Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Bahasa Melayu is for all M'sians: Musa

Bahasa Melayu is for all M'sians: Musa PDF Print
Sunday, 28 June 2009 11:10

(Daily Express) Kota Kinabalu: Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman said the general perception that Bahasa Melayu (BM) is solely for the Malays should be discarded.

He said BM has been developed not to serve the interest of the Malays or to let the non-Malays to be on the losing side but for all Malaysians to widely use the national language proficiently.

"We want all from the non-Malay community to use BM widely in their lives because it is a fact that any language should be mastered not only by the original community that speaks the language but also by other communities.

"The non-Malay Malaysians should be involved in all language activities, including BM, so that the image of the national language could be uplifted and our aspiration to enhance the capability of BM as a language for most communities and as a unity and harmony language can be achieved," he said.

Musa said this when closing the State-level 18th Students' Forum Competition at the SM Tshung Tshin hall here, Thursday. His speech was delivered by the Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister, Datuk Masidi Manjun, who is in-charge of education in Sabah.

On human capital development involving teenagers, Musa said the younger generation of youths is still searching for identity, interest, capabilities and potentials.

Hence, he said, the generation needs a medium to channel their energy and attention to activities that could fit their tendencies or interest.

Having the students' forum competition, Musa said, was one way of preventing young people from getting involved in social ill activities as such activity encourages, guides and provides healthy competition to the participants to be competent in using BM proficiently and to be skillful in public speaking.

In this respect, he assured that the State Government would continue to give full support and cooperation to further empower the national language among the Malaysians.

written by devious17, June 28, 2009 11:24:51
I was brought up being taught the Bahasa MALAYSIA for all Malaysians and that will remain for the most of us. The non chinese,indian and the rest of us dont care what you call it but it is bahasa MALAYSIA to us.

It is pathetic that till now the gomen is still struggling with the national language from Bahasa Malaysia to Bahasa Baku(now beku'd) and now this Bahasa Melayu. Make up your stewpig mind!!! Do not use our younger generations as test lab rats!!
written by Jan, June 28, 2009 11:27:42
If it's for all Malaysians why call it Bahasa Melayu? Just call it Bahasa Malaysia.
written by InEffective, June 28, 2009 11:56:37
As long as you are discriminated with subordinated rights and strategically excluded by race or religion or origin, there is absolutely no value in non-malays learning malay. Free yourself from dependency and equip yourself to be relevant for a global market - ie learn english, chinese, and hindi and spanish.
written by onnetline, June 28, 2009 11:58:49
And I thought that this CM of Sabah died in Singapore lately because of a 'corrupted' brain disease !
written by eagle22, June 28, 2009 12:38:15
pls tell me .. where i can communicate using below computer (IT) terms... been trying many years to talk with someone who knows but cant find any.

1. ingatan capaian rawak

2. Turing-sempurna

3. Papan kekunci, skrin, Cakera liut

4. tetikus

lots more.... no one uses these terms .... only can be seen in government tender

project papers. Even the government officers dont use the above terms when

verbal communication. WHY ? ... so stupid of the government.
written by Malay Ultraman, June 28, 2009 12:48:20
Bahasa Malaysia, bahasa melayu.. so what??

Some malaysians cant even speak proper bahasa...
written by alarcarte, June 28, 2009 12:51:24
Once upon a time, they called it "BAHASA KEBANGSAAN" and then "BAHASA MALAYSIA" then "BAHASA MELAYU" then back to "BAHASA MALAYSIA" again then back to "BAHASA MELAYU" again!! Grrrrrrrrrr!

Can't they make up their mind?

written by RumahPanjai, June 28, 2009 13:03:36
What's next? Might as well call it bahasa Indonesia or bahasa Brunei! Enough flip flop please.
written by ceong2000, June 28, 2009 13:18:08
Musa you are talking cock only and I don't know whether you are Malaysian or Iban.What we learn here is Bahasa Malaysia so don't just open your mouth as you know what will goes inside as what you have to see the doctor in Singapore.Don't try to apple polishing as you East Malaysia is some years back us.Don't teach the crab to walk straight when you can't even walk straight.Go back and learn your history.Are your BeEnd looking for your replacement as what has report in the last few days? I hope not so.Get well soon...
written by C360, June 28, 2009 13:36:40
CM the general perception is 100%! in case you learned Bahasa Melayu in english, Bahasa Melayu is solely for the Malays (or orang Melayu) Bahasa Malaysia is for all Malaysians !Why do we even have dead beat articles of dead beat characters
written by sorosapril, June 28, 2009 13:55:51
why should bahasa melayu be the national language when that language is not even widely spoken by those in the cabinets/government ministers?

malaysia made up of three major races, why should the mother tongue of one race be the language for the country and not the other two?

