Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysia, thumb drives and brain drain

Malaysia, thumb drives and brain drain PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 02:46

In the fifities when I was born and in the sixties when i was a teenager studying in high school, Taiwan was a poor, underdeveloped country ruled by generals who lost the war in Mainland China and fled to this island in the late 40s.

In 1980, as a youn men, I went to Taiwan for a tour with my wife. It was then considered a developing country, with not much of industry and natural resources, but with many universities that churned out world class students.

Because it has very little natural resources, and much of its money were tied down in maintaining a huge army (relative to its size and population), the people were still very poor. An average Taiwanese family was poorer than their counterparts in Malaysia and percapita income was way behind Malaysia despite the fact that it had almost the same population in a country much smaller than us.

Many Malaysians, especially those educated in the CHinese Medium , went to Taiwan to study even in those days. I was impressed by the highly educated work force, and the worldly knowledge of the people. I mentioned to my wife then that it would be a matter of time they would overtake us, since they had very good universities and a very hardworking work force. Everyone there seemed to study so hard in order to be able to get scholarships to go over to the States.

Yesterday, I read an article that Acer is set to overtake Dell to be the second biggest producers of personal computers. For those who have not heard of Acer ( not many I suspect),  Acer is a Taiwanese company which has grown to be a big  multinationals.

Taiwan is also listed to be one of the riches countries now, while we are ranked around 60.

I can’t help but ponder ” what went wrong”?

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by johanssm, June 30, 2009 03:10:18
A well written short article by Dr.Hsu.
Only now i realised that the humble thumb drive was invented by a fellow Malaysian.
To umno and bn , the thumb drive was invented by a Malaysian Chinese ( 2nd.class citizen ).
written by Oscar Winner, June 30, 2009 03:11:22
Dr Hsu,

I am sure you know why and like you said you're tired of writing on it over and over again. We must bury BN for good. These racists and big bullies will not want to glorify pendatangs.

Thumb drive invented by a pendatang, no big deal. You see, travelling in a spacecraft to the moon is a big deal. So, glorify the angkasawan. He made Malaysians proud.
written by Daryl, June 30, 2009 03:24:32
I think everyone of us share the blame here. BN for the dumb policies and their short and selfish vision in every aspect of running a country. Rakyat for voting BN is the past 50 years.

Going foward. BN to cut their crap of having to stay in power and PR to try to unite and make yourself into one party instead of three parties.
written by Loh, June 30, 2009 03:38:34
If the political leaders of the government consider the country as their own property and responsibility, the river and mountain as the emperors of the past, then they would care about brain drain and building up the country. But they treat Malaysia as a corporation, and like Greenspan said recently, he didn't take into account that modern CEOs would not even care for the well being of the companies.

UMNO leaders are happy to retain only the hardly used brains so that they can continue to rule. They are not about to work themselves out of job. If they feel the need to enjoy what a developed country provides, their luggage full of cash can always provide the convenience. That is why ministers visit Singapore for medical treatment.

There is no way UMNO leaders can be influenced to do the right thing. The present crop of TDM trained leaders would always travel the well beaten path. UMNO has to be removed from power before any change will ever take place.

The percentage of Chinese and Indians has reduced over the years. They have now to make Malaysia the stepping stone for emigration, and use the discriminatory environment for making themselves competitive. If they begin to harbour the mindset that this is not home, the strains would be tolerable. Let them be 1Malaysia in time, with only one religion, and all will accept Malays as the race, which after all is not a racial classification.
written by OilMan, June 30, 2009 04:06:41
I have a good friend (male) with a Phd in electrical engineering lecturing in a University in the USA and also another (female) with a Phd on IT technology and is a dean in a University in Australia. None of them wants to return to Malaysia. Why? Because of the, based on their comments are, racism, low income, no R & D facilities, favoritism, etc. Basically it s not easy to 'make it big' if one is in Malaysia. The conclusion is soemthing is just not right with the way Malaysia is being governed. If things doesn't change Malaysia will soon be behind Vietnam.
written by OilMan, June 30, 2009 04:07:32
Why Vietnam you might want to know........ Well even now we can't beat their football team. smilies/grin.gif
written by renoir, June 30, 2009 04:25:05
johanssm wrote:
>Only now i realised that the humble thumb drive was invented by a fellow Malaysian.]]

