

I read with care your posting on the call to HINDRAF to wake up and not blame you for the people’s predicament. 

You may well remember (or perhaps you and your kuncu-kuncu have now forgotten) that before the last General elections these residents of Kg.Buah Pala did see you and your Kuncus to highlight their problem. Mind you they were already at that time battling a losing war in the Malaysian Courts of Injustice. You and your kuncus made promises that should you win and take over the State you would give the people of Kg.Buah Pala a SOLUTION.

You can’t be as stupid as you sound. You know pretty well what you are talking about.  The losing LEGAL battles of these poor and defenseless people are separate matter all together so I repeat “DON’T PRETEND TO BE A FOOL AND NOT UNDERSTAND AND APPRECIATE THE ISSUE AT HAND.” Do not hide behind the Federal Court Ruling and say that you respect and uphold the Rule of Law. The residents are now not talking about the decision of the Federal Court but THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE SOLUTION THAT YOU HAD PROMISED THEM BEFORE THE ELECTIONS. In any event if you had respected the Rule of Law why then did you when you were jailed many years ago claim that you were wronged by the decision of the highest court of Law. If you respect the Rule of Law that you are talking about then we should all accept and refer you as EX CONVICT, the CM of Penang.

Now coming back to the issue of SOLUTION you knew pretty well even before the elections that the SOLUTION lies in the LAND ACQUISATION ACT but somehow now you pretend to play dumb by talking about the Ruling of the Federal Court and that you do not have powers to question the said Ruling.

The ONLY PERSON in the State of Penang who can find the solution is you as you are the sole person under the above act who could ACQUIRE THE LAND for these poor people. Let us not deviate from The Court Rulings or the wrong doing of the previous government or UMNO blah!! blah!!. Those are separate matters which need to be addressed by the authorities in the country and as a Parliamentarian I would expect you to make a big ha!!! Ha!!! in parliament on this and not foolishly try to deviate by attacking HINDRAF.

Shame on you Guan Eng as even as an ordinary layman I can see the manipulation of your words.

Now coming back to the LAND ACQUISATION ACT, perhaps you may want to read the following sections and seek proper legal help- Sec 3,8, 18,19,21,22,36,49,58,60,63.

Well I don’t want to go on the whole lot of the act but let me remind you of your mighty powers as a Chief Minister under

Section 3 (1) The State authority may acquire any  land which is needed

(a)  for any public purpose

(b)  for any purpose which in the opinion of the State authorities beneficial to the ecomonic development of Malaysia...or to public generally or any class of public                                      

Now the question is why are you refusing to use this power conferred upon you???? Answer this Guan Eng and don’t pretend to be like a fool hiding behind the decision of the Federal Court. Yes the Court has made a decision but these people have been battling their losing war long before you became the CM. Now that they have lost they are asking you to fulfill your election promises which are separate matters.

Perhaps now that you sit in that mighty seat of yours you have forgotten your promises because at the time of making those promises you knew you wouldn’t fulfill it anyway so what the heck. Now do you stand to benefit from the developing project which would enrich an UMNO company? Perhaps you have been promised a cut by UMNO I don’t know!!!!

But you are answerable to the rakyat why you are refusing to use the above sections.

Yes maybe you have prevented the demolition of the Kg since last year. But you didn’t have to use your mighty power to do that – only the power of persuasion that you held as Chief Minister.

We may be simple people but we understand well the meaning and difference between the power of persuasion and the absolute power you hold as a CM.

Thank you for providing all the minute details of the dealings between the previous CM and the UMNO linked company but that smells of corrupt practice by the previous Government. Why are you saying all these only now – even so it is a matter public interest that as a responsible CM you should have lodged Police reports against the BN culprits and not shift the blame on HINDRAF to demonstrate against the BN. You may well bring this to the Parliament- and I ask you why now Guan Eng ???? Were you trying to cover up for them????

Let me now take a passage from your writing:

“The Penang state government regrets the highly irresponsible and irrational actions of Hindraf in targeting the Penang state government over the actions taken by the developer to evict residents in Kampung Buah Pala. Hindraf wants the state government to act against the court order obtained by the developer to evict the residents. This the state government can not do as Pakatan Rakyat governs under the rule of law and is compelled to respect any court order issued.”

HINDRAF or the Kg People never said anywhere that “they wanted you to act against the court order”. Let us be focused Guan Eng don’t be mischievous. Don’t say things that were never said or else you will be “torched” as a liar. Don’t have an addition to the Ex convict pangkat you already have.

