Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow No Stranger to Royal Shenanigans

No Stranger to Royal Shenanigans PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 12:00

If Muhyuddin and Nazri could not say anything sensible, they should just shut up.  There is no need to embarrass the country.  Come to think of it, that is good advice for all our leaders.  I wonder if Nazri and Muhyuddin have a daughter; how they would feel if she were to be abused by her husband.  The ministers’ utterances were at best boorish; at worse, reprehensible.

M. Bakri Musa

Apologies – at the very least – are called for.” So began an editorial, “Feast of Lies,” that appeared in the New Straits Times on April 27, 2009. Its pontificating tone continues, “… scandalous allegations are leapt on and gnawed to the bone without even a perfunctory attempt at verification, ….”

What triggered the righteous indignation of the paper’s editorial writers was the alternative media’s widespread reporting of the shenanigans of the Kelantan royal family.  Today, thanks to a brave Malaysian, Kadar Shah Sulaiman, and the professionalism of Singapore’s police personnel, the Kelantan Prince’s estranged wife, Manohara, is now free.  As the world now knows, her nine-month royal marriage was anything but a fairy tale, at least according to Manohara, which is what matters.

While her husband may be a prince, she discovered too late that he was of the Neanderthal variety.  Perhaps her kiss was not powerful enough; the frog still remains in him.

I would have thought that the folks at The New Straits Times, of all people, would not be strangers to royal mischief.  All they have to do is review their archives of the late 1980s and early 1990s.

What prompted the sanctimonious editorial was the appearance of the young royal couple at a wedding reception in Kota Baru where they were (or at least she was) seen smiling happily.  Any editor who could have been so easily hoodwinked by a “photo op,” well, he or she could also be easily swayed by a mere phone call from someone powerful.  So much for being “hardnosed” journalists!

However, this commentary is not on the credibility (or the lack thereof) of The NST.  I need not add anything on that matter; the paper’s declining circulation is proof enough of the current sorry state of this once proud publication.

Instead, I cannot help but wonder what would have happened had Manohara tried her escape not from a Singapore hotel but one in KL.  Three points worth pondering; the first two relate to the professionalism of Singapore’s public service, in this particular case, its Police Force.  The third concerns the humanity of one Malaysian who tipped Manohara’s family that the Prince and his wife would be in Singapore and thus was instrumental in her escape.

First, the Singapore police rightly pointed out to the Prince and his hangers-on that they risk being jailed for interfering with police work or obstructing Manohara’s movements.  Second was the revealing comment of that taxi driver to the effect that Manohara and her family had nothing to fear from the Singapore police.  That such a compliment would come from a taxi driver reflects the integrity of the republic’s police.

Had the Manohara episode happened in Kuala Lumpur, our Chief of Police would be kissing the Raja Temonggong’s hand and asking for forgiveness for “interfering” with royal affairs.  The Chief would also probably give Manohara some fatherly “advice” to return to her husband and be a “good” and “obedient” wife.

Alas, we see this blind royal genuflection even among the highest echelon of our leadership.  Despite the horrifying details related by Manohara, Deputy Prime Minister Muhyuddin saw fit to comment that the Malaysian government does not want to get involved.  “I think this is more of a personal matter,” he was reported to have said.  “We should not be dragged into this situation so we want to just leave it as it is,” he continued.

Muhyuddin as Deputy Prime Minister ought to know that once a crime is committed, or alleged to have been committed, then that is no longer a private matter.  The state must have an interest in that.  That is our Deputy Prime Minister for you.  He had so quickly forgotten that he was sworn to uphold the laws of the country.  A crime is a crime regardless of who had committed it.  And spousal abuse is a crime.

Then there is Nazri Aziz, Minister in the Prime Minister’ office; he is still waiting for a formal complaint!  Obviously he did not read his party’s paper, the NST!  Poor Aziz would wait till it snows in Malaysia if he were to think that Manohara would trust our institutions well enough to lodge a police report here!  This monkey of a minister just refuses to see anything until it is pointed out to him.  It did not occur to his thick skull that he should be the one to direct the police to investigate.  If nothing else, to protect the integrity of the palace if indeed Manohara were fabricating her allegations.