You must be new here, for I said that in my reply to a Mansor Puteh, when he claimed that Malaysians were not inventive. I also noted another chap who invented new functions for a host of home appliances in the US, not to mention achievements in international sports that were not reported by the local press (yeah, all of them came not only from Malaysia, but also from the same school AND had their elementary schooling in Chinese!) smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, June 30, 2009 05:57:52
All that is water under the bridge.
I am proud, of course, former Malaysians have made it good in many fields the world over.
Yet, to the UMNOputras it matters not.
What is important those policies help them secure their strangle hold on political power since 1970.
What does it matter if the country with its vasr natural resources is falling behind?
Their pockets and bank accounts are been filled!!
written by gorshan, June 30, 2009 07:51:49
what went wrong? the answer is BN. and the kepala BN.
written by Badrol, June 30, 2009 08:17:41
I'm driven to give umno the middle finger, ... not the thumb.
written by freerpk, June 30, 2009 08:38:55
Nothing went wrong....if you work hard for anything you will achieve it one day. If everything is delivered on a platter to you you would probably not even appreciate it. It is human nature to appreciate something that they work hard for but if it was obtain easily then it is not worth anything to the person. Do you think diamonds would be worth anything if every rock on earth is a diamond.
written by EYFF, June 30, 2009 09:34:08
Well Dr. Hsu the truths are right before us and yet we refused to see and accept!Even in a family if all the children are not treated fairly and equally, what do you think can go wrong?How much more can go wrong if all the citizens of a country are not treated equally, justly and fairly?Then you mix corrupted and dishonest politicians, civil servants and judges into the whole equation!What can go wrong you may ask?The surprising question is ,"Why did it take so long for the cake to burned??"
written by gorshan, June 30, 2009 09:35:57
written by tenukajaib, June 30, 2009 09:15:33
dey take a good look around you
all shop lot & bungalow own by chinese...

may the guy who made the above comment and seven generation of his descendant be blessed to remain forever in Malaysia.
written by truthbespoken, June 30, 2009 09:43:33
Most of our Malay bros are catered for, not guided, by the UMNO government. That's why they tend to be less creative and inventive! That's why they tend to fight more on form than susbstance! And that's how UMNO depends on their continued weakness for survival! UMNO is evil to the core!
written by renoir, June 30, 2009 09:44:46
tenukajaib wrote:
>what brain drain? the guy who invented the pendrive just take better offer at Taiwan]]

No, he went there because he wouldn't be treated as a second-class citizen, or have to listen to people threatening him with the keris. He studied in the US (no Mara scholarship or appropriate offers from his own country's univs), and if money was the sole criterion he would've remained in the States.

>if he invented the tech here its also will be the same, he will migrated too
money is their god]]

This I can agree with you. Think about this: he couldn't study in the local univ though he was qualified, and had to spend a fortune to study overseas. Then, when he comes back with a great idea, and put that into action, some thick-skinned ruffian starts talking to him about a 30% share. Now why in the world would he NOT go away? It's one thing to share wealth with poor folks, but not with leeches who lord over the poor of all races.

written by cheemengwong, June 30, 2009 09:54:13
The problems is not race idiots. The problem has to do with industry, attitude and using the brain.If you don't use your idead but prefer to profit and steal someone else's then you are wrong.In Malaysia, some people don't want to work but live off the blood and sweat of others.
written by Kampong, June 30, 2009 10:05:48
You need not look further than the little red dot south of the border to see what went wrong. The countries that have passed us in warp speed: Singapore, Korea, Taiwan; the countries that ARE passing us: China, India; the countries that will pass us: Vietnam, Indonesia. Unless of course we get rid of the cancer which has plagued this country all these years.