Yes no doubt the eviction is by the Capitalist Developers. But again only you have the power to stop this by invoking your power under Sec 3 on grounds of PUBLIC INTEREST. The people are angry because you are not doing anything on the eviction WHEN YOU COULD ACQUIRE THE LAND.

Now lets see this;

“On the other hand, there have been suggestions that the Penang state government forcibly acquires the land under for a public purpose under the Land Acquisition Act. Doing so would play into the hands into the developer who would be able to reap enormous profits without putting in a single cent.”

What do you mean by saying doing so would mean to allow the developer to reap enormous profits without putting a single cent ?? Come on, those guys paid for it albeit for a lesser price.

“Much as the Penang state government would wish to do, cancelling the project and forcibly acquiring the land would incur costs beyond the financial capability of the state government. We are NOT talking about millions of ringgit or tens of millions of ringgit here!”

Ooi!!! are you saying you are going to lose hundreds of millions of ringgit here, when the land was forcibly cheated from the villagers for merely about 3 million at value but now within few years it has rocketed to hundreds of millions. But read the official statement given by your own assemblyman for Komtar and your Political  Secretary today in Malaysiakini that the State would need RM 30 million to compensate the developers.

So which is which now Guan ENG- hundreds of million or 30 million. Are you trying to do a BN on us by claiming hundreds of millions out of this whole sage and then shortchange the “poor and helpless developer” by paying them peanuts of 30 million ringgit?????

Look at the second line of the above statement- “canceling the project”- canceling whose project Guan ENG? Why are you so worried about the developers having to cancel their project. The Acquisition Act does not provide for compensation for “cancelled projects”. I wonder why you seem to worry for them. Are you losing your commissions????

In any event why jump the gun on the amount to be compensated by the State Government in event of ACQUISITION????. The procedures on payment come much after a long procedure to be complied by your state as per Sections 18 – 35. Those are clear procedures and in event the compensation are not agreed upon by the developer then go to Part V of the Act ie Section 36-51.

To cut a long story short the amount of compensation to be paid are to be determined by the Land Administrator after valuations and survey. If this award is not accepted the developer is not entitled to go to Court and he needs the cooperation of the Land Administrator to take it up to the Court.

Even in Court look at section 40 (2), the Court would have to appoint 2 assessors and there is a whole list of possible reputable persons who could assist the Judge on the assessment of compensation.
So Guan Eng Look at the Act clearly- Do you now fear the “Rule of Law” that you highly spoke about.

Its funny when it comes to the point of protecting the poor and helpless, it is decided arbitrarily but when it comes to the right of the Capitalist Developers the whole works of the system are with them- The Judiciary, Government and its Machinery, Police, Lawyers, Politicians and the latest the “great political party which championed the rights of the people DAP”.

So Guan Eng stop the lie of having to pay out hundreds of millions of compensation. The poor people need protection and not your lies.

Even publicly you go around stating that each family is given $200,000.00 which is unsubstantiated. You know what I mean, tell me frankly are you sure of this fact as it will haunt you in your attempt to hoodwink the public. Speak to the families and see who is getting $200,000.00 if you really care. You never got to the root of the problem but decided to play the BN game to save your own skin.               

Do not divert to Hindraf not demonstrating against other party- the point is at the moment, as it stands you and only you have the POWER and if you do not exercise it for the benefit of the poor and helpless who had legally occupied the Land under trust for 200 years until they were cheated then why the hell did the people give you the power????

You don’t have to talk about the first Indian Deputy Chief Minister. Mind you if not for Waytha Moorthy issuing statements and demanding for a Deputy Chief Minister immediately after the General elections you wouldn’t even have bothered to put your puppet Ramasamy.

Don’t pull the wool by saying DAP did this and that for the Indians. Yes you would have done it but so what? Isn’t that your duty.

I do not want to comment on your other points meant to divert from the main issue at hand ie ACQUISITION.

THE PEOPLE OF KG BUAH PALA ARE FOCUSSED AND KNOW EXACTLY WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT AND SO DO YOU. STOP THE NONSENCE OF PRETENDING IGNORANCE AND GET TO THE POINT GUAN ENG. I DARE YOU REFUTE MY WRITE UP.

