Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow English in Schools

English in Schools PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 16:09

For one thing, the argument that English must be used to teach Science and Mathematics to enhance the growth and development of scientific knowledge is not an absolute truth, although generally perceived to be so by many people.

Anwar: Scrap use of English for Science and Maths 

The Star  
Monday, 29 June 2009

PETALING JAYA: Scrap the policy of teaching Science and Mathematics in English and bring back Bahasa Melayu as the medium of instruction in the education system, said Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

He also called for the return of Bahasa Melayu’s status as the supreme language, which includes using it as the medium to teach Science and Maths in national schools and also strengthening its usage in Chinese and Tamil schools.

“This issue has become a controversy for far too long. We consider this policy a betrayal of Bahasa Melayu as our official language,” he told a press conference yesterday.

Anwar, however, conceded that it was important to master English and agreed that there should be constructive steps taken to improve the usage and understanding of the language.

“But how we do it should be decided by educationists and with consideration towards the national education policy. This includes not forcing our children to pass English as a compulsory subject in the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) as this will result in many students, especially in rural areas, to fail,” added Anwar.

--------------------------------------

The English Enigma

COMMENT BY THOMAS LEE

Pakatan Rakyat leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's call to scrap the policy of teaching Science and Mathematics in English and restore Bahasa Melayu as the medium of instruction in the education system should be considered objectively and not emotionally.

For one thing, the argument that English must be used to teach Science and Mathematics to enhance the growth and development of scientific knowledge is not an absolute truth, although generally perceived to be so by many people.

Japan and South Korea, for example,  made great advance in the area of scientific and techonlogical development and innovation without having to impose the learning of English and other Western languages on their students, even at tertiary level. Germany has been a world leader in modern scientific and technological innovation but English has not been the country's language of education. Even China did not have to depend on English to launch and develop its modern technological industry.

Our students can learn and master Science and Mathematics in the national language, provided that there are properly trained teachers and adequate learning resources in the language. If the Japanese and Koreans can learn and master scientific and technological skills through their own languages, I don't see why Malaysians are not able to do so similarly with Bahasa Malaysia.

However, having said that, I disagree with Anwar that English should not be made a compulsory subject in the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) examination, for the simple reason that, whether we like it or not, English is now the linqua franca of the world and is the medium of communication in the international socio-political and business arena.

Hence, mastering the English language is not only a big advantage in the contemporary cyber-technological world, but generally essential for the competitive world of trade and industry. It is also the common language in the sphere of intellectual research and development at the world-class universities that we would like to send our bright students to.

But to make English a compulsory exam subject requires a big pool of well-qualified experts in the language, who are not only good in the language themselves but skilled in teaching it. Sadly, this seems to be lacking.

One reason for the shortage of good English teachers and users now is, without question, the damage done over the years through our short-sighted education system which has not given adequate attention to the proper teaching of the langauge. Even the Education Minister has expressed shock recently when he discovered that grammar has not been taught in English lessons in our schools.

Grammar is essentially the foundation of the whole system and structure of a language, and is a set of prescriptive precepts on the correct use of the language. Hence, I can appreciate the minister's shock as having English lessons in our schools without the proper teaching of the eight parts of speech of its grammar is certainly unsual and even outrageous.

We can see how devastating is the current scenario when even English-langauge newspapers are using poor English. The dropping of the article "the", in front of the common nouns in sentences, and the wrong use of tense, for instance, are glaring examples of polluted English in many news reports we read each day. This, obviously, is caused by the lack of understanding of English grammar. I know of even editors who cannot write proper grammatically correct sentences.

The decline in our standard of English must be arrested fast. Making the language a compulory exam subject is perhaps the most significant major measure to do it.

But, to implement this policy, we need to put the horse before the cart, by ensuring that our teacher training institutions are able to educate and train a large pool of English language teachers. A proper scheme of training specialised English language teachers must be adopted and implemented fast.

Bascially, there should three levels in the teaching of the English language.

First, students should be taught the language from primary school level, at least from Year Four onward. This is when they start learning English words, like "A for apple", "B for ball", etc. This will help the young ones, especially those in the rural areas, to gain a basic vocabulary foundation in the language.

