Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow 3.7 million eligible voters yet to register

3.7 million eligible voters yet to register PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 13:52

(The Star) - THERE are still 3.7 million Malaysians above 21 years of age who have yet to register as voters, reported Sin Chew Daily.

The daily quoted Election Commission (EC) chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof as saying that the response to its registration exercise was still very slow .

“We are considering setting up an online registration system to encourage more qualified voters to register,” he said.

Abdul Aziz said the EC was also studying the possibility of automatically registering voters once they reach the eligible age.

“However, if we implement the automatic registration system and make voting mandatory, we might be accused of violating human rights,” he said, adding that such moves might also lower the number of voters in elections.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by justice, June 29, 2009 14:01:55
written by slash n burn, June 29, 2009 14:09:38
Since when EC interested in Human Rights? You should go after the pendatang mamak Mahatahi Kerala who rigged, phantomed, postal vote manipulation, names dissapearance or transfered, and most of all gave IC to his own kind pendatang@ Project IC.
written by lunas oh lunaih, June 29, 2009 15:13:45
Pakatan Rakyat MUST, I stress again MUST initiate a campaign for young voters to register.More young voters means BN are dead.
written by asguard, June 29, 2009 16:30:14
Everyone must do their part... then only will be able to shut down the barang naik thru ballot box!
written by SiHangChai, June 30, 2009 00:19:38
With these kinds of sub-standard candidates standing for elections, I rather vote for a 5 years kid. Look at some of the BN, UMNO, PAS, DAP, PKR, MCA, MIC, ...etc all macam satu macam. Whether I vote or register also no point as EC will manipulate where a person can and should vote at. EC should just be abolished, we go back to have royal rulers or socialist or communism. Then all rakyat should be equal in treatment
written by mowadoha, June 30, 2009 00:31:22
This graphic is ROYALTY-FREE to download and use for the intended purposes:

written by schizonoid, June 30, 2009 02:50:39
Just make sure the new voters leans toward PR