Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Press Statement by Lim Guan Eng

Press Statement by Lim Guan Eng PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 14:59

Petronas must explain why it is supplying 3.03 million tonnes of Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) a year to the Shanghai Gas Terminal for 25 years from 2009 when there is not enough gas supplies for domestic demand resulting in loss of tens of billions of Ringgit in foreign direct investments

DAP demands a full explanation from Petronas on the Reuters news reports of supplying 3.03 million tones of LNG a year to the Shangai Gas Terminal for 25 years from 2009 when there is not enough gas supplies for domestic demand resulting in loss of tens of billions of ringgit in foreign direct investments to Malaysia. Malaysians have a right to know why Petronas continues to export gas when we have to import 19% of our gas needs from Indonesia.

According to Malaysia’s Energy Commission, Malaysia’s total supply of 2,180 mmscfd comprise of local production of 1,770 mmscfd and 410 mmscfd imported (MMSCFD stands for Million Standard Cubic Feet per Day of gas). The consumers comprise 26% to TNB, 35% to Independent Power Producers(IPP), 21% to Petronas customers, 12% to domestic consumers and 7% exported to Singapore.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin had conceded that tens of billions of ringgit of foreign investments, including at least RM 6 billion in Penang from solar-related investors, has been lost due to the gas shortage. Despite Tan Sri Muhyiddin correctly tracing the lack of gas supply to Petronas committing all its gas production till 2014, nothing has been done to resolve this gas shortage. What is most shocking is that despite the gas shortage, Petronas is still exporting critically needed gas and now to Shanghai.

Such decisions are highly irresponsible and against the national interest. It is a terrible waste of money of Petronas to spend RM 11.5 billion to build the Peninsular Gas Utility System (PGU System) pipeline to supply gas throughout the country when there is no gas flowing through the PGU pipeline. There is an urgent need to redirect supply, especially from the independent power producers (IPPs), to manufacturing and domestic use.

The National Gas Policy was supposed to reduce gas supplies to the power sector that consumes 61% of gas supplies to 40%. However no effort has been made to reduce dependence by IPP which consume 35% of much needed gas supplies. The Federal Government must have the will to restructure completely gas utilization to ensure that it serves the needs of 27 million Malaysians and not the few IPPs to allow them to generate and enjoy billions of ringgit of profits at the expense of Malaysians.

written by Running Sardines, June 29, 2009 15:05:12
Kudos for this relevation but I fear its truth will be 'swept'/'hidden' unless Pakatan Rakyat is the Federal Government.
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 29, 2009 15:19:23
Buy from Indonesia GOT KICKBACK and sell ti China GOT Kickback... easy money man!!!
written by Flex65, June 29, 2009 15:26:15
Sell to local consumer too many people to share the cake, how to get billions of RM? Buy from Indonesia if got kickback only one or few person involved. Sell to China got kickback also one or few people involved. This is where BIG MONEY is made.
I want the money for myself only, why should I care about people.
written by Krepot, June 29, 2009 15:28:30
Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG) - isn't this the gas they BURN 24/7 in Kertih daily as there is not enough storage space for it? Pardon my ignorance & correct me if I am wrong.
written by Muachee, June 29, 2009 15:33:18
to Nana tanjung,
if we can ship to Shanghai, we can ship to Semananjung to utilized the PGU for West Malaysia demand, the matter here is "why we sell and buy from others".
written by Krepot, June 29, 2009 15:38:27
nana tanjung, saying what you have said above, then pray tell us, what runs in the 'gas pipe-lines' from Kertih to Johore Baharu where billions were spent on the infrastructure years ago. I believe it was called PGUI and PGUII Project. Again, pardon my ignorance, I am not in the industry.
written by joeawk, June 29, 2009 15:45:40
Malaysia do not deal direct with buyers. It has almost always been thru friendly 3rd parties who most probably are relatives of decision makers. No intermediary means no kickbacks. The submarine and the helicopter deals readily come to mind.
written by Tan Tan, June 29, 2009 15:56:23
How many more years we can afford to live in mismanagement and corrupted environment?

We have all the potential to be a big giant in South East Asia and yet we are number 3 behind Singapore (which only got 4.5 millions population and no natural resources)

With our resource and our human resource (being use in the right way), we are can be number 1. WHY we are contended to be 3rd and soon might be 4th after Vietnam overtaking us in few years to come.
written by Dominic, June 29, 2009 16:03:58
That way,ada kick back bah....millionssssssssss . This type of biz deal is well known since day one with UMNO blessing. So long as they fill up their pockets,so what if the rakyat bleeds. Thats the way things are done here in Boleh Land . Penny wise,pound foolish ! The whole nation should take the govt to task as this is affecting every one who are already finding hard to come out with decent 3meals . We need people like LGE to bring this out in the open !
written by lamakawan, June 29, 2009 16:08:09
Yes Mr. Lim, Petronas is committed to supply gas to Shanghai for the next 25 years.
Why? Because it has sold forward without ascertaining whether its production and reserves are adequate for the forward sales. This is selling forward something which a producer assumes production will continue at the present rate, also extraction and proven reserves will materialise wihtout any incidents or hiccups along the way.
This is a risk many business people take, but normally for shorter periods rather than 25 years duration!!!
What will happen if half way, say 10 years later it was discovered the reserves were less than expected, Petronas will suffer very very heavy losses for the remainder of years it contracted to sell to Shanghai.
That is why Petronas was in a hurry to buy a stake in Australia's new gas discovery and contracted to buy from them for a fix number of years. Just in case Petrona's local reserves suffer a shortage to meet its export commitments.
What is more important for Petronas to do is to ramp up its nearby exploration efforts to increase its reserves to meet future demand. Everyone knows Petronas is going to dry up soon, maybe 10 years down the road if it does not discover new reserves before then.
We need a more aggressive and forward looking team in Petronas if we are to increase our oil reserves for our own use, let alone be a net exporter in future.
written by asguard, June 29, 2009 16:34:16
Its Barang Naik style of doing business.... they have been practicing for ages and decade!
written by teohpg, June 29, 2009 17:24:59
LGE,

