Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow What is there to be proud of?

What is there to be proud of? PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 17:26

So, does it really matter whether Lady Diana became a Muslim before she died? Would Islam benefit if Prince Charles or the Queen herself became a Muslim? Does this really enhance the image of Islam, as most Muslims believe it would?

There are many who are pleased with the revelation brought on by the death of Michael Jackson. This is of course the revelation that he may have converted to Islam. These happy people were also pleased that Cassius Clay became a Muslim (and is now called Muhammad Ali) and in most likelihood Princes Diana and astronaut Neil Armstrong did as well -- although I don’t think these personalities concerned actually publicly said so.

Why is it so important to Muslims that these superstars converted to Islam? So they died as Muslims. Or maybe they never became Muslims and died as Jews or Christians or whatever. Does it really matter one way or another what religion they professed before they died? What is it to us anyway? Would it not be their business more than ours?

I suppose to some this would be very meaningful. To know that extremely important people like Michael Jackson, Muhammad Ali, Princes Diana and Neil Armstrong may have all become Muslims gives us that feeling of winning. This proves that we were right all along. And everyone likes to feel that he or she was right and enjoy the satisfaction of being able to say, “I told you so!”

Would it mean anything to Muslims if one million poor and starving Africans converted to Islam? Probably not and we really don’t care if it were 100 million poor and starving Africans who had converted. It is not the numbers that count. We don’t care about quantity. We are concerned about the ‘quality’ of the converts.

One million or even 100 million poor and starving Africans converting to Islam is not something to be proud of. But if Prince Charles, heir to the British throne, was to become a Muslim then that is cause to celebrate with the slaughter of 100 camels and 300 sheep. That proves beyond any shadow of doubt that Islam is the correct religion and it further proves that I was right all along in subscribing to Islam. Hey, even Prince Charles agrees with me and Prince Charles is no ordinary human being.

This ‘we won’ and ‘we were right all along’ is not only a Muslim obsession but also an obsession of all religions. So before you take this as a cue to start your Islam-bashing please note that the word ‘Islam’ can be replaced with the word ‘Christianity’, ‘Hinduism’ or whatever. No religion is exempted from this ‘competitive spirit’ and the obsession to ‘prove itself’ by the converts it attracts -- and the higher the profile of the convert the higher your win and the stronger your message of being ‘right’.

Instead of harping on the number of new converts you are able to attract and the high profile or high quality of these converts, I would rather focus on the high quality of your existing practitioners and ask whether they are doing justice to the religion they are supposed to be professing. What does it matter if Queen Elizabeth herself converted to Islam if the rest of the five million or so Muslims in Britain leave much to be desired as far as their conduct is concerned.

Why are properties in non-white areas in Britain lower than in an all-white area? Well, basically this is because in a non-white area the crime rate is very high. Even your car insurance is higher if you live and park your car in these ‘black’ areas -- especially if you don’t own a garage and park your car on the street.

Granted, not all the non-whites are Muslims. Some are Christians, Hindus, or whatever. Nevertheless, if that particular Briton happens to be a Muslim rather than a Jew, Christian or Hindu, you can safely bet that that person would be non-white rather than white. So, while not all non-whites are Muslims, most Muslims are non-white. And the crime rate is higher in non-white areas (as it is in ‘white’ council areas).

So, does it really matter whether Lady Diana became a Muslim before she died? Would Islam benefit if Prince Charles or the Queen herself became a Muslim? Does this really enhance the image of Islam, as most Muslims believe it would? What would really enhance the image of Islam would be if property in non-white areas are exactly the same price as property in the white areas and your car insurance is not loaded because you live and park your car in a non-white area.

If Michael Jackson really did die a Muslim then well and fine. Good for him. It does not do anything for me anyway. The same as far as Lady Di is concerned and for the rest of the British Royal Family as well. The fact that these high profile people became Muslims does not add value to Islam. What would add value to Islam would be when you buy a car in Britain and you don’t end up paying double the insurance premium because you live in a high-crime rate ‘Muslim’ neighbourhood’ or that your home is cheaper in value because all your neighbours are non-white Muslims.

Now that would make me real proud indeed.

Comments (94)Add Comment
written by Argus Eye, June 29, 2009 17:33:20
it shocked me when tyson became a muslim. it is an insult to the religion. he may be a great boxer, but peace is something he would never be able to identify with.
disagree 51
agree 119
written by Democrats, June 29, 2009 17:37:27
I wonder,... if MJ was not exonerated from the child molestation claim and that if indeed he did convert to Muslim, would they still be proud of him being a muslim?

written by talk2stop, June 29, 2009 17:48:49
RPK, I think what you are saying in short."Muslims must learn to care for others, including animals, who share this earth together".
agree 212
written by Oscar Winner, June 29, 2009 17:49:07
Yes, what is there to be proud of? So why UMNO and PAS' Nash and Hadi keep harping on unity for the sake of Malays and Islam,

-if UMNO is still very much into corrupt practice?
-if abject poverty is not eradicated?
-if incest and rapes are on the rise?
-if they allow a rerun of the sodomy episode?
-if other races are not treated fairly?

This is not Islam-bashing. I'm whacking those bigots who are a shame to their religion
agree 232
written by Loh, June 29, 2009 17:49:47
Instead of religion, the same argument can be made regarding race. Does it matter whether the very rich are Malays? Mahathir thought so, and so he is very proud of Daim Zainuddin and his own children. Mahathir even changed the objective of NEP to create wealthy Malays so that Malays can be proud of them. That is also in support of the government decision that the sense of jealousy is legitimate, when it is directed at other races. For that NEP has to be preserved by succeeding generations of UMNO leaders.
agree 150
written by eeyaw, June 29, 2009 17:51:51
Religion is about beliefs not about personalities!
When Cassius Clay converted to Islam I remember how the power-that-be was bragging unashamely, same goes for Cat Steven.
I understand that the long time nanny for MJ's kids tried to convert the family to Muslim with the assistance of the 'Nation of Islam' but was unsuccessful when MJ fired her.
written by bikerzon, June 29, 2009 17:52:41
all religion teach us to be a good human being. No matter whether you're a Buddhist or Muslim, or whatever religion you profess, the bottom line is that you do justice to other human being.