Secondly, at the lower secondary school level (Year One to Year Three), students should be taught the basic grammar of English, followed by the training in basic sentence writing, and a reading regime with assigned children story books like those by Enid Blyton, Hans Christian Andersen, and C.S.Lewis, etc.

Thirdly, at the upper secondary level (Year Four and Year Five), students should be started on lessons in comprehension, composition, and communcation. The schools should also organise English camps during the long year-end school holiday where only English is used as part of the training in the language usage. Such camps could be modelled after the American summer camp programme.

While plans are being made to help our students learn and master the English language, there should also be efforts taken at the same time to help the young working adults to learn and master the language, too.

I propose that the Federal Government creates a professional language skill qualification for the working adults who complete a schduled programme of studies and training in the English language.

The Federal Government should also provide incentives to the tertiary institutions, both public and private, to conduct the adult education classes on English.

Can we excel as a nation, with its people well qualified to take on the challenges of the modern cyber technological world? I believe we can, provided we leave aside our racial paranoia and political paraphasia, and be more honest, objective and open.

Comments (37)Add Comment
written by fendyoasis, June 29, 2009 16:34:37
If Im not mistaken the writer says he disagrees with Anwar to make it compulsory to pass English in SPM (or he disagrees that English is a compulsory subject?, then he is mistaken coz i dont think thats what DSAI meant, DSAI meant compulsory to pass.) Well, I agree with Anwar, it should not be made compulsory to pass, in fact I dont even agree making Bahasa Melayu as compulsory to pass SPM.

Both language are important, but not to the extent making the kid fail SPM just because they dont pass either language, In my student days had heard enough stories that a student failed SPM beacuse of failing Bahasa, to me its not fair...but today is much worse, sacrificing Bahasa Melayu and make English the prime language. DSAI might disagree with me to abolish compulsory pass for Bahasa I guess...well, I just dont think its right. Dont sacrifice the kids future just because of 1 subject. And most of them I knew back then were like 9A1 and got a P7 for BM that made his SPM grade 2.

Every language is important in Malaysia, i think we should have basic mandarin, arab or tamil language as part of our childrens compulsory curriculum instead of learning wasted subject like ART or MUSIC or MORAL.
written by krising1, June 29, 2009 16:38:30
Mr. Thomas Lee, do you agree that there are more Germans, Japanese, Koreans and mainland Chinese speaking good English than every before? More are studying Englilsh now than every before. Twenty years ago, you will be surprised if there was one in ten civil servant in Thailand who could speak good English. Now you can find about half of them speak good English. So we have to accept that English is very important. I cannot accept the argument that if you make passing of English compulsory the rural children will suffer. If you offer proper facilities no one will be left behind. Good teachers is a prerequisite. My uneducated father who came to Malaya from India in his teens spoke good Malay ever since I can remember. And he did not go to any school to learn his Malay. WE should throw these stereotype old arguments out of the window. If we think learning of English is important, than make it important.
written by khairi khamsah, June 29, 2009 16:43:56
Lee, I agree with what u are saying. In these issue, the teaching methods are to be blamed. Little that people know, English grammar are not "taught" in Primary school. I went to SK and SRK during my primary school. The transition from SK (Standard 1, 2 and 3) to SRK (Standard 4, 5 and 6) are hell for me since my English teacher never stress the importance of basic grammar (nouns, verbs and tenses)in my early primary years. The syllabus must be revised and students must be exposed to these basic in their early years.

For those who are from the post 2000 SPM, those days we cannot choose our subjects since the school will select it for us. The post 2000 SPM namely, SPM Terbuka allow student to drop English from their list of subjects for SPM. Perhaps, this is what Lee meant.
written by sydput, June 29, 2009 16:48:47
How come in the UK it is not required to pass english to do any subject of your choice except those concerned with the language?
How come in switzerland, the french speaking parts teaches in french and the german ones in german.
How come the govenrment of malaysia tells us what we should learn in instead of us learning the subjects in any language we desire?
Dewan bahasa and pustaka made a mess in translating english technical/science terms into malay. They are only interested in selling school books to our school system, which they have a monopoly. Close down dewan bahasa and maybe we can learn science and maths in malay.
written by fendyoasis, June 29, 2009 16:49:54
What? Now we can drop English in SPM? I didnt know that. Anyway I dont think thats what Anwar meant either, to drop English from SPM.
written by Wisdom above, June 29, 2009 16:50:56
Let's have 2 medium of instruction like in the 1960s & 1970s.