If Muhyuddin and Nazri could not say anything sensible, they should just shut up.  There is no need to embarrass the country.  Come to think of it, that is good advice for all our leaders.  I wonder if Nazri and Muhyuddin have a daughter; how they would feel if she were to be abused by her husband.  The ministers’ utterances were at best boorish; at worse, reprehensible.

Second is the reputation of Singapore’s police in the eyes of the island’s taxi drivers.  “… [T]he police would definitely protect us regardless of who we were, whether we were foreigners or locals, whether we were rich or poor,” one driver told Manohara’s family.  I wonder what our taxi drivers think of our own police force if we were to engage them in candid conversations.

Here would be some realistic samples.  “The last time those bastards stopped me they demanded no less than RM200!”  Another:  “That huge mansion on the hill, that’s the police chief’s second house!”  These supposed comments are not figments of my florid imagination.  Witness what happened to former Deputy Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim at the hands of the Police Chief.  Anwar was even cockier and more certain of his power than Muhyuddin could ever hope to be.  Yet that did not protect Anwar.

The scary part of that ugly Anwar incident was not the rogue Chief of Police rather that the assault occurred in front of at least two senior officers.  They did not see fit to restrain their brute lawless chief; they also chose to remain silent when the subsequent controversy erupted.  They witnessed a major felony being committed and chose not to stop or report it.  They were guilty of being accomplices to a major crime as well as obstructing justice.  Yet those two officers still serve His Majesty’s Government.  That is the Royal Malaysian Police.

It is tempting to condemn Malaysians generally, as many are wont to, for the abject performances of our leaders and institutions.  It is after all difficult to separate leaders and institutions from the people.

Seen in this light, the exemplary performance of Kadar Shah Sulaiman, UMNO’s Muar branch chief, deserves much praise and wider recognition.  Clearly he saw his duty to a suffering fellow human greater than that to a sultan or sultan’s family.  Kadar is truly a modern-day Hang Jebat; he makes us all proud.

The shenanigans of Malay royals are not news.  As for the credibility and reputation of our mainstream media editors, now that would be news when they showed any!  Currently their reputation may only be slightly less soiled than that of the sultans.  Our leaders and institutions are not much better.  Given such a milieu it is easy to be pessimistic.  Yet amidst such gloom we can occasionally be pleasantly surprised.  Kadar Shah Sulaiman’s action assured us that there still exists some humanity among Malaysians.  It also shows that one brave soul can indeed make a difference.

As for our editors in the mainstream media, do not expect a mea culpa any time soon; they still delude themselves into thinking that they are doing a swell job.  They do not bother with “even a perfunctory attempt at verification.”

written by justice, June 29, 2009 12:24:38
agree 305
written by malsia1206, June 29, 2009 12:37:38
Nazri had a pattern for senseless statements since his days in the Cabinet with the former PM Tun Badawi. Nothing strange or unusual coming out from his crap. But the current Deputy PM Muhyuddin had hardly warmed his seat and a lot of garbage is also coming out from him lately. This mentality seems to be the hallmark from the UMNO stable. Sick and more sickening. It's a terminal disease.
agree 216
written by Steven Ong, June 29, 2009 12:40:14
If ever that our Malaysian police were to be respected by the public, the first thing they should do is to make sure that the public have only praises for them. But instead all I heard about the Malaysian police is NEGATIVE remarks and perceptions. Even by the way they conduct road blocks gives the impression that they are having tea time under the shady trees or bridges. They lack the vitality and professional 'look' in the first place. As the saying goes ,'The first impression is the most important'. And they are lacking in it.