On the positive side, we can always find countries that will look up to us as role model: Zimbawe, Burma, for example. You know, for some people, they are satisfied with that because their standards are so low. But again, these same people almost all have their children studying in a "decadent" Western christian country.
written by cheemengwong, June 30, 2009 10:53:00
If a Malaysian invented pendrive another great Malaysian by the name of Mahatir invented the teaching of sodomy not in shool but through the television and newspapers.

Long live Mahatir, don't you dare quit on us now! Maybe he can now teach fellatio?

So what so great about the pendrive? Sodomy is better!
written by truthbespoken, June 30, 2009 11:04:45
Batsman,

That's very narrow-minded thinking from you. You mean it's preferred that everyone in Malaysia should suffer the same fate in the country through unequal opportunities set by the ruling racist UMNO? Come on, for all you know, this young inventor could be more eloquent in his BM and Mandarin than English! It's Taiwan he had gone to! You have struck the wrong cord, bro!
written by batsman, June 30, 2009 11:12:04
Truthbespoken - let's hear your solution for the brain drain then.
written by truthbespoken, June 30, 2009 11:18:39
Batsman - commit to vote UMNO/BN out,OUT! That would be a good start. Then there is a HOPE that all Malaysians will feel more at home, like Malaysians!
written by legallybotak, June 30, 2009 11:19:58
After 17 years away, I returned to Malaysia for less than half the pay and more than twice the wordload. It is ok, because it was my personal choice but after all these years, the Non UMNO and non-bumi are still facing the same scholarship "problems" of yesteryear.

Yesterday I logged onto http://www.kwp.gov.my/docs/news/iklan.pdf of KWPto respond to an RFQ. Item 1 states that "Tawaran adalah dipelawa daripada syarikat-syarikat tempatan yang berdaftar dengan Kementerian Kewangan Malaysia dengan status Bumiputera" I called KWP and they confirmed that tenderer must be a Bumiputra Company.

Politics aside, what is the incentive for Non Bumi Malaysians with capital and knowledge to do business in Malaysia??
written by Wisdom above, June 30, 2009 11:21:12
...The man who invented USB pen-drive is a 'young modest Malaysian who can't even get into a local University' but invented the most versatile, indispensable computer peripheral today.

Pua Khein Seng is very lucky that his parents did not forced him to sit SPM in Bahasa Malasyia ? Pass in UEC with 5 Credits inclusive English and Mathematics gain him a place in Taiwan University ? He is a Malaysian Thomas Edison ?

Anyway his skills have benefited the world at large.
Should he be decorated with a ' Dato ' title if he ever opened his new plant in Penang?
written by bikerzon, June 30, 2009 11:24:01
Dear Dr. Hsu,

Are you sure you get your facts right? I tried to search all around the web, but I really can't find your fore-mentioned Malaysian inventor and his company Phison Tech as the USB Drive SoC as the first inventor.

Can you refer me to patent rights for Phison?

Thanks.
written by batsman, June 30, 2009 11:25:58
Truthbespoken - alamak - the better half is screaming through the doorway. I am making a big sacrifice for you. So don;t tell me that you have a solution based only on "Hope"
written by sydput, June 30, 2009 11:29:15
Let's face it.
Chinese people have invented fireworks, paper, writings and pen-drive.
Malays? We were lucky we got LAT and Ramly burger.
But tough luck! The barbarians control the state.

The braindrain actualy benefits the rich countries like what batsman stated. It actually cost the rich countries no money (since the universities all educational fees and are paid for already) to employ these people. And it ails me that when they left, they will say all the abd thing about Malaysia. Plus, when proffesionals migrate, they also bring along their savings to richer countries.
Australia have been sucking the life blood of ASEAN countries for a very long tme. They charge fees to our students, and then offer them jobs (no cost to them).
plus if this stoopid govenrment had the vision to allow private non-bumi universities to flourish, we could have saved billions in foreign exchange loss, plus earned billions more from r & d related returns. But all they cared about is quotas. Stoopid quotas.
written by truthbespoken, June 30, 2009 11:38:44
Batsman,

You're crazy! Who can give guarantees on changing political and national situations/issues? Better you just pack up and go enjoy your day! You may yet be able to read some sense into what I have said when you come back! Go!
written by Wisdom above, June 30, 2009 11:48:28
It is more easy to register your Patent in UK under UK Laws ?