I can be reached at This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by mountainking, July 01, 2009 16:13:16
wong mung chee

sounds like some poor soul from Gerakan who has lost the state and now barking like a dog.

OK, coming back to this issue, I didn't really follow but if all the arrangement was done previously by the Gerakan led government, then it's Gerakan who has to answer to the villagers.

Well, you said maybe he can now help by compensating, I hope this is not the dirty tricks to be done by BN govt to keep dragging themselves into mud and when PR govt takes over, they will be saddled with all these mess.

For Guan Eng, i hate to ask you what to do, but the current Penang govt just have to bite the bullet and help the villagers. Remember it's the Gerakan govt that sold the land to the developers.
agree 159
written by longskyee, July 01, 2009 16:20:46
Hi Mr,

U said LGE lie to poor, can I ask you whether previous government lie to them as well ? Did you ever write any open letter to condemn what previous people is doing? If you are not, then please dun show that you are really care for these people.

There is thousand of cases whereby wrongdoing from previous government but did you dare to write any open letter to condemn these people as well ? If yes, please do so or lodge police report if you have any evident. We Malaysian glad to see you to fight for justice.
agree 181
written by Wisdom above, July 01, 2009 16:25:20
...'the poor and helpless who had legally occupied the Land under trust for 200 years until they were cheated '.

Your legal argument 'Trust' precedence of UK do not apply in Malaysia ?

Just allocate another piece of land at sebarang prai for them to rebuild their homes, Ok !
written by est, July 01, 2009 16:32:12
If nothing can be done to reverse decision made by previous government, I am sure the state government can look into possibility of relocation.

But let the developer settle their part by paying their compensation first, if any.
written by Jan, July 01, 2009 16:35:33
I don't know if LGE or DAP promised you anything but he must have realised after coming into govt there's a lot more to it than meets the eye. Are we going to press him to acquire the land for the sake of letting squatters continuing to squat on the land? What sort of "public interest" is that?
written by AhSeng, July 01, 2009 16:43:36
"If you respect the Rule of Law that you are talking about then we should all accept and refer you as EX CONVICT, the CM of Penang." Wong Mun Chee

This person wants us to treat him seriously. Can Ar?
written by Urangsabah, July 01, 2009 16:46:52
Mun Yee must be waiting for this oppotunity to srtike back. look like UMNOed MCA/Gerakan, Sound Like UMNOed MCA/Gerakan.could it be UMNOed MCA/Gerakan.Mun Yee $12.5 billion scandal nothing to you. It ok is it. Just my 2 cts bit, UMNO & All UMNOed Goons are hoping with the bashing of PR by Waytha, Mun Yee and all others, UMNO expect PR to self destruct. Now looking like Waytha is already MICed and UMNOed Mun Yee, wow his stats and info seem to have been meticulously prepared maybe by Ling Gum Pooh. Look like the licker of UMNO is eyeing CM Post, Federal Misnister post, could be lucrative.
written by wood, July 01, 2009 16:48:10
To settle this matter as I see it there must be give and take by all concerned.
written by AhSeng, July 01, 2009 16:48:43
Perhaps now that you sit in that mighty seat of yours you have forgotten your promises because at the time of making those promises you knew you wouldn’t fulfill it anyway so what the heck. Now do you stand to benefit from the developing project which would enrich an UMNO company? Perhaps you have been promised a cut by UMNO I don’t know!!!! - Wong Mun Chee

Initially, I want to refute Wong's write up with reasons, but having read thru the second time, it is ok just to say **** off, you idiot!
written by tanwi, July 01, 2009 16:50:55
Even if Penang Govt can acquire back the land, it has to pay a price. Buying back the land at lets say 30 million for 200 people may not be justified.

Of course cancelling a project is a big deal because it hurts the reputation of Malaysia. Putting corruption aside, this is a commercial deal on a willing buyer/seller basis. How would the business world regard this cancellation? Yes although the deal was done during BN's time, the business world would still conclude that Malaysia Govt does not have the ability to administrate deals (which is not a surprise).

Letter is purely emotional and has no value.
written by Arowana, July 01, 2009 16:52:57
dear Wong Mung Chee,

If I'm not mistaken, we've shook hands before in one of Gerakan functions before in Penang though I never knew you much more than that. Please be reminded that CM Lim has to be firm in collective exco decisions. Anything less will mean a weak CM and it will be even worse thereafter. More demands will follow suit. Guaranteed.

