Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Eviction deadline extended by a month

Eviction deadline extended by a month PDF Print
Wednesday, 01 July 2009 10:16

(NST) - There was no shortage of venom against state government leaders, especially Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng, as furious residents vented their anger over the Kampung Lorong Buah Pala issue.

A lawyer representing the group even went to the extent of chiding Pakatan Rakyat leaders who had promised to fight for the residents to the end.

Darshan Singh Khaira took a dig at Seri Delima assemblyman R.S.N. Rayer’s infamous “over my dead body” pledge, demanding for one now.

“We are also ready to prepare two graves,” he said at Komtar yesterday where the residents gathered to meet Lim but were left disappointed over his no show.

Darshan also accused Lim of lying to the public in his press releases over the issue.
“There has never been any RM200,000 compensation to the residents.

“In fact, I have a letter here dated Aug 17, 2007 from the landowner, offering compensation of between RM75,000 and RM90,000 to the chief tenants and house owners respectively,” he said, questioning Lim’s source of information.

Darshan also questioned why Lim was unable to show up when his administration was facing such an important issue.

“They (Pakatan Rakyat politicians) had all personally visited the residents at their homes in the village during the general election, soliciting for votes.

“Why are they running away now, ignoring us? Is this what CAT (Competency, Accountability and Transparency) is about?” he asked.

Lim’s failure to turn up to face the residents and accept their memorandum in person aused the residents to flare up and they lashed out at his political secretary Ng Wei Aik, who had been instructed to meet them.

“We are not interested to talk to your mandur (office boy). We just want to talk to CM,” the residents said to Ng, whose facial expression changed immediately.

The residents, seeing the change, said: “You don’t have to get emotional when we are the ones who are going to be kicked out of our homes.”

Ng, who appeared helpless, could only inform the unhappy residents that Lim had other commitments at the time.

When the situation got rowdy, police stepped in and gave them five minutes to disperse, which they did but were later invited to the 5th floor of Komtar.

There, the crowd continued to wait for Lim but he again failed to show up.

After a nearly three-hour wait, Deputy Chief Minister I Mansor Othman showed up and told the crowd that the developer had agreed to extend the eviction deadline by another month.

He also pledged a thorough investigation into the people’s claims.

The crowd finally agreed to hand over the memorandum to Mansor.

They also passed three resolutions during their five-minute meeting with Mansor:

• that the state government stop all intending eviction and demolition of the houses in Kampung Lorong Buah Pala;

• that the state government identify alternative sites for the developer and to gazette Kampung Lorong Buah Pala as a heritage Indian settlement; and

• to have three of their members on an investigation committee chaired by Mansor.

written by bugisman, July 01, 2009 10:33:30
LGE is not najib le... unless you have 'cucuk' case then you could meet him at his home at your own pleasure time to discuss the scholarship...

it's the previous BN issue and now the PR govt takes the punch for trying to solve the issue.

someone is behind it and tryin to incite racial agenda again... MIC or hindraf?
written by temenggong, July 01, 2009 11:18:52
Who lied about the RM 200,000 compensation offer? Who?

Even my squatter house in Bandar Sunway costs RM 350,000! smilies/grin.gif
written by mikewang, July 01, 2009 11:41:17
Is this the same lawyer ?
From the photos at http://anilnetto.com/, he looks like the same guy to me. smilies/smiley.gif

http://www.malaysianbar.org.my...2008-07-01
written by wood, July 01, 2009 12:24:21
CM LGE is not "god" ! There is always a limit in what a person can do in a certain time frame. So please give some time and even then the solution cannot be satisfactory always ! So if you think LGE is "God" then do not expect the "god" to see you as and when you want, unless you think you are a greater "God". smilies/wink.gif
written by Apache3, July 01, 2009 13:25:56
I say all this is instigation for political mileage by some unscrupulous person(s) defaming the PR Govt in Penang.
written by freerpk, July 01, 2009 13:35:33
This is the equivalent of the Palestinian problem with the Israel. Both lay claim to the same piece of land. I don't know if anyone really has a solution?????
written by utuhganal, July 01, 2009 13:51:30
"Even my squatter house in Bandar Sunway costs RM 350,000"

If one can afford to spend RM350,000 to build a squatter house, then one should be able to acquire a piece of land so that one does not need to squat illegally on other people's land. And when the land owner ask to evict, what one does? Demonstrate and blame the government.

I would prefer to stay in a low cost house rather than staying in an 'illegal' mansion. MALU LAH.
written by miwaki, July 01, 2009 14:47:21
It's always easier to blame someone for your own problem as it feels better that way.Guan Eng is no superman,he is just our CM,he can help but he can't guarantee he will deliver whatever demands your hearts desired.

Failure to stop eviction of residents of Buah Pala is not the end of Pakatan Rakyat's struggle,our goal is to form the next federal government and by that time,you can accuse Pakatan Rakyat for failing to get whatever you want.Even a wife !

written by temenggong, July 01, 2009 15:03:07
Read my lips, "no more demolitions".

Wife also want, but later, after taking over the federal govt. smilies/grin.gif
written by Kuku Burung, July 01, 2009 16:21:02
Is this lawyer from MIC? He,he,he