Take for example the ISA, it is an injustice rule condone by UMNO that supposedly to be Malay Muslim party. Islam is a peaceful religion that advocates justice but how come our Malaysia government still insisting on using ISA?

UMNO is MUNAFIQ!
agree 129
written by Mama Juwie, June 29, 2009 17:56:29
It is not who you are that matters when you are dead; it is what you did when you were alive.
agree 160
written by Braino, June 29, 2009 18:01:13
Setting religion aside, I think everyone should stife to be a better human being. Caring for others as much as they care for themself. It's easy to hide under the cloak of religious rightness when every other thing in your life is wrong!

Do unto others as you want others do unto you!
written by panca, June 29, 2009 18:15:51
Does not matter at all if numbers are added to religion but matter most only when religion add values to believers/followers' lives. Choose - personal development versus mass recruitment. Also form versus substance.
written by pugster, June 29, 2009 18:24:05
Dpm says he would fight to the last drop of blood to defend islam and malay rights,
Dpm,UMNO, go make a statement for malaysia regarding M.J's situation????...
The Malay unity issue has got nothing to do with other races. You shadow boxing? The fight is with yourselves and your own beliefs, if it is in the right path, you and Umno would have unity not only in islam but malay race too. You Umno just dont bloody get it do you? Religion if practised accordingly would be a unification factor of all an that includes malay unity. The fight is not with the non malays. Rais Yatim! another disgrace to malaysians! Bodoh! Hishamiddin! You screwed up our education system! Ah! the list goes on and you are still there in the cabinet!!!! That is the problem with UMNO! Reactive government with proactive citizens, how guys? Migrate?
written by beijing, June 29, 2009 18:50:15
If Muslim really proud of this high profile people are Muslim, Muslim should learn from this people and not demonstrate jihad, power crazy and so on. Look at Iran, Southern Thailand, Sudan, Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Somalia, and some other Muslim country in Africa. They are all Muslim but not the proud Muslim.
written by DontPlayGod, June 29, 2009 18:51:19
Yes, why the fanaticism for numbers? Does it mean that if there are more Muslims than all the other followers of other religions put together, your place in heaven is assured? Does it means that God also practises democracy and that since the Muslims(or for that matter, any other religions) are the most in number, heaven will be reserved only for those from the numerical biggest group?

I can see that, following the comments in MT, that followers of religions are very concerned with being numerically superior. Is that one reason why the Muslims are not allowed to convert out of their religion? Just to maintain numerical strength?

Right and wrong cannot be decided by numerical superiority. It doesn't mean that since there are more, say, Christians than Buddhists, so Christianity is right and Buddhism is wrong. Religion is not about democracy, in that the numerically superior has the more say.

I once heard on radio that at a sermon given in a mosque, the speaker was boasting the numerical strength of the Muslims. This is to show that some followers of religions are very concerned with numerical strength. And not only that, if some famous singer, or boxer, or star athelete converts to their religion, they feel very proud, as if they are happy that this reinforces that they themselves are right about their religon as the only true religion.

As for me, what matters is not what rituals you follow, or how you dress, or what you eat or don't eat, but about your thoughts, your actions, your attitude towards yourself and others, your behavior, and character. And whether you have helped others who are in need of help, or your have bad-mouthed others to get them into trouble, etc. Religious rituals, to me, are of the least importance, but if we look around us, most followers seem only to stress on rituals.

Perhaps, it is easy to follow rituals than being a good person.

Is this one of the reasons(or the main reason) why religious missionaries go around trying to convert as many practioners as possiblle?
written by cheemengwong, June 29, 2009 18:54:38
Islam, Christianity or any religion on earth together with their practitioners can only be beneficial if they are salt and light to this world... otherwise they are just a name!
written by gorshan, June 29, 2009 19:00:49
agama punya pasal boleh komen dan komen sampai itu unta naik jemu pusing balik rumah jadi best gua bilang "unto you yours and unto me mine".habis cerita smilies/grin.gif
written by SamYap, June 29, 2009 19:08:11
Following RPK's logic about lower property values in a non-white muslim area, then should we be proud that we support Pakatan Rakyat which has an MP like Zulkifli Nordin - a rabid frothing mouth self procliamed defender of Islam, who is against any intelligent dialogue regarding inter-religious issues?
written by pillars, June 29, 2009 19:26:46

RPK, my salute to you Sir.
written by Hakim Joe, June 29, 2009 19:38:32
The question is not whether MJ is a Muslim or not.
The pertinent question is why was this issue being brought up now that he’s dead?
C’mon people! The dead cannot defend themselves.
Whether he is Muslim or not is NONE OF OUR CONCERN!
So what if he was a Muslim, or a Martian, or a white man impersonating as a black man?
You like his songs and his moves, go buy a CD or a DVD or a Blueray Disc.
Gawd help you if you don’t.

written by DamnPekcek, June 29, 2009 19:40:17
I'm a free thinker, however, i thought All the Gods are just One, we are believing in the same God. It's just the different Path we choose. Why fighting?
Anyone echos my thought?
written by *********, June 29, 2009 19:47:26
What's scary here is that Muslims rarely protest when acts of terror are commited by Muslims against non Muslims eventhough Islam doesn't condone such evil acts...More http://*********.********.com
written by singam, June 29, 2009 19:49:03

What does it mean to say "Michael Jackson died a Muslim"? If it means that, as he passed away, he submitted to the Will of Allah, then he is blessed. But if it means that, after he died, a piece of paper was produced to show that he had converted to Islam, who cares? In either case, what business is it of anyone else? It's a matter between him and Allah.

A clarification. As far as I know, there is no such thing as conversion to Hinduism. I know that some of the Hindu "Churches" in the USA have come up with conversion rituals based on the naming ceremony of a small child. But the concept of conversion is alien. Any person can choose to follow Hindu customs and practices. The group of people you do these things with will rejoice with you. But there is no required documentation or ceremony to perform.

