Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Anwar: Scrap use of English for Science and Maths

Anwar: Scrap use of English for Science and Maths PDF Print
Monday, 29 June 2009 11:22

(The Star) PETALING JAYA: Scrap the policy of teaching Science and Mathe-matics in English and bring back Bahasa Melayu as the medium of instruction in the education system, said Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

He also called for the return of Bahasa Melayu’s status as the supreme language, which includes using it as the medium to teach Science and Maths in national schools and also strengthening its usage in Chinese and Tamil schools.

“This issue has become a controversy for far too long.

“We consider this policy a betrayal of Bahasa Melayu as our official language,” he told a press conference yesterday.

Anwar, however, conceded that it was important to master English and agreed that there should be constructive steps taken to improve the usage and understanding of the language.

“But how we do it should be decided by educationists and with consideration towards the national education policy.

“This includes not forcing our children to pass English as a compulsory subject in the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) as this will result in many students, especially in rural areas, to fail,” added Anwar.

On another matter, Anwar questioned Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak’s sincerity when announcing the government’s plan to introduce a new category of Public Service Department (PSD) scholarships which would be based purely on merit.

“The last time when I suggested the plan, I was called a Chinese agent and a traitor to the Malays,” he said.

Anwar also lauded PAS spiritual leader Datuk Nik Aziz Nik Mat’s proposal to have a debate with Najib.

He said an open debate would be the best way to clear up the accusations against the Kelantan Mentri Besar.

Comments (48)Add Comment
written by allangan2006, June 29, 2009 11:27:15
There are other better ways to improve one's English....Read more blogs will certainly be one of the best ways because the contents are always afresh and contemporary. smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by HamChak, June 29, 2009 11:28:18
DSAI, are you sure, aah?
written by tuahjebat, June 29, 2009 11:44:42
Anwar...did you wake up at the wrong side of the bed today?
written by takbolehtahan, June 29, 2009 11:46:02
In this instance, I disagree with DSAI. Making English not compulsory just so the rural Malays can pass means setting mediocre standards AGAIN. And this certainly does not mean a betrayal of Bahasa Melayu as the official language of our country. We all know the importance BM and being a non-Malay, I am proud to have Bahasa Melayu as our official language. If one wants the Malays to improve, one has to raise the bar, not lower it. 'Education' is not DSAI's forte, his experience as Education Minister says it all. I suppose coming from umno stock, DSAI is no different here when it comes to helping out the rural Malays. Sure, the initial steps are always difficult, and extra help must be given to the rural Malays to catch up. Lowering educational standards is definitely not the way. DSAI seems to be confused between 'education' and 'language'. And in this I am disappointed with him.
written by yellowwoman, June 29, 2009 11:47:29
Oh dear,
Here we go again.
DSAI has made a very strong statement and it will not go well with many supporters of Pakatan Rakyat. How now brown cow?
written by jdoe, June 29, 2009 11:50:24
check your source of news first. anything from MSM is not necessary the truth.
written by sam65, June 29, 2009 11:55:12
DSAI, you must be joking..... a betrayal to Bahasa Melayu or shouldn't that be Bahasa Malaysia!!!!! A NATIONAL LANGUAGE FOR ALL MALAYSIANS!!!

There's nothing wrong with Maths & Science in English.At the least some people are making an effort to learn 'Inggeris' becos it these 2 subjects requires.
In this instance, I would agree with Dr M, to Malaysians and Malaysia to advance in this world we need English, there is more text and references (for Science and Maths) written in English than any other languages.

Everywhere in the world, people want to learn English but in Malaysia; an international language is being made into a political tools by our Malaysian politicians both BN & PR - shame on you all.

DSAI and most of our better politicians of todays were educated in an era where English was still widely used. Would DSAI be invited as a speaker in US universities if he could not communicate fluently in English?? Give our children a chance and a break. Rural or urban is not the issue, it is the mindset of the people. For as long as the people's mind set does not change, there will be no effort and without effort there will be no progess. And don't be little the rural people either, it's as bad as racism if not worse.

Recently, in London I met a gentleman from Romania who was shocked to here that I'm from Malaysia becos I could speak English very well. Tell me, should I take this as a compliment(to myself) or and insult to ALL Malaysians?