Very difficult to register your patent in Malaysia ?
Too many green tapes ?

I wonder which company Pua Khein Seng sold his Copyrights and Patent to ?
Which Malaysian company willing to finance his venture ?

written by Krazee, June 30, 2009 11:59:28
Why compare with Taiwan ? Singapore without resources is now very much better and they depended on Malaysians that Malaysia do not value. Not surprisingly, there used to be more Malaysians in the management of Singapore multinational companies than Singaporeans...oh by the way in Malaysia it's the same but in racial tones.
written by talk2stop, June 30, 2009 12:00:17
Malaysia made a big mistake by maintaining NEP for too long. Now it is stuck. Nothing will change until the goverment remove race and religion from the equation. Malaysia will be battling to progress until "pendatang" think they are not "pendatang" from their hearts not from their voices.
written by mikewang, June 30, 2009 12:04:10
"Would you think that in terms of investment in education, it would be better to concentrate spending money on more rather than the few since the few have a high chance of deserting anyway?"
=====================

Dear Batsman,

In a R&D department/company, the brilliant and creative ones are most important to the department/company because they are the ones who create the product.
Normally these are the top 10~20 percent brain of the company.

The rest of the R&D team can perform the standard tests to check the product and write the documentation.
written by mikewang, June 30, 2009 12:13:17
"plus if this stoopid govenrment had the vision to allow private non-bumi universities to flourish, we could have saved billions in foreign exchange loss, plus earned billions more from r & d related returns."

====================================

Dear sydput,

Actually the government is not that stupid.
They are arrogant but not that all stupid.

Non-Bumi universities or universities that cater to non-Bumis without quota have actually flourished in Malaysia in recent years.
Monash, Inti, KDU, Nilai, UniTar etc have cushioned the demand for university placements in public universities that there is now a bigger demand for such graduates in Malaysia in the private sector than those from the public universities because of the perceived higher standards (especially in English).
written by asguard, June 30, 2009 12:13:18
52 years of screw-up in education policy by courtesy of Barang Naik put everything in dumps!
written by renoir, June 30, 2009 12:18:07
Wisdom wrote:
> Pass in UEC with 5 Credits inclusive English and Mathematics gain him a place in Taiwan University<

I remember a former student (Pua's senior) telling me that Pua first studied in the US. Did he attend Taiwan University? Anyway, to another reader, yeah, he's a genuine inventor - much respected by all former schoolmates. But there're several more, not as dramatic perhaps, but equally good in their respective fields.
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 12:27:47
written by tenukajaib, June 30, 2009 09:15:33
dey take a good look around you
all shop lot & bungalow own by chinese
my hometown also fill with all type of business own by chinese

It is a good reflection of how the general Malay public are being brainwashed into what they see. I was hoping for more comments like this. But sad that only this tenukajaib popped his head out.

The problem with this kind of mentality is that some people do not see what it takes for these Chinese businessmen to own such bungalows as compared to the ill gotten bungalows by cronies and lackeys.

Those ill gotten monies from illegal businesses aside, have they actually see how hard these businessmen work to get their money for the bungalows and child educations? Jealousy plays a big part in this kind of mentality.

If we were to have our minds set on how to creat more wealth for the citizen, instead of pin pointing on how much the quota should be, I think the cake will expand by itself. Everyone will enjoy bigger share of the money like what the Taiwanese, the Koreans and now the Mainland Chinese enjoys. When myopic politicians start looking at petty issues of who-should-get-what, the whole nation economy will come to a halt. The simple mentality is: why should I contribute more than what I can get? Just take a look at how many Malaysian businessmen moving their bases out of the country if they really love the country. I can't blame these big names, for they have their foresights of what is coming. I need not elaborate here. See. Think. You get the answer.

