Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow HINDRAF – the modern day bashing boy with a tinge of conscience

HINDRAF – the modern day bashing boy with a tinge of conscience PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 13:57

Wouldn’t you agree with me? Everything they do seem racial-based or does not fit the agenda that we hope to achieve although their actions have been the catalyst for us to actually think and act.

We had Semangat 46 in the early 1990’s, then we had Reformasi in 1999, and what happened? Nothing happened. It was good old BN and the people continued to accept and brood in silence. Then you had MGG Pillai, MKini, Malaysia Today and yet nothing happened because in 2004 BN still triumphed over us.

If you had been thinking and acting all these years, how far did it go? Question yourself. Get real as you are the unleashed devil within yourself and have only survived for your own individual needs.   

Hey!!! I am not gloating about HINDRAF, but it is a simple fact that holds true that they are fighters for the underclass because they are truly the voice for the voiceless.

Today, the main media is having a field day because HINDRAF challenges DAP on the Kampung Buah Pala issue which sits comfortably in the seat of the BN. Suddenly, BN seems to be on their side, naturally for their own political gain. But the sad part of the whole affair is, you the so called public and bearer of justice, conscience and what is rightful will defend the opposition who is in control on what can be done, why it can’t be done, rule of law and the endless parade of justification for your own dome. It is not you, who have been displaced, but some 300 villagers who have had their ancestral homes demolished.

We, the so-called great minds, can throw our words and not mince them. Yet, because you are not in their situation or predicament, you do not understand this as a cause for humanity and conscience for the betterment of the society that only HINDRAF would pursue.

Balance and objectivity creates an idea where both sides are balanced. Yet, when we know no such thing exists in Malaysia for the society although it may exist for yourself, then you must realize that profound changes can only occur in a crisis to invoke the truth and conscience that lies within us.    

HINDRAF is a crisis because it can go in either direction as long as the truth surfaces to assist the defenseless and helpless public. Whether it is racist or communal is based on your individual perception, as this is not an issue if we all decide to act humanely.

Effective communication within ourselves requires not simply an understanding of the facts, but how those facts will take place in our mind for the public’s benefit. HINDRAF’s communication, no matter how crude and bold it may be, is an act for a segment of the society that has been neglected for far too long.

Today, we all hope to seek social reforms that seek for truth and self criticism, yet it is only possible if individually we can decide on what is humane and just.    

We don’t have to write, photograph, paint, sing, act, blog, video or film our anger and honesty, but only to act collectively.

The lines between artists, social activists and journalists have to be erased when we can actually act for a humanitarian cause without “much ado”. These lines diminish the power of reform, justice and an understanding of the truth for the truth will always be the truth. And it is for this purpose that these lines are there to dictate your action, or we will continue to live through another 100 years without a thought for the society.

As an individual, I try to think rationally as to what is just and fair, not to educate you, but what good is it if the truth itself defies you and will not set you free? Your own individual needs should not mean nothing more than merely commenting on this article. You are the change that you desire only if you choose to do it for the society.

R.Shan (Human Being)

Comments (31)Add Comment
written by Rolling Stone, June 30, 2009 14:18:31
I think you better learn how to write simple and straight forward English.the lingo of your write-up is very "leceh" to read.
disagree 26
written by asguard, June 30, 2009 14:20:07
Simple as that... DAP is try its best to do whatever it can to help.... but HINDRAF is put the screws!
written by Bujang79, June 30, 2009 14:41:29
Why attack on DAP and PR when the decision was made by BN goons? Can't you guys (Hindraf) differentiate between State gov action and court action? Court in M'sia = BN, so court decision is BN decision, same like what happen in Perak..

Ask tsu koon why he sell the land for so little (RM10/sqft) first... can he answer?
written by darjer, June 30, 2009 14:46:29
I read the article twice, understood every single word but do not understand the message. Sort of an attempt to defend HINDRAF ill-advised plan, I guess... smilies/sad.gif
written by shamadz72, June 30, 2009 14:51:37
I proposed HINDRAF register as political party and stand in next GE and see how far they can go. I bet many Indians has more faith in PR than HINDRAF. We Malaysian don't need anymore communal based organisation. HINDRAF is no diferent than any other race based party within BN.
written by Hipobi, June 30, 2009 14:57:01
Maybe Uthayakumar has agreement with BN (on his release) to stir up Pakatan Rakyat. Remember DSAI said after 308. BN akan membuat apa-apa cubaan untuk menghapuskan Pakatan Rakyat. Sesetengah cubaan tersebut adalah tidak disangka oleh semua pihak.