Wonder if they have an oat like ' To serve without fear and favour.'
agree 121
written by panca, June 29, 2009 12:40:30
...our Taxi drivers would probably be saying " You tolong turun kereta, saya tak mahu bawa, you cari taxi lain, saya ada pesan, saya tak mahu kena itu orang biadap, samseng lagi pun dia orang stokist C4, TOLONG TURUN TAXI".

fig of imagination? The serious conversation of the drama..."Please get down of my cab, I cannot take you. Get other cab, I have been hired. I don't want anything with those arrogant, mobster besides they are C4 stockist. PLEASE ALIGHT FROM MY CAB".
smilies/cry.gif
written by Steven Ong, June 29, 2009 12:55:31
Its already many years that I heard our government ministers giving weak and apathetic excuses not to interfere in other peoples suffering. This is just one of them. Its always 'domestic problems' and they should not interfere. So much so that this is applied every where, like not to interfere in the controversy in Myanmar or Tibet or the daily bombings in Iraq. Remarks like' Non Muslim are not qualified to speak about Islam', and 'those who continued to question the special rights of Malays will face severe consequence 'shows the wide spread influence of this culture of non interference of the UMNO Malays.
written by Saint, June 29, 2009 13:12:32
Dear Rozlan, I think(if my reading is correct)this piece is not about Manohara, but about the "attitud, character and the assumptions" the Malaysia public has on our "leaders". Manohara & Anwar were just used as examples to "highlight" the issues. We must be focused reading, so as not to miss the "true message".
agree 128
written by sydput, June 29, 2009 13:25:05
Waht do you expect from Nazri, our ex-law minister and persent minister in Pm's department. His son and gang was involved in the incident below :-

This incident comes barely a month after law student Darren Kang was battered to death outside a restaurant in Desa Sri Hartamas.

In the incident at 2.20am, Lim was assaulted by five men with chairs, tables, beer mugs and even a flower pot.

And just like the case of Manohara, the police did not take action against any of perpetrators, but instead apprehend the Thai workers at Don's restarurant for the assault.

The elite in this country can be criminals, and nothing can be done about it.

agree 137
written by Spear Bing, June 29, 2009 13:30:50
Just hope that someone will forward this article or fax it to Nazri and Muhyuddin for them to read and digest and see what comes out from their movement of thoughts.

It's just beyond our wildest imaginations that these two politicians do not even possess the slightest capacity for wider perspectives in helping to govern the nation on behalf of the rakyat.

Kudos to Dr. Bakri Musa for being so brutally frank and candid - with no holds barred.
written by Urangsabah, June 29, 2009 13:41:06
Muhyuddin and Nazri and even krismuddin, what say u guys.any comment but if got comment also sound like a load of rubbish "like seeking forgiveness from god for critizing UMNO."NST/Star/Utusan.what say u.maybe it the news that you guys missed but NOn MSM news reported.http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/23684/84/
written by OVERLORD, June 29, 2009 13:49:46
Bravo Bakri!about time somebody spoke up about what's been on everybody's mind.it seems taboo nowadays to mention anything about the royals.as for the local MSM, a perfunctory attempt at verification is deemed a "dirty word in their vocabulary.ball-carriers suits them best!
written by PRman, June 29, 2009 14:19:28
Wow, a nice piece of article. Thank you.
written by smalluncle, June 29, 2009 14:42:54
Ya, thats precisely what our BN politicians are trained. What till official report before WE ACT?

Sorry! The rakyat also do not trust the police hence NO POLICE REPORT made before PRU12 on how lousy BN is. They, the rakyat, did what Manohara did, they just make public through the ballot that they are CHEESE OFF!

SO, wait so more
written by Running Sardines, June 29, 2009 14:44:03
This is to digress a bit ...

Last year I was in Singapore. I stop a cab by a taxi stand and kind of ask him whether he can bring me to this place. And the Singapore cab driver said,"Please come inside first. Why do you ask me whether I can go to Little India ?" And I replied,"In KL, we have to seek the taxi driver approval before getting on to his cab". And the Singapore cab driver looked at me and said,"We cannot do that here. If any passenger ever lodged a complaint against me, I will lose my rice bowl". But if you ever want to lodge a complaint against any of the taxi drivers in KL, it is such a hassle and I am not confident anything good will come out of it.