I suspect that the "conversion ceremony" practised in the US is the result of the "convertees" feeling incomplete without such a ceremony. They feel the need to "break away" from what they were before.
written by sydput, June 29, 2009 20:17:46
the first few pages of the koran is powerful. it really gets you.
but the messages in the koran focused on good and righteous deeds. Not on religion.
Muslims on the other hand, do the reverse.
written by Semut Jantan, June 29, 2009 20:19:44
With all due respect, I think they should end the "body snatching" practice. Abang RPK, would you expound on this please.
written by sydput, June 29, 2009 20:20:16
And if michael jackson died a muslim, don't tell jakim or MAIS or their counterparts. otherwise there may be complications in the burial arrangement(body snatching again, Oh noooooo).
written by Semut Jantan, June 29, 2009 20:26:45
This is one of the best from YM RPK. This should be a 'must read' for all students in our school system.

Start from the school of UMNO, from top down.
written by nanyangren, June 29, 2009 20:37:22
political parties needs katak to hop and change color but I dont think GOD needs any.
written by arazak, June 29, 2009 20:58:11
I do not care if he/she is a Muslim, Christian, Jew, Budhist, Hindu, Scientology or whatever religion he/she may profess. If he/she had contributed to mankind in terms of arts, science or any discipline and make this place a better place to live, than he will have my respect and I will pray for him.

My prayers to such people that has impacted my life such as MJ, Lady Di, Albert Einstein, Sir Jagadish Chandra Bose, Louis Braille, Johann Gutenberg, Alexander Fleming. Jacque Yves Cousteau, Ibnu Khaldun, Al Biruni, Albert Camus, Somerset Maugham, Boris Pasternak, Leo Tolstoy, Pramoedya Ananta Toer, Pak Sako, Chinua Achebe, Mantovani, Ghandi, Malcolm X . . ., and others!
written by apa jadi, June 29, 2009 21:01:51
Hahaha...RPK at it again.
It doesn't matter if you are black or white.
It doesn't matter if you are Muslim or non-Muslim.
It does matter if MJ died in Malaysia.
Body snatchers will be on full alert to have his body "caveated" till all legalities settled.
It doesn't matter if MJ is on drug or not as long as he is Muslim.
It doesn't matter if MJ is a child molester or not as long as he is a Muslim.
It doesn't if MJ songs and dances contravene Islamic teaching as long as he is a Muslim.
It does matter if MJ is not.
written by Malaysia Ku, June 29, 2009 21:03:09
In short, I think we can be in any religion, race, nationality and what not, what really matter is what we have contribute to the society. Bak kata perpatah Melayu "Harimau Mati Meninggalkan Belang, Manusia Mati meniggalkan Nama" CHEER!!
written by KotaDamansara73, June 29, 2009 21:10:14
Enough of Muslim bashing or religion bashing. It has got nothing to do with religion.

It is the human mind that is stupid. HUman are afraid of death. And because of that, they created religion to calm their unpeace soul. The faster you accept that all of us are going to die, the better it is.

Those evil human will use religion to control the rest of the people.

TO be a progressive race, we must progress to the next level. BELIEVE IN SCIENCE.
written by johnT, June 29, 2009 21:13:04
Islam teach human to have mercy, to be fair, and not to kill even a innocent tree or flower during war. Did the muslim today follow the teaching? Islam teach that all human is the same level in the eye of Allah. Did Malaysia goverment or even PAS do so?
written by nero287, June 29, 2009 21:18:52
I tend to notice that even in this uncertain economic environment, M'sians are more obsessed with race and religion. Race and religion bashing has become an addiction. A type of morbid fascination that divides the massess. I think the adage that "religion is the opiate of the masses" holds true for M'sian. I pity RPK. There is nought to show for all his efforts. The gist of his articles are misconstrued, twisted and turned into an opportunity to lash out at religions of others. The main casualty being Islam. For the record I am not a Muslim. RPK is right, the standard of comments in MT has declined considerably. Guys, lighten up. take a deep breath, and try to understand what RPK is trying to convey. And I referring to his many articles that have been misread, misunderstood and mis-commented upon. Sigh, perhaps it is time for me to take a break from MT ...
written by Anti Relon, June 29, 2009 21:44:32
Whille you people talk and die to propagate Islam, the religion of peace as you call it, the rewst of the world is passing you by. Even poor Indonesia is telling you to 'f..k off'. They have pride in themselves and do not barg about their Islam. It is just a religion to tehm and nothing more. Even minor countries like Cambodia and Vietnam is gaining over you and soon will overtake you both economically and politically.
You people have to give religion a rest for your own good.
Try checking this website to expand your mind: http://freethinker.co.uk
written by Argus Eye, June 29, 2009 21:48:49
Ali Cardoba said "Had he not seen that 'dark' side of the Indian Muslims, the Dalit would have been Muslims and this would have meant there would have been no Pakistan and India would have been a Muslim state."

Don't you think you're basing your assumption on a rather extreme hypothesis; that Dr Ambedkar would have converted all the Dalits or a huge majority of them to the extent that they would outnumber the 'other' Hindus(minus Dalits)?

Dr Ambedkar would not have been able to change the course of history. There may have been mass conversions but it wouldn't amount to a higher muslim:hindu ratio, and Jinnah would have still pushed for a Muslim state.

written by macakmy, June 29, 2009 22:07:13
What my simple mind and bad understanding of the English language derived from this article is that Muslims obsession with high profile converts are foolish to say the least. It demonstrates the shallowness of their minds and attitude. Instead, Muslim should strive to change and improve themselves so as to bring their social standing to be better or at par with the "whites" or whoever it is that they look up to. This cannot be achieved without being a good true Mukmin. And this is what they can and should be proud of. RPK, correct me if I am wrong.
written by macakmy, June 29, 2009 22:13:09
shamsulyunos, petty minds thinks of petty things...

