Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Listen to what the young man is saying

Listen to what the young man is saying PDF Print
Saturday, 27 June 2009 16:08

The Umno Youth Leader has just uploaded his latest item in his Blog. I thought, for once, I would debate all the issues with him rather than do the usual (linking back to his Blog) whereby the only comments we would receive would be ranting and raving from Malaysia Today’s readers.

Dinosaur Diversions
By Khairy Jamaluddin

DAP Parliamentary Leader YB Lim Kit Siang recently charged that the proposed muzakarah (dialogue) between UMNO and PAS is against the concept of 1Malaysia, shockingly implying that Malay-Muslim unity was not good for the country. Never mind that such sentiments are as absurd as they are borderline racist, Kit Siang, true to form, is ignoring facts that don't fit his prejudiced and jaundiced views.

First of all, Prime Minister YAB Dato' Seri Najib Tun Razak stated unequivocally just a few days ago that any unity government - itself never set as a necessary objective of any talks - between BN/UMNO and PAS would not result in non-Muslims being sidelined.

Secondly, as I have stressed from the very beginning, the muzakarah need not be confined to Malay-Muslim issues. Instead, any proposed talks should involve issues of national interest with the hope that the discussions will bring out the best in and most progressive elements of both parties.

Is this too far-fetched a notion for Kit Siang to comprehend? It was after all the leader UMNO and BN that came up with the 1Malaysia concept of inclusivity and mutual respect and Kit Siang's own party is partners with another whose political platform, albeit a recent one, is "PAS for All" after decades of conservative and radical rhetoric. Surely, neither UMNO nor PAS are going to squander attempts to engage with non-Malay/Muslim communities just by talking to one another. In fact, it is imperative that the muzakarah and any subsequent cooperation between UMNO and PAS continue with the spirit of both 1Malaysia and "PAS for All" to demonstrate the inclusivity of this union towards non-Malays/Muslims.

Kit Siang's persistence in arguing that the muzakarah and 1Malaysia are not reconcilable suggests that he believes any UMNO-PAS collaboration will necessarily be racist and threatening to non-Malays/Muslims. I find this position bemusing as his supposedly multi-racial party remains extremely dominated by one race.

Between parties that are explicitly ethnic or religion-based and one that calls itself multiethnic but has failed to really attract members beyond one ethnic group over the last 44 years, I think the latter an example of hypocrisy and disingenuousness. In fact, Kit Siang is a walking example of failure and insincerity when it comes to promoting national unity as demonstrated by his largely monoethnic "multiethnic" party.

As for the question about how BN component parties will react to such talks, Kit Siang should do some homework and refer to MCA Deputy President's statement in support of the unity talks, stating that they “would not affect unity among the races," and that MCA was "confident that UMNO is aware of its responsibility to the people of Malaysia." Now, the hyperbolic-cynic in Kit Siang may attempt another smokescreen and suggest that we shouldn't take Datuk Seri Chua Soi Lek's remarks as representative of MCA, but when the deputy president of a party speaks, you'd better well listen.

Speaking of diversionary tactics, perhaps the reason Kit Siang is so keen on attacking the muzakarah proposal is to cover up the serious cracks that exist within Pakatan Rakyat. First things first: the continued absence of PAS deputy president YB Nasharudin Mat Isa from Parliament last week and the stone cold silence of party president YB Dato' Seri Tuan Guru Haji Abdul Hadi Awang all point towards the reality that all is not well within PAS.  It takes no genius to figure out that the party is deeply split. The likes of Nasharudin and Haji Hadi in the pro-muzakarah camp are fed up with the relentless pestering, insensitivity and insults of DAP leaders like YB Karpal Singh and tired of the cult of personality around YB Dato' Seri Anwar Ibrahim that is PKR.  Simultaneously, they are waging an internal battle with the "Erdogans" - many defeated in the recent party polls - who are seemingly willing to sacrifice principles and dignity to ride with Anwar to power. These developments represent a slap in the face for the biggest and most established party in Pakatan – treated like a junior partner and bullied to no end.

Notwithstanding that, let me ask this of PAS: if it is willing to put aside its dignity to latch on to the coattails of PKR and DAP, why can't it get the Pakatan alliance to resolve issues fundamental to its existence and readiness to govern? At the very least, PAS deserves some firm commitment from PKR and DAP that their coalition be formalized and the division of responsibilities be made clear to all. This would save PAS from being treated as the under-appreciated component of Pakatan tasked with not much more than mobilizing crowds for a ceramah.

Why, for example, is Pakatan so hesitant to register itself as an official political coalition like BN? If even that is too much to ask, why can't it outline a shadow cabinet or name a candidate for Prime Minister and Deputy Prime Minister? Quite confusingly too, if Haji Hadi's speech at the recent Muktamar is anything to go by, PAS feels itself ready to lead any prospective Pakatan Federal Government. Is Kit Siang and DAP agreeable to the PAS president being the Prime Minister of Malaysia? I am also sceptical of Anwar’s readiness to give up his 'suspended destiny' of becoming PM in favour of Haji Hadi. What, if any, is the consensus within Pakatan?

