Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Even Swine Are Laughing At Us

Even Swine Are Laughing At Us PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 14:40

Just because it was very hard to pronounce H Satu N Satu for kampung people and I was not happy about it, I would call it swine flu even it was actually influenza A(H1N1).

By LIM MUN FAH/ Translated by SOONG PHUI JEE/ Sin Chew Daily

I have mentioned before that Malaysian humour was not funny at all. But this time, I laughed, and I could not stop laughing.

I laughed that some people were so naïve and some people were so pathetic while some made Malaysia well-known in the world.

I laughed as when the whole world knew that the southern Malaysia has become the latest A(H1N1) influenza infected area, our Health Director-General Tan Sri Dr Ismail Merican still insisted that it was only a rumor.

I laughed as we had a new definition for the word rumor, which means that other than the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Minister, Health Minister, Health Director-General and Director-Generals of other ministries, words from others are all rumors.

I could not stop laughing as when the whole world was following the World Health Organisation’s instruction by calling the new influenza A(H1N1), Information Communication and Culture Minister Datuk Seri Rais Yatim intended to force state-run radio and television Malay programmes to used “swine flu” as it was confusing by calling it H Satu N Satu.

I laughed as the name of a new influenza could actually be changed based only on a minister’s preference.

Just because someone did not take my face into account and I was not happy about it, so I would say no even it obviously did have.

Just because it was very hard to pronounce H Satu N Satu for kampung people and I was not happy about it, I would call it swine flu even it was actually influenza A(H1N1).

These reasons seem ridiculous, but don’t be surprised; they are from our Health Director-General and Minister. I am sorry; it was us that think these are ridiculous, they are alright with it.

For some public figure, face saving would be the priority and they could just turn the truth into a lie. For them, prejudice could cover up everything and they could talk black into white. They could simply confuse right and wrong.

They claimed it was to avoid confusion but the people had never been confused before. But they are now confused and wonder whether there is influenza A(H1N1) in Johor and what is A(H1N1) to do with swine?

The influenza has become more and more serious but our ministers are still acting weird like this. It is not only the world is laughing, but swine are laughing at our ignorance, too!

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by Running Sardines, June 29, 2009 14:50:26
We wil laugh somemore when we have selsema babi Part 2 and selsema babi part 3 ...
written by miwaki, June 29, 2009 14:53:04
I believe Mahathir also agrees with Yatim's reasoning that Influenza H1N1 should be refered as "swine flu".What Yatim doesn't know is we Malaysians prefer to call this disease as "Demam babi Hutan" and not "Selsema babi" because lot of people,atleast 25% of us have difficulty in pronouncing the word " Selsema".Howeve,we have no problem pronouncing the word "demam".Of course we love "babi" as they are our brothers,sisters,mothers.fathers and grandpas and grandmas.

Just tell me who wasn't a "babi" before this life ?
written by Trueandfair, June 29, 2009 14:58:13
Malaysian Ministers are sad and disappointed because none of the "diseases" are named after them - maybe we should have 1) "Selective dementia" - Mahathir syndrome (aka VK Lingam) 2) Frequent sleeping - Pak Lah syndrome 3) Denial - Najib syndrome (ref: Mongolian lady) and 4) Incompetent and inchoherent babbling - Rais syndrome (ref: AH1N1)

The best: Unable to get along (anti-everything) syndrome - Johore Causeway Syndrome smilies/grin.gif
written by thor, June 29, 2009 15:07:50
With so call leaders like this Mr Win Win and the Al Blurr, I hope, can u figure out why we have lost an island?
written by Kampong, June 29, 2009 15:14:54
Swine flu is small potato compared to what UMNO can do to you. Just look at how screwed up these morons become after being with UMNO for a long period of time. Come to think of it, maybe you need to be crippled somehow to be an UMNO member to begin with.
written by Admiral Tojo, June 29, 2009 15:31:31
Nincampoops in the Cabinet. No need for the comedy channel.

written by takbolehtahan, June 29, 2009 15:55:16
Actually, I wouldn't be surprised if it was Rais Yatim himself who has the problem of pronouncing H1N1, so he's blaming it on the kampong folks. This way, can save his face lah. Well, he's teaching the kampong folks wrong things and that how kampong folks remain 'uneducated'.
written by johanssm, June 29, 2009 16:17:04
The original common name is swine flu.
But as the genetic changes and mutates it is no longer named as swine flu.
Malaysians in general are very confused when it comes to HIV and AIDS too.
We had windows 98 before and now we uses Vista.It is from the Microsoft windows family.
Do we still calls it as a "window's flu"?

written by Counterpointer, June 29, 2009 16:17:42
Does Rais Yatim's PhD stand for Permanent head Damage or Pig headed Datuk?