Pakatan, pls buck up all your bung-hole.
written by temenggong, June 30, 2009 15:18:04
I lived in Penang for 5 years, so I know the issues. I did not live in the cowdung High Chapperal but on the otherside, in Ferringhi, in front of the Golden Sands, and used to hangout at the Art Area and MagicOne and the Oriental Club. smilies/grin.gif
written by SimpleSoul, June 30, 2009 15:43:48
I wonder if this author is sleepy or slightly toxicated when writting this article. Just to question on the plight on this indians. Name me another NGO who is helping these residence out. It will be great if people who known the real issue and at the field to list down names of NGO helping these people to solve the issue.
written by Hakim Joe, June 30, 2009 16:08:03
Never did trust this organization. Too militant and too reckless.
They'd do anything to get what they want.
The only reason why they are not with BN is because UMNO disallows their registration.
I think even the UMNO people are not that stupid.
As with the author and his reasoning, what can I say?
Just reminded me to stay stone cold sober when writing articles...
Guess I can use this as an example to show my kids the effects of illegal drugs.
Nothing personal, R.Shan…what you just wrote was pure unadulterated crap.

written by carribeanking7, June 30, 2009 16:13:44
I am truly disappointed with Hindraf, a memorandum of protest would have sufficed...LGE would have gladly accepted the memorandum and explained his side of the story.

Hindraf advisor K Maran said Hindraf campaigned against Barisan Nasional because the Indian community wanted a better caring government to help them.
However, he slammed the DAP government for purportedly not showing any difference from the previous one.

Malaysian's mudah lupa including Hindraf. let me take you down memory lane.

Guan Eng: Indians Rich? Please prove it (Dec 13th 2007) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLt3QARQ1HA
barely a month after the Hindraf Nov 25th rally, LGE stood up for you guys.

LGE is now the villain ? How about the still unresolved Kugan case ? dare you burn effigies of the IGP and Health DG ?

Hindraf is just killing off whatever support it had left, I want to see how many of you get fielded next GE,
and how many can win standing as independents, since neither BN or Pakatan is likely to field Hindraf linked candidates next GE.
Before you do political posturing, do the math.Gah, I give up !

written by ABU SAYAB, June 30, 2009 16:52:44
Sad to say SB,PDRM,MIC/BN has infiltrated Hindraf.PR you better screen who are those Trojan Horses are.
written by ganbing, June 30, 2009 17:20:30
Hindraf appears to be floundering. It doesn't know who its friends are. It may as well go back to BN. Then Waytha can come back as a hero without fearing ISA and Uthayakumar can register a new political party with himself as President - a new Samy Vellu in the making.

R.Shan appears to think it's so easy to solve the Kg. Buah Pala land matter with a stroke of the pen. Waytha is saying that Lim Guan Eng can forcibly acquire the land by using the law and force the developer to accept way below market price. How does that make PR any better than BN? Unlike Waytha and Uthayakumar, LGE and DAP are not political gangsters.

Yes, Hindraf fits BN better than PR. They are race based like BN. They are also political gangsters like BN.

And R. Shan, next time try to write in more simple English. Just what is the meaning of this crap?

"We, the so called great minds can throw our words and mince it in a moment, yet again because you are not in their situation or predicament for a cause on humanity and conscience for the betterment of the society that only HINDRAF would pursue."

or this crap?

"Balance and objectivity creates an idea where both sides are balanced, yet when we know there is no such thing exist in Malaysia for the society although it may exist for yourself, then you must realize that profound changes can only occur in a crisis to invoke the truth and conscience that lies in us."

Who is your target audience and who are you trying to impress with your nonsensical, badly constructed, ungrammatical verbal diarrhea?
written by cruzeiro, June 30, 2009 17:46:05
Newsflash:
Although rejected by Mani Ratnam, the B-grade directors association from Madras (Chennai) movieland has offered Hindraf leaders a major role as lead actors and the whipping boy roles in their political gangster movies.
This is to support their Kampung Buah Pala cause. They are impressed with Hindraf's stand that the cows and the dung are deemed heritage material!
written by InEffective, June 30, 2009 18:07:47
Well done Hindraf
(don't allow the innocents to become victims of our 3rd class politicians)

People's homes usurped by state-sanctioned land expropriation - does not matter whether KTK (prev administration) was the prime instigator or others or not.