But then I don't blame our KL taxi drivers. With that amount of traffic jams during peak hours, how can they cari makan ? No wonder they will charge exorbitantly and this again goes back to the Government i.e. how can they make our roads more efficiently, how to reduce the numbe of vehicles on the road etc. One taxi driver in KL pour out his frustration for having to work for a company (he could not get his own licence and he has been a cab driver for many many years)that charged a high daily rental for the cab he used. No wonder these taxi drivers are inconsiderate at times.
written by Goodbites, June 29, 2009 15:26:55
The belong to the D & D society. Unable to listen and unable to speak, except for themselves.
written by mountainking, June 29, 2009 16:42:17
feudal system, sigh.

And over here, I don't have trust and confidence in malaysian police force. then some will stand up and defend, it's police that instil peace and fight crimes. I think i myself personally fought crimes and chased after snatch thieves more than police does. i am safe not because of police but so happened things have not happened to me yet.

i used to ponteng and played snookers with policemen. All that they know is to have play lucky balls (gambling), slot machines (fruits), teh tarik at mamak and asked us for ciggy. And also asked for bribes from arcade operators.

Ain't I have first hand experience with police and please don't tell me that I am not qualified to kutuk the police.

And many of my friends released from police station not through police bail but through RM8,000 kickback to police for them to be released.
written by Conan Chung, June 29, 2009 17:17:53
One word: Bakayarou!

written by Dualties, June 29, 2009 19:25:38
When Nazir and Muhyuddin refused to initiate the investigation on the widely published news of the Kelantan Prince and Manohara, it means, they have their ears opened but the eyes closed. Until when it has become an international issue, their eyes can be opened.

At the moment, the mole right inside their eyes is too insignificant. They have to wait for it to turn into malginancy of our judiciary system.
written by Loh, June 29, 2009 19:58:06
///Seen in this light, the exemplary performance of Kadar Shah Sulaiman, UMNO’s Muar branch chief, deserves much praise and wider recognition. Clearly he saw his duty to a suffering fellow human greater than that to a sultan or sultan’s family. Kadar is truly a modern-day Hang Jebat; he makes us all proud.///---Bakri Musa

Unfortunately Kadar Shah Sulaiman cannot change UMNO from within. He should join PKR, PAS or DAP to work for all Malaysians.

written by amoker, June 30, 2009 04:53:39
Dun dare la.. now, the sultan have so much power over umno...
written by Vivarium, June 30, 2009 18:40:57
I live at the coordinates : 6 degrees south, 106 degrees east. Each time little minor issues concerning Indonesia pop up back home, Malaysians over here get the dirty looks from the locals. Therefore my advice to them is not to mess around with the decendants of intra-royalty marriages,many of them carry bad genes in their blood. Even a man who had his morning jogging in KB had become a victim. Many years back, a golf caddie in JB died at the golf course.
written by allmenarebrothers, June 30, 2009 22:28:13
Dear Dr Bakri Musa
The Rakyat don't expect much from the two men.
One bahaves like a cow as true to his name he only knows how to moo. The other is a nasty bloke as it had been foretold when he, as a newly born, was first named.
written by concernedinmalaysia, July 01, 2009 00:15:40

I just found the following article about the British Queen and would like to know, do you think it is too much to ask the royalty of Malaysia to declare what it cost us to keep them?

Thanks.

Article:-

Buckingham Palace says public funding for the Queen and the royal family cost British taxpayers the equivalent of 69 pence ($1.41) each last year.

The Queen's office published her latest accounts on Monday. It showed that the costs incurred by the royal family were 41.5 million pounds in the year to March 31, an increase of 1.5 million pounds on the previous year.