English Medium for those who want to study & excel in English.
Malay Medium for those who want to study & excel in Malay.

These help to maintain overall educational standards.
written by mountainking, June 29, 2009 17:02:01
it's a catch 22 situation. If they don't have good english teachers, how can they increase the english standard in school, if they want to continue teaching science and math in english and make english a compulsory subject to pass?

But if they don't proceed with building a new generation that is good in english, how can they then produce good english teachers?

Well, we have to start somewhere. Remember the early days when the mat salleh came to our country, most of the malayans are illiterate and yet after 10-20 years, you see a few generations who are fluent in english. Then the rest is history, thanks to certain narrow minded educationist/policy makers.

Go ahead to have more english classes. Bring in proper teachers to teach english. You just can't have so called teachers (trained in teachers college) who can't even write/speak english to teach english. It's absurd. Or teacher who can't even do arithmetic to teach math.
written by Goodbites, June 29, 2009 17:40:37
Parents should be given the rights to decide where to send their children for education, be it, National or otherwise, without the interference of politics. There should be freedom of education and allow the market forces to determine the demand with the condition that the status of BM be maintained in all schools. If we can have roti canai, bak kut teh, nasi lemak, and fish & chips every other day and converse in BM when necessary, why can't we have the same concept in education? We should bring back English medium schools, for those who wish a more well rounded English education. When ministers can send their children to Int'l Schools, we doubt their sincerity for the nation's education system. All this talk about Math & Science in English and unity govt is a waste of time. Our leaders cannot make a firm decision on anything and are spending their time just talking and arguing.

Math & Science in English is a half-bake solution and will produce half-baked students. It would be ideal if all go to National School but why it is not the preferred choice of non-malays? Market forces will determine and the Ministry should be asking themselves why???

When parents are given the full rights to choose from National, Chinese, Tamil, or English medium schools, they will be happy with their choice. They know what's best for their children. I believe most parents will be thinking by then what's all this fuss being made when the solution for it is so simple.
written by kzai, June 29, 2009 17:44:21
As a maths and science teacher, I have objected to the teaching of Science and Mathematics in English right from the beginning. Not because I am not able to teach in English, no! I can teach maths and science perfectly well in both BM and English. I am one those who graduated from the old education system before BM became the solitary medium of Malaysian public schools. And the medium of my tertiary education was English too. So, no problem.

But, I objected to the policy because I face the students everyday. I know what they can do, and what they can't. Not all students are privileged to have the background of English speaking family or society. In fact, those are not in the majority either. Most of the students are conversant in BM and their mother tongue only. Suddenly, we want them to learn maths and science in a language they are not proficient. It is not enough that both subjects are very difficult to most students, we add to their difficulty by asking them to learn them in a foreign language.

When I was in remove class in the early 70's to prepare me and my friends to join the English medium secondary school, we had a hard time. There were 2 classes of remove class. It was a 1 year transition class. It was difficult, because everything was taught in English, even though the teachers were very well versed in English. More than half of my classmates were just lingering away in class, not exactly following the lessons. And when we joined form 1 the next year, it was tougher still to compete with those from the English medium primary school. And these friends of mines who couldn't exactly follow the lesson because everything was in English became dropouts after LCE (one has to pass LCE to go to form 4 then). Only those with a little extra power in the IQ and with a little extra determination made it through. The rest joined the job seekers club at a tender age of 15.

I support 100% that our students should be able to communicate in English. I am only critical about the way it is implemented. A vast amount of money was spent to carry out PPSMI project. That money was spent to buy computers, built computer labs, produced software and other things and trained Maths and Science teachers to be proficient in English. These teachers will get their certificate after 1 month course and they are deemed qualified. 1 month to produce English speaking maths and science teachers? Who are we kidding?

