Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Hocus Pocus At The Crystal Mosque

Hocus Pocus At The Crystal Mosque PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 16:17

By Syed Akbar Ali

From The Star :

‘Floating mat’ a sign to people

"KUALA TERENGGANU: The Terengganu chief imam has attributed the unusual occurrences at the Crystal Mosque here as a sign of the people distancing themselves from the religion.

Ustaz Azizi Saidi Abdul Aziz described claims that a visitor had seen and photographed prayer mats floating in the mosque as “hardly phenomenal” and people should stop thinking that it was due to genies or ghosts.

A woman from Negri Sembilan who visited the mosque had photographed the phenomenon with a mobile phone camera early this month, triggering fear among locals."

written by batsman, June 30, 2009 16:35:15
Floating mats don't seem a serious problem with me. How do you explain disappearing oil royalties?
agree 227
written by quietguy, June 30, 2009 16:36:25
I find it strange that this is featured in The Star. This is the kind of story usually carried by Harian Metro. I'm also wondering why MT is consequently carrying this article.
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 30, 2009 16:42:58
Doesn't an object have to actually leave the ground to be considered flying????
written by Admiral Tojo, June 30, 2009 16:44:14
Exactly Batsman, dissapearing oil royalties have been blamed on Ayah Pin's magic.

written by Mama Juwie, June 30, 2009 16:55:28
Next month, the number of tourists that visited the Crystal Mosque will increase 150%.
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 17:11:59
We have seen metal machines carrying people flying in the sky. We can watch live what is happening around the world in our home on a square screen. We can talk to anyone at anytime using a piece of wired metal-plastic matter held by hand. David copperfield can walk through the Great Wall of China in front of a camera as well as to make the statute of liberty disappear including from the radar screen.

Now there are Malaysians who are scared by a floating mat tricks in a mosque! They must be transported here from the bronze age through our immigration department who can make records disappear!
written by arazak, June 30, 2009 18:02:14
Who cares about flying mats. . ., what the Terengganu folks care is the whereabout of the money from the flying "Tabung Ehsan"!

By the way, could the Malaysian Tourism Ambassador, Mr. Jean Todt promote this "flying mat" to the European tourist?
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 18:06:49
What if the rug was supported by a bag or something. Have they examined the actual story instead of believing what they see on a picture? Was that how religions evolved too?

On second thought, I think this is 1001 Nights, Malaysian version....hehehe....
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 18:11:19
On another thought...

Crystal mosque, flying mat....what next? A tea pot to be found? Then the Genie to grant you wishes?....hahaha...
written by slash n burn, June 30, 2009 18:16:55
Hallo Mr.Ripley, I got stuff for you..
written by A MI, June 30, 2009 18:46:15
what about abra ca dabra and vanishing records from state of the art computer systems recording those who enter country?
written by metal, June 30, 2009 19:03:15
Crystal Mosque sorely in need of visitors. Observe what the imam said.
"Its a sign that people are distancing themselves from the religion." So create some silly story of a floating matt (Shouldn't a floating object be lifted off the ground)

Same as the bigfoot story. Gone as fast as it appeared. Remember bigfoot anyone?

written by fikiran, June 30, 2009 19:49:57
First floating oil revenues, now floating mats. What next floating votes like in Iran or even floating Dr M. Any suggestiong.
written by Aming, June 30, 2009 20:08:32
Watch carefully the picture. There seems to be someone hiding under the carpet. Almost can make out a human shape in squatting/sitting position.
written by whlau, June 30, 2009 20:20:13
Macam,macam...!!!
written by ibabonma, June 30, 2009 21:10:57
When I was hardly 10 years old, indulging in day dreaming was my hobby, imagining I had a flying mat that took me everywhere I could imagine. Later on, I did see one, the flying mat created by P Ramlee in his film. But now, I am seeing another one in year 2009, of all the places it’s at Crystal Mosque!

Come on Melayu; wake up from your sleep.

written by Proarte, June 30, 2009 21:30:30
Malay Islam! Say no more.
written by lennonist, June 30, 2009 22:47:01
To the commenter above who says this is Malay Islam, please don't use this comment box to incite hatred and racism. This is not about Malays or Islam, in fact far from it. We Chinese also believe in monks or fortune tellers who we ask advice for 4d and all sorts. This is about education and thought process, and it the lack of those appear in all strata of Malaysian and world society. Wanna bet how many Malays think fengshui and Indian fengshui are as unbelievable as this flying mat? You are no better, and in fact more ignorant with your comments than the people who believe these flying mats.
written by SiHangChai, June 30, 2009 23:55:21
flying mats? this happened due to the vast accumulation of statics in the air on the mat. Scientifically, it can be proven.
written by Ho Lee Man, July 01, 2009 00:44:47
Lina Joy conversion from Islam to Christianity rejected.
A chinese lady conversion from Islam to Buddhism accepted.
Saiful's swearing in the mosque on sodomy appear on prime time TV.
Najib's became clean and innocent on the Mongolian girl murder after holding a koran.
Now ,we have a flying carpet in Trengganu crystal mosque.
Malaysia is a funny Islamic country.
God Save us.
written by Awaken64, July 01, 2009 08:26:44
Keep the floating mats with Aladin.
Explain on the oil royalties.
Tell the rakyat why UMNO Terengganu seems to be in a split.

remember Islam abhors shirik.... keep that for Mr Jai okay.
written by Hakim Joe, July 01, 2009 09:04:20
Oi! Alibaba! Did you apply the parking brakes on your transportation?
What? Not yours? Alladin's mat is it?

written by slash n burn, July 01, 2009 10:04:58
Flying bike at Hard Rock Cafe as a sign of the people distancing themselves from the religion too?
written by Aizad 234, July 01, 2009 10:05:37
bodoh!. satu lg projek kerajaan Barisan Nasional utk menarik perhatian dan pada masa yang sama, membodohkan orang Melayu. apa jenis gmbr The Star tu letak... selalunya benda2 mistik memang tiada bukti bergambar.Bukan hanya di sini,malah di luar negara. Orang 'claim' ada gmbr tetapi mesti blur,skeptik,mcm bodoh dan lain2... Tiada bukti yg terang benderang.
written by temenggong, July 01, 2009 11:29:06
I believe I can fly,
I believe carpets oso can fly,

In fact I saw it on Alladin! No shit man!

God is Great! smilies/grin.gif
written by pinsysu, July 01, 2009 11:45:48
floating sign to IPO ... time to cash out!
written by Drift_king, July 01, 2009 17:08:56
Well....watch Breaking The magician Code lah.....
written by macho, July 01, 2009 17:21:56
OMG what next. Perempuan puaka?? Oh I forgot thats already covered. smilies/grin.gif