Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Obama Praises Malaysia In Telephone Conversation With Najib

Obama Praises Malaysia In Telephone Conversation With Najib PDF Print
Saturday, 27 June 2009 11:04

(Bernama) - The issue of the state of the economy, was among matters discussed between Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak and United States President Barack Obama, during a 20-minute telephone conversation last night.

Najib said he received the call from Obama at 9.10pm and various matters were discussed.

Najib disclosed this to Bumiputera entrepreneurs attending the Malay Chamber of Commerce Malaysia dinner here last night.

He said that Obama praised Malaysia’s uniqueness and advantages.

“You should be proud of Malaysia because you are a modern, progressive Muslim country, able to manage a multi-ethnic and multi-religious society,” said Obama, according to Najib.

Najib said the relationship such as that between Malaysia and the United States was important as the country is now moving into a new era in the world economy which did not just involve the globalisation process but also “the network economy”.

“When we are faced with the challenge of the network economy, we need then to strengthen our position by networking with others. When we talk about networking at the global level, Malaysia has a uniqueness and advantages,” he said.

This uniqueness and advantages, represent Malaysia’s strength, as we can claim to be one of those countries which are a gateway to other centres,” he said.

Najib said Malaysia was the gateway to China, India, Asean countries and also other Islamic nations.

On China, Najib said it was not just the local Chinese who had economic opportunities, but also Bumiputera entrepreneurs, as that country had a positive sentiment towards Malaysia.

He said during his recent visit to China, he was well received and the signing of many memorandum of understanding (MoU), had opened up opportunities for Malaysian entrepreneurs.

He said the obvious opportunity was halal products as there are many Chinese who are Muslims.

On the position of Bumiputera entrepreneurs, Najib said they must think about a new business model, in line with the new economic model.

He said they must identify the “the business of tomorrow” and noted that many Bumiputera businesses today, are “the business of today and yesterday”.

He said the government would help the best Bumiputera companies based on meritocracy, compared to before, where assistance was given on an equal basis.

written by hckit, June 27, 2009 11:21:07
Obama forgot to ask him whether non-Muslim or non-Malay can become PM in Malaysia
written by a_bad, June 27, 2009 11:23:43
Can 'Your Excellency' confirm this? Najib has lied so many times before it makes it hard to believe whatever he says! smilies/grin.gif
written by Adriftboat, June 27, 2009 11:48:46
Yes I agree with Obama that we have all the modern facilities available to us but what Obama did not mention was that we have third class mentality smilies/wink.gif
written by shamadz72, June 27, 2009 11:58:19
I hope Najib didn't get an orgasm out of that phone call smilies/smiley.gif

written by Raizzen, June 27, 2009 12:58:56
Malaysian monkeys. Perceived insults - JUMP. Lip serviced praises - JUMP (again). I wonder if the world's laughing at us for being so damn predictable.
written by Old Man, June 27, 2009 13:04:04
A friend that flatters you is more dangerous than an enemy who threatens you!
Eg. before conquering Burma ( present day Myanmar ), the British praised that the Burmese were excellent in their fighting skill with swords. After that praise, the British conquered Burma easily with their guns.....
Do we need to repeat the history of the Malacca Sultanate in 1511? smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif
written by joeawk, June 27, 2009 13:07:17
We want proof of that n sure you can provide. Just that the communication betwenn you n the Legal monkey about the razak/ALTANTUYA matter cannot be facilitated.You are so devoid of goodwill that you even bring up the matter of OBAMA. Your advisors must be equally bankrupt.
written by fireduck, June 27, 2009 13:19:08
Ya, blah3... all diplomatic non-substance. What else do you expect Obama to say. And even if he said something less pleasant to Najib's ears, you think Najib would disclose those?

But this: He said the government would help the best Bumiputera companies based on meritocracy, compared to before, where assistance was given on an equal basis.

What do you guys make of this statement? Does that mean it was fairer for the Bumis last time, and now only those like.... aligned ....would be helped? I think it's either doublespeak or dumbspeak.
written by jason, June 27, 2009 13:49:35
Hey, Najis you think Obama has nothing to do and call you for a chit chat.
What's the purpose of this "call" (if there is really one). Maybe it has more
to do with DSAI coming case and your other abuses.
written by krising1, June 27, 2009 14:06:00
The last time Hilary praised Malaysia, they slammed us as human traffickeers. I wonder what this sweet talk is going to bring about. Watch the space. It is coming!
written by carribeanking7, June 27, 2009 16:11:55
Some mistake the language of diplomacy for unearned praise.
The person holding the no 1 office in Malaysia cannot even read between the lines.
The first part was just diplomatic pleasentaries, the hold gist of the call is Obama trying to get support on US agenda for Afghanistan (like idiot we will commit resources there) and North Korea.
Obama probably made similar calls to a 100 over world leaders.
US needs our help ? jangan merepeklah.

written by Malay Ultraman, June 27, 2009 16:30:36
Come on lah..

President phone call's is made A front page headline.. nothing is more pathetic than this. Obama must be laughing like hell knowing the trivial phone was as VERY VERY important!!! Looks like Malaysia is like another naive third world mentality.
written by mikewang, June 27, 2009 17:24:31
I think we will need to study the taped conversation verbatim by Najib or a transcript issued by the White House to determine if indeed there was any substance to that phone call.

There must be a substantive reason why Obama called Najib that the PM is not telling.
Imagine Obama calling Mugabe just to tell him that he is proud of Zimbabwe. smilies/cheesy.gif
written by Kathy, June 27, 2009 17:27:21
Perhaps that was an overture to the Malaysian govt. not to misuse the judiciary when hearing Anwar's infamous upcoming sodomy case. smilies/grin.gif
written by Jos, June 27, 2009 18:55:37
I think Utusan and Bernama should revise their news on Najib - Obama phone as follows:

Najib disclosed that he had advised Obama to come to Malaysia to see how to be a good leader in the modern demoratic country ... Hahahaha
written by righttruthspeaks, June 27, 2009 19:00:00
Obama said to najis " You better own up to the Altantuya murder".

Is that praise for Malaysia ????
written by Fat Zorro, June 27, 2009 19:31:10
Ha! Ha! ha! Obama called najib???
written by bexe, June 28, 2009 09:07:44
Obama is softening Najib up for something he wants; otherwise what's the need for all this?
My guess is that he wants Najib to take some Gitmo detainees.
written by uxzee, June 28, 2009 15:29:07
Wow ! Obama called Najib and Najib is going to town with this phone call. Is Najib that desperate for Obama praises ?