In the 70's, the Westerners thought Malaysian still lived on trees! Now in 2007 and after Petronas Twin Towers, KL Tower, KLIA, F1....oh they now realise that we do not live on trees any more but they somehow seem to be under the impression that "we dunno to speak the Inglish vely the good any more aleadilah! You got understand what I say, yah?"

written by anakkbatas, June 29, 2009 11:56:29
DSAI PLEASE DONT REPEAT YOUR MISTAKE AGAIN,BE VERY SINCERE IN EDUCATION MATTER.I STRONGLY SUPPORT MAHATHIR'S VIEW IN THIS.
written by truthbespoken, June 29, 2009 12:00:58
This is a problem we are having. A bold shed of the old unwise Anwar has suddenly re-emerged! He was actually a strong contributor to the weak education system we have now as a former Eduction Minister! Oh-Oh, PR, are we moving in the right direction?
written by sam65, June 29, 2009 12:04:45
(Corrections of my typo errors - ah hem, no fault of the mind I assure you):-

Everywhere ..... political tool by our Malaysian politicians both BN & PR - shame on you all.

DSAI ........... politicians of today .......... the people's way of thinking does not change, there will be no effort and without effort there will be no progess. And don't belittle the rural people either, it's as bad as racism if not worse.

In the 70's,.............! Now in 2009 and after Petronas Twin Towers, KL Tower, KLIA, F1....oh they now realise that we do not live on trees any more but they somehow seem to be under the impression that "we dunno to speak the Inglish vely the good any more aleadilah! You got understand what I say, yah?" smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by MMhunter, June 29, 2009 12:22:25
Hi bro when are you going to stop fishing for votes and stick to PR program.You want to do bring back maths and english in Bahasa malaysia. All i can say is good luck to you bro Anwar.Najib is making an attempt to unite all races and at the same time taking care of the malays.I think thats good politics.If the PM can transform the police and judiciary and make it completely free and independent.The PM has the rakyat votes.I dont care about political parties.What i care is how do we as rakyat benefit and grow as a nation.
written by densemy, June 29, 2009 13:01:10
Well that's the end of you as a potential future leader of Malaysia

You are no better than the party that spawned you... unimaginative and backward looking
written by C360, June 29, 2009 13:16:10
This is where yet more betrayal of Malaysians continue ...

1. Bahasa Melayu or Bahasa Malaysia

2. Check out our historical education initiatives on Maths and Science for "O" Levels, 100% Malay students ... or has this data been thrown away to support the notion that Malays really cannot master English and the subjects taught in the language

3. OK, scoring points to gain Malay support politically ?

4. After 50 years, if we are worried about rural area students failing English, merely highlights the fact that for 50 years we never rolled out effective education of English to the rural areas ... a failure of Government strategic foresight ... yet with more hidhsight, we would attempt to condemn the future of the country to yet more degradation

5. I think DSAI is the one now out of touch with Chinese and Tamil schools ... students in these schools speak/write better Bahasa Malaysia ... even tho some might argue that results (tempered) indicate otherwise ...

6. Stop this talk of traitors ... we have had more traitors than we could ever have imagined possible for a miserable country of 25 million people ... going back all the way to the Hang gang ...

FINALLY ... students in the more advanced countries are now graduating with a base language capability of 2 languages with 1 or 2 more languages, bringing their capabilities to 3 or 4 languages on graduating ... we cant even get to 2 languages ... AFTER 52 YEARS ...

DSAI ... you got this WRONG ... scrap english, and i will scrap PKR ...
written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 13:18:28
Anwar.. you were the man who deliberately sent non mandarin-speaking chinese teachers to chinese schools to be the headmasters with the evil aim to change the characteristics of the chinese schools. I think you are still very much an evil, destroying education at all costs. Give Malaysian children a break !
written by alarcarte, June 29, 2009 13:23:37
Anwar called the National Language Bahasa Melayu instead of Bahasa Malaysia, it does not matter anyway, the point is he also need to do a balancing act, he can't please the minorities all the time! Politicians are always playing to the gallery and Anwar is no different! PR won many seats the last time is because we are fed up with B.N.