Mr.Wong, have you been in jail fighting justice for non-Chinese? I guess you have not.
written by Sinewy, July 01, 2009 17:03:47
Wong Mung Chee, I have the pleasure to go through many land deals and once premiumpaid, the state cannot just acquire the land as they please for heaven sake. The land owner has to be properly compensated at market valuation and they have the right to challenge the state government if they are not happy with the compensation. It looks like you Wong Mung Chee just want to make some political mileage for your own agenda...
written by Sinewy, July 01, 2009 17:06:20
Oh by the way, I am sure Wong Mung Chee has a lot of bashing to do against loads of misdeed by the UMNO/BN government all over and I am eagerly waiting to read these interesting Wong Mung Chee bashings...
written by ultraman, July 01, 2009 17:12:30
Wong Mun Chee,
You sound like a 'champion'. But i beg to differ. You are nothing but talking rot. to acquire the land you still need money! Millions and not thousands. Why not you direct your comment to Koh? He is the cause of the trouble. Geakan is the cause.If Guan eng decided to acquire the land, he will be using our money(Penangites). We cannot afford that.As stated by writer up there, you must be a member of GERAKAN.
written by AhSeng, July 01, 2009 17:12:50
Sinewy, I am afraid Wong is losing credibility with this article, and I am being fair here, even for an opportunist.
written by No nonsense, July 01, 2009 17:14:05
you think your are protecting Hindraf but in actual fact you are another Bn. May I ask Who sold the land? Who benefited on the land deal? The last State gorv., did all these did you come out and blast them. Now the rakyat has to come up with another pile of RM to right the wrong of the gerakan.
written by MalaysianFirst, July 01, 2009 17:16:11
Dear YB Guan Eng,
Don't waste your time responding to trash. I've wasted mine reading it. This chap's article is not even worth the space in MT. Utter nonsense.
written by AsamLaksa, July 01, 2009 17:16:32
Funny way of using the law. Land Acquisition Act as far as I can see has the aim to give power to the state to acquire land for a public purpose where otherwise the owners of the land would not readily allow it. The flip side is that the land have to be bought, not acquired for free.

Saying that, jumping for the law is not the best way forward. The first step is always to negotiate. Only when this fails would the law be used because using the law is open to challenges and may take longer to achieve your goal.

I would also be interested to know if the Penang state government would be easily challenged by the landowner(s) if it uses the Land Acquisition Act. Would the state government need to justify the acquisition, and if so would they need to show a reasonable use of the acquired land?

I am also perturbed that the "solution" has to mean the return of the land. I have yet to find any reference of a guarantee that the land would be returned under the PR state government. A solution may mean something else.

I find the argument of cost valid as well as even though the state government has the power, it may not be able to afford it.

The best result would be for the landowner(s) to sell the land back cheaply to the state government as part of a deal for alternate development. It's all about making deals. The use of the law should be the last resort.
written by mikewang, July 01, 2009 17:21:00
Wong Mung Chee,

1. You have conveniently left out the $$$ in your quote of the Land Acquisition Act.

Article 12 clause 13 of the federal constitution says " No law shall provide for the compulsory acquisition or use of property without adequate compensation."

Moreover, to spend tens of millions of tax payers money to acquire a piece of land so that the squatters can continue to squat is NOT beneficial to the economic well being of Penang and Malaysia.

2. If indeed YAB Lim Guan Eng had promised a solution to the residents, what makes anyone think that the correct solution is to allow the residents to continue squatting on that piece of land ?
Why don't we allow him room for ingenuity in handling this ?
written by astroace, July 01, 2009 17:28:59
Dear Wong Mung Chee,

You sounded very bitter.

Penang has got more pressing matters to settle with very limited fundings from the federal government. The problems you are facing are caused by the previous state government. They created all these shit and nobody dared to make any noise including you. What do you expect from one year of service with so much obstacles laid out from little napoleons. Miracle ?

Give LGE a chance, his destiny is to serve the people and he will do it right.
written by InEffective, July 01, 2009 17:31:44

Well i hope LGE steps up to this issue, and provide a path-to-ownership for these villagers, instead of allowing land expropriators to lift homes and assets via the collusion of politicians (past and present) and our 'for-sale' judicial officers.