As for Malaysia, there were/are efforts to "transform" Malaysian technical development. There are bodies like MIMOS, MTDC, MSC, etc. But the moment you walked in and talk to the people in charge, you get turned off, apart from some of those who are out to get their short term gains.

Just look at how Taiwan and Korea transform themselves, from countries who were poorer than Malaysia in the early 70s to overtaking Malaysia in the 90s. This will shed light to how get the country to catch up with them, if the politicians were to shed their myopic discriminitory mindsets. Will they?
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 12:43:07
I do not understand what is the euphoria over some Malaysian who "invented" the pen drive. I would rather view

Dr. Hsu,I think you have got it wrong. Pua did not "invent" the pen drive. He was just a copy cat who copied the design out from the company where he had his internship. Hejust managed to raise the funds to getting him into the pen/thumb drive business. Show me his patent if anyone who thinks he "invented" the pen drive.

An excerp from this link tells the story
http://www.streetdirectory.com...drive.html
The credit of inventing the pen drives goes to IBM. It was invented in 1988 to replace the floppy disks, but IBM never patented it. IBM contracted in M-Systems to manufacture the Pen Drive and the patent is now owned by them.

The pendrive is a natural process deriving from the increased memory density of the integrated circuit (IC). There is no such thing as invention. The standardisation of USB (universal serial bus) from its conventional ones, facilitates the integration of many computer peripherals into the USB. The USB flash (pen drive) memory is just one of them.
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 12:46:40
oops, typo...

I would rather view

should read...

I would rather view it as Pua made a success from the pen drive business.
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 12:51:16
A smart clever country will never be poor. Just like a clever man/woman will never be poor. So many Malaysians leave Malaysia to study overseas and never come back. Malaysia should have more Universities and be one of Asia's leading learning centers. There is no need for any Malaysian to go overseas to study. It is better to have knowledge then to have money. A country will benefit from its peoples knowledge and politicians cannot fool knowledgeable people.
written by Kingsley, June 30, 2009 13:21:53
What went wrong?
That's an easy one: UMNO and Quota System
Mark my words, in another 10 years Vietnam will overtake Malaysia.
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 14:03:34
If education was affordable in Malaysia and students can get into universities, then a lot more students will study in Malaysia. Only rich people will send their children overseas. If all this was possible and still they want to leave then let them migrate. Forcing Malay into education just to keep people from leaving Malaysia is not the solution.
written by Rhan, June 30, 2009 14:42:46
If I am not wrong, Phua did clarify many times he didn’t invent anything. He didn’t go to US, he is a typical CIS graduate who furthers study in Taiwan. The other low profile fellow might be the one, his name is Aw Yong Chee Keong.

Anyhow, the point is Malaysia doesn’t provide the right environment for R&D. NEP policy is part of the reason, you don’t need to be an R&D engineer to make your millions. What you need is to create a bogus mold, add in some fantastic figure plus a marketing plan, loan and grant start coming in from the government sponsor venture fund, buy a Mercedes, get some pariah product from Taiwan or China, start selling it. If luck come, you become the entrepreneurs of the year and government might give you another two or three contract, if no luck, re-do the whole process again lo. Malaysia have no engineer, only sales engineer.

The multinational is suppose to be another alternative for technology transfer, problem is the concern of government is full employment to ensure no one come out on the street. To do this, Malaysia not only provide tax break, ignore transfer pricing, body like Mida keep quite even if the expatriate has been here for 10 years, xie xie, aligato, thank you and in the end, nothing except the many 20 years experience operator who earn 400 a month gazing at the machine, got his vss, jual nasi lemak.

I always say NEP plus industrialization is a wrong move. If we insist to have NEP, we should go into area like tanam jagung, tanam durian, tanam kelapa sawit, bela ikan, bela ayam that don’t need much creativity.

