Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The PM and PETRONAS

The PM and PETRONAS PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 13:30

Sometime ago, I wrote an article about PETRONAS appointments. In particular about the issue surrounding one person named Omar Ong. As usual, when I suggested that Omar Ong should not be disqualified on account of being close to KJ, I was labelled with the usual unmentionable characterisation.

I have also said it is the PM's call.

I wrote some lines critical of PETRONAS too. They were not meant to belittle the thousands of highly qualified and dedicated PETRONAS employees. They were intended to place PETRONAS in perspective or rather to remind the PETRONAS employees of the need to practise some humility. Getting employed in the oil and gas industry, PETRONAS included, does not require insurmountable rocket science qualifications. Properly trained, people can do the job assigned to them. Being trained by PETRONAS for that matter does not confer on anyone exclusive abilities. I am saying that being a PETRONAS employee does not qualify you as a special being. Of course, those suggestions were met by derisive responses.

Those lines had to be said as there were positions taken by some PETRONAS people to view the national oil company as an exclusive domain meant for certain approved people. Needless to say, such an attitude is further fortified by concerted attempts to paint PETRONAS in such light. There was a suggestion for instance to accept PETRONAS as a showcase of Malay management prowess. The implications are fairly obvious- among them, the admission of some elements may adulterate the Malay management prowess. On the part that PETRONAS's eminence is contributed by the fact that it is a legal monopoly, one is deviously silent.

I was not interested to prolong the argument about the technicalities of the oil and gas industry. I did not respond to some comments disputing my simplification of the O&G Industry in that article. I feel I am sufficiently qualified to discuss about some aspects of the oil and gas industry having worked with Shell for a decade.

We need to be mindful of the following points. One, it is the prerogative of the PM as to who he wants to appoint. The PDA (1974) confers him the absolute powers. Two, PETRONAS should rid itself of the high horse mentality and accept that entry into its organisation is very possible by anyone trained in his/her field. Three, why are people so protective of PETRONAS? It is not a sacred cow deserving of unsolicited pontificating as to the type of persons agreeable to PETRONAS.

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by batsman, June 30, 2009 13:40:17
Since Petronas has saved the country's arse as few times owing to BAD decision making by politicians, shouldn't Petronas have a small say?
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 13:47:56
Petronas belongs to Malaysians. Monies earned by Petronas belong to Malaysians. The Government cannot use Petronas as its cash cow to solve all its mistakes. There must be accountability and transparency. smilies/cry.gif
written by Awaken64, June 30, 2009 14:41:17
Not that I am a big fan of PM Najib, but I feel the Petronas board should know their LEVEL of reporting.

Somehow I smell a Mamak Kutty in the whole scenerio!!!!
written by No nonsense, June 30, 2009 18:22:54
All we need is PR to take over the country and Petronas will be very transparent. We as rakyat will know where the wealth of the country go. Up till today no one knows where the wealth of the country goes. Is this fair ? People wake up and throw all the rubbish in Petronas out. Why is it that the wealth only goes to some individual and not the rakyat as a whole. Just give you people abit of sugar and you are damn happy. What idiots. Wake up now and get what you deserves from the country wealth not only the few you suppose to support.
written by Fart Fart Wah, July 01, 2009 01:30:37
That is what I have been asking what happened to our oil money during the last 27 years 22 with Mahathir and 5 years with the the sleep walker Dolah. Mahathir had about 880 billion from Petronas Dolah had about 200 billion. We do not have any accounts of what they did with our money although they are both on our payroll.

if you take all that Mahathir has build ie. the MEGA MEGA PROJECTS we should still have enough money left even after the wastage. But we will not have an answer will we? There will not anybody especially a TRUE MALAY to stand up and question this.And as long as UMNO is there we will not get it..

It is sad. We could have had better hospitals.Look at the KL GH it is like a whore house.cramped and completely our of place in KL. And all the other hospitals in the other states.it is really a scandal with all the money we had. Mahathir could have moved it out and built a better one in Cheras at that time with all the available land...until DAIm Zainuddin took over for his development.

We had the chance to build world class hospitals.And we do not have enough doctors? We do not give the opportunity to our own children to be doctors.they are sent over seas to learn. and they don't come back.

could not the money have been used to build medical universties so that we do not have the problem today.let all our children who are interested in medicine to do it locally by creating first class universities instead of taking doctors from middle east countries.
The irony is we do not have enough doctors.
The irony is we had the money to encourage our own children
The irony is we did not give to our own citizens..
We did not and the only person I can think of is Mahathir who manipulated all our money used raced based polices resulting in one of the most lopsided decisions to even the racial quotas in doctors and lawyers and what not.And today we have to borrow money for our children to study.

This country will pay for it and pay for it sadly in the years to come because we let a mad man manipulate us.And if we can manage to collect all the money stolen from our mother Malaysia I think we will be one of the richest countries in Asia maybe even the richest.