Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Najib removes 30% bumiputera quota on new shareholding

Najib removes 30% bumiputera quota on new shareholding PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 13:07

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

In a bid to shore up flagging confidence in his leadership, Prime Minister Najib Razak removed a key pillar of the New Economic Policy with an announcement that firms seeking listing will no longer need to allocate 30 percent of their shares to bumiputera groups.

But while analysts cheered the move, they also said it would have muted impact given that it applied only to new listings and not existing companies.

“Overall, the message is good but the impact may be muted. It will take more than this to revive investor confidence in Malaysia,” said Azrul Azwa, economist at Bank Islam.

“It is not just about lowering protectionist barriers but also about raising the integrity of our judiciary and the independence of our institutions. How good our system is will be every bit as important. Even if foreigners return, they will insist their contracts are signed in Singapore or another country and this is a shameful indictment on our federal government.”

A highly abused NEP

Under the NEP launched in 1971 to eradicate poverty, a raft of rules were put in place to protect Malay and indigenous groups and ensure that they were not left out in the nation’s economic growth. But since then, high-level corruption by top government leaders themselves have resulted in widespread abuse of the policy’s implementation.

Meanwhile, the scandal-hit and under-performing Najib may have found himself with little choice but to further liberalise the market.

Due to receive a bad report card from all round after a hectic three months in office that has yielded little constructive result, the 55-year old PM has been resorting to big announcements with limited impact to reduce the growing public dissatisfaction with his administration.

“This is a good move for the long term. But note that it extends only to new listings, so don’t expect sell-downs in Tenaga or Telekom or other government-linked companies to non-bumi groups,” said Azrul.

“I don’t think there will be much backlash from the ordinary Malays although some of the bigger beneficiaries may instigate some protest. But to the ordinary bumi folk, the feeling is that they don’t enjoy anything anyway under the NEP. It only helps the big boys. Might as well dismantle it.”

Meanwhile, in place of the 30 percent requirement, Najib announced that at least 50 percent of the public spread in a new listing must be given to the Malays and other indigenous groups.

Under current market rules, 25 percent of a company’s shareholding – called the free float or public spread – must be offered and held by ordinary investors.

“The world is changing quickly and we must be ready to change with it or risk being left behind,” Najib said in a speech to an investment conference on Tuesday.

“It is not a time for sentiment or half measures but to renew our courage and pragmatism to take the necessary bold measures to advance the national interests for the long term benefit of all Malaysians.”

Do we really need a new investment firm Ekuinas

The PM also announced other measures aimed at making the country a more attractive investment destination.

They include raising foreign ownership of stock brokers and unit trust management firms to 70 percent from the existing 49 percent. Foreigners will also be allowed to own 100 percent of fund management companies.

At the same time, Najib also cut the powers of the Foreign Investments Committee, announcing that FIC approval will no longer be required for purchasing property in Malaysia – whether residential or commercial.

“We can only achieve high income by creating more opportunities for growth rather than protecting our narrow turf.We can only achieve our social equity goals by expanding the pie,” Najib said.

The PM also raised eyebrows by announcing the establishment of Ekuiti Nasional Berhad or Ekuinas, a new investment institution to promote the participation of bumiputera groups,

“We already have PNB. Then, there are the state-run investment arms, at national level, there is also Khazanah, Valuecap,” said a head of reasearch at a bank-backed brokerage.

“Why another one? It will only split up resources. If there is dissatisfaction about the performance of the existing ones, the solution is to change the management and not set up a brand new institution. This can lead to even more losses requiring fresh government allocations. It is something Malaysians need to scrutinize. Who benefits and how we can be sure they are accountable to the public for their investments.”

written by Rozlan, June 30, 2009 13:13:09
so where are PEWARIS,PEKIDA,UMNO YOUTH??? Why dont you bare your krisses and curse Najib at the top of your voices???
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 30, 2009 13:14:17
Need another investment arm so that Najib can juice up his retirement fund some more!
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 13:19:18
An admirable first step in the right direction, but still too little and too slow, for it to have real significant impact on investors' confidence. Furthermore, his other hidden actions that affirms bumiputra dominance in the economy could well darken the bright spark he is trying to create with this move.
written by batsman, June 30, 2009 13:26:12
When others call for it, they are betrayers of the Malays, when Najib does it, he is a wise leader of all Malaysians. UMNO has the last say in everything. It is time for a 2 party system and a free press.
written by MalaysianFirst, June 30, 2009 13:52:10
""...firms seeking listing will no longer need to allocate 30 percent of their shares to bumiputera groups.""