Why we can use that money to really train our English teachers and provide facilities to teach English properly. How may schools have language labs? How may schools have teachers of other options to teach English? If we can send thousands of students overseas during the 70's to become technocrats (including science and maths teachers), why can't we do the same to produce quality English teachers?

It's high time we don't blame each other about it. Those who are for PPSMI, don't put all the blame on teachers who are not conversant in English. It is not the same when English was replaced by BM. Bahasa Melayu is used everyday everywhere in this country. So a non Malay speaking person can pick the language much easier than a person trying to learn to speak English. And it is a known fact that English is a more difficult language as compared to BM.

But those who are not for PPSMI, please don't put the reason against it as PPSMI will sideline BM. As it is, BM is already sidelined. It the attitude of our people and the attitude of those in the authority that made it so. We are not proud of what is ours. We Malysians tend to always think highly of others, right? Rasa rendah diri.

So, lets change our attitude first. Love our children and our future. Scrape PPSMI for the sake of the nation. Use the money to improve the teaching of English.

written by astroace, June 29, 2009 17:55:59
I strongly agree with Wisdom.

We should bring back the English Medium schools and allow those who want to send their children to either, English, Malay, Chinese or Tamil Medium Schools.

We can see the difference after 10 years. At the moment we are lost in the confusion. Our education level has dropped to 3rd world status, caused by our narrow minded politicians.

The world is changing and moving forward but sad to say Malaysia is moving backwards. What we achieved today is disappointment, nothing to shout about.

written by drrafick, June 29, 2009 18:37:54
Please read my letter to the minister on matter related to PPSMI

http://rights2write.*********.com/2009/06/27/ppsmi-open-letter-to-pm-and-dpm-minister-of-education/
written by Rhan, June 29, 2009 18:45:25
Dear Kzai,

Though you wrote in a simple and easy to grasp English, I doubt if some idiot would understand the core problem of the issue. They will start excrete bla bla bla like the important of English, how many Chinese, Korean and Japanese learn English, 60s, 70s, 2020s, 3030s, space program, Malay, Muslim......
written by batsman, June 29, 2009 19:55:30
Making a pass in English mandatory for a pass in SPM is essentially telling Malay kids and their parents that they have no future in their own country except as rubbish collectors unless they possess adequate knowledge of a foreign language.

Sigh! How far we have come from our independence.
written by alarcarte, June 29, 2009 20:10:58
I agree with you sir, but excuse me sir, don't forget those languages are mature language and need minimum effort to translate from one language to another! The same cannot be said of Bahasa Melayu, often times we are confronted with different spellings with the same term especially the newer technical terms, sometimes even the Malay engineers are also scratching their heads to find a suitable Malay words for some technical terms.

If you worked in Multi National Companies dealing with Hi-Tech products, you can see for yourself even the Malays do not use Bahasa Malaysia but instead using the English terms wholesale in conversation amongst themselves.

I do agree though that Math and Science should be taught in Bahasa Melayu, not the present half past six format whereby the students speak better English than the teacher. Anyway, those who make extra efforts to learn other languages will succeed anyway.
written by Chrisho, June 29, 2009 21:51:54
I have been following this debate over the last weeks. Seeing both pro debates for either language but I see no end yet, no answer, everybody is still terribly confuse. The Politician, the Public, The parents and what not still can't vote on the issue. I say let the people who will be effected " Our Children " decide. It is their future at stake, not you and me. i don't mean the really young and can't see the future kind but how about the University kind. Their future and their young brothers and sisters will be effected. Let them debate and vote for their future.

Chrisho
written by KC Chin, June 29, 2009 23:24:29
I don't give a damn. I advice my children. First, well verse in English. Second, make sure get above 80% on math and any related science subjects. Third, improve the communication skill. Forth, learn extra language such as Japanese and France. Fifth, be a good human. Lastly, just pass the BM and all the irrelevant subjects.