Malaysians have the right to know the answers to these questions. Instead of confronting them, Pakatan leaders appear to dancing to the tune of "we'll work them out later" - sweeping issues under the carpet to paint a nice, wholesome picture. I will say this to them, do so at your own peril - the goodwill that Pakatan enjoys post-March 2008 amongst sections of the rakyat is fast disappearing. Granted, Barisan Nasional’s weaknesses are known but we are committed to fixing them for the future, grounded in our rich history and strong fundamentals. Pakatan's failings, on the other hand, are now rapidly surfacing with little indication that its leaders are interested in resolving issues about Pakatan's readiness to govern and instead are continuing with their stale, staple fare of finding fault in others - hardly a convincing proposition for Malaysian voters.

http://www.rembau.net.my/

The issue is not whether Malay unity is good for the country or otherwise. Maybe Malay unity is good. But Malaysian unity is even better. What is it anyway that the Malays wish to unite against? And have the Malays always been united in the past whereas it is only now that they are not united?

If one were to study the history of this country -- and I don’t mean the history since only 1946 when Umno was formed and is said to have opposed the British in the pursuit of independence for Malaya -- you will see that the Malays have never been united. The Malays have always been at war with each other.

In the Kuala Lumpur Wars during the time of Sultan Abdul Samad, one group of Malays sided with one group of Chinese to fight against another group of Malays who had sided with another group of Chinese. As much as the history books try to suggest that it was Chinese versus Chinese (some even say it was the Ghee Hins against the Hai Sans), the truth of the matter is it was one Chinese-Malay group versus another Chinese-Malay group.

Selangor was in chaos with thousands massacred on both sides. Eventually, the British had to step in to restore order and to protect British business interests, which were being affected by the bloodshed.

The same happened in Negeri Sembilan earlier. Then, it was the Malays versus the Dutch colonialists. But another group of Malays sided with the Dutch to defeat the opposing Malays.

During the Japanese Occupation from 1941 to 1945, one group of Malays joined Chin Peng to oppose the Japanese -- this was when the CPM (Communist Party of Malaya) was still called the MPAJA (Malayan People’s Anti-Japanese Army) -- while another group of Malays worked with Japanese. Even back then the Malays was split into the pro-Communist group and the pro-Japanese group.

And even earlier still one group of Malays worked with the Portuguese to bring down the Malay government of Melaka. Further north, another group of Malays worked with the Siamese to defeat another group of Malays who wanted to create an independent territory free of Siamese domination.

In short, since the beginning of time, the Malays have never been united even against the Siamese, Portuguese, Dutch, British or Japanese colonialists/invaders. Why is it so crucial for the Malays to now unite long after the Colonialists have all gone home and the country has seen independence for more than 50 years?

We normally unite against something or someone. If the Malays must unite then it should be for a reason like to oppose a foreign invader or colonial power. Is there such a reason for the Malays to unite? Or is that Umno is suggesting the Malays unite against fellow-Malaysians who are non-Malays?

There is a certain amount of merit in Khairy’s comments on some of the other issues although his arguments may not be too much on the dot. For example, he pointed out the weaknesses and failures of the opposition coalition. True, these do exist. Some of these weaknesses can in fact be attributed to the Menteri Besar running those Pakatan Rakyat states. But how would the Malay unity talks be able to address these weaknesses? It is like saying since you are already weak then why not join us anyway?

Since 1999 many of us have been saying what Khairy is saying -- that the opposition should be formalised as a legally-registered entity like Barisan Nasional and that it should contest the general elections not only on a common name but also a common banner, logo and flag. But we were told you need seven political parties to register as a coalition and the opposition currently comprises of only three parties. If this is true then maybe Khairy can get the government to change the rules whereby even two political parties can register as a coalition. Then let’s see Pakatan Rakyat as a legally-registered party with its own flag, banner and logo. And in the next election PKR, DAP and PAS need no longer use their own colours to contest.

I am not too perturbed about the other issues raised by Khairy -- in particular the perceived chaos and disunity in the opposition. You see: it is quite normal for politicians to compete. This is what makes them politicians. And when there is no enemy to face they fight amongst themselves. This is sort of like staying in training and keeping your reflexes sharp.

Politicians will always fight. They fight amongst themselves. They fight the other side. This is what makes them tough and seasoned politicians. The most important thing is will they close ranks during the general election and when facing the real enemy or will they sabotage each other and allow the enemy to win out of sheer spite?

Pakatan Rakyat, just like Barisan Nasional, has internal squabbles -- both inter-party and intra-party. But they have demonstrated a certain level of maturity by uniting and ensuring victory for the opposition during an election. And this is something Barisan Nasional is not able to do.

So I agree with what Khairy said. But it is not something to be overly worried about -- although it is extremely irritating to see the opposition go for each other’s throats when it should be Umno or Barisan Nasional that they should be attacking instead. But as long as they can unite and not engage in three- or four-corner fights come election time, and work hard to ensure that the opposition candidate wins, that is all that matters and I am prepared to allow them this little distraction until then.

Nevertheless, this is still not enough ground for Malay unity talks, if this is what Khairy is trying to suggest. Anyway, the type of Malay unity that Khairy is suggesting means united under Umno. Can’t the Malays unite under PAS? If all we seek is Malay unity then it does not matter under which banner they unite as long as they unite.