Very similar to the New villages in Perak - denied for years the opportunity to buy and own the lands due to strategic racial exclusions policies of our governing politicians.
written by hiro, July 01, 2009 17:37:32
Thanks Malaysia Today for publishing this letter so that we Malaysians can bash the writer. I agree with some of the commentators that LGE should just let his junior officers get back to this guy. It's a dare from him, so it's obvious he wants publicity. In fact, it's so glaring because he's gotten so personal as to attack the man and not the arguments.

He's actually tripping over himself trying to jump on the bash LGE bandwagon. For instance, is RM30mil a really small sum considering the Federal Government being the big bully is already cutting down allotment for Penang? Best part is he first accused LGE of not addressing the issue of his power to use the Land Acquisition Act, and then he disagreed with LGE's interpretation of the Land Acquisition Act! How's that for logic and consistency?

That said, as I have suspected that LGE will need to eventually address, perhaps it's time for the Exco to set out the chronology of events the the precise "promises" which LGE has made to these guys. It's only fair Malaysians know the facts for good measure so that they may retain their faith in the CM.

I'm also interested to know how many people took up the RM200,000 offer. If there's a lot of them, then those who are staying behind have even less reason to be so pissed off.
written by fearless, July 01, 2009 17:46:08
Article 12 clause 13 of the federal constitution says " No law shall provide for the compulsory acquisition or use of property without adequate compensation."

===

I agree with MikeWang on this point, my friend has challenged Johor government in court for inadequate compensation for his house and land. Johor government retreated and has to find other land to build a new PLUS interchange in Simpang Lima Tangkak.
written by jason, July 01, 2009 17:55:35
Ah Wongmungchee you claim to be a layman but you are not. The things you know about land acquisition and laws seems to me you are a man in the know. Definitely not a layman as you claim.
The sarcastic remarks about LGE ex convict is really hitting below the belt. LGE was jailed fighting for social justice not cheating some poor folks, remember?. To you RM30mil you said is peanuts, you must be filthy rich. How much did you make writing this write up? RM50mil?. Maybe you could use your own money(only RM30mil, peanuts to you) to help those poor people.
Coming back to your acquisition, didn't it sound too familiar like the BN style, by hook or crook or whatever it takes to get it done even though a writ has been issued by the Federal Court. This is what LGE means 'respect the rule of law.' You wanted LGE to go against the Fed Court order and make him looks arrogant and stupid, didn't you?
Good try. I am not buying.
written by educationist, July 01, 2009 18:13:38
Yes, Wong seems to be playing politics.
That aside, the residents of Kg Pala do deserve help.
Well, a month has been set aside for a agreeable solution.
Perhaps people like Wong who believes LGE can change the whole status qou by the stroke of a man should show him how to do it!
In the meantime the PR state government better get cracking and figure out how to help these soon to be homeless residents!!
written by ultraman, July 01, 2009 18:14:12
Hoi Ah Chee Ma,
Your Koh Tsu Koon. Ask him to come out to help out those villagers. He is hiding himself for so long.He dared not show up in pg
written by Thinkwisely, July 01, 2009 18:26:12
I don't understand all these politicians. They are just busy attacking each other and yet when come to solution no one will do the action.

So if WMC challenge LGE, then it is only wise to see WMC or BN to do something to help no just attack and counter attack.
written by johntyc, July 01, 2009 18:58:55
First, LGE, you should not criticize Hindraf, it is their right to raise any issue or target any politician!

Second, WMC, so what LGE an ex-convict. He highlight a statutory rape case by the Chief Minister of Malacca and they charged him for Sedition! He's one respected ex-convict.
written by storm62, July 01, 2009 19:17:40
wong mung kee, you're barking at the wrong tree.
written by ylcc, July 01, 2009 19:39:11
The money belongs to the Penangites, and it is not upto the government to use on a selected few to win mileage. I am sure LGE had kept his promise to help. It is just that he never guaranteed that his help would yield results. It was Gerakan who dirtied the place, so it should be Gerakan to clean up the mess. I would expect someone who mess up my home to clean it up. This is call responsibility.