BTW, which AMENO branch r u from?
written by Steven Ong, June 29, 2009 22:21:35
Yes, very correct Pete . What is there to be proud of? If a tree does not bear good fruits, what is it good for, except to be chopped down and thrown into the fire. Any tree that does not bear good fruits will be chopped down and throen into the fire. For if you do good to a fellow brother or sister, you do it unto your faith. if you clothe your brother who is naked, feed your brother who is hungry and give a drink to him who is thirsty , you did it unto your faith. That we should be proud of. For God so love the world, that who ever obeyed Him ( To love his brothers and sisters ) would have a blessed and everlasting life.
written by JohnQ, June 29, 2009 22:23:11
I only care a person is human and humane, I dont care what religion he believed in that turn him BAD
written by SiHangChai, June 29, 2009 22:47:40
I agreed with RPK's comment. What is so proud of? I felt really insulted especially local taboid, Kosmo, published its headline, "Adakah MJ akan dikebumikan sebagai Islam?" By the way, no insult, how MJ is to be burial is none of your business, Kosmo. Anyway, what is the point if MJ being an Islam still drink alcohol, taking dangerous drugs and eating pork? Look at Mike Tyson. He is an Islam but he takes all the illegal substance that are outlawed by Islam. So? Anyway, look at who at MJ's Islam friends are? And also Mike Tyson? Are they pure Muslim as Middle East Muslim, and some of those 'out of the blue' Muslim? I hope MJ is a pure Muslim as Middle East Muslim, but I am really doubtful. So the family has decided that MJ is to be burial 1/2 christian & 1/2 Muslim. In other word, a common burial that likely ended in Church. Don't believe, go and read all the US taboids and newspapers.. and just lets MJ laid in peace. We all are human.
written by tenang, June 29, 2009 23:36:45
Dear shamsulyunos,

I don't think RPK's article adds or deletes anything from Islam. Islam at its core is just the way it is; It is for us to follow and manifest the words of god without claiming our ownership of the god or words of god or truth. Without owning the god/truth, there is nothing to be defensive about Islam.

What left though is the humility to see the weakness of our respective self, the community of a particular set of believers, and the institutions to which the religion is associated.

I think RPK's article add value to muslim community (to other religion community to some degree) by pointing out an abnormaly of pride over high profile conversion. Were it just a small blip of pride amoung muslims' heart, I won't think he will write the article. But when there are public overt pride, as repeated in main media, then ones must suspect this particular community have misplaced its spiritual priority.

Being a muslim, RPK does his duty to point out the community's misplaced priority. Were they more muslims come forward to right the wrongs of such misplaced priority, won't you think muslims will be a little bit closer to what Islam preaches?

Are we more concerned about being at the god side, or we are more concerned about god being at our side?

written by Steven Ong, June 29, 2009 23:49:27
God is proud of us and happy if we do His will- to forgive and to love one another as He forgive us and love us. Let MJ 's soul rest in peace. We mourn -OK?

We mourn also for ourselve - sinners, that we may have mercy from GOD.
written by Fat Zorro, June 29, 2009 23:53:18
May be the Muslims practising Islam today are at the crossroads like how it was with Christianity in the 16th Century. The Catholics v the Lutherians and Protestants and which church is more superior etc.
written by yy88, June 30, 2009 00:14:48
Pete, you are absolutely right, it doesn't matter to us whether MJ, Princess Diana,Cat Steven, Mohd Ali, Mike Tyson have converted to Muslim or not.

But it does concern us and Islam GREATLY if Muslims like Tun Mamak, IGP Musang, HisapPudin,Najis Atlantuya, Guni Paktahi, Kangaroo Judges, UMNOputras, and et tal are all hipocratically professing in the name of Islam doing good to the country and race but committing crimes and sins beyond anybody's believe.

Judge a person not by his religion but by his characters and deeds.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 30, 2009 00:41:31
The best garment for you is the garment of righteousness (NOT Religiosity). Quran

Deeds and not mere words, are all that matters. I tried telling his to that Harunsainy fellow from Perak but he would not listen. Guess who appointed him?

Yes Pete, zilch, zero and nothing to be proud of, these so called Muslims. So called because in my book, they are NOT Muslims at all.

written by verifunny, June 30, 2009 01:23:22
Who cares if everyone is a Muslim and I am not!!! The most important is your own existence.

Responsibility - to your parents, siblings, spouses, friends, country and the world. Let's start from the simple ones. How many people have often call / visit your own parents/relatives if you live on your own or be concern with their well-being if you live with them? How many people have thought of donating to world food program to help those who are hungry besides donating locally? How many would think of helping your own when you becomes rich and powerful?

There are so many meaningful and human things that we can do to make a better world out of those who suffers till now. Religions are teaching us to be human when some have lost it. Religion is not about redemption. What you did right or wrong has became a fact. Nothing can erase the wrongs. This is the truth.

written by aeromaverick, June 30, 2009 01:24:52
Well, I really do not think an article like this should be taken as rediculous. I also think that readers should try and accept that an intellectual dialogue is not necessarily a "bashing" episode.
The commentors obviously are crude, most of the times. They are end of the day, the product of a skewed systems.
Instead of accepting that they were brought up in the wrong manner, and atleast make ammends, they hooter along with a herd mentality!
written by Cobweb76, June 30, 2009 03:24:18
"What would add value to Islam would be when you buy a car in Britain and you don’t end up paying double the insurance premium because you live in a high-crime rate ‘Muslim’ neighbourhood’ or that your home is cheaper in value because all your neighbours are non-white Muslims.

Now that would make me real proud indeed." - RPK

Me too. But who really gives Muslims a bad name if not Muslims themselves. Britain is not an Islamic nation (nor is Malaysia by the sounds of it but then that a differet debate). So if you are a Muslim, living in a country predominatly Christian (or another religion) you might want to show a good example of being a good citizen and not a threat. It is bad enough we have terrorist causing chaos and mayhem in the name of Islam, then you have non white muslims opening muslim schools where they teach the children there to basically hate everything about the British culture and that white non-muslims people will go to Hell and if we kill them, there's a better chance we will be accepted in Heaven. Now you tell me if the whole situation is reversed and you live in an Islamic nation and you are not a muslim and this goes on in a non muslim school, how would the muslim society around you react?
written by wongnoball, June 30, 2009 04:43:07
...and when Lina Joy converted out of islam to CHRISTIAN....the reaction is different.....WHY??