If, for example, more Malays support PAS than Umno, would they be prepared to close down Umno and all of them join PAS for the sake of Malay unity? If Malay unity is really the issue then it does not matter under which party the Malays unite. And if Malay unity is so important, then closing down Umno and everyone uniting under PAS would be a small price to pay. I mean: Malay unity should be above Umno or PAS if Malay unity and not Umno is the crucial factor.

Khairy calls his piece Dinosaur Diversions. For that matter many of his arguments about Anwar, Karpal, Kit Siang, etc., are exactly that, diversions. Those are not crucial to the issue. What is would be that Malays have never been united since time immemorial. And they will never be united till the end of time. Accept that. And accept that there is no solution to this. Hey, even Umno has never been united since the day it was formed.

The next issue to note is that we should no longer be talking about Malay unity. We should be talking about Malaysian unity. We are far from achieving unity as Malaysians. And the more we talk about Malay unity the harder it would be to achieve Malaysian unity. Can I hear Khairy start talking about this? But don’t just talk. That is sheer lip service. Show us that you are doing something about it.

And on the national issues that Khairy proposes, this is simple. There are so many national issues to address and all have been raised here in Malaysia Today many times in the past. So I need not waste time repeating them yet again. Khairy knows what they are. I know what they are. Everyone reading this knows what they are. But Umno is resistant to all these ideas. Umno opposes the will of the people. Umno is not in the least interested in reforms.

And this is where the problem lies.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by onnetline, June 27, 2009 16:41:04
UMNO have become like an infected disease animal that needs to be put to sleep for a better good !
agree 343
written by marbl3s, June 27, 2009 16:42:11
To be honest, i am just to plain lazy to read anything that has been posted by Khairy or any of the BN's ministers.

The outcome is always the same circle. If it is not stupid, its ridiculous. If it is not ridiculous, its a lie. If its not a lie, it is stupid.

And it goes round and round and round.
agree 502
written by carribeanking7, June 27, 2009 16:43:01
Khairy conveniently left out local council elections that Pakatan has beem trying to forward while BN threw Federal caveats at the plan.
On the idea of formalizing the Pakatan coalition I agree, on the caveat of 7 political parties minimum needed to register a formal coalition, it seems unlikely for the federal government to change anything, I would suggest to DSAI to reach out to Sarawak and Sabah based opposition parties, batang ai was a wake up call not to push PKR agenda there, just as UMNO can never dominate East Malaysia politics without component party's that are east malaysian based.
Invite east malaysian opposition party's to join the Pakatan coalition and formalize it.

Khairy can come off the soap box with his pretensions of supporting PAS rights within the coalition, the cheek of asking whether DAP will support a PAS PM when UMNO could not even support the idea of an MCA Deputy Prime Minister.

Not only is UMNO resistant to new idea's and reforms it has lost touch with the touch of the people even in by elections they go on making the same mistakes over and over, Has BN learnt anything from past by elections ? http://www.facebook.com/note.p...6&comments

agree 202
written by concernedinmalaysia, June 27, 2009 16:47:19
No matter what anyone says, I have personally witnessed time and again the true motivation behind the federal government, MONEY!!! Certainly not the people.
agree 181
written by fireduck, June 27, 2009 16:50:32
Very well countered by Pete. And on the point for Pakatan registering the coalition, even I know the requirement s it was highlighted before. So, I went, 'Duh! Doesn't he know?' Anyway, it is a stupid rule requiring 7 fragments before they can be joined as one.
agree 133
written by mykantree, June 27, 2009 17:14:23
All these talk of Malay-Muslim unity is nothing but hogwash!As pointed out so many times before, this RPK article included, who are they uniting against? We all know that the only objective, from UMNO's perspective is to hold on to power; and from PAS's end, to get into power! For if the unity talk is to unite Malay-Muslims against non Malay-Muslim,
then all of these "talkers" should be charged for Sedition or any such law on the books.

While no one would/should fault any politician to want to be in power,..... that's part of their job description; it must be to bring good to all its citizens, not abuse the power vested in their political positions or bring ill will against any section of its citizens.
written by greenarrow, June 27, 2009 17:19:54
Khairy bn Kera cleverly talked cock
written by jason, June 27, 2009 17:24:30
As long as UMNO stand for Ketuanan Melayu and Ketuanan Melayu is UMNO, there can never be a MALAYSIAN Malaysia. There will never be unity among Malaysian. Badawi tried to convince the rakyat in 2004 with his 'work with me not for me' which in essence meets Ketuanan Rakyat. And he won handsomely. But he failed to keep his promise and come 2008 with the PR Ketuanan Rakyat for MALAYSIAN, the rest is history.
All human beings love to call his country his home, to identify with the country, to have an identity and in our case, it is MALAYSIA. MALAYSIA is our home and we are MALAYSIAN. Nobody likes to be called Pendatang.
agree 123
written by SeriousLy, June 27, 2009 17:29:18
From this comment, we've to come to conclude that yawn and sleep disease that UMNO has; is not curable and contagious! More deadly and contagious than H1N1 or Bird Flu, worse than AIDS! UMNO now; we have to conclude that UMNO is beyond saving....IT's DEAD!!
written by mikefonz, June 27, 2009 17:32:51
All these UMNO/PAS fellas are talking about Malay unity.
Actually they are the ones stabbing their own kind.
It's like the Devil talking about being Holy.
How can you be Holy when you have robbed us of
our wealth ? How can you be talking about 1Malaysia
and then call us Pendatangs. You guys are full of SHIT !!!
written by Oscar Winner, June 27, 2009 17:37:04
This young kera aka oxfart has asked for an end to race-based politics, but his article above touches on unity of race by UMNO and Pas. He has forgotten his earlier call which has led/deceived many to believe that it’s a noble idea and that he has changed and all can give this a serious thought. So, what is your vision and mission, kera?? Malay unity first, then do away with race-based politics?? Sorry, but how is that going to work, I can’t quite figure it out, (pri)mate!