Bahasa Melayu can only do so in small section of Malaysia, internationally no one cares about this language at all, ask Rais Yatim, he found it so difficult to pronounce H1N1 in Bahasa Malayu so he decided to use the pig to name H1N1.

that goes to show this language can not make it lah.

why don't we use English as our national language? when this language is internationally recognised and is not the mother tongue of malay, chinese or indian or kadazan or iban?
written by Joe, June 28, 2009 13:56:31
What about joystick?

Thats batang kegembiraan!!
written by gorshan, June 28, 2009 14:33:31
how. nanti orang Melayu ter-ultra tuduh kita curi bahasa dia pulak.
written by gorshan, June 28, 2009 14:36:06
written by Joe, June 28, 2009 14:08:11
Err.. in Indonesia, the nons have Indonesian names. I'm glad Malaysia doesn't practice that.

On the more proliferated use of Bahasa, I agree that its use has to be of importance, not due to any racial slant, but due the fact that it IS our national language and being a patriotic citizen that I am, I am proud of our exotic national language.

The rest of you who think that the use of Bahasa is beneath you.. take a chill pill...

i speak,write better BM than the Malays themselves in my school days. i see Malay i speak to them in Malay they response in English.
written by Abajawi, June 28, 2009 15:01:39
Even PM Najib uses more English over TV than BM. So he's setting the example for all and sundry to follow. Any discussion/talk abt economics/the economy will be done in English--as if BM is beneath him and not a language to be used for a subject matter like economics.

The governor of BANK NEGARA (Zeti Aziz) does not speak BM -- never have I seen her speak BM, as if to tell Malaysians that BM is inadequate to express anything concerning 'making BIG money'.

That's why BM is viewed as inferior as a language of commerce and to manage the economy. (BM tak ada nilai ekonomi!) This is the view of most Malaysians--as brought about by BN's own politicians attitude and practices.

At the risk of over-generalization, most non-Malays, and some Malays also, would prefer to have English as a 'lingua franca' for Malaysians. With it, they can always look forward to a better life when they migrate to the UK, the USA, Australia, etc. (India is seldom mentioned as a place to migrate to) when the going gets tough here.
written by PakPandir, June 28, 2009 15:28:16
Musa called it Bahasa Melayu, did'nt that reveal his messsage of being racial ?
written by Tan Tan, June 28, 2009 16:15:44
The idea is to get all Malaysians to master this language.

To build national identity and unity.

Like Indonesia, they called it Bahasa Indonesia whereby all different races accepted it as national language.

In Malaysia, we already been calling it Bahasa Malaysia for orang Malaysia. Why need to change to Bahasa Melayu?

written by sydput, June 28, 2009 17:01:48
I am just amazed how well versed, the people of sabah, i mean all races, speaks bahasa melayu/malaysia. To them, it is automatic response to speak in malay with fellow countrymen.
They are even more amazed when peninsular malay choose to reply in english. I suggest that sabah MP's make a deal with PR to allow one of them to be PM of Malaysia if they all decide to withdraw from BN. this is not an outrageous request. After all, MP's from sabah and sarawak hold BN's balls and they can squeeze it anytime they like.
written by Fairminded, June 28, 2009 21:57:16
If Bahasa Malaysia is for all Malaysians, then is Malaysia for all Malaysians?
If non Malays were only be fluent in BM and not admitted to local Universities due to NEP, can they go abroad to study in a BM media? If they cannot get a job in the government departments because of NEP can they get a job in the private globalized businesses? Non Malays will only take up BM exclusively if they have these insecurities removed. You cannot have the cake and eat it. BM for all means also Malaysia for all.
written by Sabahfan, June 28, 2009 22:03:34
SO LONG as the bigot malays keep continuing to call it BAHASA MELAYU, including this most corrupted KM of sabah, then let all the malays keep their language.

I DONT WANT ANY PART OF IT AND NEITHER CAN YOU FORCE ME TO USE IT,

IN MY OFFICE, 99 PERCENT OF MY CORRESPONDENCES AND WRITINGS ARE IN ENGLISHL..

GO TO HELL BAHASA MELAYU, KENA LAYU FOREVER.
written by roadbarra, June 29, 2009 00:38:21
All I know from my days in school Bahasa Malaysia is our national language and we never forget that. Now my kids were told it's Bahasa Melayu. So how can it be forwarded a strong message to all Malaysians as a language for all. Speak for yourself Datuk, I'm fed up with all this struggling of languages. I only feel sorry for our children who have to suffer from all this politicking on educational issues.