Malays-nuslim in malaysia need to grow up and understand what is Freedom of Religion and embrace it. So what if all these Myths are true? Its the present SOCIAL ILLS in malaysia that matters. The Racism , corruption, Dhimi ideology, murder, UMNO Police Kejam revolutionary Guard, Sultan Munafik, Sultan Pedofile, Sultan Murder, Sultan Rogol, Sultan Curi.....all have insulted Islam many millions times over...yet you think so easily swept under carpet??..they are the Neon Light of what Islam is to non-muslim in Malaysia....unfortunately we non muslim knows how muslim should behave better than muslim themselves.....Shame on you!!
written by amoker, June 30, 2009 05:07:41
I bet, that soon some Islamic council will come in to fight for the harta of MJ. hehe. I wonder how strong are the stories of his conversion esp. the side story that Dubai bosses are giving him money loans etc. Makes a lot of sense.

Bah, everybody is the same... big stars bah.
written by temenggong, June 30, 2009 06:32:41
In the 70s many black americans converted to islam under a black preacher by the name of Elijah Muhammed, and such conversions continued in the prisons which have a high black population. It was a protest movement against mainstream white society and christianism was seen as a contributory to prejudices against blacks.

Today there are about 2 million caucasian americans who have converted to Hinduism, more than the Indian population of Malaysia, and another half million to Buddhism. What does this mean? And yet another 25 million have become vegetarians. The latest fad is wearing attire with chinese characters printed on it. It means people are moving. Away from whatever is mainstream and seen as contributory to social injustices.

Singam, you are mistaken. There are long standing valid conversion sacraments which mostly the ex-jews insist on taking.
written by wongnoball, June 30, 2009 07:56:35
Ali CordoHba,

You saw the impact of the Allah word in malaysia......so many laugh at the Malaysian Islam Leaders because of that. How about the banning of the malay bible....is this your game of Stats....Ban other books give your Quran for Free, then call it sold out. How Shallow your ameobic brain. If that makes you proud, then we know what status of Islam-muslim you are......the Munafik Type.

More important issues here for Malaysian to know that everyone wants to NAIK Pangkat today in all Government Service. Lets Video everytime you take the attempted fine in case they walk away not giving you a fine but later charged with Bribery!!.....the SCAMs are increasing...Damn if you do and Damn if you don't!!

WARNING : DON ' T OFFER DUIT KOPI FROM NOW ON!
DEAR FRIENDS
If you have ever paid or are thinking of paying ' Coffee Money ' when stopped for traffic or other offences, DON ' T EVER Do This Again.

The traffic department (JPJ) has recently started a campaign to be rid of corruption. Every Officer on duty will be rewarded with RM100.00 if they report each case of bribery to the department.

This is how they do (trick you into) it. They will note down the details of your IC/MyKad, and ask you how you want to settle ( ' Macam mana nak selesai? ' )

If you indicate yes or even offer to give them any money, they will report the incident by rejecting your ' Kopi Money ' and get the RM100.00 instead as an incentive for their integrity and ' Honest ' pubicity.

This means that You will end up having a summon issued to you and perhaps a charge for bribery.

SO DON ' T PAY DUIT KOPI AGAIN, especially if you hope to go free with a lesser amount of money compared to the fine. Even if you want to pay over RM200, the JPJ Officers would rather have a ' good ' name than to take your kopi money.

Just beware of their trick because the cops are now accumulating ' cookies ' points for their promotion and pay increment - with your help if possible.
They should have done this to stop corruption long time ago... but anyway it ' s better late than never, right?

SPREAD THIS MESSAGE TO EDUCATE OTHERS ON THIS NEW ANTI-RASUAH POLICY!
AND DON ' T YOU DARE TO CORRUPT ANY JPJ OR EVEN POLICE OFFICERS AGAIN!
written by Kacang Tanah, June 30, 2009 08:03:39
I don’t feel proud at all to have Najis, Shit Hamid, IGP and AG as my Muslim “friends”.
written by yeechut, June 30, 2009 08:42:46

The herd mentality, the psychological and emotional need to 'belong' is only human. It is a mere fact of human existence, and in and of itself there is nothing inherent wrong with it.

It is true that this human trait has been utterly abused and manipulated by many unscrupulous people, the so called political/religious/social 'authorities' and 'leaders'. But this human trait can also be our saving grace. This is the very thing that binds the people into a coherent and cohesive whole. This is the stuffs that makes people power possible.

What we need now is a different type of leadership, a different type of propaganda (or counter propaganda if you like) that is based on wisdom. A core group of such leaders has to emerge, and the very stuff that you criticize here can be put to great effect and great use.

This is what I am looking for in People Power.
written by pinsysu, June 30, 2009 09:31:38
at the end of the day when we stand b4 the Lord, it's true that we hv nothing to be proud of. in cosmic term we are not even one speck of dust. most ppl refuse to understand the fact that on the final day, it's juz between u and God. He judges u according to ur deeds. and what humans think it's ok nid not be ok with Him. God knows His standards. we think we know it too bcos of how we interpret His standards.

it does not matter if the whole world population is converted to Muslims. i bet u one ringgit that discrimination in watever forms will still manifest bcos God did not create man in perfection. why? God knows. smilies/wink.gif
written by DontPlayGod, June 30, 2009 09:52:29
It seems to be a Muslim or a Christian and be accorded a place in heaven is easy. Just go through the rituals of these two religions to "join"(like joining a club) and hey presto, your place in heaven is assured. In buddhism, taoism, hindusim, one does not need to go through any rituals or have a certificate or witnesses to confirm one has "joined" these "clubs". If we believe in a certain religion, well, just live according to what those scriptures say and in the end, we will find that there is actually very little difference between religions.
However, people being people, they always like to differentiate amongst themselves according to their racial characteristics, skin colour, hair colour, language, culture, politics, and maybe even the length of their pe....
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 30, 2009 09:57:07
Why is it so important to Muslims that these superstars converted to Islam? So they died as Muslims. Or maybe they never became Muslims and died as Jews or Christians or whatever. Does it really matter one way or another what religion they professed before they died? What is it to us anyway? Would it not be their business more than ours?
It is not the numbers that count. We don’t care about quantity. We are concerned about the ‘quality’ of the converts.