So, you said “Granted, Barisan Nasional’s weaknesses are known but we are committed to fixing them for the future, grounded in our rich history and strong fundamentals” -------- Pls don’t kid yourself. We don’t see UMNO doing anything right nowadays. On the contrary, I see UMNO getting more wicked and weak by the week.

Yes, Kera, why not UMNO join PAS instead, as suggested by RPK?? Well, I know why PAS must join UMNO and make UMNO stronger. Every one knows why.

Seriously dear Pete, why would people like KJ want to write stupid articles like this piece? When will they realize how moronic they are??
written by C360, June 27, 2009 17:38:10
Malay unity ? Is there such a thing ?

There are 10 "kingdoms" with disparate laws and regulations between them ... none of them beholden to each other.

Ya and before someone says 9 ... think again
written by MalayMail, June 27, 2009 17:42:27
Umno PAS = 1Melayu,
MCA Gerakan = 1China
MIC PPP = 1Indian
Faces without Races = 1Malaysia
written by SamSan, June 27, 2009 17:48:18
PAS being a truly pure Islamic Party with strong compassionate and egalitraian Islamic credentials is above race. Our beloved Tok Guru Nik Aziz is right in insisting that PAS keep up its credentials of being above race as that is what is really espoused by our noble prophet Nabi Muhammad (p.b.u.h). PAS as a true and pure Islamic Party based on our noble prophets holy tenets will always fight all forms of rampant injustice and evil especially rampant corruption, undue abuse of power, greed, lust and unchecked aggrandizement of wealth and power at the expense of the poor and meek rakyat. PAS is the last uncorruptible pillar left to protect the rakyat from all form of syaitan and evil traits of our present despotic and evil regime. PAS will not waver from its fight for truth, justice and basic decency and decorum for each and every rakyat.
written by Tsunami08, June 27, 2009 17:49:44
If PAS is so stupid as to fall for the same trick twice, I'd say let them go for it. One thing that never changes in Malaysia is that UMNO would do anything and come to any pact with anyone at any price to stay in power. Hey, there's so much to loot when one is in power! smilies/grin.gif
written by Chivas, June 27, 2009 17:50:12
Let's not consider other factors than this unity thing.

If they actually talk bout unity of Malaysians. Wouldn't that win more votes?

Why just win the Malay votes when you can win the votes of the whole Malaysia?

Didn't they think of that? Wouldn't that make more sense?

written by Panca Indera, June 27, 2009 17:55:31
Salam!
The IS NO Malay –Muslim Unity Concept in ISLAM. Otherwise there will Chinese- Muslim unity, Indian –Muslim unity, Arab – Muslim unity so on and so forth.

In ISLAM the real concept is MUSLIM UNITY.That’s why in the QURAN it is repeated so many times that all Muslims are brothers, meaning the Muslim Ummah (community) is like one family where every Muslim look out for each other and doing and encouraging good works and reminding and discouraging each other from doing sinful and forbidden acts.(NOT much practiced nowadays, sad to say)
written by Just Gan, June 27, 2009 18:03:01
It is said that proper education transforms an individual to be well-informed, to be able to reason and be ethical and moral. But Khairy defies this education principle. Despite his education at elite institutions (Oxford, etc.), Khairy does not at all display any of the qualities expected of someone coming from such prestigious institutions. The UMNO disease is so virulent that it decimates education and upbringing/ancestors. Khairy has proven conclusively that education is no match for UMNO - when one becomes an UMNOputra, he or she, regardless of education, becomes a corrupt stupid racist, and Khairy is a shining example. In this matter, Khairy is joined recently by another so-called highly educated individual, Raja Nazrin. As for UMNO decimating good upbringing/ancestors, Hishamudin stands shamelessly to prove that even genetics is no match for UMNO.
written by by2020, June 27, 2009 18:04:38
Unity Talk is good, it shall be held between UMNO/PASPKR/DAP/MCA/MIC ...etc. One to one or multi-party in order to achieve unity..., and the only objective to achieve Unity should be how to send BN/UMNO into oblivion...! This is the Single Big Problem Malaysia is facing!

