Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Nazri: IPCMC would have been “unconstitutional”

Nazri: IPCMC would have been “unconstitutional” PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 23:49
By Zedeck Siew
This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

KUALA LUMPUR: The government rejected the proposal to set up an Independent Police Complaints and Misconducts Commission (IPCMC) because its powers were "too broad" and unconstitutional.

"The IPCMC would have acted as investigator, prosecutor, judge, and executioner simultaneously," de facto Law Minister Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz told Parliament today.

"The (IPCMC) concept contravenes principles found in the Federal Constitution and existing laws," he added.

Nazri argued that the commission's powers to punish and indict would go against Articles 140 and 145 of the Federal Constitution. These articles concern the powers of the Attorney General and the Police Force Commission.

Nazri noted that constitutionally, the power to prosecute lay solely with the Attorney General.

Nazri, who is Minister in the Prime Minister's Department, was responding to a question from DAP parliamentary leader Lim Kit Siang during the debate of the Enforcement Agency Integrity Commission (Siap) Bill 2009 today. The Bill is currently in its second reading and is expected to be passed by the end of the current parliamentary sitting.

READ MORE HERE:

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2009 23:54:55
we all know that the UMNO regime will never run out of excuses to hang on to power, and be the lords for eternity. AMEN.
written by Arowana, July 01, 2009 00:10:34
"The IPCMC would have acted as investigator, prosecutor, judge, and executioner simultaneously"
Isn't this is what have been practicing all along? Nothing new to us. UMNO can always put your own people, Judges also can, why not?

Please don't be a hypocrite which we know you are definitely one.
written by supplier, July 01, 2009 00:19:48
These articles concern the powers of the Attorney General and the Police Force Commission.

Both are UNMO running dogs
written by concernedinmalaysia, July 01, 2009 00:23:13
Isn't that the point though? To have a body that polices the police?

I'm certain that if BN really wanted change then they would try to change the constitution like they have done many times in the past.
written by Ocassey, July 01, 2009 00:28:41
Nazri has the country's UMNOBARU/BN IPCMC already in place all these years and it swung into action.It has all the required machinery and acted swiftly to bring down the PR run state government ,dragging the legitimate Speaker,after hoisting him out of his Chair in such demeaning manners ,and then locked him for another hour in another room. This "IPCMC" truly had all the necessary machinery working in unison. Can this "IPCMC" be employed to dig into the cover up at Uncle Don's at Sri Hartamas?
written by johntyc, July 01, 2009 00:33:53
alright I get it. no one can punish bad police, period.
written by Wakeupmsia, July 01, 2009 00:35:53
Wow, many of us can be the De Facto Law Minister. Surely, we won't embarrass Malaysia. Just can't wait for the GE13. So long and advance goodbye, "Grandfather Silly" Nazri. I had a dream - NISB(Nazi in Sg Buloh).
written by chronos, July 01, 2009 00:57:32
Unconstitutional. Umno is concerned about not being constitutional. That's something unheard of in the 52 years that you've hijacked the country. Do you really care about upholding the law leave alone the Constitution, which you UMNO lots cannot even decipher.
written by fireduck, July 01, 2009 01:09:25
The Constitution is a Living Document. While the forefathers had the best of intention when that was drafted, any shortcomings can and should be addressed, and if necessary (not wantonly), amendments will have to be passed to take care of those shortcomings.

Narzi's comments hold no water at all. That is exeactly what the IPCMC is all about. First of all, the key operative word is Independent. Which part of that word does Narzi not understand?

Secondly, we are in sore need of an independent commission which carries with it the 'powers to indict and convict' those who abuse their powers or partake in corrupt practices. Not just another toothless tiger like Suhakam.

Thridly, Narzi, if he is really thinking of the good of our nation, should push for this piece of legislation to go through. For there is nothing worth mentioning about the country if the very forces, upon whom we place our trust to carry out impartial investigations, and upon whom we depend for our safety and security, are themselves the subject of distrust and scorn.

Narzi should have used this opportunity to help the PDRM redeem their institution which very unfortunately has been allowed to run down into the sewers because of the selfish interests of a few individuals in high office. But, this is Narzi, another one of those smart Ministers, like Rais, that Malaysia is so blessed with.
written by 1351, July 01, 2009 01:20:15
This idiot really takes the cake.

Hoi mangkuk bodoh, lay off the ganja lah !!! Stop making excuses protecting the indefensible. Continue with your fun and games but rest assured, you are one prime target I and many others will be too glad to throw the books at come 13th.GE.

Make sure your arse is clean, your ill gotten stash well hidden and accounted for. The moment the masses exercise all our mandates, there won't be too many places for you UMNO monkeys to run.

The years of carnage and plunder by UMNO has seen better days as we count down the days. As for your game plan to turn the masses against one another, won't work this time round Nazri.

If you didn't know already, my Malay brethren have woken up. They are wise and have eyes to see for themselves. Be prepared to face the wrath of all M'sians. This is no threat but a promise, a promise to leave no stones unturned, no amnesty shit no matter how your wails and cry for mercy. That said, I'll try make sure the blankets are clean in all cells in Sg.Buloh.