SPOT ON RPK. ANY RELIGION THAT TRAMPLES ON HUMAN DIGNITY, WHICH DOES NOT MAKE A PERSON MORE HUMANE, WHICH DOES NOT EMPOWER THE PERSON TO STAND UP AS A HUMAN BEING, AND WHICH NEGATES HUMAN VALUES, IS NO BETTER THAN ONE WHO DOES NOT HV ANY.

written by AO Musa, June 30, 2009 11:55:06

There is a different when the famous people converted to Islam compared to normal citizens. During the glory of Islam, the spreading of Islam starts from the leader of each community. They will approach the leader first and not the peasants.

When the leader is converted, automatically the citizen will follow the step. If not all at least half of them. Same here, if some famous icon converted to Islam, its actually will ring the bell in many people's head. If not all at least some of them.

Can you see the different now?
written by antiilluminati, June 30, 2009 12:03:45
God isn't happy with people converting. I believe God is happy when people shown great compassion to fellow human beings and animals alike.
Many belives religion is a political mind conditioning tool.
written by slimbrowser, June 30, 2009 12:14:36
What I heard, Cassius Clay converted to Mohamad Ali because he wanted to escape from national service.

Princess Diana... No proof,...

Neil Armstrong... He denied that,

M J.... No Proof...

But even if they had converted, who cares. You can be proud that these personalities have converted to this religion but, so many others are not muslims. So like RPK said, what is there to be proud of.. nothing.

Most people concentrate on form and not substance. If the persona of a person is shaped by a religion, and portrays a desired personality, others are bound to be attracted to the religion the person holds.

If the person portrays himself as a muslim, but find the joy of strapping bombs onto their body and kill innocent lives, would that be good to islam?

Millions of copies of the koran was bought after the 9/11, but the purpose of them to buy these koran is to get an in depth knowledge as to what is it in the koran that triggered these madness. Now they know.
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 12:30:52
If more famous people are coverted to drink coke, does that make coke good? If more famous people are converted to smoke pot, does that make pot good? It is what happened to you AFTER you convert that matters - just as what happens to your health after drinking coke and smoking pot that matters. As for Islam, is there any indication that an Islamic state is better than a buddhist, hindu, christian or secular state? Quite the opposite! Have being muslims make those people more morally upright that non-muslims? Not an iota of evidence. Flying planes into buildings and blasting oneself in crouded places in God's name - yes, plenty of examples and still kept coming.
written by Rozlan, June 30, 2009 13:00:26
Instead of harping on the number of new converts you are able to attract and the high profile or high quality of these converts, I would rather focus on the high quality of your existing practitioners and ask whether they are doing justice to the religion they are supposed to be professing. What does it matter if Queen Elizabeth herself converted to Islam if the rest of the five million or so Muslims in Britain leave much to be desired as far as their conduct is concerned.

Agreed..
written by Aria, June 30, 2009 13:23:47
If Muslims want to be happy because someone converted to Muslim I got no problems with that. Don't force any religion on anyone and don't bring religion into politics. smilies/smiley.gif
written by feight, June 30, 2009 15:09:52
This is partly driven by the "Mutually Exclusive" mindset, a product of our national education system. Emphasis on MCQ (multiple choice questions) trains one to believe the least wrong is automatically the right.

If MJ chose a religion, it may be that he saw something in it, but that does not mean everyone will see the same thing, and certainly it does not mean all others who chose the same religion saw what he saw and can thus be classified as equals with him.

But I really like the bit about 'not all non-whites are Muslims, (but) most Muslims are non-white'. The simplistic "Mutual Exclusive" thinking makes it very easy for certain people to spin things along the racial and religious lines. For eg, if we say 'most of the rich in Malaysia are Chinese', does it automatically mean most Chinese are rich? And further, does it mean in absolute numbers there are more rich Chinese than rich other races?

This reminds me of drawing circles in Math classes talking about Set Theory.
written by aeromaverick, June 30, 2009 15:33:01
Dear Ali Cordoba,
Thank you for a revealing article. While I respect your point of view, I would like to bring up a point here.
Portion of the comment you wrote was referring to a "what if" metaphor.
Well, end of the day, Human history is not about such metaphor, its about how things worked out.
Its still a "zero sum game".
What is there is there!
Well, this is my view, while respecting yours, brother.
smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif smilies/smiley.gif
written by A MI, June 30, 2009 15:54:24
it is just small minds seeking validation; why they should resort to this beats me

on another note, Muslims Malays(MMs) very often tend to only recognize achievements by MMs. Perhaps there is some misconception somewhere that Muslims should not sing praises of non-Muslims? (hey I don't tout this, it is merely an observation) Is there?
written by carribeanking7, June 30, 2009 16:26:13
Any religion or discipline is only as good as the actions of its practitioners, otherwise its just dead scripture, meaningless.

I chose to be agnostic long ago, which is not to be confused with ignorant.

written by Wisdom above, June 30, 2009 16:59:47
A clear and explicit exposition from all angles.

It speaks to our hearts, mind and Soul.

Let's Fast and Pray for Wisdom, Revelation, Peace and Tranquility to prevail.
written by Naha, June 30, 2009 18:52:19
Salam RPK, is this a clue as to your current location? If it is, it would be great to have coffee with you and Kak Marina sometime. I couldn't agree more with your assessment of British Islam - I was called to jury service last year where nine out of eleven defendants were British Muslim. Not pretty.
written by lynn, June 30, 2009 20:02:40
Like George Carlin said before, "religion is the biggest bullshit of all time. Holy shit."