This problem solve, all Malaysia's problem will be solved!
written by lskong, June 27, 2009 18:24:22
that young man is not stupid. he is full of words and he is good at using them.
thank you pete for putting down your counter arguments, instead of letting us go to the wolves.
only the truly stupids underestimate their opponents. and the stupids are not confined to the dark side only. in that, the universe is a fair place.
written by Chokma, June 27, 2009 18:24:56
RPK raised a very good question: Malay/Muslim unity against what/who? Chinese and Indians are not the enemies of Malays. The ultimate motive of this unity is simply a power grabbing exercise allow them sucking the blood form Rakyat. Have they not done enough damages to wake up all Malaysians? Bodoh punya Malaysians!
written by rams609, June 27, 2009 18:37:11
There are rich Malays, and poor Malays. Smart Malays, and bodoh Malays. Mat Saleh Malays and kampong Malays. "Once a Malay , always a Malay" said Hang Tuah who wasn't even a Malay. Don't blame me, it was in our history books, and even on a mural in the National Museum. So what's all these talks about uniting malays? If it's not for Pete putting his article here, I won't bother reading the cheap rembau thesis. Is that all he's capable of,asking his speech writer to scribble? And some dared say he's a candidate for a future Malaysian PM? Where? At a place where the Lion King rules?

Indonesia holds the Bhineka Tunggal Ika concept: "Unity In Diversity" Thousand races, 1 people. Smarter than us huh?
written by Caretaker_y, June 27, 2009 18:49:27
You are right YB RPK, the Malays have never been united and have always been at war with each other. Even within UMNO itself, the Malays have displayed this long inherited trait of disunity among themselves.

Khairy should, with his Oxford literated(hope he is educated too) brain & talks, go down to the real & existng problems facing the Malaysians(Indians, Chines, Malays, Dayaks, Ibans, Kadazans, etc etc) as a hold and not talk race or politics in order to enhance his own political agenda.

Is he trying to cover-up for the millions(or billions) ill-gotten gains obtained during his father-in-law reign & started talking again to divert the Malaysians' attention against him (especially the Malays).

One time talking about to end race politics & now talking the other way round.

He seems to be bullshitting again.

written by mowadoha, June 27, 2009 19:00:28
written by yeechut, June 27, 2009 19:12:02
I wouldn't pay too much attention to what Khairy said. He is an opportunist of the most disgusting kind. I don't give any hope that he will make positive contribution to anybody or any race.

If the is anything I have to say to Khairy - it would be: "Time to change your father-in-law mate".
written by Fat Zorro, June 27, 2009 19:14:30
Spot on RPK
written by Loh, June 27, 2009 19:32:26
///The next issue to note is that we should no longer be talking about Malay unity. We should be talking about Malaysian unity. We are far from achieving unity as Malaysians. And the more we talk about Malay unity the harder it would be to achieve Malaysian unity. Can I hear Khairy start talking about this? But don’t just talk. That is sheer lip service. Show us that you are doing something about it.///--RPK

Yes, the moment there is talk about Malay unity the people is divided into Malays and non-Malays. The Alliance party started with the concept of Malay unity , Chinese unity and Indian unity, and joining all up as Malayan unity. But we see that racism actually started with raced-based political parties. It seems that UMNO has not learned after 52 years that either we talk about national unity or we do not talk about unity at all. In calling for unity of any race, or even religion, it amounts to dividing the people.

RPK made reference to the fact that Malays in the past did not unite against other races, They were divided and grouped with people, irrespective of race, to fight for their own interest. That was better because they at least looked at the issue, and decided on the merits thereof, rather than deciding to support anything based on race.

We know that Malays before independence had relevance to the bloodline of the persons. But with Article 160 and the inclusion of NEWMalays, Malays now is a political classification enjoying special treatment with numerical strength. It is divisive in the country because the country is divided by those who enjoy more advantage, and those who are subject to discrimination.

TDM painted a future of Bangsa Malaysia for 2020, in 1990 thinking that he would not be around to substantiate it. If Malays can unite, it would only take them to accept that those who have been discriminated since independence be accepted as equal citizens, and we have Melayu extended to non-Muslims. But Najib does not even agree that 1Malaysia is for Bangsa Malaysia.
written by PRman, June 27, 2009 20:00:23
Khairy, please look after Malaysian's unity! This is a multi-racial country. If you don't think we are, please take a walk to KLCC or PJ, what races do you see? Anyway, as we said so many times, we have enough of the UMNO's arrogance, where you guys had the ruling power, but failed to tackle the national based policy. How many more years does UMNO need to rule the country? Ehhhhh... May I suggest only 3 more years? Yes, your beloved party will witness the people's power by the next GE should you continue to harp on racial issues, and play up racial sentiments.

Thanks RPK, for another good piece of article and reminder!
written by Chivas, June 27, 2009 20:31:25
This racial thing does not make sense.
I am currently studying overseas. There are many Chinese nationals around. But the chinese malaysians here don't feel that we belong to them.
However, we feel much closer to the Malays.
We play football together, go for trips together and shop together.

We are Malaysians. The only different thing bout us is religion, not race.And even that isn't any hindrance except that we can't eat that often together.
written by vox populi, June 27, 2009 20:33:47
Flying the banner of "Malay/Muslim Unity" is a desperate, cynical UMNO attempt to draw support from PAS to shore up their Malay support, a substsantial chunk of which has gone to PKR in the last GE. Knowing that BN component parties would not regain the non-Malay support any time soon, UMNO is fishing for Malay support in opposition waters.

