Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar gives Khairy a lesson in debating during police Bill

Anwar gives Khairy a lesson in debating during police Bill PDF Print
Tuesday, 30 June 2009 02:13

By Wong Choon Mei, Suara Keadilan

Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim gave his political junior Umno’s Khairy Jamaluddin a good hiding when the latter tried to accuse him of playing the race card.

“We appreciate the vast majority of the police personnel including the vast majority of the Malays but we cannot condone corruption, intimidation, harassment, bullying by Malays, Chinese and Indians,” Anwar told reporters at the sidelines of Parliament.

“I think this is really unfortunate if we have to choose to defend them just because they happen to be Malays.”

The reform icon had earlier crossed swords with the Umno Youth chief over the Enforcement Agency Integrity Commission or EAIC Bill, which the Umno-BN was trying to push through Parliament in place of the Independent Police Complaints and Misconduct Commission or IPCMC Bill.

Anwar is unhappy with the EAIC which does not posses any powers of investigation and has to refer all cases to the public prosecutor, making it a mere complaints bureau rather than an independent body capable of checking police corruption and abuse of power.

He accused the Umno-BN of pushing through the water-down version to shield top-level Malay officers at the force.

“What is the point of making up all this new laws if corruption among enforcement agencies are still not dealt with despite having enough laws to stop it,” said Anwar.

Showy emptiness – Khairy and the EAIC

His stinging remarks drew a heated response from Khairy.

“You are the first to say that the IPCMC was rejected to protect Malay officers. We from the BN side have never once say that. You are the one playing the race issue here,” the Rembau MP said.

He insisted the government dropped the IPCMC because it did not want to demoralise the police force.

“Are you saying that the EAIC is superfluous? I disagree. The new body is necessary for the government to deal with the very points you have just raised,” the 33-year old insisted.

But despite the heated words and elaborate show of passion, Khairy nevertheless found himself agreeing with Anwar that the EAIC lacked the very powers it needed to deal with corruption and abuse of power in the force.

Now in its second reading, the EAIC is expected to be hammered through and made into law at the end of the current Parliament sitting.

Disgust and frustration at the endemic corruption in the police force was among chief reasons why Malaysians gave Anwar’s Pakatan Rakyat the bulk of the popular vote and control of five states in the 2008 general election.

Said Anwar: “We do recognise the importance of police personnel, we defend their rights. We understand their sacrifices and we want them to succeed but they cannot be held ransom due to the corruption and inefficiency of a few police personnel, that is the major question and we want to know why they are being protected?

“What is at stake? Do we want a professional police force with impeccable credentials?”

written by Cobweb76, June 30, 2009 02:30:22
It is quite obvious that the few corrupted police personnel (most of them in chiefs positions) have dirt on almost all corrupted politicians out there. They are after all the ones doing the dirty work and cover ups for these corrupted politicians. They must have tonnes of evidences to bring a lot of VIPs down. Here lies the dilemma for politicians because if the corrupted police go down, they go down.
Someone has got to give so unless one of these politicians or police personnel develop a guilty concscience we will always remain in the position of 'STALEMATE'!
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 30, 2009 02:35:08
It really is a case of if your not doing anything wrong you shouldn't be affraid of the IPCMC.

written by OilMan, June 30, 2009 04:22:49
Yeah... those corrupted PDRM.
Two weeks ago a friend has to fork out Rm 300 to avoid making a police report since his car's road tax and insurance has expired. The cop in charge said Rm tak cukup lah sebab kami ada 3 orang ni (Rm 50 not enough since there are 3 of us). My friend of course oblidged to the request cause he may get into deeper trouble.
Last month, my brother in-law told me that his present towkay was previously a gangster and told him a story. The towkay says he used to hang around a coffee shop and once in a while cops would catch them and demand that they pay Rm 1000 each. Those without any cash would be given 2 days to come up with the cash otherwise would be locked up. Hey.... I can go on and on so many stories. Maybe can make a book entitled, 'The Compilation of Horror Stories of the Malaysian Police Force'.
written by OilMan, June 30, 2009 04:24:17
I am sure there are others out who has some other unique experience especially with the PDRM. Share with us your stories.... smilies/smiley.gif
written by educationist, June 30, 2009 06:14:54
The rakyat wants a professional police force.
A force that is neutral in the enforcing of the laws of the country.
A force that puts the nation's peace and security as its core business rather than implementing political decisions of the UMNOputras.
The UMNOputras will want the current state of the police where the IGP is at its beck and calling.
written by Kathy, June 30, 2009 06:34:00
Why are there so many agencies being created by the govt.? Is it to provide jobs for their cronies and family members? Who is keeping tabs on these agencies to see whether or not they are of use to man or beast? How much tax money is spent on white elephants I wonder?
written by arazak, June 30, 2009 07:44:11
Toon Kooty said whoever took bribe and used the money than whatever he buys will be "haram". If he uses the money to buy food for himself and his family and than consumes the food, than it is like eating “babi”.