With Najib holding olive branch to the minorities every now and then and couple with the perception that Selangor state Gomen not up to the mark plus some PKR MPs who talk "MORE KOCKS" than UMNO,there is a real chance that B.N will win back the support of the minorities in the next G.E despite having some warts..

Sorry-lah Anwar and your PKR.

Teaching Math and Science only benefit the urban students as most of the urban families speak some English at home or have English tuition, admittedly my kids benefit greatly from this, but we need to think of those many who do not speak English. Perhaps we need to give the students a choice to select in which language they want.

written by maisur, June 29, 2009 13:27:55
C360 and others...
aiyoyo...now you want to scrap PKR. before this you guys wanted to scrap PAS. you guys are not using your brains to talk lah. you give PAS this warning, you give PKR that warning... as if you are the deciding factors on who to govern this country.

even at the height of your support towards PR, PR can only win 83 seats. your arrogance and "bodoh sombong" approaches can easily swing 1-3% malays back to BN and that will spell the end era of PR. even penang which has 43% malays now can go back to UMNO in the next few GEs if you keep your "bodoh sombong" attitude.

written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 13:48:32
The Malaysian children, both rural and urban, need help in order to be on par with children of the rest of the world, as much as our politicians need help to be honest in their thoughts and visions. Children are denied their rights to choice by politicians' very own choice of being dishonest !
As for me and other parents, we want politicians/opportinusts not to stand in the way to my children's future.
written by sydput, June 29, 2009 13:51:33
UMNO is doing us a favour by charging this arsehole for sodomy.
bahasa baku was introduced when he was education minister.
He changed kementerian pelajaran to Pendidikan.
All the malay technological and scitific terms cannot be understood by anyone as they used english words and re-spelt same words according to malay spelling. Thus circuit becomes sirkit. squash becomes squasy.
When it comes to education, let the parents and their children decide which language they want. The less interference from politicians, the better.
written by Jeffo, June 29, 2009 14:06:42
Politician and politics. All the same on both side of the divide. Najib playing to the non-malay by adopting meritocracy for scholarships to win back the support. Anwar playing to the Malays with this stunt also to gain more ground. Still with the divide and rule policy.

Do you really want to screw the rakyat in the a**? In your face you dumbass rakyat? I am blatantly bringing us back to the stoneage! So, are you worthy of leading the 27 mln citizens come GE13?
written by drrafick, June 29, 2009 14:27:17
The sad thing about politics is that politicians will say anything to win votes.

read my view on this matter at http://rights2write.*********....education/

we, the parents must make the decision at the school level. This is too far important for the nation to let politicians on both side of the fence to decide on this issue.

Their thinking are clouded with political interest.
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 14:28:09
Anwar, r u talking co*k or what?

i have always support you... but this time.. u r very dissapointing...
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 14:41:08
why is it so difficult if to make English a compulsory subject while Bahasa Malaysia is not?

R u guys afraid that Malay speaking students unable to cope with English? If so, dont you all think that other races like Chinese & Indians also having problem to cope with BM?

Hello, wake up all Politicians involved!

If you all think that it would be easier for the students to pass the exams if Maths & Science to be conducted in BM? what about their future, they still have to learn all the those Subjects in English when go to college, may be except local universities!

Betrayal of B.Malaysia?

The real betrayals are those who started the "GOOD JOB" by copying English and mutated them into Bahasa, same sound different spelling...... real nonsense!!!
vision = visi?
complicated = komplikasi?

stupid!

written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 14:44:24
scrap PKR ...
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 14:47:15
scrap PKR ...
scrap PKR ... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 14:48:26
Anwar is thinking & talking c**K!
scrap PKR ...
scrap PKR ... !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Braino, June 29, 2009 14:58:06
DSAI if you are so sincere about Bahasa Melayu...why send your children for overseas education? Your daughter can speak good English but you want others to be "katak di bawah tempurung"! That's a very selfish move from you. Can't believe that you have never learnt from your past mistakes. Even TDM has realised his blunder.
written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 15:00:28
Time clock functions as a digital record of employees' presence at and absence from work place. Indonesian in general call that procedure " absen ", like that ? Calling a joystick " batang gembira ",plug-and-play " cucuk dan main " and server port " lubang pelayan " do not make Malaysians more patriotic but render the language pathetic. We don't live in isolation and acquiring knowledge requires integration with the environment and people around us through communication. I feel odd having to teach the politicians these basics. GOD Bless Malaysia !
written by miwaki, June 29, 2009 15:06:21
If by teaching math and Science in English can improve the standard of English of students then i definitely support the policy.However,even an Englishman can tell you that teaching Math and Science in English is not going to improve your English.You have to study English in order to improce your English proficiency !