In the present flux of political realities , non-Malay support is vital to both PR and BN. With UMNO and PAS in a unity government, despite UMNO's proviso that non-Malays would not be sidelined, non-Malay support would be neutralized in the realignment of political power on both sides. UMNO would have again used racial politics to stay in power to the detriment of non-racial politics as represented by PR and retarding the development of a true Malaysian nation.
written by InEffective, June 27, 2009 20:46:44

The outcomes witnessed when total governing-credibility has been lost for ever.
Its back to the tired ideas of racism and fear mongering and false bogeyman creations.

When the practices of filth and evil are self-evident, don't hurt our malays and chinese and indians by inducing them into filth and evil.

We can do so much better than where we are today, if we leadership of unblemished integrity and capability and moral compass that does not reek of racism (the product of ignorance and arrogance)
written by arazak, June 27, 2009 20:55:00
Dear Khairy,

You should look internally within UMNO on three things of what you had said in your article;

Firstly, you mentioned that DAP “had failed to really attract members beyond one ethnic group over the last 44 years”. Tell me than, for the past 52 years, has UMNO attract other ethnic group other than the “Tuan Melayu”?

Secondly, you wrote, “developments represent a slap in the face for the biggest and most established party in Pakatan – treated like a junior partner and bullied to no end”.

You are implying that PKR is bullying PAS all these while. Tell me now, didn’t MCA, PPP, MIC and Gerakan doesn’t have that same feeling towards UMNO? In fact their leaders had even voiced out their dissatisfaction and bluntly said UMNO is a "bully" in BN. Why do you think Ong Tee Kiat conduct the survey asking their members “whether MCA should leave BN”? Remember Gerakan members also once urged their leaders to leave BN after supporters of Ahmad Ismail’s shred and trampled Koh Tsu Koon’s portrait during the infamous “pendatang can leave the country’ remark by that racist fellow? Remember too PPP was contemplating of leaving the BN when Ali Rustam said, UMNO do not need small irrelevant party like PPP? Hey. . ., what have we got here? A myopic bully who is telling another party a bully!

Thirdly, you said, “Barisan Nasional’s weaknesses are known but we are committed to fixing them for the future, grounded in our rich history and strong fundamentals”.

Yeah right, one of the most glaring BN’s weaknesses is indulging obscenely into corruption . . ., and so much for the commitment to eradicate corruption. I have been hearing the same tune you and the UMNO leaders are playing . . ., like an old record spinning endlessly spewing the same rhetoric! Even your father-in-law said he is committed in fixing this problem but instead of fixing the problem corruption is more flourish than ever. . ., from mere millions of ringgit to billions of ringgit!Fixing the problem. . .,my foot!

Next time when you wish to write something, mirror yourself and try to reflect first what BN had done that you accused others of doing!

True to what RPK said. . . UMNO will never reform. . .”dulu, kini dan selamanya”!
written by asguard, June 27, 2009 20:56:20
UMNO is not into malay unity ....the only thing matters to them is power and money that keeps them going... And to all folks like it or not... they only need PAS ...when the UMNO is disarray or weak or lost power...! So to PAS always remember don't be UMNO scapegoat.... or when they need CPR then only find for PAS.... !
written by vox populi, June 27, 2009 20:57:06
KJ, only UMNO and BN is agonizing over who should be PM of the country.I don't care if the PM from PAS, PKR or DAP is non-Malay/non-Muslim or Malay/Muslim so long as he or she is able and rakyat orientated and not in the same mould of UMNO's present nominee - corrupt, scandal-laden, immoral, racist and what have have you. Give me Tok Guru Nik Aziz or Datuk Nizar any time!!!!
written by one box, June 27, 2009 21:41:27
I don't understand what this is really all about but if this is coming back to join hand-in-hand 100% between PR and BN, I certainly do not like to see this happen. And I would like to see it a strong opposition that can say no to the ruling party, regardless of who is the government. Otherwise, once a party has ruled for too long, personal interest will prevail.

We need check and balance!!
written by Goodbites, June 27, 2009 21:47:15
Umno is a sick animal throwing out poison to infect others. Beware the agent of disunity.
written by Urangsabah, June 27, 2009 22:03:19
Just my 2 cts ranting and raving bit.....Basically no one read KJ blog if not highlighted by RPK.....not even UMNO....KJ even though Head Honcho for UMNO Youth aka Mat Rempit, has no place in UMNO.

I used to think Oxford grad are 1 in a million.....But everytime KJ open his mouth, it like a he bad breath, it turn Malaysian off...
written by onnetline, June 27, 2009 22:06:33
This rabid kHairy monkey was handed a 5 years printing contract worth about RM600 million by his corrupted father in law, Bodohwi right before he step down.
written by Commonsenses, June 27, 2009 22:14:26
Since the last election UMNO seems to be like a uncomfortable fat arse shifting its weight while sitting in a crumbling chair for decades. Shifting goal post is not a solution after numerous failed attempts to garner support. Embracing radical change is the answer by opening its doors to non malays. A fresh start to malaysian unity.
written by Jivathma, June 27, 2009 22:17:47
Well responded dear Pete. Hey Khairy, better start growing up and see the real issues. All these political spins aren't going to be fooling people any longer.
written by mowadoha, June 27, 2009 22:43:53
So sad indeed .....

written by uxzee, June 27, 2009 22:51:04
Great rebuttal by RPK.