He said that due to the fact that most of the police personal are Malay Muslims and eating “babi” is a grievous sin for Malay Muslims. If we take Toon Kutty’s “fatwa” seriously, I wonder how much “babi” those corrupt police personal and their families had consumed? I wonder too how much “babi” the Ah Long Kingpins had been feeding the top police personal?
written by Hakim Joe, June 30, 2009 08:24:10
Demoralize the Police Force? That answer should be immortalized as one of the numerous idiotic and imbecilic answers given by the ruling junta. Unless this commission is really independent and possessing its own investigative powers (together with the legal authority to prosecute), it will merely be another government rubber stamped group of people who are only capable of performing whatever duties deemed fit by its political masters.

Having said so, even if IPCMC were to be adopted instead, what assurances are there that it will be truly impartial and independent?

written by Msian Idol3, June 30, 2009 08:44:38
We should be firm in dealing with corrupt PDRM officers & politicians. If not when are we going to get better or attract better brains to stay or remain in PDRM. As for corrupted politicians they deserve the slammer right now. They are voted in by the people & they have taken oaths. I see no problems in dealing a severe blow to corrupted politicians. All we need is a firm dedicated PM & a few good people doing his dedications. One good leader as PM is worth the whole cabinet of useless ministers.
written by Bloodhound, June 30, 2009 08:50:59
Why there must be sufficient REAL CONTROLS over the corruption and inefficiency of a few police personnel? That is the major question and we want to know why they are being protected! Why those in power are not willing or do not dare to impose the necessary or required controls to ensure that the PDRM do become an honest and professional force!

Now we know!

The Fourth Branch
Friday, 29 May 2009 09:15

Read here http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/22517/84/
written by Admiral Tojo, June 30, 2009 11:00:01
Malaysian Government = a coalition government, between the police and the underworld.

written by seethinkact, June 30, 2009 11:07:11
Khairy said "IPCMC dropped because gov didn't want to demoralize the Police Force"..

There you have it!! Good ole' Khairy has let the cat out of the bag for all to see. In just one sentence, he is saying the police are corrupt and in need of protection from prosecution or they'll be damned. He wilted when pressured and this does not say much for his political future.
written by Perak Boy, June 30, 2009 12:01:41

DSAI said:
“I think this is really unfortunate if we have to choose to defend them just because they happen to be Malays.”

Khairy said:
“You are the first to say that the IPCMC was rejected to protect Malay officers. We from the BN side have never once say that. You are the one playing the race issue here,”

Can you imagine ??? Had it not comes from DSAI (malay) but instead from LKS (DAP chinese), I wouldn't be surprised a bunch of UMNO MPs would jump to demand for an open apology and the MSM will blow this issue out of proportion, as usual.

Once a racist is always a racist ... and that is typical of UMNO.

written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 30, 2009 13:27:09

BN/UMNO! BN/UMNO! BN/UMNO! BN/UMNO!
THEY ARE A BUNCH OF SSSSSHIT!
CORRUPTED TO THE BLOODY CORE!
IF THE POLICE DONT DO ANYTHING WRONG,
WHY SHOULD THEY BE AFRAID OF THE IPCMC!

written by Sembahyanglahkamu, June 30, 2009 13:45:03

“You are the first to say that the IPCMC was rejected to protect Malay officers. We from the BN side have never once say that. You are the one playing the race issue here,” the Rembau MP said.

He insisted the government dropped the IPCMC because it did not want to demoralise the police force.

INCIDENTALLY THE MALAYSIAN POLICE FORCE ARE MADE UP OF MORE THAN 90% MALAYS & TO DROP THE IPCMC & PROTECT THEM FROM BEING DEMORALISED SHOWS THAT THEY ARE GIVEN THE LICENCE TO DO INJUSTICE TO THE RAKYAT, IS IT!!!!!!

written by adan, June 30, 2009 19:17:21
A' political freshie' trying in vain to outwit a seasoned politician !!
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2009 20:26:44
THE WHOLE POLICE IDIOTS ARE CORRUPTED.... HOW ELSE COULD UMNO REGIME MAINTAIN POWER? ALL THE POLICE HAVE TO VOTE FOR BN ANYWAY.... POSTAL VOTE,

THEIR VOTES ARE NOT SECRET, MAYBE FOR RM100 ONLY VOTE UMNO....