THe current administration should investigate all collusions and behavior by the previous and current authorities, and find an appropriate solution for the unsuspecting victims.

As usual unscrupulous cowardly politicians like Koh Tsu Koon will sell out other people's rights and livelihoods for his winnings and his self-interests.

Even the Selangor Exco (previous administration) has many instances of expropriating others lands under some fabricated justification of public good, then eventually the lands fall into the hands of their cronies.
(here is good example for you : Datud Fuad Hassan of previous Selangor Exco - criminal mastermind - land expropriator extraordinaire and naturally abetted by the CM)
written by No nonsense, June 30, 2009 18:33:42
Hello Hindraf brothers and sisters please find out who are those responsible and go after them. Dont go after those who want to put things right. You see, in PR we are trying to find out what wrong Bn has done and correct them. If you think that what PR is doing is wrong than go join Mic or Bn. Afterall, what is the different after 52 years being trampled by Amno and yet you want more. Go ahead man cause we wont stop you. To me work together and dont go it alone cause you will be as irrelevant as Mca and Gerakan. Think carefully man.
written by Urangsabah, June 30, 2009 19:42:09
I am not sure where in the world that goboment can simply give land to every one of their citizen. PR is just 1 yr plus, the demand for them to perform is great, along the way, PR will stumble and fall but I hope PR will never be another UMNO & UMNOed BN. Otherwise, I just vote against them.

BTW it is not just Indian that have ever been evicted.in Sabah, houses got burnt

Source - http://www.dailyexpress.com.my...wsID=45072

Call to probe alleged burning of houses in forest reserve
19 October, 2006
Kota Marudu: The State Government has been urged to explain alleged dirty tactics used by its enforcement agency in removing houses belonging to 20 local families and their rubber plantations in a forest reserve at Kampung Kaindaingan, Sugut early this month.

source: http://www.dailyexpress.com.my...wsID=45106 &
DAILY EXPRESS NEWS
Settlers claim their houses were burnt
21 October, 2006
PITAS: The owners of 20 houses in a forest reserve here have claimed that their homes were razed by an enforcement team from the Sabah Forestry Department early this month after they refused to vacate the Government land that they were occupying.

So Hindraf, the battle has not yet been won.stay true to the your conviction, kick out UMNO & UMNOed BN.By putiing the poawer to the Rakyat Hand, we will be the one to decide Malaysia Direction.Should UMNO and its goon succeed in getting 2/3 majority I think, it would be game over.

What then would happen, the last 50 years is would be consider heavenly but the subsequent will be worst off, just look a Perak.

Perak Crisis: UMNO-Appointed MB Zambry Abdul Kader BROKE His Promise to the Perakians- [url=http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23698/84/]http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23698/84/

Just imagine a backdoor UMNO MB can do this what more if UMNO regain its strenghth. Yes issues are there, but it does mean that PR can solve it, there might have to be some compromise.

Hindraf over to you.choose between the Devil you know or the deep blue Ocean, thought with so much pollution, not so sure if its blue.
written by mykantree, June 30, 2009 22:08:30
I think the writer lost me after the 1st paragraph.What's the mumbo jumbo?
written by shamadz72, June 30, 2009 23:12:51
Temenggong,

It is you, who are assuming the land developer RM20 million will agree for that amount of compensation.

Look from the viewpoint of the land developer. Since they have won the court case at the highest avenue, do you think they will just settle for that amount. What if they say to the Penang State goverment, they want RM 1 Billion. Should the Penang state government agree to that ransom? What if they are asking for a higher price tag? Should we agree to it? Remember, from the law point of view, the land developer is on the right side (Regardless of what the public opinion is on our lopsided judiciary system under BN or the Judge itself).
written by Wakeupmsia, June 30, 2009 23:16:55
Hindraf This 2/3 years issue was initiated by BN, supported/approved by puppet Gerakan! DAP/Pakatan do not deserve this stupid "demand", Hindraf. Given an inch. you ask for a yard. Look at a broader and longer perpective. The choice is yours. Maybe, you can go to BN. See what they can offer you, HINDRAF!