Based on Rais' logic, don't you think that we should use both ?

This clown kinda shows you just what kind of Information Minister he is. Instead of abiding by the terminology proposed by the WHO and which has become internationally accepted so as not to confuse with actual swine flu, he insists on putting his own spin into it by misinforming people.

Move over Zainuddin Maidin and Shabery Cheek, the new clown is on the block.
written by DanDan, June 29, 2009 16:31:14
I do not know how to pronounce rra ai ss yatim. Is it rice or rise. I think it will be easier to call swine yatim or in bahasa babi yatim.
written by nanakassim, June 29, 2009 17:32:46
written by admiral Tojo, June 29, 2009 15:31:31
Nincampoops in the Cabinet. No need for the comedy channel.

admiral Tojo, the Cabinet is the Comedy Channel
written by Thambidoorai, June 29, 2009 17:34:14

Hey guys,

What say we refer to it as "selsema raisyatim" here henceforth?
written by Ulan Benson, June 29, 2009 17:40:23
written by DanDan, June 29, 2009 16:31:14
I do not know how to pronounce rra ai ss yatim. Is it rice or rise. I think it will be easier to call swine yatim or in bahasa babi yatim.

Swine Yatim? That's cool...Let's do it. Speak slowly, roll your tongue a bit backward, and say...Swine Yatim. Once more time...please, S-W-I-N-E Yatim....Oh oh no No, not R-A-T Kautim, it is...S-W-I-N-E yatim...you must start with the word 'ssss', not 'rrrr' sound.

That's right, SWINE YATIM. Now everybody...after me, say loudly and proudly, S-W-I-N-E yatim....yeah, that's right...once time please. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by BUTEK, June 29, 2009 18:49:26
selesema babi...

selesema babi hutan....

MCA,UMNO,MIC TOWKEY BABIII....

PENTERNAK CINA BABIIII.......

SEMUA INI AKAN MENYEBABKAN BANYAK KEMATIAN....

SELAMAT MENIKMATI DAGING BABI YG ENAK LAGI LAZAT... SLUUUUURPPPPP....

smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif smilies/tongue.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, June 29, 2009 19:32:32
HOSPITALS SPREAD H1NI

TODAY my friend told me he had constant fever. He went to the GH in Seremban.
Went to the counter and said he had fever. He was told to sit and wait his turn.
He was sitting with 40 people. here more and more people are passing by too.

Next he was called and sent in to the clinic to see the doctor. Here he sat again with another 40 people...and some more were coming in

Next he saw the doctor who checked him and told him take some tests. He went to another section to take the tests.. Here he sat with another 40 people.

Finally he came back...got his diagnosis done and went to the pharmacy to collect his medicine....another 40 or so people waiting...

BEFORE THE FINAL DIAGNOSIS HE HAS COME IN CONTACT WITH ABOUT 150 PEOPLE...

NOW YOU SEE HOW THE DISEASE IS SPREAD...????

WHY CAN'T THE HOSPITALS QUARANTINE ALL WHO SAY HAVE A FLU AND GET THE DOCTORS TO COME THERE AND VERIFY AND DO THE TESTS???

CANNOT...MALAYSIA BOLEH... AND 150 PEOPLE MAY BE CARRYING SWINE FLU ..PIG FLUE OF INFLUENZA H1 NI OR WHATEEVER...

CONGRATS....HOSPITALS..

WHEN YOU GO TO SINGAPRE...THE BUGGERS THERE PUT YOU THROUGH ALL KINDS OF TEST BEFORE YOU CROSS OVER.

WHEN YOU COME BACK YOU JUST PASS THROUGH A TEST SCREEN...MALAYSIA BOLEH..

i THINK THE FIRST PERSON WHO SHOULD DIE OF SWINE FLU IS MAHATHIR A/L MOHAMMED.

Seremban hospital was build in 1969 at a time when the population was 10million.

the same hospital serves patients withour enough beds and place.

WHAT THE HECK WAS THIS BLOODY FOOL DOING WITH OUR MONEY WHEN THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN ADDRESSED FIRST...PUBLIC HEALTH AND AMENITIES...

WE SHOULD HAVE HAD FIRST CLASS PUBLIC HOSPITALS FIRST...