Two major religions do not permit birth control or contraception. They want the followers to "go forth and multiply". They want quantity, not quality. How to have your cake and still eat it? So if you use your brains properly (if any), you pick one or the other. The religious men want you to multiply like jackrabbits. So that xxx religion has 1 or 2 billion followers worldwide. Now that's impressive!!!

In today's world, where food prices are soaring in developed countries, you would notice prices in Bodohland are creeping up quietly too. Don't people realise this fact, this reality? So you want to have ten kids because your religion said so? Who is going to feed your kids when you drop dead, if you lose your job? The umno govt? Fat hopes.

Malaysians shld wake up to the fact, overpopulation reduces quality of life - unless of course, you already amassed hundreds of millions or tens of billions. The reality is, most of us are just struggling to get by these days.
written by DontPlayGod, June 30, 2009 22:04:03
God, we are now in the 21st century, and yet here we are talking about whether a dead person should be buried according to Muslim or Christian rites. Does it really matter? Does it really matter to God how a person is buried? How about those who die in the jungles, desert, and eaten up by the wild animals, or their bodies left to decay to dust? They were not buried according to any rites, since nobody knows they were dead or who they were. How about those who died in air crashes, like the recent Air France airbus which crushed into the sea near Brazil? Most of the bodies were never found. Probably, their bodies have been eaten up by the sharks! How about during war time when bodies were bombed without recognition, or whose bodies were never found? Are all these dead bodies soul still lost and wandering around?

All these talk by religious fanatics really sickens mankind.

written by AsamLaksa, June 30, 2009 22:15:11
Religion has moved out of the realm of personal beliefs into a free market environment. It's using celebrities and world leaders. Tom Cruise with Scientology, George Bush a born-again Christian, Tony Blair recently converted to Roman Catholic, Muhammad Ali, Cat Stevens and Mike Tyson into Islam, etc. Then there are others who use other people converting out of a religion as ammunition against the other faith.

I don't really care. I am not obsessed with who is right or righter. Even if my own father and mother converts to any religion, I am not going to quickly jump in together. Belief is personal to me.

I hope people are more introspective and do not lose sight of what really matters to them regardless of whatever doctrine they follow.

Religions use all sorts of strategies to gain converts. Some use a structured method like the Alpha course (http://uk.alpha.org/). Some use the individual's personal problems as a way to convert them. Some use fear to encourage others to convert their family and friends (usual story of one faith goes to heaven and you won't meet your close ones of a different faith). I always ask... What's it all for?
written by kawaafi, June 30, 2009 22:42:30
When these famous people converted to Islam, it does not mean Islam is righter than other religion. Islam does not need that. Muslims, like other people love those personalities mention. When the news/rumours broke out that they had converted to Islam, naturally Muslim feel happy and perhaps proud to have these people believe in the same faith. Which in turn increase faith in the the religion.

Thats it. Does that hurt anybody? sorry if it does, but no harm intended.

The fact that many Muslims do bad things does not correlate to these personalities is converting to Islam... does it?

Somebody mention lots of people bought quran after sept. 11. that explain lots of them also converting to Islam. Does that make Islam more right than other religion.. NO IT DOES NOT. but am sure feel very proud of them all..smilies/smiley.gif
written by Ho Lee Man, July 01, 2009 00:14:56
If King Bhumipol of Thailand converts to Hinduism ,would hindus get that 'winning' feeling?
If President Obama of USA converts to Buddhism ,would buddhists feel proud about his conversion?
If Susilo Bambang of Indonesia converts to Christianity ,would christians rejoice and say 'I told you so'?
Yes ,hindus ,buddhists and christians too would feel that way with surprising conversion of famous persons.
However ,this euphoria is felt by only a handful of bigots and fanatics of these religious groupings.
The majority in these religious groupings are more concern on cost of living ,extra income ,jobs securities ,profits ,children's education and so on.
If Micheal Jackson is a muslim ,I say 'So what...?'
I only enjoy his music.
God Bless his soul.
written by slimbrowser, July 01, 2009 01:52:28
Mr Ho Lee Man,

The majority in these religious groupings are more concern on cost of living ,extra income ,jobs securities ,profits ,children's education and so on.
If Micheal Jackson is a muslim ,I say 'So what...?'
I only enjoy his music.

You couldn't have said it better. Those muslim bigots in this forum just don't get it. They think that conversion by some famous icons has turned the table and telling the world that islam is the only religion sanctioned by famous icons....

Majority of this bigots are inclined towards power. Once they have power, they make we all dhimmis.
written by tan_eng, July 01, 2009 05:39:38

I would be truly happy on the day you renounce religion and stop bickering about petty issues like Quantity and Quality of converts.

Come on RPK, you ought be larger than this. Embrace Humanity and not religion.

As religions are only for IDIOTS.

Malaysian Fighting For Malaysia.
written by Milo, July 01, 2009 09:48:13
DontPlayGod> How about those who die in the jungles, desert, and eaten up by the wild animals, or their bodies left to decay to dust?
---------------

Good point! haha...I suppose those souls will merge with the wild animals which will go to heaven or hell depending on each deceased's having the right religion.
written by mawi, July 01, 2009 09:56:57
And since you had thought that I must be thinking the way you had described it, now I am a bigot, an obssesed person, a religious fanatics , a narrowed minded idiot and all those that are mentioed in this posting. Eeemmhhh. Istn't that similar to what Utusan is doing? Like, first they put words into people's mouth and makes it look like a true fact and after spinning it thoroughly until it is percieved as something which is true, then whammo!, down comes the punishing blades of the guillotine to go for the kill.

Well congratulations Mr RPK. Afterall, you are one of the mainstream media now.
written by New Malaysian, July 01, 2009 13:55:47
RPK!

You're showing your hand! So now everybody knows that you are in the UK, living in a non-white neighbourhood and parking your car outside - and paying overloaded premiums for it!!!

Or not!