KJ can spin anything about Malay unity - but he should just be plain honest and say what everyone thinks about Malay unity ie Malay unity talk is just about UMNO's survival.
written by Fuminari, June 27, 2009 23:30:31
in the first place,sultan of pahang is talking about singapore dredging their rivers for free in return for the sale of sand to the red dot;n johor sultan refuses to sell the sand to his nearest neighbour except one of his KJ own kind,the umno warlord sh.it botak has been reaping in long time ago ,so what unity this spinning kera jahat is talking about???
written by goman2k3, June 28, 2009 00:09:23
Mahathir sad UMNO is corrupted and KJ used money politics. UMNO is on the edge of defeat if East Malaysia is the KINGMAKER. UMNO has never being so venerable in last 50 years. Getting PAS into the fold will enhance their chance of survival. This I don't diaagree but they are being racist again playing the race and muslim thing. By calling LKS borderline racist KJ s infact finally admitting that he and UMNO are racist.
written by tenang, June 28, 2009 00:10:18
Dear Khairy,

Since RPK had in the past implied (if I have not mistaken) to suggest us to reach out to you and now we have seen him started to engage you, I believe there are many MT readers and bloggers, including myself, who are ready to reach out to you. Despite and raving and ranting you have observed here, I believe there are many readers who have not commented know very well that you are a smart fellow to be reckoning with. As RPK has pointed at the end of his response, you know not only how to influence the masses and garner support, but also what are the real main issues faced by the nation (even though you don't act on them). Many of us observe that you fight for UMNO by articulating the notion of Malay unity and knows that you aim for short term gain; Many of us here also know that you know the nation real primary issues are not associated with Malay unity. You just simply and intentionally put aside those real issues even though you know them.

See despite you have won the UMNO youth leadership position, your camp is pretty weak compared to Najib's camp. Were it no three corner fight, you would have lose to Najib's man. With Dr. M coming at your throat, you chance of survival and realizing the goal of becoming prime minister one day is increasing dim. Despite several time smarter than average UMNO gang, you are in weak position inside UMNO. You will need support not only inside UMNO, but also outside UMNO. With the internet, a support from outside UMNO, if arranged properly, could give you a hand before your side get even weaker.

Many of us know that you choose Malay unity as the topic of the days. Many of us also know that you, unlike other UMNO fools, are fully capable to choose Malaysians unity (or any other topics) as the topic of the days if you want to. We implore you to align with the emerging sentiment for wider public for addressing nation's real issues, which you know what they are. You will be rewarded. After all, many readers and bloggers are persuadable, especially by RPK.
written by johnT, June 28, 2009 00:53:01
Please don't condem Khairy. He have done a lot for us. The most important thing he have done is giving DAP a chance to role Penang and helping Lim Guan Eng to replace Toh Tsu Koon as Penang Chief Minister.
If he did not raise the racist issue to replace the Penang Chief Minister with UMNO man I don't think DAP can win the last year election.
Therefor Lim Guan Eng should belanja Khairy a big dinner and we should thanks him for open our eyes who is UMNO.

Thanks Khairy
written by johnT, June 28, 2009 01:35:46
Dear Khairy if you want to be popular why don't you try to unity all the malay with chinese, indian and others races in Malaysia rather than play racist issue? If you suscess to do so I believe you will become the next PM.
written by truthbespoken, June 28, 2009 02:34:52
If ruling UMNO keeps on harping on race-based unity, the concept of Malaysian unity will not gain ground. It's UMNO's anti-national pursuit to stay in power! Hence the arrogant and corrupted UMNO must be clearly voted out to create the opening for true Malaysian interest to take root! Just ignore what the UMNO goons say!
written by Milo, June 28, 2009 06:46:00
some QUESTIONS TO PONDER:

1. If we have Muslim unity, and muslims are all over the world, then do we need a country call Malaysia?

2. If it means Malaysian-Muslims unity, does that also mean they are united against their own countrymen who are christians, buddhists, hindus, ect?

3. If we have malay unity, should we also have chinese unity, indian unity, etc.?

4. If, say, Malaysia go to war tomorrow, which 'united group' should be representing the country to fight? If it is the Malay group, then should the chinese and indians sit back and watch, since they are not part of the "unity"?
written by teohchye, June 28, 2009 08:22:25
You can run down Uncle Lim and Brother Karpal all you like, but one thing is for sure; you can never convince the majority of the Rakyat with your rhetoric and ranting and raving with your Oxfart reasoning about Malay unity. Malaysian unity is bigger than anything your pea-sized brain can comprehend. So there! And UMNO/BN, in its perpetual state of denial and $$$$-clouded state of drunkenness can never offer any hope of a truly united Malaysia. Pakatan Rakyat may have some teething problems with its newly-formed coalition, but it sure offers a much better alternative to UMNO/BN than we can ever imagine! None of the PR component parties is even race-based. Malaysia is not even Truly Malaysia, so how can it be Truly Asia! Long Live PR and Long Live Malaysia!
written by Raja Petra, June 28, 2009 13:23:07
PASOK, maybe I should learn to write like you. Short and interesting to point out what I don't like about others without offering any solutions.
written by Barking out loud, June 28, 2009 14:26:46
We should be talking about Malaysian Unity and not Malay Unity or Chinese Unity or Indian Unity or what. All this talk about Malay Unity is merely emphasizing and promoting Racial Polarity. Malaysia belongs to all of us who were born here, lived here and will die here not only to the Malays.