As for this guy, to call LGE an ex-convict (thru the courtesy of his ex-buddies), just shows how shallow, jealous, spiteful, and revengeful he is for the failure of Gerakan to not win in Penang. Taking it out on the present government is not going to make him a better person.
written by ylcc, July 01, 2009 20:02:07
Who is name calling here? The readers or the writer? Please explain ex-convict in simple English to everyone. Was LGE a murderer? Was LGE a convict? Was LGE a thief? All LGE did was to try to help a Malay girl who was raped. What are you talking about? We are not an under-developed country. No one is a destitute here. We first have to help ourselves before someone can help us. If I have no money, I would go around houses to be a maid to survive, and I would be proud of myself as I did not beg. Why did not these people protest in the beginning when they had a better chance of defending themselves?
written by DezMalaysia, July 01, 2009 20:16:54
Wong Mung Chee,

When it comes to do the real work, do you think BN/UMNO will stand there and do nothing when CM LIM flexes his executive power to intervene into court orders? CM Lim may use his powers (Land Acquisation Act), and don't forget UMNO/BN is waiting closely for a sweet chance to eliminate him even a minor non-mistake.

Section 3 (1) The State authority may acquire any land which is needed
(a) for any public purpose
(b) for any purpose which in the opinion of the State authorities beneficial to the ecomonic development of Malaysia...or to public generally or any class of public

So you saying it public interests or illegal squatter's interests? Those are squatters! And, those squatters had benefitted for some 200years (inclusive of BN's 50 years) and a year under PR State Government. What more to ask for? You're fighting along with those squatters for another 49years of free cukai pintu & free cukai tanah? Hallo! Where's the fairness for other legitimate property & land owners?

You talk something about laws. Do you know that those are illegal occupation on, previously State government's land & now on an UMNO private land? They can be charge for trespassing! Why didn't you provide us with those long long laws for illegal occupation & trespassing?

Promise is a promise. A Law is a law! The law is above a promise.

If I promise you that I will kill that C4 Najib bugger for you after you help me with some votes for me to be elected as an MP in Dewan Rakyat, and the law the clearly state that it's illegal for me to do so, you still want me to go ahead?

Mung Chee, you yelled like a naive kid. Reveal your political colors, then talk ! Don't act like a neutral. Where were you when other Malay Squatter Kampungs at other states are demolished? So why bark now and not those days when Khir Toyo & Abdul Ghani send in the police to evict Malay squatters?

save your challenge. bark more on PKFZ before you talk on Kampung Setinggan.
written by Ayoyo, July 01, 2009 21:08:58
Kg Buah Pala issue is very simple legally:-

1. The residents there were initially squatters. They stayed on the land for free for many years (donkey years). After staying on the land for years they become legally licence occupiers - i.e. they are no longer squatters but occupiers with consent from the land owner;

2. Now the land owner can always revoke that licence e.g by selling the land. How much they sell the land for is of course the landowner's business;

3. Once the land owner sells the land, they will inform the occupiers that the consent has been revoked and they have to move out (hey, don't forget you have stayed on this land for free for donkey years-you had it good man-while the rest of us have to buy our own land!!!);

4. Many land owners out of goodwill will give "compensation" which is not a right the occupiers have becuase in M'sia our land law do not grant us "equity" i.e squatters can claim the land is theirs (like UK). The "compensation" is given as a "goodwill" thing. So, occupiers with licence if smart, should just take the "compensation" and moved out (again don't forget you never paid anything for the land for donkey years !!!);

5. Those who refuse to move are often being given wrong legal advise. They think they have a right to the land (which they dont);

6. FC decision is right. If your licence to occupy the land has been revoke, you should move out. If you did not take the "compensation" then you have been very stupid ;

7. The previous state governement have the right to sell the land if they are the land owners. How much they sell it for is their problem and they are answerable to the people of Penang for making a lousy deal with the buyer;

8. For the present state government to buy back the land for these few miserable occupiers (now illegal occupiers)so that they can continue to stay on the land for free or cheaply is really too much. You had ot good for donkey years, so please dont keep asking for more. Think how much money you have saved by not having to own your own house like the rest of us who have to work and get a house loan;

9. The problem with many M'sian squatters is they think the land owners owe them a living. Everytime they are ask to evict they start to demand their right to the land;

10. Do not confuse these squatters with the Perak Land Title cases because these people lost their land in the first palce to the government (i.e their own land was confiscated). These Kg Buah Pala people do not own the land in the first palce-they are just staying there for FREE for DONKEY years;

11. Do you think they have the right now to ask the state government to buy back the land for them ???? If I am the CM, even I would not do such a thing . Do they deserve it in the first palce? What remaining Hindu heritage? my foot !!!!

written by est, July 01, 2009 22:23:34
If these people stayed there and they have the titles to the land, then its a different matter.

