Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Malaysian Blogger Fights a System He Perfected

Malaysian Blogger Fights a System He Perfected PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 15:58

In a vast office at the top of one of the world’s tallest buildings, former Prime Minister Mahathir Mohamad sits at a broad, glass-topped desk, scribbling his thoughts on a pad of unlined paper.

For 22 years, Mr. Mahathir was the most powerful person in this land, and his thoughts were commands as he reshaped the country in his own image.

But he has become an irritant and a spoiler five years after stepping down, turning against his handpicked successor, Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, and falling victim to the press controls he perfected as prime minister.

“Where is the press freedom?” he asked two years ago, apparently surprised at being suddenly ignored. “Broadcast what I have to say! What I say is not even accurately published in the press!”

This May, though, he discovered the power of the Internet. Like many other inconvenient critics, he joined what seemed to be a political wave of the future, creating his own blog — www.chedet.com — where he vents in English and Malay several times a week.

Around the region bloggers are becoming a Fifth Estate, challenging the government’s monopoly on information in Singapore, evading censors in Vietnam, and influencing events in places like Thailand, Cambodia and China.

In March, political experts said, Malaysia’s bloggers helped influence elections, contributing to the biggest upset that the governing party, the United Malays National Organization, had suffered since independence in 1957. For the first time in decades, it held fewer than two-thirds of the seats in Parliament, and it lost control of 5 of the 13 states.

written by Counterpointer, June 29, 2009 17:39:35
Maybe the Apanama blogger will write a very in-depth and profound understanding of the phrase "you reap what you sow" in his blog?
written by Bigjoe99, June 29, 2009 17:46:40
If they cloned Dr. M, they both would complain about each other...
written by Sabahfan, June 29, 2009 19:47:10
MR Mama Juwie.U know why people like me will continue to hantam this Mamakkutty aka mahafiraun?

well a thousand and one reasons.
1. Responsibility. if he preached about "clean, efficient and trustworthy" but all these was just slogans while bullshitting the rakyat, then responsibility means they should be punished without limitation of time.

2. people hate others who speaks with a folk tongue. If he fights for press freedom including those in cyberspace, why he sent lots of others to ISA for fighting for the very same things? It is called hipocrisy of the ultimate kind.. and if they get shot, no smpathy from me.

5. But most important of all, while he is saying those nice things in his blog, typical UMNO regime leaders means if he is again back in power.

in fact this is already happening, thru his sons MUKRIZ mahafiraun
written by ABU SAYAB, June 29, 2009 20:22:22
Tributes to Jacko. But for this racist mamak... i'm not sure.
written by chrisyong, June 29, 2009 21:13:13
Dear Malaysia-Today buddies. Let's try to focus on Issues and Problems we are facing and not the person. So, if TDM support anti-corruption in UMNO, we all should support his IDEA. If Najib support scholarship based on Merits, we should support. They may be UMNOputras or hippocrites, we are here to hold them accountable and responsible for what they say and do for MALAYSIANS. Najib's 1 Malaysia is STILL NOT CLEAR...........so it cannot be supported. As politicians, we know who they are and their political moves!
written by Steven Ong, June 29, 2009 22:44:13
Its hard to see the plank in ones own eyes. But when one faced the mirror one may be surprised to see how big it was. One wonders why one did not see it in the first place? All because one was drunk
written by Mama Juwie, June 29, 2009 22:56:06
sabahfan,

If that's your case, then fine. Hentam whoever you want to hentam. No need to talk about the merit or message of the issue, just hentam the messenger left and right, right?
written by ultraman_dyna, June 30, 2009 00:28:21
Otak udang ialah org yg bodoh..
This defination suits for people who can't differentiate the IDEA & the MAN..
If RPK talk shit but no content most people will lick that pile of turd..
But if Dr M speaks something that make sense people spit at the mere sight of his name..
How many times did MT remind us to open our mind and see things from a positive perspective..
Keep living in the cave la..
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 30, 2009 01:34:27
if Dr M speaks something that make sense people spit at the mere sight of his name. yes this is very true. do yu believe that Thamby Cik did not rape the 16 year old girl?and it was mahathir who put LIM Guan Eng behind bars to defend this rapist.or how do you explain the 9 men who were charged but not him.how can you believe a LIAR even if he says something logical He will remain a LIAR and he has been lying for 22 years and the last 6 years as exPM.
written by Mama Juwie, June 30, 2009 06:16:28
Fart Fart Wah,

You said:

"how can you believe a LIAR even if he says something logical He will remain a LIAR..."

How can a person be a liar when he is saying something logical, factual or truthful? Even if he lied yesterday, then he is a liar for that particular ocassion and not for the rest of his life. If your stand is that he is forever a liar, then it means everyone in this world is a liar too since every human lies at least once in their lifetime, whether big or small.

If Dr Mahathir says something that is right, and yet you deny that he is telling the truth without any basis whatsoever, then who is the liar now? Him or you?

written by DontPlayGod, June 30, 2009 10:08:13
To chris yong, fine if they mean what they say, but if you have been following events in this country for the past 30 years, can we believe all these slogans and statements coming from these so-called leaders?
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2009 20:42:08
Dear chrisyong, and..Mama Juwie,

Yes, I will HENtam HIM even with my fist if i ran across him, because all his words against corruption are bloooody useless.

IN FACT EVEN THE SUPERADMIN Of this forum delete the most important part of my message which was...

IF MAHAFIRAUN IS BACK IN POWER AGAIN, HE WILL DO EXACTLY WHAT HE DID BEFORE... sent to jail those he is pretending to defend now... AND THAT IS REFLECTED thru his son, MUKRIZ bin Mahafiraun.....

so why should i bother to discuss the issue he is raising now because I DONT believe a shit..

YES hentam him even if he has gone to heaven or hell.

There are plenty of other leaders to fight for justice, why should i need him anymore, the very same person who had cause us in sabah to suffer A LOT???

he should be tried just like POL POT..!!!!