I try not to talk NEP but can't help it.
written by Oscar Winner, June 30, 2009 15:09:13
Agree with Rhan. For those who are uninitiated, the R&D fund is there for you to apply then you share-share with the people who approve the fund. What you do later with the fund, like Rhan said above, they will close one eye. I got to know about this more than a decade ago. I'm sure it's still the same lah. It's another get-rich-quick scheme
written by mikewang, June 30, 2009 15:09:35
Dear Batsman,

Why don't we insist on stressing the use of English or any capable language and educating a cream of students, create the competitive environment and help them to establish high technology enterprises so that the nation, as a whole, will benefit from their creativity and entrepreneurship ?

Why don't we learn to do what the Taiwanese had done in the '70s when the ROC government enticed Taiwanese engineers from Silicon Valley to return to Taiwan to establish the high tech industry in Hsinchu ?

Today, the Taiwanese are the drivers of the recovery in China and every new start up or employees in new start ups in HsinChu and other science parks across the island hope to gain from a future TSMC.
written by renoir, June 30, 2009 16:24:32
>Pua did not "invent" the pen drive. He was just a copy cat who copied the design out from the company where he had his internship. Hejust managed to raise the funds to getting him into the pen/thumb drive business. Show me his patent if anyone who thinks he "invented" the pen drive.]]

If the company owns the patent, it probably did something to the design to make it work. Even if Pua or the company aren't the originators of the design, its application remains innovative. Else IBM - and all of us! - can surely use the billions of dollars earned by this simple product. A lot of products are based on earlier products or ideas, and they're "new" simply because someone thought of a new way to use them, or some modification that made them useful. The person to first think about it, whether it's Pua or someone else, deserves full credit. The "inventor" of chewing gum didn't really invent it - nature did - but he got the resin from the tree, possibly added some favors, and today many of us think he was the "inventor" though in a strict sense he wasn't. That's the kind of "copy cat" Malaysia should have, and more.

written by batsman, June 30, 2009 16:29:41
I understand from a friend that a Malaysian has managed to grow cordeceps (whatever that is) in Malaysia. Seems he has no problems and is doing well.

I think it is better to depend on people whose visions are closer to the people and not those whose visions are closer to hitech and hipaid USA.
written by Loh, June 30, 2009 16:43:37
///Truthbespoken - sorry - can't wait for yr answer - pressing matter calls. Just like to say that of the excuses given for immigrating ...
None of them wants to return to Malaysia. Why? Because of the, based on their comments are, racism, low income, no R & D facilities, favoritism, etc.

Racism and favouritism are only 2 out of 4. Don;t tell me that these do not exist in White countries. So it would seem that the other 2 make more sense - low pay and no R & D facilities.///--Batsman

I take it that Batsman argued for the sake of argument. Racism and favouritism is everywhere, and it can even be said to be human nature. But only in Malaysia institutionalised racism is practised with no end in sight.

Many drugs can cause harm, but an overdose of even one drug would kill. Malaysia is killing herself slowly with racism and NEP.
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 17:40:47
Racism is everywhere in the world, but in Malaysia the government supports it. In all developed countries racism is not accepted by the government or by the law.
written by apa jadi, June 30, 2009 18:49:23
That's the kind of "copy cat" Malaysia should have, and more.

Don't get me wrong that I despise Pua for his business. I was only objecting to the miscoception people have on "invention". Moreover, Pua did not claim that he invented it. People do.

As I have said, this pen drive, thumb drive, USB flash memory or whatever you call, is a natural derivation from semiconductor miniaturisation. There are many pen/thumbdrive manufacturers in this business. It is a competative business that can go bust anytime. Once in it, the semiconductor business, you are on your toes to keep up with the competition. It is too early to tell if Pua will go as big as Acer or disappear into oblivion. That's the effort he has to keep up with.