Public money is used to pay the costs of travel and running homes used by the royal family, including the Queen's Buckingham Palace residence.

The accounts don't include the cost of security provided by the police and army.

Figures showed travel costs rose to 6.5 million pounds from 6.2 million pounds.

AP
written by PresleyP, July 01, 2009 01:28:09
There is an internet joke "Light travel faster than sound" :- the person appears bright until he opens his mouth.

This is particularly true of Mohigan. He always appeared alright in the paper. But ever since he becomes DPM, he uttered a lot of rubbish. And this is our 2nd man in the country, somebody who could be the PM when the PM sufferds the fate of his late father !!!

Look at all the top guns in UMNO, apart from Ku Li, can anybody find anyone who is worth the respect ? C-4, Mohigan, Krismuddin, Toyol, SIL, MM's boy, the ex MB who no speak Ingglish and the long tongue MM ? None of them is worth a dime.

Malaysia has a lot of bright people !! A lot of Malaysians getting high award internationally. Yet the "Leaders" in UMNO are mostly bunch of useless Tai Chi masters. That is why the general Malaysians are struggling to make ends meet, eventhough we have lots of natural resources.

We deserve better than that. We need to vote them out !!!
written by marbl3s, July 01, 2009 02:32:26
I do not know who is right or wrong in this hoo haa.

But what i do know is that Malaysia is at risk right now.

First a Mongolian was C4'ed which i so believe that might have pissed off Mongolia. Now Malaysia is on a very fine thin line with our neighboring country Indonesia.

I seriously don't know about you but i just feel that our country is making more enemies in this world than friends. And i wouldn't be surprised that one day, one country might declare war on our country.
written by EUGTAN, July 01, 2009 09:05:55
What a witty, well written piece!Congratulations!
Meanwhile, the editors of the mainsteam press are serving their time, waiting for their datukships...
written by vox populi, July 01, 2009 15:37:51
The unsavoury things we have to say about the PDRM could be compiled into a set of encyclopaedia!

When Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi became PM with promises to clean up corruption, the hopes of the country were raised sky high. I remember having a conversation with a retired woman inspector about this. She said, nah, no way police corruption could be eliminated. I asked her why. The very first week she started work, she found an envelope with cash in her office drawer. Enquirying about this from her colleagues, our novice inspector was told everyone got the same and if she didn't want it somebody else would be happy to have it. It came from the "system" and you know what I mean. That's at the top. With such entrenched corruption, is there any hope of fighting it at all?

At he lower end, you would hear of police harassment or even thuggery (especially of foreign workers). I was once having breakfast in a coffee shop when a sudden commotion started. Some Indonesian female waiters scrambled to hide at the rear of the shop on seeing a couple of police guys passing on a motorbike. When the girls reappeared later, they loudly cursed, "Ini polis babi, dia mahu duit, lagi mahu konkek".

That's as base as you can get. Can PDRM rise from such depths of shamefulness and notoriety?

written by born2reign, July 02, 2009 09:37:59
Rozlan, you are so transparent playing the lawyer buruk in discrediting the victim. The main issue is that we as Malaysians, even up to the royals, should not be abusing (sexually and physically) any locals or foreigners or children or spouses. Even if Manohara is a gold digger, as a Muslim, the Kelantan prince can just talak her and get rid of her.

It is so embarrassing that Malaysian female employers have to resort to violent abuse of their maids, so how come this is not a domestic private affair, like what Muhyddin claimed? No wonder Indonesian govt ban their women coming over here!

Before any investigations are completed, our ministers already made conclusion of the case, like Saiful-sodomy, Altantuya-murder and now Manohara-abuse. What a delight to play the role of the typical typecast Muslim authority in a "Islamic country". HAHAHAHAHAHA! With these 2 we don't need Islam-bashers to give Islam a notorious name!

My only disappointment is with PKR Zul why is he not barging into their Putrajaya offices and having a demonstration for smearing the good name of Allah? Double standards.