Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAS faction determined to talk to Umno

PAS faction determined to talk to Umno PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 14:02
By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

After failing to hold unity talks with Umno, the conservative faction of the Islamist party is now pushing for an “intellectual” discussion with Umno Youth, in a sign that the fiasco has not been laid to rest.

PAS Youth chief Nasrudin Hassan, in a joint press conference with Umno Youth deputy chief Datuk Razali Ibrahim today, said the talks are aimed at resolving the political standoff between the two parties.

Nasrudin added that the talks will be beneficial to the Malaysian public.

“We hope this will be the beginning of many more discussions and to have an intellectual culture in solving problems,” Nasrudin said.

But such an open sign of cooperation between the two political rivals could spark off a fresh round of concern among both their partners in Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Rakyat (PR).

The PAS flirtation with Umno over the possibility of forming a unity government had caused serious fissures not only within the Islamist party but also among its PR partners, the DAP and PKR.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by DezMalaysia, July 01, 2009 14:08:53
Some idiot corrupted PAS leaders... why dont they just join UMNO and don't mess with PR Alliance. Sick of those untrustworthy hypocrites in "ketayap". Looks like enemy is in our houses especially in PKR & PAS. DAP gotta watch your back too. No exception. Hee bitch is one example what money can buy.
written by DanDan, July 01, 2009 14:18:01
High time for Tok Guru Nik Aziz to pluck out the torns in PAS before it turns septic.
written by Oscar Winner, July 01, 2009 14:20:58
Sometimes I wonder between both UMNO and PAS which side is thinking "I am hollier than thou. You join me and I shall lead you back to the right path". Both, sometimes I tend to believe.

PAS' top leadership have decided not to flirt with UMNO. Apparently this Youth leader Nas is a nasty boy, blatantly going against the party top guns. On the same note, UMNO Youth deputy chief is going against his chief KJ who has called for an end to race-based politics (assumning he is sincere lah). So, why are these two chaps sitting together in a joint press conference? Hello, unity within your own party members first la before talking about unity government
written by ksauyong, July 01, 2009 14:42:33
'Intellectual' is something foreign or unknown to UMNO Youth. They are more familiar with 'Mat Rempit', 'bullying wheelchair MP', 'holding illegal demonstrations without fear of arrest' and 'kris welding'.
written by technoboy, July 01, 2009 14:42:52
Let's see if PAS can emulate LGE to discipline those who do not toe the line, removign Johari was the right thing to do. PR cannot afford little UMNO style warlord which if left unchecked will only cause its' own demise, we are seeing that in UMNO right now.
written by asguard, July 01, 2009 15:01:13
Simple as that the more PAS idiots meddle in unity talks.... there will a lot at stake.... non-malay voters determined to punish them if they proceed with the devils.... and no guarantee this majority votes will go for them again.... its time for them to choose to yes or no proposal and time running out faster then they can imagined! Not think that non malays is stupid at all.... vote or no vote at all...!
written by Catharsis, July 01, 2009 15:01:38
Nas you are definitely from MARS if you think you can change the "SPOTS" of ALI BABA and his 40 THIEVES...................
written by NSTPravda, July 01, 2009 15:29:12
pushing for an “intellectual” discussion with Umno Youth

Wow! this is brilliant...
Today it is intellectual discussion with UMNO youth..
Tomorrow it will be intellectual discussion with Mat Rempit..
This is progress indeed...
Well done, Rasuah sayang eh... dollar akbar!
written by kc respect, July 01, 2009 15:30:53
Now is time for the ERDOGANS and their grassroots to decide if they want to remain in PAS. PAS is OUT as far as non-Malays are concerned. If they can play UMNO's backside now, they can/will do it after GE 13. In GE 13 PAS will suffer the most.
written by kc respect, July 01, 2009 15:41:18
Rozlan......... PAS under Tok Guru did and is doing a great job in Kelantan.
PAS without Tok Guru & Erdogans is another special branch of UMNO.
written by Mark C, July 01, 2009 16:01:20
There is "PAS" and there is "PAS".

PAS has worked hard and together with their allies PKR and DAP has won many hearts and trusts of the Malaysian populace, but all will come to naught if this cancer is not treated and excised once and for all.

The very fact that those Islamists won high position on the recently concluded muktamar attest to the mentality of this party. Good, honest and selfless leaders like the revered Tok Guru is but a lone tweed against the other racists that is so prominently holding positions in the party.

"Melayu mudah lupa", echos Dr M. I reckon it's so apt that some ppl in PAS are opening their legs to be screwed by Ameno again. Guess who's going to lose the most, the rakyat...way to go, way to go.

written by Kathy, July 01, 2009 16:02:23
I am sure a split in PAS is inevitable. However, it is better that this matter is laid to rest now so that PAS knows exactly which direction it wants to take, thereby allowing its PR partners time to re-set their strategy for the next GE. For once I would like to see politicians behave as grown-ups should, i.e. be sensible. smilies/angry.gif
written by asiana888, July 01, 2009 16:16:58
If Nash is to be believed that this discussion will be beneficial to all Malaysian then all youth wings from other parties must also be invited. My guess is Nash and Hadi is sending feelers via umno youth any joining BN and nego positions for themselves. PAS will be split wider than Nadia's 180 degree floor split manuvre come GE13. PR better start planning new partners from East Malaysia.
written by mikewang, July 01, 2009 16:49:53
The PAS Youth chief is sabotaging Tok Guru Nik Aziz's by election campaign in Kelantan.
How can you ask people not to work with the devil while a faction of you cooperates with the devil ?
written by Wisdom above, July 01, 2009 16:51:26
PAS need cleaning up to weed out their own kinds who misbehaved ?

If not PAS will fade away like BeEND will fade away like an 'OLD SOLDIER' !

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace & Tranquility to prevail.

written by arazak, July 01, 2009 17:11:41
"Razali said that Umno Youth is committed to such intellectual discussions not because of political mileage but for the universal betterment of Malaysians".
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hello Razali,

Since when did UMNO are committed for the "universal betterment of Malaysians"?
From our past experience, UMNO is committed only for the betterment of themselves and their cronies.

As for Nasarudin Hassan, the PAS youth Chief, I suggest that he use a slightly loose "ketayap". It seems his "ketayap" is too tight. . ., it inhibits oxygen-carrying blood to flow to his brain.