But if they have been staying there but did not have title, and the land belongs to private parties then if their license to stay in being revoked by the owners, they have to pack up and go.

But if the land is indeed owned by government and government has sold it to private then the question is why is the government doing this. In the name of development, there need to be a fine balance drawn here. We cannot allow people to stay on forever and deny development. But at the same time, government should must be humane enough to consider the plight of these people who are being evicted from government land. Government must be allowed to dispose land for development BUT they must consider possible alternatives for these people to go.

There is a difference between responsibilities of private enterprise and government towards people living on their land. Government no matter what cannot just sell their land (they called it alienated) when there are people living on it. They must take into account what consequence that follows.
written by wood, July 01, 2009 22:44:33
I am shocked at the way the above article is written and I feel sorry for you too.!
Barking up the wrong tree and if need to bark , bark properly lah.!
written by SiHangChai, July 01, 2009 23:23:55
Mr Wong Chee Mun, please get your fact rights before attacking the Chief Minister. You are no difference than the Penang Gerakan Youth Chief for letting talking ass without first; doing a research and vetting with the Penang Indians (no mamak please). If you and your Gerakan party can think of trying to discredit and creating racial discontent, I would suggest you as as a candidate to challenge LGE in next election; otherwise, keep quiet and don't throw accusation when a lot were damages done by your party Gerakan for more than 20 years in Penang.
written by Commonsenses, July 02, 2009 00:19:41
Wong Mung Chee, Koh tsu koon can't solve it when he was CM and UMNO's puppet and with Federal funding. How can LGE solve the problem without Federal funds and Land fruad created by ex BN goverment hanging over the Penang Government.Another Gerakan arse hole talking.
written by Ulan Benson, July 02, 2009 00:27:22
Wong Chee Mun, you are an excellent writer. Unfortunately, your wisdom is too shortsighted and shallow.

Penang is blessed with a good CM now. LGE has to clean all the shits left by the previous GERAKAN crooks. And yet, you try to block his path by writing rubbish. Please pray often to clear your evil intents or do something positive to help build Penang to be a better place.

Greed will be bring you harm. Repent and follow the Buddha path. You will attain peace someday. May Buddha bless you. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by freerpk, July 02, 2009 08:34:26
If these people want to bark let them bark at the original govt who sold the land, go and see Koh Soo Koon. Why should the present Penang govt pay even a single sen for something that they were not responsible for. After all, whatever money the Penang govt has belongs to all the people of Penang for development not just for the squatters @ High Chaparral
written by lamakawan, July 02, 2009 09:14:11
This must be a disgruntled Indian writing under a Chinese name. These are pot stirrers, Guan Eng. You cannot please everyone in the state. It is the majority that counts in a democracy. What more when they are squatters?
Remember, even the BN people came across these types of people?
We can only do that much in a democracy under democratic laws.
Continue your work and we shall see the fruits of your labour before the next general elections.
written by est, July 02, 2009 09:44:11
"...Majority that counts in democracy?" Don't be mistaken! Democracy is about ensuring that minority don't get squeezed. Democracy is about giving a voice to every one including the minority. It's not about giving priority to minority. But it is about protecting the rights of minority as well. The majority have a collective voice that can "bully" the minority. If democracy is about just the majority, then the outcome will be dire.
written by Rozlan, July 02, 2009 09:54:38
Those Kampung Buah Pala resident are not poor and helpless.They squatted on others land.Then they demand obnoxious compensation for removing them.They were offered low cost house as well some ex gratia ranging from RM140K to RM300K.

What more they want?They were not the owner.Now the owner want it back.It seem the villagers want it for free.Then they start harping racial issues.Did they they ever tried to buy the lands in previous years.It seem to me they dont want to spend a single cent for it

Nothing much LGE could do .The papers hand been properly signed and cour torder had been issued..
written by thumb, July 03, 2009 17:43:35
Mr.Wong Mung Chee, you talk as if you know all, where were you when this incident first cropped up years ago. You could have high lighted it then, kick up the dirt. Now you want LGE to go against the court and end up in jail like he did for the Malay girl in Malacca. You must be a typical Gerakan barker.
written by ABU SAYAB, July 03, 2009 21:15:22
If the state doesn't has the money,maybe leaders from the Pakatan and Hindraft come together to start a "Kg.Buah Pala's Fund" to solve this issue.
I can say PR supporters will be kind enough to chip in.