New Malaysian
written by RFernandez, July 01, 2009 16:29:43
We can see quite clearly that Islam has taken some bad wrap and blame for many worldwide incidents lately. It's only natural for some quarters to equate important personalities' conversion into Islam in order to prop up their wounded pride. If MJ converted to Islam, so what? I like his music and that is all. Well Elton John is openly gay, not sure if he is a Muslim too, does that mean those who like his music agrees with his sexual or religious views too?

RPK, I am sensing you are beginning to realize the folly of this organization called "Religion".
written by AsamLaksa, July 01, 2009 17:20:36
RFernandez, it's not religion per se at fault but the fault of followers who are insecure.

written by Mitch Yusmar, July 01, 2009 18:02:04

I totally agree with you. I am just waiting for the uproar about the funeral...whether it was done Islamicly or not. What a tangle web we weave.
written by DontPlayGod, July 01, 2009 22:39:30
AOMusa wrote, quote: "When the leader is converted, automatically the citizen will follow the step. If not all at least half of them. Same here, if some famous icon converted to Islam, its actually will ring the bell in many people's head. If not all at least some of them.

Can you see the different now?"

You don't understand, do you. This isn't a game of numbers. Repeat after me, religion is not a game of numbers or a democracy, where a greater number means one is right. Anyway, the majority is not always right. It is what you are, and what matters to God is your character, your actions, deeds and thoughts, your attitude towards others and how your treat others. Did you steal, cheat, tell lies or tell lies about others to get them into trouble? Did you come forward to help others when they were in need of help, irrespective of what skin colour, race, nationality, or even religion they may profess? Get it???

I don't care if 90% of the people of the world convert to Islam. I will still remain a free-thinker, and live according to what I think is right.
written by Ho Lee Man, July 02, 2009 01:22:45
Dear slimbrowser,

The majority muslim Malays will not even bother of whoever's conversion to Islam.
It is the muslim bigots that claim and clap this 'iconic revelation'.
They are represented in the media ,UMNO and civil service.
In their position of power and influence,they try to force their bigotry illusion to the public.
They are guilty of propagating against the sharing of eating utensils with non muslims in school canteens.
They request for'prayer time off' during normal working hours in factories and offices.
They snatch 'muslim' corpse from non muslim spouse during funerals.
In reality ,they are a minority who wants to impose their belief on the majority.
Micheal Jackson's conversion to Islam is one of their 'make believe'.
God Bless.
written by sdcsrcc, July 02, 2009 14:14:38
Being a Malaysia(Non-Muslim) fortunate enough to travel extensively in the middle east region, I am amazed the frindlieness, openness, sinceriy, humbleness and the exact opposite shown be the majority of the Muslims that I have dealt with.

And when I relate to them the kind of BN MUslims that we have in Malaysia claiming to the superior race in the land with natural right to rule over others in the name BUMIPUTRA, they are totally shocked.

Whether or not one embraces Islam before death, does not matter to the living esp of the others in the world? Thus, the purpose of any religion is to practice the good teachings and to practice it to the fellow humans.As it s believed that all humans are the CREATION OF GOD!!! And not only Muslims!!

Jesus said that what is good is the light is lit and kept under a shell? How does that matter to the good of the other humans! Now, I guess when a person passes, he /she is no good to anyone...except for GOD...that too I wonder!!

My question is similar how does it matter to the millions of others living (be it muslims or not)when one embraces islam at the last moment...?Totally in support of the views of RPK::smilies/smiley.gif
written by sdcsrcc, July 02, 2009 14:17:46
Quote to AO MUsa....

In my "shallow" opinion, when you have a situation whereby citizens converting just because of the leader is doing so....I never want to be in that country...!

It simply denotes to me that citizens are faithful to the leader and not to the religion and that s dangerous and naive.
written by kawaafi, July 02, 2009 20:47:52
Ho Le Man

in 1994 Soccer world cup. Roberto Bagio had converted to Buddhism. It was reported all Buddhist monks in many if not all monestories had prayed for Italy to win the final against Brazil.

even though Italy lost, that did not make all the monks a bigots. i respected them for supporting fellow buddhist person..
written by Ho Lee Man, July 02, 2009 23:00:49
Dear kawaafi,
There are only 2 reasons for supporting your team in a soccer match.
A)You enjoy watching the skill of the team playing.
B)You have punt in your bets with the bookies ,hoping to win some money.
If Buddhist monks supported Italy because of Roberto Baggio's conversion ,it hardly qualify as a third reason.
It could be ,they are betting heavily in the monastry.
written by YSLim, July 03, 2009 14:21:45
For me religious is personal. You cannot force a person to said your religious is right therefore you have to follow it. You may not boast your religion to others. You may teach and advise. Anyway people will manipulate if a so call celebrity convert eg. Cassius Clay, Cat Steven, Mike Tyson, Lady Diana ... Michael, for Cassius Mike & Michael, when they went through the difficult, they converted.. maybe perhaps the people around them only pray to "Money" (the popularity) . As for Cat Steven, he is real genius, praising Islam through his music.. (the personal touch). Pete, when a person impose on others, will that person allow other to impose on him?
written by lvbala, July 04, 2009 18:17:32
Converting to any religion is a believe and a personal issue.
They is nothing to be proud of. Why one should be proud if another is converted?
What is the point if just converting without practising. It will be only a waste of time and humiliation to the religion itself.

What is quantity without quality? Should the non muslim feel proud if RPK is converted? We should learn to be human before talking about GOD? We should learn to be human before asking GOD to forgive our sin.

Be realistic....
written by Steven Ong, July 05, 2009 09:40:33
Yes, but that is human nature to idolise object of their admiration. If Michael Jackson were to announce officially that he is now a Muslim, many would be influence to join in. I believed many black in USA were influence by Mohd. Ali, just because he is world celebrity.
But then, truthfully we would like Islam or any organisation to be as good as World Vision or the Red Cross or Mother Teresa, that many are proud off the works they/she are doing.
Sometimes human are proud of the wrong things, like the celebrations when the 911 masacared was shown on TVs world wide. Or for that matter Osama b. Laden. I may seem to be bashing Islam, but that is part of the truth. Others are as guilty as this.