Chuah, there are many of these "copy cats" around. But Malaysian copy cats only look at what that can make a fast buck. Most of them are linked to some GLCs. They have no vision to get long goals. All they are interested is the % of equity they get from the business--Win-Win business...hehehe. They bought/buy outdated technologies to meeting their short term goals and have no idea of the technicalities involved. Often they are conned by these technology "sellers" who sold/sell them the technology. Some realised their mistakes, but have to bite the bullet to carry on with the bullshi-ts to make sure they don't loose their money.

"hat's the kind of "copy cat" Malaysia should have" is wrong. It would be more appropriate to say "Malaysia needs more conducive environment for entrepreneurs". Having the environment in order, copy cats, vultures, technocrates, entrepreneurs and whatnot will naturally come into existence to help propelling the nation to advancement.
written by mikewang, June 30, 2009 21:11:20
Dear Batsman,

I think you observe wrongly.
Malaysians everywhere says good things about their country.
However, they say bad things about their government.
Like them, many of us here love our country but despise the government.

It was the same situation in Taiwan when Chiang Kai Shek was the supreme ruler there.
written by KARMANNGHIA, June 30, 2009 21:38:43
Amno and Dumb Drives

written by LFLee, June 30, 2009 21:45:43
LHChuah,

Do you even read the article before you comment?

"No, he went there because he wouldn't be treated as a second-class citizen, or have to listen to people threatening him with the keris. He studied in the US (no Mara scholarship or appropriate offers from his own country's univs), and if money was the sole criterion he would've remained in the States."

He went to study in Taiwan because he can't afford to go US or other countries.

This I can agree with you. Think about this: he couldn't study in the local univ though he was qualified, and had to spend a fortune to study overseas. Then, when he comes back with a great idea, and put that into action, some thick-skinned ruffian starts talking to him about a 30% share. Now why in the world would he NOT go away? It's one thing to share wealth with poor folks, but not with leeches who lord over the poor of all races.

No, the article didn't say he is qualify for local U but he choose not to go. He is from chinese independent high school (Pin Hwa High School, Klang), so his SPM result is probably not good enough for him to go Local U. BUT, the UEC result will get him to Taiwan U (and many other oversea U, including US and Aus).

Lee
written by renoir, June 30, 2009 23:06:43
Apajadi, I do understand your point. My contention is that generating new applications or even doing the same thing in a better way could be considered by many as "inventions" though Pua himself has apparently denied that he'd invented anything new. Whether copy cats like him are beneficial to the nation or not can be gauged by the money he made out of this business - quite a number of nations would be glad to have him as an investor, particularly during these recession times. So it doesn't really matter if his business is risky and he could go bankrupt one of these days (even the famous Wang An, who invented AND patented his principles of magnetic core memory which IBM and other companies used for their computers until the 1970s, finally saw his corporation go belly up). What matters is that he has made a lot of money, had helped provide people with employment, and has enough capital to start something else if he wants to. Don't you think if all Malaysians are half as successful as he is this country would be much better off? Of course, having entrepreneurs like him doesn't negate the need for a sound business environment - both are complementary in nature and not oppositional.

LFLee wrote:
>He went to study in Taiwan because he can't afford to go US or other countries.]]

I was commenting on general facts and used this particular case only as another example why people go overseas. As I mentioned earlier, I was told that he did go to the US. Though that information could be wrong, the fact that he'd to go to Taiwan already speaks volumes of our education system. And I've yet to find out whether he really did so poorly in his SPM, poorer than many who WERE accepted into local univs. This is one assumption I'm willing to risk: that regardless of his paper certifications, he's more than qualified than tens of thousands of others who were enrolled in our colleges through the kulitfication process.

I've been rather depressed the last few months at the number of highly qualifed kids who were shut off from tertiary studies. Right now I'm waiting to see what happens to another student's son, with 4As and 1B in his Higher School Cert.

Thus, the reason why I departed from the article was twofold: 1) I was replying to someone who said Pua would go away whether he goes overseas for his education or not, and 2) I'd talked about this case sometime ago in M-T. Further, I was teaching in Pua's school until I left this country some 30 years ago, and thus had information - whether correct or not - which prompted me to offer more food for thought.