How come our ministers and government are so naive,you cannot master English by
learning Math, science or History,you have to study English idiot !
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 15:14:30
PKR.. next time, during meeting or conversation with international politicians, please speak only your proud Bahasa MALAYSIA, and get a translator to pass your message to others!!!!!!!

SCRAP YOU 1st!

NOW I am thinking of who should we vote next time, BN & you are definitely out!!
written by elmo world, June 29, 2009 15:16:13
by the way, what is Scrap in Bahasa?

Sekerap? or SKRAP?

written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 15:42:06
elmo world : I may be able to offer you some vague alternatives for " Scrap " - afkir( hear of that ? ), hapus( well not so accurate ). So scrapbook becomes "buku hapus" ( well,way to go ). If " pejabat " means government offiers in Indonesia, then "Ibu pejabat " mean government officers' mothers. Can someone help ?
written by khairi khamsah, June 29, 2009 16:28:53
Guys, your lack of vocabulary in Bahasa Malaysia and your disrespect to the mother tounge is due to inefficiency of Dewan Bahasa and all those people who claimed themselves Sasterawan Negara and lecturers in Pusat Bahasa all over Malaysia. They are paid the job and recognition to upgrade the mother tounge to international standards and makes Malaysian language accepted through out the nation.

Words assimilation from English or any other language are common in every languages. Takes for example the word "omnipotent" meaning all powerful. I actually the combination of "omni" (all in Greek) and "potent" (capability) thus the words omnipotent is born. However, Dewan Bahasa are lacking in these area and only looking at English to translate to Bahasa Malaysia. They should have work their ass and look at other language to come up with a new word and not only copy from English and do a crappy job.
written by malaysian7, June 29, 2009 17:23:39
Dear DSAI,

Supporting you does not mean I must support whatever you do or say. In this case PPSMI, I am strongly against of what you say.

As I have pointed before in other articles' comments section that the problem is the attitude. Now instead of changing the language back into our national language. You should then think how to correct the attitude of the people instead. Think of a good step and slowly slowly change. If you change back the medium to BM and then intend to change it to BI later. It will be hard and raise a lot of problems. Please think of a better way.

If you insist to go to BM, this people still will need to learn them (2 subjects) in English someday if they want to be a master in these fields.

Dave
written by advocatusdiaboli, June 29, 2009 17:35:46
Anwar, next time you go overseas to give talks please talk in Bahasa Melayu to your foreign audiences and insist that they learn Bahasa Melayu if they want to understand your speech. Then you will know just how widely Bahasa Melayu is spoken around the world. Better still, to circumvent this argument forever have schools in 2 languages. One in Bahasa Melayu and another in Bahasa Inggeris. Let create more havoc with our already inefficient education system. Whether you like it or not English is spoken worldwide and core subjects such as science and mathematics are more widely written and discussed in English. Even the books on computer applications are written in English. Set you ego aside lah.
written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 17:43:26
To Khairi Khamsah,
Your comment on the most widely spoken languages was a little inaccurate. Check out on this link: http://www2.ignatius.edu/facul...guages.htm
In the article, the following data are tabulated:
If you add the secondary speaker populations to the primary speaker populations, you get the following (and I believe more accurate) list:
(number of speakers in parentheses)