BLOODY FOOL...HE NO PROBLEM..ANY PROBLEM RUSH TO IJN ..SPECIAL DOCTORS AND ALL THAT CRAP TO CHECK EVEN HIS BEHIND...

THE RAKYAT...MATI LU PUNYA PASALLLL
written by Urangsabah, June 29, 2009 20:15:55
Where else, but only in Malaysia...
written by qwerty, June 29, 2009 22:00:12
Calling H1N1 as "Selsema Babi" is a master stroke, even though it should be called "Selsema Khinzir" (tapi tak cukup ommph!)
With just a decree from the Misinformation Minister, we are now H1N1 free! Hooray!!!!

I still love my piggies...

written by smeagrooo, June 29, 2009 22:04:06
stupid fools should hv just called it Ah Hee Nee.
written by Daryl, June 29, 2009 22:16:11
It is not funny if a muslim child ask the parents why he got the 'selsema babi' when only babi or rakyat that eat babi got it. Go figure our dear Federal Government. Bodoh macam babi... actually babi is a smart animal because they don't eat and shit at the same place.
written by JohnQ, June 29, 2009 22:27:41
Is it easier to pronounce Nasi yatim or anak yatim ?

Yes for Nasi, No for Anak ! smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by MSIABOLEH, June 29, 2009 22:57:42
"Even Swine Are Laughing At Us"

How can the swine be laughing at us, there are many swine among us. And the HDG is one, a the leader for that matter. It really makes me wonder how did he become a HDG. Is it something to do with his nose?
written by Fuminari, June 29, 2009 23:58:01
with the kind of creature like rais yatim hanging around n could even holding the post as one of the ministers,we can't do anything except hav to really pity the swines!!
written by mowadoha, June 30, 2009 02:00:34
// Don’t make H1N1 sound so bad, Yen Yen tells media ... //

written by 1eyecls, June 30, 2009 09:03:54
yes,didnt the telekom streamyx ads show dat large kg folks are using it,then thy should know wat is A-H1N1,not BABI at all,right?

rais,are u still living at stone age like bung moktar n tajuddin?

then,take off your suits n live in jungle,meet chin peng n fishing everyday,we do not need you as our stupid minister!!!!
written by Hockchew, June 30, 2009 09:44:26
I suspect there is an agenda behind this attempt to call it "Swine Flu".

In some countries they cull all pigs because swine flu means the disease is related to swine/pig. Like Umno have always said, the kampong folks are easily misled and this could be their attempt to incite the kampong folks to protest against pig rearing under the guise of health reasons. That's one reason why they ban the usage of "Allah" which can be translated to "God" or "Lord" but to UMNO the kampong folks cannot understand or fully understand "Bahasa Malaysia". So Umno will have to project themselves as more islamic than PAS and will cull all the pigs in their surrounding- with the support of the kampong folks.

Just wonder how our Govt thinks. First they said Maths & Science should be taught in english because the whole World understand english and we have to sacrify our national language for english. Now they said the whole World definition does not matter A-H1N1 should be called "selsema babi" or swine flu. I really have doubt on the wisdom of our Minister when even the so called learned Rais Yatim can utter such senseless word - by the way, is he senile now?
written by ROBERTNGTG, June 30, 2009 10:00:21
The influenza has become more and more serious but our ministers are still acting weird like this. It is not only the world is laughing, but swine are laughing at our ignorance, too!

THAT'S BECAUSE WE HV SO MANY PEOPLE SUFFERING FROM GILA BABI LAH.
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 12:04:13
I agree H Satu N Satu is difficult to pronounce. Just call it UMNO flu will be easier.
written by Milo, June 30, 2009 12:07:30
Hockchew: I really have doubt on the wisdom of our Minister when even the so called learned Rais Yatim can utter such senseless word - by the way, is he senile now?
---------------------------

No, he is not senile. That's one of the symptoms of the UMNO flu. It affects how you think.
written by Rozlan, June 30, 2009 13:15:54
Instead of wasting time debating about the most suitable term,I prefer those BN leaders debating about lackdaisal attitude of our country health services
written by rpremkumar2u, July 01, 2009 00:41:24
H1N1 is a code. When smart mankind thinks that it has combated and eNded 1 more varmint; Nature taking note, Hatches another 1. Similarly when we manufacture a very effective mosquito spray, Nature mutates out with a stronger blood sucking species.
written by tanwi, July 01, 2009 17:16:43
its funny but really the joke is on us cos this idiots are running the country. HELP!
written by Equal, July 01, 2009 18:20:46
Rais is there not because he is smart but because of UMNO, period.
They are so many of them in Malaysia.