Life is too short and I just want them to enjoy life instead being an ass on education in Malaysia.
written by lskong, June 29, 2009 23:26:10

yup let go back to square one.

this is after all, the malaysia boleh spirit... we are always number one. we do that by running on the spot, on square one, all the time. hooray indeed.

we are worse then the hare that slept. at least he slept. instead of wasting his energy running on the spot... no?
written by ultraman_dyna, June 29, 2009 23:29:37
I went to SRK, SMK, MRSM, KYPM and Ireland.I never had any problem communicating in English.I can read write speak hey I can even debate in English. I was even a member of the English Motivational Committee in High School. My job was to give short pep talks, raise awareness of the importance of English.I've worked in UK and now yours truly is working in Ireland.What's the fuss in teaching elective subjects in English?I didn’t grew up in an English speaking family.The only time my parents speaks in English is when they have a fight on an issue or giving me a lecture for my misbehaviour.
But let's be fair to the kampong kids and anak org asli.They don't have the facilities to learn English up to certain level which enable them to learn elective subjects in English.Don't come up with crap that the Gomen should provide these facilities.U and I know that the only facility that will be built is the extra banking facilities and credit line for local politicians.Yes we can put forward a brilliant idea and argument worth to be taken notice but let's be frank.Less than 1% of the student pool will go on to become the top dog in any industry.They will master any given language if you ask them to study it.I don't see any point forcing the average(read majority) Malay, Chinese, Indians, Iban, Dusun, Melanau, Ulu etc to study English just so they can learn how to count their fingers.
Mother tongue BM basic English is good enuf.Why add burden to the already heavy beg sekolah?
Don't be cocky and talk about globalisation lads.Globalisation is far away from these people.Some don't even have clean/treated water to start with.If your kid is smart it x matter whether the kid learns math/science in English or Urdu.IQ EQ little bit of effort = success.There is no command/proficiency of English language in that formula.Stop raising the idea of an English based school. It will never happen. You touch one subject it will affect politics, race and religion. Welcome to Malaysia in case you lost your bearings.I believe the gap between rural and urban kids grew by many folds during the PPSMI days.Go to the kampong and tell the Pak Aji about your idea of PPSMI.U will be lucky to come out with a severed neck. His son almost lulus SPM which in turn gave a little bit better prospect of landing a place in a vocational institute but thanks to PPSMI/lulus English the sight of being a mechanic/entry level handyman/pomen bersijil is not even in the horizon. Think of the less fortunate. They don’t dream of growing up to become a rich and successful self made tycoon.All they want is the means to afford a simple and decent life.
written by malaysian7, June 30, 2009 00:36:33
For the sake of our children and future generations. I only hope that no one would politicise this issue.

You can't ask what the children wants for their future and let them decide themselves. They may not be matured enough to decide and some children may still decide what is easier for them.

This is not the way we should think and remember we are in a competitive world nowadays and things don't come easier. Of course gathering feedbacks are vital be it from the children, adults or whoever they are and come out a good decision.

For the sake of our children's future, we don't want to see a sudden rise of new "tokoh-bahasa" who claim that they fight for the language and love for the country.

This is not about the love of the country. We love our country more than any other people and we just want the best for our people in mastering whatever possible to shine for our country instead.

But as a Malaysian, we always place Bahasa Melayu above of any language. It is just that we don't want to miss out learning other languages.
written by schizonoid, June 30, 2009 00:39:56
A genius is from the brain not language
written by verifunny, June 30, 2009 01:42:36
This is a system problem rather than losing identity. No identity will be lost if you are trying your best to preserve it. If you are serious in preserving identity, ban all mass medias lah and you will use what your ancestors had taught you to survive.

A private school should have a choice to choose the delivery of effective education. However, for a public school, the government should examine their policies to decide which is the best language to deliver an effective education. Language has been politicized and this has a negative effect on future generations. Confusion and frustration will accumulate and drive all talents out of the country. The current government does not dare to standardize the language issue since they are not thinking quite in the direction of the general public. PM is busy with his own "1Malaysia" promotion and DPM shouted "protect Malay rights .. blah blah blah". I guess it is up to the education minister to decide.

My solution is simple.

Public schools - English
Madrasah - BM
Private schools - their choice

Note: Public schools with better capabilities can offer subjects in both languages. Private schools of course do the same.
written by verifunny, June 30, 2009 01:47:55
Maybe someone is trying to make his/her life easier by letting this topic to be politicized.

It is even better that BM is the choice since cost and effort can be saved.

So far, everyone is talking about the language. Anyone talk about the quality of the teachers? Or the quality of the current curriculums taught in schools?
written by MalaysianUnited, June 30, 2009 03:08:17
Apa yang korang setuju sangat dengan wajib lulus BI dalam SPM?..

Kalau lulus setakat 40% atau 50%..belajar sendiri tak pergi sekolah selama 2 tahun pun boleh lulus!! Jawab sahaja bahagian objektif..korang kira la. dah boleh dapat 30% dah.

Pendapat saya, naikkan pada 60%-70% kelulusan BI..tak payah wajib..lulus 60%-70% pun dah boleh kira merit.
written by Cobweb76, June 30, 2009 04:27:57
I can only say, through experience of teaching English in a Malaysian 'Teknik' School, the standard of English of some of the smartest students there, in Math and Science, are very low. Why is that? Because, the standard of English lessons delivered at the primary school level has always been low. My mother (a non graduate and was taught English by nuns at a convent) a retired primary school English teacher speaks better English than today's English graduates, even myself.

My mother once told me not to 'show up' to the teacher eventhough she knows I can speak better English than my English teacher at the age of 10. I remember she told me one day after school that if ever my teacher makes a grammatical mistake, not to correct her as that would be disrespectful. And I was always taught to be respectful of our elders from a very young age. Now all grown up I can see that I was lucky because of my mother but what about the other children who were not taught by my mother? Really, how many primary school english teachers out there who are very knowledgeable and passionate about high quality English language teaching?
written by asguard, June 30, 2009 09:20:55
Just only one word ...for pasts 52 years they Barang Naik screw-up on the education policy! So who is to be blame for decline of the English? I think you knew the answer!
written by Wisdom above, June 30, 2009 10:48:49
Why "skilled English Language teacher" opted for early retirement?
Frustrated , lowly paid ,sidelined by HMs & no promotion , overworked ?

We get "non-English Language teacher" teaching English Language ?
What a JOKE! Bahasa speaking History teacher taught English Language O Level to my kids ?

Cobweb76 told the truth ... My mother (a non graduate and was taught English by nuns at a convent) a retired primary school English teacher speaks better English than today's English graduates, even myself.

Politicians talk about Bahasa Malaysia as National Heritage,champion it, but yet send their children to UK to do 'O Level' all taught in 100% English ?
Use Bahasa Malaysia to unify our children ?
I call it bullshit !
It created more polarisations instead.

Also forced University students to answer 40% exams questions in Bahasa Malaysia , gradually increased to 70% etc ? Now we have graduates 'tak tahu cakap bahasa Putih ' in English Language ?

Failed Bahasa Malaysia , cannot get SPM Full Certificate, even with 8 A1 in GCE O-Level. Given only Grade 2 SPM, cannot go to Six forms ? Failed Bahasa Malaysia, cannot graduate from University ?

Now we have English Language 're syllabus' to suit weak students , resulting in A1 & A2 being accepted as a PASS in O-Level GCE ? Resulting in students having to take MUET and advanced English courses in all Overseas 3 0, 2 2, 1 3 degrees courses, etc ?

All education policies were geared to undermine & reduced English usage in schools, Universities and public work places.

Commercial signboards in English torn down by town councils. Letters in english to the Civil service and government departments returned back to senders with reminders to rewrite in Bahasa Malaysia. Most complaint letters written in English ended in the dustbin.
Government staff tell you 'Jangan cakap bahasa PUTIH ,tak faham kah ? ' !

Leaders do not want to promote English usage, how to get our young children to study simple English.

The BN Government department networks consciously have all actively killed the ' English Language ' usage since 1970s ?

Will we ' loose face' if we were to revert back to the 1960s & 1970s Education Policy ?

Repeat for emphasis ...
Let's have 2 medium of instruction like in the 1960s & 1970s.
..English Medium for those who want to study & excel in English.
..Malay Medium for those who want to study & excel in Malay.
These should help to maintain overall educational standards.

Now let's see how the politicians sweep the English Language issue under the carpet ?
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 14:23:59
Wisdom's method may work, maybe with some refinement. However, do our politicians have the wisdom to recognise solutions and have the courage to implement such a policy? Most have neither, some have but refuse to suggfest for fear of making political suicide. So tyhere we are again, sitting ducks!
written by ABU SAYAB, June 30, 2009 16:33:37
Anwar is talking rubbish!!
written by elmo world, June 30, 2009 17:24:18
why is it so difficult if to make English a compulsory subject while Bahasa Malaysia is not?

R u guys afraid that Malay speaking students unable to cope with English? If so, dont you all think that other races like Chinese & Indians also having problem to cope with BM?

Hello, wake up all Politicians involved!

If you all think that it would be easier for the students to pass the exams if Maths & Science to be conducted in BM? what about their future, they still have to learn all the those Subjects in English when go to college, may be except local universities!

Betrayal of B.Malaysia?

The real betrayals are those who started the "GOOD JOB" by copying English and mutated them into Bahasa, same sound different spelling...... real nonsense!!!
vision = visi?
complicated = komplikasi?

stupid!

written by elmo world, June 30, 2009 17:25:51
wow.. i didnt know that apparently the students are allowed to drop English subject in SPM exam?
written by elmo world, June 30, 2009 17:28:30
think about it, i think these people are just scared to invest & lazy to learn foregn language.........

no matter what, this is a real world, u still need to learn English if want to get a job except in government office, of course!
written by elmo world, June 30, 2009 17:29:17
scrap anwar
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2009 20:35:49
I dont care whatdfukk are the arguments..

If anwar starts to enforce his Bahasa Only again, I wont vote for him.

EVEN NOW I AM SO PISSSED HE SAYS, BAHASA MELAYU INSTEAD OF BAHASA MALAYSIA..

WELL, Anwar can also keep his BM for the malays only... I dont want it and no law can force me to use it and respect it...... go to hell lah..
written by ultraman_dyna, July 01, 2009 17:48:25
PR don't need people like you Sabahfan.
U speak using ur S instead of your brain.
Typical BN trait.
Bahasa Melayu is the official language of Malaysia.
U r a closet racist if u feel offended with the word Bahasa Melayu.
Without 1 common language there will be problem in assimilation and integration.
Aku anak Malaysia bukan anak orang Inggeris!!!
Kenapa korang nak paksa semua orang belajar dalam bahasa Inggeris?
Hantar la anak korang ke sekolah swasta.
Kalau x mampu terpaksa la ikut suara majoriti.
Ini negara demokrasi.
Majority rules.
That's a simple fact.

You guys are arguing and debating for years now but anak orang kampung susah nak belajar sains dan maths bukan pasal x paham subjek tapi x paham apa Cikgu cuba sampaikan.
Cakap pakai otak la.
Jgn ikut perasaan konon2 lagi pandai dan nampak masa depan lagi cerah jika PPSMI di teruskan.
Statistik dah buktikan prestasi pelajar2 merundum sejak PPSMI dijalankan.
Fakta tidak menipu.
Ralat hanya berapa % sahaja.
Facts should be used to come to a conclusion not communal feelings my frens.
Why punish the rural and poor so that the urban and rich can progress.
Fairness sometimes does not equal equality.

We can start the PPSMI maybe in 10 years time if we want to use locals as teachers.
We need teachers with high profieciency in English before rolling out the PPSMI..
U can't put the cart before the cow..
You want the cow to pull the cart in a specific direction to a specific destination.
The cow must be from a correct breed and well trained to pull a cart.
U can't put a dairy cow and expect it to pull a laden cart..

I suggest we offer some English teachers from UK teaching places in SRK and SMK.
They earn about £30k p.a = RM150K.
With the recent UK tax increase and lower cost of living in Malaysia, few will think twice if offered.
Don't worry about cash out flow because all the money will flow back into the country in the form of income tax, rent, food, travel, car and other ripple effects.
This is what Singapore has being doing for decades.
The foreign lectures in schools, colleges and universities complement their education system.
The core of educationist are still local teachers and lectures.
When the local educationist achieved the acceptable bench mark, we can just stop the policy of hiring foreigners.
The benchmark is the international standing of schools and colleges of the world.
Easy.
Every cents spent on education is 10x worth it than official Gomen functions.