Purely ungrateful bunch!

written by wildbil, June 30, 2009 23:37:23
From day one when they registered in ROC after the released of their leaders I already smell the rat in them.

The Hindraf is not the same old Hindraf before their leaders were under ISA. These are the UMNO coated Hindraf leaders with a hidden agenda from the umno monkeys.
written by shamadz72, June 30, 2009 23:43:45
Temenggong,

Care to tell me how the politician (I believed you are referring to Penang Government. Right?) can call the shot? Which part of law you are referring to? Care to highlight it to us here?

The only way I can think of for the Penang government (after the ruling of the court case goes to the land developer) to do to be a pain in the neck for the developer is by not approving the building plan submitted by the land developer. But for how long can they do that? They can't do it forever, they might end up being sue by the land developer if they continue to do it. What it takes for the land developer is just need to prove that Penang government has been acting in bad faith for not approving their building plan and through their connection, they will some how ensure that the court case is again been preside by the most learned Judge we have in this country (Yes your guess is as good as mine, who that judge gonna be). The result, Penang government will lost the case and they will have to pay a much higher compensation to this BN related company. Is that what you want?
written by Arowana, June 30, 2009 23:59:26
What they have lost through MIC in the last 60 years, they demand to get back from Pakatan Rakyat in 18 months.

What brainless kind of their leaders is this ?

Get your pay out from Maika shares first which you truly deserve, UNDERSTAND!!!
written by Raizzen, July 01, 2009 02:12:10
Two wrongs don't make a right. So what if they've got a tinge of Conscience ? Will that suddenly allow them to act bashful ? For a highly diplomatic, civic-minded people like LGE, am sure he would've gladly explained his side of the coin and maybe provide a viable solution, if you'd just ask. And race based politics when people are praying day and nights for AMNO to sink ? Its so yesterday.

Maybe you shouldn't hate AMNO so much, I mean people like you are the very reason AMNO thrives these past 50 years.

written by shamadz72, July 01, 2009 09:21:52
Any joker can come out with a statement "Simple. Acquire the land and the problem solve" smilies/smiley.gif

An educated man will come out with an argument which can support his statement. My question is, under what specific law are you saying that the Penang Government can simple 'acquired' that land? Care to share it with us?

Or are you saying we will just get over with the rule of law? Vigilante rule, where a few thugs can simple go on and decide what they can do?

written by Ulan Benson, July 01, 2009 10:10:52
I used to support HINDRAF but lately, it a pissed off. They talk like MIC, Think like MIC, Act like MIC and claim it is not MIC...

And now, their heads are ssoooooooo big, what has happened to the old good HINDRAF? smilies/cool.gif
written by temenggong, July 01, 2009 11:32:56
Under 'this' specific law.

The LAND ACQUISATION ACT, perhaps you may want to read the following sections and seek proper legal help- Sec 3,8, 18,19,21,22,36,49,58,60,63.

Well I don’t want to go on the whole lot of the act but let me remind you of your mighty powers as a Chief Minister under Land Acquisition Act 1960;

section 3 (1) The State authority may acquire any land which is needed;

(a) for any public purpose
(b) ……for any purpose which in the opinion of the State authorities beneficial to the economic development of Malaysia…… or to public generally or any class of the public

Housing is public purpose.

The procedures on payment comes after a long procedure to be complied by your state as per Sections 18 – 35. Those are clear procedures and in event the compensation are not agreed upon by the developer then go to Part V of the Act i.e. Section 36-51.
written by bumiputeri, July 01, 2009 11:48:42
temenggong,

Thanks man! You saved our day!

shamadz,

Hah, apa macam? You ingat orang lain bodoh kah yang dok bagi ipoinion kat sisni? You saja yang pandai.

To those who think that Hindraf is making noise because this is an Indian issue, of course lah, they will make noise, becaue otherwise, who is going to speak for them? You all here? Oh come on! So call one Malaysia, in the first place I dont even see any sympathy from any of you for the residents. perhaps, if the kampung affected is a Malay or Chinese kampung, then LGE or State government would have solved the problems in a different way!