Mandarin Chinese (1.12 billion)
English (480 million)
Spanish (320 million)
Russian (285 million)
French (265 million)
Hindi/Urdu (250 million)
Arabic (221 million)
Portuguese (188 million)
Bengali (185 million)
Japanese (133 million)
German (109 million)
There is no doubt that we should be proud of our national language indentifiable with our country. However, that does not mean we must wash away our once high standard of proficiency in English Language in order to be a patriot. Americans do not ban English Language despite that it is non-American ! If English Language has been ranked low in the list among the Chinese in China, the Japanese in Japan and the Indonesians in Indonesia, I wonder why the English Language tuition centres flourish in those countries.
Let not be blinded. I received my first 6 years of primary education in Chinese Language, followed by 8 years of secondary and pre-u education before spending another 4 years in university. Yet I am a proud Malaysian who speak, read and write the languages fluently. Try me !
written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 18:08:23
I speak, write and read Bahasa Malaysia, English Language and Chinese, because I spent 12 years of post-primary education in English-medium institition of learnings. Or 6 years primary education in Malay Language( or Hindu ) plus 12 years post-primary education in English Language as medium of instruction would also do similar wonder. Could that be an offensive and unpatriotic education route for Malaysian children of Malays, Chinese and Indian ethnicities in the eyes of politicians ? Give them an intelligent chance( not choice), which in turn will give Malaysia a chance to stand shoulder-to-shoulder with other citizens of this earth.
Is that impossible to carry out ?
written by raven1958, June 29, 2009 18:53:55
Anwar...please not again....win Manek Urai and loose Selangor and Penang ?

You have to be consistent man....Are you disturbed that MJ is gone or something.....better come out with a statement tomorrow or else....
written by Vivarium, June 29, 2009 20:01:07
Rhan,
Like most UMNO politicians, you shoved elmo world to Singapore just because he/she voiced something which is in contradiction with your belief and ideology. You should allow and welcome attempt to promote a healthy exchange of thoughts in this forum, regardless of how irritating his/her thoughts could be to you. I did not take offence in your choice of words against me but I see it pointless to engage you on an intellectual line of arguement behind the qwerty veil.
You had tried a copy-and-paste attempt from a Chinese poem and part of Samuel Hui's ????? lyric. Good work nonetheless ! While I was on the topic of normal translation from daily-usage English language to Bahasa Malaysia and its difficulties, you sidetracked the issue. As your 2 copy-and-paste pieces relate to literature and entertainmnet, I think they can only be appreciated in their original forms.
Try one of the passages from Robert Burns' Dream:
"Guid-Mornin' to our Majesty!
May Heaven augment your blisses
On ev'ry new birth-day ye see,
A humble poet wishes.
My bardship here, at your Levee
On sic a day as this is,
Is sure an uncouth sight to see,
Amang thae birth-day dresses
Sae fine this day. "
See what I mean ?
written by lynn, June 29, 2009 20:40:47
Anwar is talking like a seasoned umno politician - "betrayal of bahasa melayu". I think Anwar will never become the next PM. He shld have kept his mouth shut on this issue.

Brunei already allowed Science & Maths to be taught in English in secondary schools; starting next year, pupils in primary schools will study these two subjects in English. Don't believe, pls walk in into the Brunei High Commission in Jln Tun Razak and find out yourself. Bruneians are not afraid to learn English, they don't feel threatened by English, why can't Malaysian Malays be brave and master English too? Why always feel threatened? Why always feel threatened abt "losing political power" to non-Malays, and now DSAI is talking shit too.
written by MSIABOLEH, June 29, 2009 21:35:19

“We consider this policy a betrayal of Bahasa Melayu as our official language,”

Another idiot missing the wood for the trees. Has the "Bahasa Melayu" been betrayed or has all the Malays suddenly loss the use of their Mother Tongue? It doesn't matter learning these two subjects in Bahasa or in English. It's really not the issue. When the Bahasa is used, the Chinese and the Indians could master these two subject very well even though the teaching medium is not their mother tongue. The real issue is the lazy mentality that always needs to be spoon fed and lack of interest and initiative to learn this two subject. Come up-lah with good ideas to ignite the interest of Malay students in these two subject instead of injecting more fear and hatred into this problem.
written by citizenmy, June 29, 2009 22:22:12
DSAI,
How about Bahasa Baku? Reintroduce that also, since you are the one who promoted it when you were the Education Minister then.
written by Milo, June 29, 2009 23:22:11
I am not too sure that is what DSAI said. It doesn't sould like him stating his view in such a manner. Could it be slanted? Let's wait for him to clarify first!