I also want to take this opportunity to bring out this issue that the Malays keep thinking that they should have more rights as this land belong to them. We as Malaysians seem to have also forgotten that there are also other indigenous tribes here in Malaysia that has been forgotten or has no rights at all. Take for example the Dayaks, Kadazan, Iban, Murut, a host of other indigenous tribes located around the Peninsular that we have no chance to learn about. And also another very prominent indigenous tribe in Malaysia that is sometimes considered Pendatang like the Nyonya and Baba.

The Baba Nyonya tribe, born in Malaysia are not found anywhere else other than in Malaysia and Singapore. This tribe is sometimes considered as Pendatang from certain UMNO ministers.
written by Running Sardines, June 29, 2009 09:03:35
And on the national issues that Khairy proposes, this is simple. There are so many national issues to address and all have been raised here in Malaysia Today many times in the past. So I need not waste time repeating them yet again. Khairy knows what they are. I know what they are. Everyone reading this knows what they are. But Umno is resistant to all these ideas. Umno opposes the will of the people. Umno is not in the least interested in reforms.

And this is where the problem lies.

How very true is this. If only those in power give up their self-centre syndrome and work for the good of the common rakyat, I believe there is still hope for Malaysian.
written by Conan Chung, June 29, 2009 10:46:44
Now I have to say i haven't been reading Khairy's blog or anything and i'm amazed that he can write so well. Its not that his article is really 'correct' but they way he 'spins' thing and argue his point is noteworthy. I guess he didn't graduate from Harvard or Oxford (forgot) for nothing.

On unity and disunity, people have never been truly united since the dawn of man. Our forefathers' have been killing each other for food, land and women. Our grandfathers' have been fighting each other for the same things plus a car, a bigger house and more wifes. In our generation, we are still doing the same thing; only now we want more and more of things that weren't available back then. The times when people stand united weren't good either. Most of the time, its for ganging up against other people for their land, their food and their women. See what unity has done for Genghis Khan and Hitler. Unity like any other thing can be used for 'good' or 'bad' and nothing beats having a 'good' unity lead by 'bad' men.

So when people push for Malay-Muslim unity, they can't see the woods for the trees. Can't they see there are more pressing matters such as Malaysian unity? Don't Malaysians need to remain competitive internationally? Don't we need more FDI? Don't we need to raise the living standards of most (at least 95% Malaysians) if not all? As i see things, Malaysian education level has been dropping drastically since the 1990s.

One last note on reading pro-gov blogs / articles:
Its doesn't lose to read what the 'enemy' has to say. There are certain 'truths' in it that could be beneficial if you can 'see' it. Sun Zi's Art of War mentioned: "Know yourself and Know your Enemy; and in a hundred battles you fought you would win a hundred times."
written by borneopeteliew, June 29, 2009 21:39:20
This is what PASOK wrote on June 28, 2009 08:12:07

"Khairy's article is just political gibberish.
RPK's reply is boring, long winded and makes no sense either.
Read them both if you want to really waste your time."

For writing this PASOK got banned.

Why is Raja Petra so sensitive? Don't be so sensitive lah Mr President Raja Petra.

I agree, freedom should be accompanied by responsibility. However, the responsibility can never be ‘forced’. If I were to give my position in one line it is this: MalaysiaToday forumers freedom of expression has more value than Raja Petra's right not to get offended.
written by 1eyecls, June 30, 2009 09:19:18
KJ,
your boss gives TUN to dead ppl,after so many years,he is the only pm that realises the BIG contributon datok onn jaafar had done for the country?is your boss insulting his own papa?

your boss has just said,BN will always willing to discuss national issues with any parties,as long it benefits the ppl,may i ask u,(pls ask your boss,thn reply),does this include DAP?by right,YB lim kit siang should get the TUN,instead of dead
,right?
written by Rumah Bersih, July 02, 2009 15:44:56
KJ,
Referring to history is easy and not too difficult to draw a conclusion to suit any arguments. OF COURSE UNITY AMONGST THE MALAYS IN GOOD AND UNITY AMONGST MALAYSIAN IS EVEN BETTER. There is no fear for that KJ, the Malays may not unite against the Thais, Dutch, British, blah blah.... Why...
Now we all know today, they Malays want to be united....... they want to be united against "injustice,corruption,nepotism and all the shits that UMNO is". Kit Siang is saying it in around about way which "oxford mentality" cannot understand. Sorry old boy you are in the wrong camp you will NOT become PM