I think the paip bocor la...another white elephant project tak jadi. How they dare to supply the gas via the pipe? Whole malaysia will be on fire if so...
I think they have enough gas and would really want to help...but to no avail...BOCOR system cannot be used.

Pls understand.
written by Wudan, June 29, 2009 19:00:34
Our gas import is from Indonesia when Petronas signed an agreement with PERTAMINA to buy up to 250 million standard cubic feet (scf) of natural gas per day from the West Natuna Sea area.

The total volume of 1.5 trillion scf will be purchased over a 20-year period and initial gas delivery commenced by mid-2002.

The gas will be supplied via a pipeline to Petronas Duyong Gas Field facilities located offshore Terengganu and hence landed in the Kertih Gas and Oil Seperation Plant (GOSP) and feed into the Penisular Gas Utilisation(PGU) pipeline system.

We are buying gas because the fields offshore Terengganu are depleting and production have declined.

A significant amount of these gas are supplied to the power plant at a subsidized rate but the gas purchased are at a market rate. Gas subsidy by Petronas amounted to RM19.5 billion in 09 and RM 19.7 billion in 08.
This situation is a mismatch and cannot be sustainable in the long run

nana tanjung is correct when he wrote that the gasfield offshore Sarawak and Sabah are not connected to Penisular Malaysia. Gas is only transported via pipeline or by tanker in liquid form. The LNG exported to China, Korea, Taiwan from Bintulu port are all in liquid form and at market price.

To access the gas from Sarawak and Sabah., one has to built a pipeline across the South China Sea or built a LNG terminal in Kertih.
written by mrbean, June 29, 2009 19:45:27
this time LGE is really talking cock...
LNG is only available in Bintulu.. even if it is send to Semenanjung, there is no regassfication terminal in Semenanjung...but he has a point, Gormen should explain why there is no regassification terminal and why there is no pipeline from sarawak to semenanjung.... why is Sarawak not developed to utilise all the available gas from its shore....
written by *********, June 29, 2009 20:25:17
Kelantan has huge oil and gas reserves. Read about it here http://*********.********.com/...nd-in.html
written by fan73, June 29, 2009 22:14:28
..and I thought Petronas recruiting graduates with CGPA above 3.0.
No wonder they are so smart... pulling our legs!
written by thor, June 29, 2009 22:47:19
Buy from Indonesia GOT KICKBACK and sell ti China GOT Kickback... easy money man!!!

So lunas, RAKYAT get kick twice here. But then how many times such kicks during the past 40 years under Be End with Ameno and its Insignificant Others does the RAKYAT suffer?

GOD SAVE OUR PEOPLE FROM THE WOLVES.
written by No nonsense, June 29, 2009 22:51:20
The LNG to be sold to China comes from the plant in Bintulu, Sarawak. No such plant is located in semenanjung.

Isn,t Sabah and Sarawak a part of Malaysia? If semenanjung short of gas then the gas for China should be stopped and send to west malaysia. If the other part of the country has a shortage dont you think the people should come first instead of making money? If the money made is for the rakyat then it is OK but sorry to say it ends up in some high politicians account. Now we know why gas are send to China instead of to the rakyat. What type of logic is this? You think we are stupid as you? Dont take us as fools cause it will back-fire on you. Stop all the bullshit talk.
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 30, 2009 01:39:37

I WANT A BACKDATED ACCOUNTS OF THE 880 BILLON RINGGIT PASSSED TO MAHATHIR AL MAMMUKUTTY...

WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR MONEY.

WHY ARE OUR HOSPITALS STILL NOT EXPANDED WHILE PATIENTS ARE SLEEPING ON THE CORRIDORS IN KELANTAN???

WHAAT DID MAHTHIR MAMMUKUTY DID WITH OUR MONEY PLUS ALL THE OTHER MONEY HE GASAKED BROM PERWAJA AND THE GLC COMPANIES??????

BLOODY FOOL....HE REALLY ABUSED OUR MONEY AND NOW OUR CHILDREN GOT TO BORROW MONEY TO STUDY....HIS CHILDREN SEMUA FREE...FREE..FREE..

ORANG BIASA..YOU MATI YOU PUNYA PASAL.........

SOMEBODY THROW A PIGSKIN SHOE AT THIS SWINE...

written by Mama Juwie, June 30, 2009 06:24:04
People find comfort in criticizing others, without even knowing the whole story or even a part of it. And these are the same people that will not do anything to change the situation except talking and more talking. This happens easily when their emotions override their minds, and the more they talk, the lesser they will listen and think on how they could do better than what they criticize.