Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The obsession to 'Muslimize' MJ

The obsession to 'Muslimize' MJ PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 15:25

MJ a Muslim? The impact is huge. It is even bigger than Muhammad Ali becoming a Muslim in his tender age after he won the Olympic Gold Medal for the US in the 1960's.

Written by Kazi Mahmood, WFOL.com 

A rather fantastic event hit the earth on the 25th of June in the US and it was here, at Kuala Lumpur the 26th of June in the early hours of the morning. The news of Micheal Jackson's death hit the Internet with blogs and other twitter users carrying the story which grew like wild fires. At World Future Online, we published the story as early as 7 am in the morning and we followed it with another story on the reported conversion to Islam of MJ. Here we tell you more on the Muslim obsession to have MJ as a Muslim and why is this is very important to this community of 1.5 billion people.

The Muslims are sometimes accused of being thirsty for big names to join the list of those who embraced Islam in the course of their successful carreer. MJ had a larger than life success as a singer, a genius that the world will not see that kind of musical phenomenon soon, unless the prophetized 'Dajjal' appears.

At the begining of his meteorical rise, MJ gave some Muslim thinkers reasons to fear that the 'Dajjal' was near and his coming was nearer. The reference to the 'Dajjal' was due to the 1982 global record sale of the Album 'Thriller' that took the world by storm and for ever changed the way the music industry looked at itself and was looked upon by the world.

Then came other albums, including Bad which sold very well and made MJ look like the number one dominant force in the music world. His aura, the magnetic appeal and his charismatic character turned him into a world musical giant. This again forced some people in the Musilm world to be weary. The idea that 'Dajjal', the anti-Christ for the Christian world and the anti-Muslim ogre for the Muslims, was on his way to earth. Dajjal will be a one eyed (perhaps biased?) singer who will capture the world with his power to deliver a music that mankind has never heard before.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Linda J, June 29, 2009 15:43:52
If he lives in M'sia I bet the Mais will be snatching his body to bury whether it is proven he is a Muslim or not, eh? Just as well he is in USA isn't it. I perso nally know an Australian man who converted to Islam when he was in M'sia and married a Malay lady. He never practised it in M'sia and neither did his wife, the Malay lady. They went back to Australia some years ago and poor man died. He was buried as a Christian even though his wife is still Muslim. Would have been a different scenario in M'sia. You lost another one, MAIS!
agree 114
written by Admiral Tojo, June 29, 2009 15:51:44
Yes! Go grab his body.

written by densemy, June 29, 2009 15:57:30
Talented he may have been, but " the man without a childhood" was a dysfunctional human being the result of a dysfunctional upbringing. Does that ring a bell??

If Muslims are so desperate for fame maybe they should try releasing their children from the bonds of Islam so that they can develop as individual human beings instead of zombie-like clones of ignorance
disagree 18
written by hellosunshine, June 29, 2009 15:58:51
Mais should send a delegation to hijack retrieve MJ's body on behalf of Muslims all over the world. Jermaine Jackson (why still Christian name ah?) should declare and insist MJ be buried as a Muslim, if it's true. If not, then the Mais delegation can go to Disneyland in LA and Florida lah. No need to waste money ma since they are already there. Hope they do not bring their families and maids too. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Oscar Winner, June 29, 2009 16:48:17
MJ's death is still a mystery,
His doc is embroiled in controversy.
Many think his voice was a bit sissy,
His songs are nice but he wasn't sexy.
Has three kids who called him daddy,
MAIS pls go grab them and the dead body........