In high anticipation
written by parsona, July 01, 2009 01:48:17
This is coming from a party that vehemently defends the unconstitutional ISA, and has amended the constitution for god knows how many times. Yes, making the police force to be something that we can actually respect is unconstitutional. We must strive to maintain the corrupt police as it is, so BN can hold on to power. We must strive to let the police dogs do everything they want without repercussions. We must continue to allow the police to kill and detain civilians whenever they like.
written by Daryl, July 01, 2009 02:04:37
Monkey see monkey do. Suddenly the Federal Government and Royalty start to quote constitution this and that. ARGH.... If you want to use something make sure you know them well.
written by Admiral Tojo, July 01, 2009 02:17:22
You idiot Nazri, to investigate and take action if proven, we need an independent body such as the IPCMC. This should also be applied to any Government agency, Customs, Immigration etc. Bollocks to you Nazri for taking the people to be idiots as you. Minister konon, amat memalukan.

written by educationist, July 01, 2009 04:40:31
"...have acted as investigator, prosecutor, judge, and executioner simultaneously,"
Hmm.. sounds like the police to me!!
After the fact, now trying to find reasons for not acting, that's why this Nazri chap is shooting himself in the mouth.
written by freerpk, July 01, 2009 07:46:41
Why can't they just get into their heads that it doesn't matter what they call the commission or which department does what. All the people want is FAIR PLAY & JUSTICE to be done rather than main main
written by batsman, July 01, 2009 08:50:48
In that case change the constitution. UMNO has never shown any reluctance to change the consitution to suit their whims and fancies. In the case of IPCMC, I am sure the opposition will back up the changes to get the required 2 thirds.

BTW, the police are already acting as investigator, judge, jury and executioner. The difference is that the police report to UMNO while the IPCMC is supposed to be accountable to the people eventually.
written by onnetline, July 01, 2009 09:02:17
Nazri or the racist Najis's government will do away with anything that can be seen to undermine their hold on any Malaysian slave dogs ......... eg. PDRM, the AG dept.
written by astina, July 01, 2009 09:11:39
STUPIDITY at the highest ..
This guy seems to come out with one stupid excuse after another ..
Why cant this crap for a minister be oblivious to it ??...
written by Dominic, July 01, 2009 09:21:26
Nazri,isnt this good for the country as we are seen as keeping up with time and changes ? Or,because,this will hinder the police present way of corruption and inefficiency or because they are incapable and unqualified ? What about adopting part of the changes as recommended ?
written by shamadz72, July 01, 2009 09:31:43
And it is constitutional to bash a suspected car thief to death. Is it Nazri?

How about denying the right of the fiancee whose boyfriend has been killed by your son? Is that constitutional too?

written by Braino, July 01, 2009 09:35:01
Give us a break! Is corruption and custody abuse constitutional?
written by mikewang, July 01, 2009 09:40:58
Nonsense !

So much discretionary power under ISA has been put into the hands of the Home Minister for detention under ISA that cannot be questioned by any court.

Yet, we don't hear Nazri calling that unconstitutional.
written by NSTPravda, July 01, 2009 10:02:08
"The (IPCMC) concept contravenes principles found in the Federal Constitution and existing laws," he added.

We might add that the concept is subversive.. to the absolute power of the polis., part of the global jewish conspiracy, aid in alien abduction of our patriots, against HIslamic principles, so obscenely transparent that we can see the nudity of the gomen.

Rasuah sayang eh!
Dollar akbar!
written by Krepot, July 01, 2009 10:28:51
This is the REASON why the USA has graded us a Pariah Country!
What human rights da???

Nazri, you talk cock!
Idiots like you make us a Pariah Country!
written by Apache3, July 01, 2009 10:29:07
Nazri, I can feel you trying to cover the fear you guys have in this IPCMC issue. A lot of heads will roll if IPCMC is implemented. And further I don't see any problems with IPCMC in Hong Kong. It is so effective there and why can't it be over here. Please don't give us CRAP excuses.
written by ATSaari, July 01, 2009 11:44:13
Any measures taken towards the eradication of corruption, power abuse, nepotism, croynism and such are deemed UNCONSTITUTIONAL by UMNO standard. What are constitutional then? the current state of affairs?
written by ATSaari, July 01, 2009 11:46:30
How can we live in this BodohLand with a Meneteri BODOH like this. Don't speak lah Nazri if the thing you want to speak out smells like CRAP.
written by PRman, July 01, 2009 14:26:05
We don't need your lame excuse to insult our intelligence! If the IPCMC concepts work in other more advanced countries, why would it fail us? Enough said for Malaysia MP quality!
written by AsamLaksa, July 01, 2009 16:59:04
What an excuse! Why are taxpayers paying for a Minister of Excuses?

Seriously, the government needs to firstly admit that there is a problem and then sincerely find a solution. If it's unconstitutional or unfair, then modify it while keeping the spirit of the legislation. What, if it's unconstitutional or unfair we all raise our hands and give up???
written by Sabahfan, July 02, 2009 00:30:04
MORE EXCUSES TO JUSTIFY THE UMNO REGIME TO CLING TO POWER FOR ETERNITY...

AMEN AMEN....