Now that the economy is down, really down, you'll try anything. But the moment the economy is up, really up, due not to the efforts of bumiputras, UMNO will scream for the 30% again. Maybe even 70%.We have all heard this song before. No one is listening now.

written by sydput, June 30, 2009 13:57:14
50% public spread for bumis???
How are you going to price the share once listed if the bumi portion is not taken fully??? One price for bumis and another for non-bumis??? Make it simple and get rid of bumi-nonbumi stuff.
Malays are not interested in the buying and selling of shares anyway, They just dumped their money in ASN and let the govenrment take care of it. Or maybe, this will benefit Ekuinas???
written by Counterpointer, June 30, 2009 13:58:28
Najis can be likened to be playing a game of Jenga with the UMNO ultras, where all the stacked wood blocks represent the UMNO's racist policies.Presently, he is only removing a minor piece. Just wait to see how many pieces he could actually remove before his Ultras come in and topples all the pieces and tells him that he has lost and to get lost!
written by devious17, June 30, 2009 14:08:54
I wonder why are all those umno-malays and cousins keeping quiet? Why arent they screaming bloody murder and running amok threathening to burn everything they can get their hands on and blame the bumi-less for robbing the umno-malays and cousins rights??!!

What a bunch of pussies! smilies/grin.gif
written by Oscar Winner, June 30, 2009 14:26:55
It's just a Manik Urai by-election sweetener so that party workers will go to town with this promise and hopefully win more votes. Pls don't expect UMNO Malays to call it a betrayal. They know it's hogwash. Something else must have been planned behind the scene to mollify the UMNOputras, by way of another scheme to get back the 30%. Then it's all back to square one. Until there is total abolition of NEP, I will never trust a word from the mouth of Najis
written by budakindia, June 30, 2009 15:24:34
too late too little smilies/angry.gif
written by 1st2stay, June 30, 2009 15:47:49
Let's wait for the fine print before we yahoo.
Maybe they go for the same old tricks that they have used in the tourism sector? Yes, you may open this place. Do you have a permit? No? Uh, then you can't have guests! Permit, permit, permit, hmm. How many Malay employees? How many stars you want? What is the ethnicity of your CEO, what is the name of your F&B-Manager? You want to offer seminar packages, okay? Are they halal? Of which religion is your chef? Sorry, all government functions are encouraged in hotels under Malay management only.
And so forth.
As long as it is not 'irrespective of ethnicity and religion' in the business area, there won't be many takers. And not too many real success stories, neither.
written by Hakim Joe, June 30, 2009 16:33:57
So what? It is back to status quo ala pre-NEP some 38 years ago.
All it really means is that NEP has been an abject failure since 1971.
BTW Azrul, who said that this is going to be a long term policy?
50% of the public spread in a new listing must be given to the Malays?
Can the PM readily identify these people? Cronies and Proxies, perhaps?
Making the country a more attractive investment destination?
Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!

written by HamChak, June 30, 2009 21:44:28
Never mind, la.
I can give 50% share holding to BUMiputera.
But unfortunately, I already invested in Taiwan and Australia, lor.
They do NOT have such RACIST demands, mah.
TOO Late, la.
written by Braino, June 30, 2009 21:46:10
Cosmetics changes will not work. People are not stupid! What we need is a complete change of administration from one that's based on privileges or birthrights to one that's firmly based on merits!
written by cheekhiaw, June 30, 2009 21:49:07
Which is it?

The thieves that claim to have rights to the fruits of others' work as tuans, now wants to give up on their thievery, tuan-ship or both?

Or is it just another temporary ploy to get suckers to put more money into their thieves' lair only to be looted later?

written by Arowana, June 30, 2009 23:45:18
Its like giving out from the left pocket and taking back through Ekuinas to the right pocket. Must be own by Rosmah.

What about Public companies delist and taken private and list back later on, will 30% also not required ?
written by Wakeupmsia, June 30, 2009 23:58:38
Cmon, najis. You gotta to be kidding. Remember 1997/98 crisis, foreigners were allowed to buy properties above 250K. So, Hongkies,kiasu, others came flogging in.

BUT they forgot the small print - "you can sell but to foreigners only at a higher than local price!" Many were caught with their pants down!

Now, tell me, najis, have the foreigners learnt their lessons? Do they trust Malaysian "policies" or policy? I mean, C4, subs, Bala, Perak fiascos, Manohara, LKY/Rosmah meet,etc, etc,etc..........................etc.

I wish to support your "ideas/policies" BUT alas, the whole world and I know it's "CAKAP KOSONG" In plain English it means - EMPTY TALK!.

written by SiHangChai, July 01, 2009 00:01:39
Janagn percaya cerita donggeng najib. Ada yang dia belum cerita lagi.
written by Loh, July 01, 2009 01:45:19
///Going forward, the public spread requirement remains and in addition, the SC will introduce a new guideline which requires companies seeking listing, to offer 50% of the public shareholding spread to Bumiputera investors. The Bumiputera equity condition therefore becomes subsumed within the public spread requirement. This reinforces the competitiveness of Bursa Malaysia as a listing destination as promoters of companies seeking listing will no longer need to divest equity beyond that required to satisfy the public spread requirement.///–Najib

So, foreigners who are free not to come in are allowed 100% ownership. But local Malaysian companies which were asked to sell 30% of the shares cheaply to Bumiputras will now have to sell 50% on listing. Malaysians cannot fight the government, and so from the 30% that they were robbed in the past, the going rate is 50%.

Yet, we see the following in Malaysiakini today. What a joke.

///Najib announces bold economic liberalisation
Jun 30, 09 1:57pm

UPDATED 2.23PM PM Najib scraps a rule requiring IPOs to reserve 30 percent of stock for Malays, and dumped regulatory approval for foreign property purchases///–Malaysiakini

written by Loh, July 01, 2009 01:47:10
When foreign companies come in and get listed in Malaysia, the total market capitalisation increases. The same amount of equity capital owned by bumiputras would represent a smaller percentage share. Thus, Malaysian non-Malay companies are expected o sell more of the equity shares to Malays at discount to maintain their percentage hold in the market. The NEP target of 30% overall, based on the EPU formula would remain unattainable. So NEP stays, and foreign companies are rewarded by helping UMNO play its domestic political game. Meanwhile those who plundered the state take their money out of the country, like Daim zainuddin buying banks all over Africa, and UMNO continue to claim that rural Malays are poor, and the 30% target has not been reached.

Yes we know the game, but UMNO has the number to pursue non-Islamic policies and yet receive support by Muslims.
written by Daryl, July 01, 2009 05:25:07
Why foreign investors need to sign contract else where? All you need to do is bid higher than the Federal Government and you will every court case. smilies/wink.gif Isn't it our Judges are for sale. I thought I saw their advertisement in Utusan Melayu few days a go.
written by batsman, July 01, 2009 08:55:48
I don’t think Najib is pandering to domestic pressures so much as foreign demands. In the 60’s to 80’s, most of the 3rd world countries and Soviet bloc resisted foreign domination whether through civil wars, revolts or even uncontrolled endemic crime and political instability. Malaysia was one of the few that wholeheartedly sucked up to the westerners. As a result they had no choice but be nice to Malaysia and reward her accordingly.

These days almost the whole world sucks up to the westerners except a few like Iran and North Korea, etc. The westerners are spoilt for choice. The goodies are therefore drying up in Malaysia. Najib’s reforms is just trying to be nicer than nice to the westerners. This may work and the goodies may start to flow back again.

But in my view, too great a sycophantic behaviour may backfire and cause the westerners to despise us. They may start to behave in an overbearing manner and start demanding even more. Are we going to offer everything we have to them including our backsides?