written by mikewang, June 29, 2009 16:54:24
What's wrong with some Muslims ?
Why don't they ask him whether he was a Muslim when he was alive ?
Why speculate on whether he had converted after he died ?
written by chastity thedamned, June 29, 2009 16:58:52
Its evident that all the money and fame in the world means nothing when you don't have meaning in your life. It seems that lately MJ has found meaning in his life through the simplicity of the truth. May his soul rest in eternal peace.
written by advocatusdiaboli, June 29, 2009 17:00:57
For heaven's sake. MJ is dead lah. The family is in deep sadness and so are his children. This is no time to debate whether he is a Muslim or otherwise. Let his family decide whatever it shall be for now he is answerable to God. It is not for us to fight on his religion and so forth. Lets just remember him for the good times.
written by rocky, June 29, 2009 17:43:00
There are some who think MJ has converted and say this will cleanse all his sins. Do we know for a fact he is a muslim? Just wait for the burial and then we shall comment la. if he is a muslim, his family will give him a muslim burial. if he is not, they will not. what if he is not, will the muslim world in malaysia accept it or go amok? will they go grab the body or file an injunction or just say hey he was not a muslim thus let it be? Sigh.
written by Mama Juwie, June 29, 2009 18:23:19
It is funny and ironic that this article takes the debate of whether MJ died as a Muslim or not very seriously. Even if I as a Muslim know of the whole hulabaloo, I wouldn't even bother to type it out in a piece of writing. It just perpetuates the whole debate that the author himself condemns!
written by beijing, June 29, 2009 18:35:47
Malay Muslim just try too hard to grap the dead body as Muslim. Unfortunatly, he is American.
written by chelly, June 29, 2009 18:45:45
i am sorry to note that MJ died overseas thus, he is under the perview of JAKIM and not MAIS, please be informed, JAKIM will know what to do in this situation and i am sure it is being consulted by MAJLIS AGAMA ISLAM AMERIKA SYARIKAT on how to claim mr jacksons jenazah whence the autopsy is completed.
rest in peace MJ
written by raven1958, June 29, 2009 18:47:09
What a cheap way of gaining publicity for Islam...
written by jonath66my, June 29, 2009 19:52:31
Yup, one prominent batu bru mentioned a condolence in the first para and the next that he converted to Muslim. Now why the need to put it into context. As far as we know of famous people, most converted ONLY AFTER THEY BECAME FAMOUS. You think if he as Mohamaed Jackson rather than a Momon he would have made it this far. Anyway since word is out he is a Muslim whether true or not bet our Jakim are taking the next flight or probably already landed to make sure he gets the muslim burial if he isn't given one. Someone must forewarn the family to be on guard of the grave for body snatchers! Gosh can we get away from this religious fanaticism as music as far as MJ's music is supposed to transcend all these!!! Seriously, we all feel sad and weep for those who touched our hearts, P.Ramlee, Sudirman... did anyone made an issue they were Muslims! There are so many young fellos in BolehLand into underground, heavy metal and punk and the youths don't give a hoot if some overzealous religious moron think it worthy to be 'fatwed'. Let us moan the loss of a great entertainer than to try and claim brownies when we don't even had a finger or lifted a finger to cause the person to see the light in 'whatever' religion he/she converted into, including Michael Jackson. Are we saying one is even greater if he converted to, is a Muslim. 'Heal the world' folks and 'make it a better place' for 'you and me and the entire universe' even if we are 'black or white' or BAD!. May God Bless Your Sour and May you Rest in Peace. www.jonathan66-my.******** 'tribute to MJ'
written by jonath66my, June 29, 2009 19:55:00
May God Bless Your Soul and May You Rest in Peace MJ was what i wanted to write and say.www.jonathan66-my.********.com 'tribute to MJ'
written by Urangsabah, June 29, 2009 20:11:59
Why do we snatch the body & give him a proper burial here in Malaysia if u get the drift.......

Maybe we can get the UMNOed Polis Force to snatch the body back to Malaysia. They have shown to be capable when the they physically remove the Perak Speaker
written by nanyangren, June 29, 2009 20:32:15
political parties needed katak to hop over, God does not.
written by chastity thedamned, June 29, 2009 20:45:55
In my humble opinion, whether or not someone obsesses over MJ's religion is very trivial and does not need to be an issue. Let people have their harmless idiosyncrasies within the confines of the law. But lets leave it to his relatives how to conduct the burial. I would also like to highlight that there is no way Malaysian authorities have any jurisdiction over the matter.
written by MSIABOLEH, June 29, 2009 20:52:23
Why the obsession? I would shudder thinking about the disfigured Monkey face and the pedophile-tendency.
written by chrisyong, June 29, 2009 21:20:27
If MJ is a Muslim, so?? It is sad to how his life ended?? As a muslim? Well, he made impact in people's life and inspired many as a non-muslim, as far as we all know. Something went wrong in the later part of his life.....after he became a muslim if this is the speculation.
written by chastity thedamned, June 29, 2009 21:21:19
People obsess for many reasons. They may do it to boost their own convictions. They may do it to feel good about themselves. They may do it because a lost soul has found redemption in the truth. They may be other reasons. But since there is no harm done, lets stay focused in making Malaysia a truly free country for all, and not just a freer country for some.
written by Malaysiaputra, June 29, 2009 21:24:00
Why all the brohaha over MJ is a Muslim or not ?. Isn't it between him and his maker ?. Anybody else can give MJ a ticket to heaven ?.
written by DezMalaysia, June 29, 2009 22:46:04
Very very funny. I agree with admiral Tojo. Now Malaysia gotta do something big! NAJIB should tell Obama to hand MJ's body over for religious burial ! Funny religious clowns around.
written by RumahPanjai, June 29, 2009 23:59:16
Likewise some idiots will also conclude that Obama is also a muslim when he's gone because he's got some connection with Indonesia. Giving islam cheap publicity?
written by aeromaverick, June 30, 2009 01:17:42
The world salutes MJ for his talents. People from all walks of like respect him and treat him with deserving awe reserved for such personalities.
I hope we as humanbeings can respect a fellow humanbeing for what he or she contributes to the betterment of mankind, rather than anything else.
Does his personal beliefs matter so much to make some happy; some unhappy and the rest neutral!
written by Mama Juwie, June 30, 2009 05:52:51
LILIN,

I bet you feel so smart after calling other people 'STUPID'. smilies/smiley.gif
written by karpi77, June 30, 2009 09:27:27
majority readers in MT is non muslim,no wonder this topic is defend to non muslim.......that why is religiuos topic in MT exspeacilly about muslim....non muslim will must not agree.
written by Sabahfan, June 30, 2009 20:30:42
PLEASE SENT JAIS, JAKIM OR JHEAINS TO AMERICA TO SNATCH HIS BODY....

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha